Find companies:
Levy Restaurants
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
236 reviews

Levy Restaurants Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Winter Job
Concessions Manager/Bartender (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAMarch 12, 2014
Pros: you watch all major sec sporting events, watching the falcons.
Cons: off season
Football season is here you will be flooded with hours of work but after football season tends to be very slow. events are smaller and far between each other which lacks consistency.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work and experience all the different cultures in NYC.
Bartender (Current Employee), Brooklyn, NYMarch 10, 2014
Pros: always a fun and energetic place to work.
Cons: the schedule is very inconsistent.
At Barclays, we are assigned to a different bar every shift. When we get to our bars we are responsible for the inventory of all of our liquor and cups at the start and end of service. We have to supply ourselves with cups, liquor, and mixers, according to the attendance, type of event, and how much we assume our guests will be drinking that night. – more... We also have to set up attractive displays of our own as well as working with our sponsors to set up displays within their guidelines. Basically, you can say it is like opening up our own bar everyday. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing, the crowds are.
Floor Supervisor (Current Employee), Jacksonville, FLMarch 7, 2014
Pros: family meal, incentives to excel, and 6000 screaming fans
Cons: very few breaks once the game starts, little room for growth at a point
A 13 hour shift for supervisors, starting with a walk around to see what needs to be done. Followed by a short meeting during which we get a pep talk for the coming event to get as fired up as the teams.

It never mattered to us who won, just that we had made all 20k guests happy in some way.

Sections were always at war! Who could sell the most, have – more... the best overall experience, and of course - who had the best reviews.

The hardest part of the job is getting in.

The most enjoyable: 6000 screaming fans for 6 hours. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Suites (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLMarch 4, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: long days
This was a seasonal job, so I enjoyed taking a break from it for a little while. Most of the people I work with there are great. A typical work day would be very long, about 11 to 12 hours. The management was okay, but definitely not the best I've ever seen. The hardest part of the job was learning how to do a bunch of little tasks. The most enjoyable – more... was getting to work with some great people and being around the excitement. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun day at the zoo
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Bristol, ENGFebruary 26, 2014
Pros: working in the zoo
Cons: long hours
Compass Group / Levy Restaurants is located in the Bristol Zoo, which makes it already a fun place to work.
There is no such a thing as "typical day at work" because every day is completely different, and this is what makes it so excited.
Co-workers and senior management team is probably the best i ever worked with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and fast paced with great food
Suite attendant (Current Employee), Saint Louis, MOFebruary 26, 2014
A little unorganized it was however a great company to work for in the NFL season.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
contract ended
Steward (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAFebruary 25, 2014
working for papa jphns was wonderful and stressful bt since im strong i didnt let it interfere with my home
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Judgemental enviorment
Hostess (Former Employee), Houston, TXFebruary 23, 2014
Pros: free lunch, good amount of hours
Cons: too much unnecessary behavior, snobish
On my feet for about 6 hrs, Nice costumers, Management was uptight, I enjoyed the food plus nice view of the games
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is poor, hours are based on seniority.
Cashier (Current Employee), Sacramento, CAFebruary 18, 2014
Pros: free meal, pays more than minimum wage, tips.
Cons: management is cheap, many things need fixing.
A typical day at work for me. I would come in to my kiosk, count all merchandise in order to verify inventory, count register tender, prepare machines for the service, and set up the kiosk. I would then serve ice cream to the various customers that would come, especially busy during half time of intermission. then I would close the stand repeating everything – more... I did during opening and also washing machines and dishes used. Management does not communicate very well and are pretty biased towards their 'Favorites". Co workers are nice, however many think they are superior to others because of their seniority status. The hardest part of my job would be when our POS stopped working during half time and I had to use a calculator to make change. The most enjoyable part was the social aspect, seeing all the loyal kings fans at every game. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place for organization and customer skills.
Banquet Set-up (Former Employee), St.Louis, MoFebruary 12, 2014
A typical day at work would be setting up 40 to 50 tables, as far as placing the lining, tableware and chairs for huge dining events. Getting to see how they ballrooms are set-up nicely and being able to help the servers. They help you improve your customer service skills and hospitality.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun, happy place to work
Prep Cook-CATERING TEAM, CARVER-PRESS BOX (Former Employee), Seattle, WAFebruary 10, 2014
The staff was great! The chefs would take the time to show me something or teach me something even though they were busy!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun atmosphere, getting to be creative but not having some personal time.
Senior Sous Chef (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAFebruary 6, 2014
Pros: watch all concerts, basketball games, events for free, traveling to support other properties
Cons: quality of life, hard to come by
Check emails, review volume for upcoming events, prep sheets, temp logs, receive products, order missing products, making sure par levels are met, deliver all cold items to concessions, fire all hot items and deliver to concessions as well. I have learned how to manage time and people to execute each event. Managing hourly's and working with co-workers – more... to reach the same goal. Hardest part is trying to find time for myself. I enjoy making the clients and guests happy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job
Porter (Former Employee), ChicagoFebruary 5, 2014
Pros: food
Cons: seasonal
Great Job for advancement. Work Load Not To Hard. Full Time Hours. Co Workers Friendly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment
Host (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZFebruary 4, 2014
At Levy's I worked as a Host so a typical day would include seating people in the dining area and helping out the servers with their tables. The team their was great, everyone got along and became fast friends. The best part of my job excluding the fact the we worked under the baseball stadium was that we got to watch the games on the TV's inside the – more... restaurant. The hardest part of my job was balancing all the plates I had to take to a table hoping I wouldn't embarrass myself and drop them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you live to work, this could be the place for you!
Human Resources Assistant (Former Employee), Louisville, KYJanuary 27, 2014
Pros: excitement, travel, experience, camaraderie
Cons: no work/life balance, pay is not great
The people who work in sports dining are some of the most dedicated and hard-working people I've seen. Prepare for 100-hr weeks during events and no sleep for days, but also prepare to have a great time doing it. A true "work hard, play hard" atmosphere with excitement always front and center. A fair mix of people who love their jobs and those who don't. – more... There is NOT a good work/life balance, but if that isn't important to you, you could love this company and all of the opportunities (travel, experience, professional development, even meeting celebrities) you may have. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lincoln Park Zoo
Vendor/Cashier (Former Employee), 2001 N ClarkJanuary 25, 2014
Pros: free lunch, hours, long breaks
Cons: working conditions (weather), unorganized at times
I had an okay working experience with this company. Nice co-workers along with majority of the staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A sport orientated environment
Hawker (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INJanuary 21, 2014
I enjoyed working at a sport environment, since I am a sport fan of the Pacers or the Fever.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy Busy Busy
Cashier/Food Prep (Former Employee), Houston, TXJanuary 20, 2014
Many employees had negative dispositions. Managers always had an attitude when asked a basic question. The hardest part of the job was the constant flow of customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ZERO Work/Life Balance
Senior Manager (Current Employee), St. Louis, MOJanuary 19, 2014
Pros: pay is not bad.
Cons: zero work/life balance
A typical day for a manager is 10 or more hours, 6-7 days a week. Levy has an extremely heavy work load for managers. Down time is next to never. IF there is down time you can expect to be sent to another property to help. And expect to work a minimum of 15 hours each day! And I hope you do not get hungry because that is of no concern with Levy either. – more... If you want to be away from your family ALL the time, always feel over worked and unappreciated, and you want to lose weight, then this is a perfect job for you. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cleaned, served, and worked long hours to create successful dinners.
Server (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAJanuary 16, 2014
Decent job, I worked ten hours a day however and it was hard at times but I learned a lot about myself and how to work through bad situations.

About Levy Restaurants

This company's menu of operations feeds people out on the town and at the game. Levy Restaurants is a leading restaurant operator – Read more

Levy Restaurants Photos