Find companies:
LG Electronics
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
235 reviews

LG Electronics Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to be and great environment
Bilingual Representative (Former Employee), Toronto, ONSeptember 9, 2014
Pros: free lunches once in a while
LG is a family oriented type of company where on my first day my managers and co-workers made me feel totally confortable.

Hardest part of the job would be when most of the calls you pick up are from customers in a bad mood, but with time you learn that it's never personal.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work circumistances
Demand Planner for Home Appliances Department (Current Employee), CairoJune 29, 2013
LG Electonics is big school which teached me alot and i had gained high experience in the field of demand planning , i learned to be problem solver in the needed time and to carry the responsibility.

in LG , Team work spirit is existing and people are very helpful to each other

the most hard part in the job is to keep watching current status with – more... it's changes that makes you in need to take quick action and sometimes you are forced to take the risk.

even if , demand planning is big world , everyday i gain more experience with new challenges – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
LG Canada - looks good on paper, day-to-day reality sucks
Manager (Current Employee), North YorkMarch 4, 2013
Pros: $4 lunch discount
Cons: big-brother, orwellian environment
Pros about working at LG Canada
- big Global company on your resume
- new office space, centrally located
- small-office feel backed by global name
- co-workers at generally pleasant (except some of the Korean Exchange worker are miserable and rude)

Cons
- working hours: 8am to 5pm. Not allowed to work-at-home
- culture shock if you are not Korean
- – more... expect long hours, no process, and last-minute requests that are crazy
- expect to execute your job with minimal budget and support. This company does not operate with the size of budget that one would expect for a global corporation. Everything is cheap, from operating budgets to employee benefits. Its a no-frills environment
- non-quality leadership
- expected to be monitored, from your online activities to even at work (ie. people will notice when you are not at your desk)

In summary, they talk the talk of a global, big name company and culture, but when it comes down to it, you are just another body to get the work done. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a working environment for everyone
Not Willing to Share (Former Employee), CanadaFebruary 27, 2013
Working here is demanding, stressful, there is no work-life balance, expectations are that overtime hours are free of charge and if you do not part-take in overtime, then you are not dedicated to the company or the results of the organization.

If you are Korean, then you will have no problems fitting in. There are HUGE cultural issues within this organization, – more... and no one is stepping up to correct it. This is the reason that the organization has such a HUGE turn-over rate.

Having LG on your resume is a huge perk - however, in the long run, it is not worth the long hours, no appreciation and the disrespect shown from specific ethnicity. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun & Positive work Environment
Field Marketing Manager (Former Employee), Toronto, ONMay 7, 2012
Great company that provides a fun and positive working environment. Holds true to their company values.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Major global brand providing numerous growth opportunities and professional challenges. Innovative product offering and a keen focus on the customer b
Vice President (Former Employee), Lincolnshire, ILDecember 10, 2014
Pros: product and technology awareness. numerous growth opportunities.
Cons: work / life balance
LG provided a great opportunity to gain key business experience. The environment is face paced and a strong focus on business goal achievement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and stable company you can grow with both professionally and personally
Senior Marketing Manager / Head (Former Employee), Saint-Petersburg, RussiaDecember 8, 2014
Pros: good benefit package, extended medical insurance
Cons: long hours, no advancement at senior positions, usually work under pressure and stres due to management style
Healthy work atmosphere, a bunch of managers you can learn from, top management accessible for communication. If there existed some professional growth for me, I would have definitely stayed with LG.
Due to the fact LG Electronics Russia operates in highly competitive and fast-changing business environment, everyday you deal with a lot of stress and – more... urgency. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Market leader, good working culture and goal oriented
Sales &Marketing Senior Manager (Former Employee), Seoul, Korea, Asia, Middle eastNovember 30, 2014
Pros: frequent meetings, discussion and decision making with improvement
Cons: short break, tight schedule with a lot of business
Managing LG electronics business including sales, marketing and organization based on strategy in Asia, Middle east countries.

Acted ad Country manager of MEA countries by having empowered ownership and made a success story by achieving market share No.1 in several market in charge of that in electronics field.

Detailed management on partners based – more... on strategy of the company and goal.

Need to be coordinate with cooperate with different nationality people and dealers as well as suppliers with factories, so communication and management capability is important.

Necessary to adapt different culture of management and customers, but all the time good aspect to be learned and flexible for it.
It is good to have leadership in marketing and sales in the market.

Had a success story of sales and marketing in Electronics field over many years. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits
Direct Mobile Service Technician (Current Employee), Salt Lake City, UTNovember 19, 2014
I provide product support for appliances and electronics. I typically provide this support to residential customers, however on occassion I provide support to businesses as well. I've learned a lot in the 5 years I've been in the industry. I don't really have co worker like a regular job has. The hardest part of the job is driving in extreme weather – more... conditions. The most enjoyable part is meeting different people and seeing different things on a daily basis. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good services
Technician - In charge of Home Appliances (Former Employee), Cannanore, KLOctober 31, 2014
Pros: free food
Responsible for interacting with the customer in dealing the Service orders and issues. The hardest part is maintaining the spares and inventory, and coordinating with the supplier for the components.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work for
Field Service Account Representative (Former Employee), Huntsville, AlOctober 26, 2014
Pros: excellent benefits, positive culture, supportive management
Cons: more reactive than proactive in some situations
I learned so much and met so many interesting people. Most people worked 8 am - 5 pm although there were times we had to stay late or come back later in the evening to communicate with our counterparts where there is a 13 hour time difference. Every day we were expected to be at our desk and supporting our service centers by inbound and outbound phone, – more... email, fax and US Postal mail. I absolutely loved my service centers. It was my job to recruit, retain, and assist them in anyway possible to make the experience in working with LG as easy and efficient as possible. We assisted with helping them file warranty claims, getting held claims released, tracking down account issues - either on LG or the service center's side- and resolving them. Above all it was important to remember that the service center is an independent company that is the face of LG out in the field taking care of our customers who have purchased LG products and are having service or installation issues. A happy service center means a positive image of LG given to the customer and that leads to repeat business. The hardest part of the job was the volume of work. Because I loved my job, it always surprised me when 5:oo rolled around. There was always more to do. I never got discouraged though. it was my personal daily challenge to help as many service centers as I could each day. My managers were terrific people. I personally did not require a lot of supervision since I knew and did my job but they were always there to help when I did have an issue I could not resolve or that needed to be escalated. I learned so many different programs that were internal to the company as well as became very experienced with Microsoft Office including Outlook, Excel, Word, & PowerPoint. My co workers were a sweet bunch of people. I have been in touch with many - those still at LG and those that were laid off where our department was reorganized as I was. That day was a real heart breaker. As a top performing account representative, I felt some job security but when the positions were dissolved, we had no where to go within the company. I worked with LG 14 1/2 years and would gladly have retired from there when that time came. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good learning Experience,life balance
Service Engineer (Former Employee), Chennai, TNOctober 20, 2014
Pros: allowances
Cons: field work
management. co-workers,hardest part of the job.Good experience
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional
Customer Service Specialist (Former Employee), Englewood Cliffs, NJOctober 18, 2014
Providing excellent customer service, Entering and reviewing PO's. Follow-ups. Data Entry. EDI orders. Emails, Outlook, Excel Word.

Great team work from co-workers

Hardest part Emails

most enjoyable part talking to customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast excution
Product Quality Sr. Manager (Former Employee), ChangwonOctober 8, 2014
Pros: hamony
Cons: -
High prodution capability
Systemical organization
Dynamic culture
High business intensity
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dont do it
Appliance REPAIR TECHNICIAN (Former Employee), HUNTSVILLE ALOctober 7, 2014
Pros: its a job
Cons: management, no support, no raises, no open door policy and micro -management at at every corner.
Appliance repair tech with over 15 years experience .This Korean company is a joke worked there 6 months and regretted every hour.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to learn
Admin Controller (Current Employee), Germiston, GPOctober 1, 2014
Pros: incentives and gifts
Cons: lonf hours
My day starts of with a mandatory 10 minute meeting as a department with goals and pressing matters that we need to address and we tackle the day from there. This place has taught me a lot about corporate culture, I have learned how the world sales and marketing works on both the marking of a product and brand to how sales work form when stock arrives – more... to when it is sold to the consumer and all that goes into ensuring that sales are driven through incentive programs and sell out management. The hardest thing in this job is not knowing weather what ever your planning will be a success or not as it is one of the most unpredictable industries to be in and that's what make this job so exciting and worth waking in the morning to do daily – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
an ok company to work for
Corporate Marketing Manager (Former Employee), Dubai UAESeptember 25, 2014
an ok company to work for, good culture but a very over the top management
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive with positive environment
Production Assistant (Former Employee), Madison, ALAugust 27, 2014
Pros: teamwork, positive environment
Cons: far walking distances from the parking lot into the building
Ordinarily a typical day of working at LG Electronics consisted of making sure that all of the cellular device packages were up to par with the company and consumer's standards. Being employed here taught me how to conduct my time in an orderly manner. Even when we were moving at a fast pace, I was able to conduct my work in an orderly fashion to make – more... sure the product I expedited was correct and complete. Management for LG was very helpful and very precise with instruction. The co-workers I encountered were fairly easy to get along, and work with. I would say that the hardest part of the job was shipping a large product on short notice. The most enjoyable part of my job was being able to come in into a positive environment, and having healthy, motivated teamwork. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a good company, but better know korean
Software Engineer (Current Employee), San Jose, CAAugust 27, 2014
It's a good company and people are always friendly. They treat you very nice. But because many people are koreans, so they talk and discuss in Korean. If you don't know it, it's a little bit hard for you. But it's a good company anyway.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Two-Faced Corporation
Analyst (Former Employee), Huntsville, ALJuly 30, 2014
Pros: free benefits, frequently free lumches
Cons: korean overwork culture, poor management with no leadership, fear-driven, imitative rather than innovative, no talent development, zero opportunity for advancement if not korean/bilingual
LGEAI has two org charts: 1) Korean, 2) All others. If you're not Korean, there's a glass ceiling. This is further reinforced by the bilingual requirement for most executive positions.

The company chant in meetings: Be First, Do it Right, Work Smart. It's all a lie, because:

Be First: Engineering and business processes are constantly "bench-marking" – more... (i.e. imitating) other companies' ideas and functions. Solutions which conflict with the status quo are ignored or publicly ridiculed. Planning Dept. is only interested in grabbing the scraps left behind by successful tech and service companies. When attempting to resolve business processes, I was told by management that, "LG isn't going to change."

Do It Right: KPIs used to obsessively measure performance are often conflicting between departments, resulting in political tension rather than productivity. No serious focus on developing leaders or the talent supporting management exists. "Waterfall management" ensures constant fire drills and reactionary responses to issues. It never seemed as though anyone had a clear vision or long-term plan for anything. All of my co-workers were constantly tense and paranoid about their job security and working conditions.

Work Smart: Job culture is one of long-hours, constant overtime, and an expectation of over work. The image of being productive (i.e. looking busy) is more important than delivering results or being efficient. Paid overtime kicks in at 45 hours and is not paid beyond 50 weekly hours. Also, outdated and poorly maintained IT and business intelligence systems/software provide only crude tools which then give crude answers to crude questions. I spent countless hours delivering meaningless daily/weekly reports using manual data processing. For IT skill, MS Excel is about all you need to know at LG. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About LG Electronics

LG Electronics, Inc. (KSE: 066570.KS) is a global leader and technology innovator in consumer electronics, home appliances and – Read more

LG Electronics Photos