Leon's Furniture Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 76 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
play ground for the kids
Sale Associate (Current Employee) –  Calgary, ABJanuary 19, 2016
Atypical day at work, is when i get to work and call my customers regarding they're stock.

I've learned to grow and grow each day.

Management is awesome, everyone is like a family at Leon's and that's what i love most about it.

Co-workers are great and you get to meet new people everyday.

The hardest part of the time is trying to figure out what your customers need/want, instead of thinking about how much they will spend or how they are mean to you just because you are a sale rep; but that is the best part about being a sales rep.

When i help a customer pick out everything for they're house. that makes my day, i feel like if i can help that person make they're home beautiful and within they're budget, then that is the most enjoyable part of my job.
Pros
busy days, employees, and happy customers.
Cons
long hours, managing your paychecks.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family style workplace
General Manager (Current Employee) –  Barrie, ONJanuary 11, 2016
Leon's treats employees like family. If you put in the hard work, you will be rewarded.

Lots of benefits (Free) and decent wages.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad overall
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  CanadaAugust 13, 2016
Would not recomend working here. Underpaid, their customer service policies are morally wrong. You're trained to basically be the bringer of bad news almost always. Managers are clicky biased and will 360 on you if you're easy to blame. You're basically going to expect being yelled at by customers 24/7 working in customer service and I can tell you right now8/10 people you're dealing with will be miserable. You're guarenteed fulltime hours but at the same time if you're not liked by managment you won't have much of a choice in what you work. Not much for work life balance. Pay is better than other retail jobs but is it worth it for the amount you have to take?
Pros
hour break
Cons
mistreatment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Able to work productively while having fun with my co workers.
WAREHOUSE LABOURER (Former Employee) –  Debert, NSMay 5, 2016
A typical day at the Leons Warehouse would be getting up early in the morning. Driving to work on time and making sure everything is running smoothly when I arrive. That requires me to get all the work load ready for that day such as get the delivery trucks ready to go. Build furniture and place on the show room floor. When a customer buys something and that want it right away, my responsibility's are too put the furniture they bought into their vehicle and also make sure they are satisfied. I learned how too work well with co workers and learned how to be independent to get the job done. The hardest part about the job was that there was no hard part. The job was hardworking but I am a fast learner so I found no problem learning new things fast.
Pros
Great work environment
Cons
Under paid
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Entry level workplace with little chance of advancement
Pick-up door supervisor & Inventory associate (Current Employee) –  Edmonton ABJune 27, 2015
Entry level workplace, rapid change of workers.
Managers and coworkers are friendly, but without proper human resource regulations, it is hard to work here for a long time.
Inventory, receiving and management skills can be learnt here, which is the best part.
When there is little customers--and it happens frequently-- the job can be super boring.
There is little chance to get a raise unless changing the position.
A very good place for young people to gain experience, but it is not a place for career seekers.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive learning experience at Leon's Furniture Limited
delivery clerk (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONMarch 4, 2016
Working at Leon's Furniture Limited was a great experience. I learned a lot of great customer service in many departments such as: Customer care, Whare House, and Deliveries. The management is very encouraging for co workers to learn and grow with the company. The co-workers make your experience at Leon's enjoyable and easy to coop with everyone. My most enjoyable period working at Leon's was working in the Whare house because it is a hands on job and made the time spent effective.
Pros
learned a lot about the computer systems used
Cons
not enough staff
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Associate (Former Employee) –  CanadaMay 3, 2016
Your work/life balance is great, you get days off during the week and your off early on the weekends. Learn to be an exceptional salesperson within an environment designed by the Leon's family to continue learning throughout the year. Management and co-workers are professional both in appearance and character. Hardest part of the job is making it through the day in off peak seasons. Again management is trying to correct this issue by creating mini sales before massive quarterly sale months. Just be sure to save some money in the busy season to hold you over when its "dead".
Pros
The only free food you ever get is once a year. It's all you can eat Superstore hot dogs
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An awful job, with awful pay
Front Office Associate (Former Employee) –  OntarioJuly 29, 2016
Management is awful! Most of them treat their employees like they are their personal slaves. Sales associates are paid too much and everyone else is not paid enough. unfair here. sales staff is also constantly scrutinized. Customers abuse employees daily, and coworkers are okay.

Managers expect too much of their employees

BUT WHEN YOU UNDER-PAY YOUR EMPLOYEES LEONS, DONT EXPECT GREAT WORK :)
Pros
discount on furniture
Cons
awful pay, awful management on all levels
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice workplace
Customer Service in Warehouse (Current Employee) –  Saskatoon, SKJune 22, 2016
I am thankful that leon's furniture company give me a good working experience since I worked. the Supervisors are friendly and kindly, they pay a lot patient to help employee to learn skills. The manager is a so nice lady, she always smile and help you to solve the problem even you have something hard to finish.
Pros
employee discount
Cons
no
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours
Delivery Person (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ONDecember 4, 2015
The job was unreliable. Although I worked with some great people as a delivery team, the hours were long, the money to low, and certain times of each month, business was slow.
Pros
being own boss (on the road), Christmas parties
Cons
Long hours, slow business, money low
Was this review helpful?Yes3No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average job
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Cornwall, ONMarch 12, 2016
Average job average pay, management was decent at best. Co workers were decent and it was a very relaxed environment. Dont miss working there.
Pros
Relaxed job
Cons
Poor management of workplace.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Geat place to work at and learned a lot
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ONMay 25, 2016
typical day at leons is unpacking things , unloading trucks , assembling tables , doing pick ups , going in the lift trucks taking couches etc.
learned how to drive a lift truck , everyone is really nice
Pros
teaches a lot of responsilibity
Cons
can be tough sometimes
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive Environment
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Simcoe, ONMarch 7, 2015
Leon's was a competitive sales environment with up to 8 sales associates on the floor at one time. With a competitive environment there was a certain tension between sales staff. The environment was productive, however could be negative as well.
The wages were 100% commission sales, and a bonus system was in place. Benefits were top of the line. The hours were very long each day, mostly 11-12 hour days.
Pros
flexibility with personal appointments
Cons
long hours on your feet
Was this review helpful?Yes5No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable due to the co-workers and supervisors
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  20 McLevin Ave, ScarboroughJune 5, 2016
The coworkers were around my age and had the same interests I had. The supervisors and warehouse managers were also outgoing and very lenient.
Pros
The Co-workers and management
Cons
Working Saturdays and Sundays
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Co-workers and that's it.
MANAGEMENT (Former Employee) –  Sarnia, ONNovember 27, 2013
Unfortunately for the team, the only training management gets from Leon's is a 'learn as you go' type education. This leaving too much room for error and confusion. This being the reason for my resigning.
Leon's will overwhelm you with praise and positivity, but it is all fake. They only care about the business and when your need is fulfilled, the 'caring' goes out the window. They will try and have you resign so as not to have to pay your severance. Be aware.
Lets remember that they are all salesmen.
I have never worked for a company that continually forgets to order stock for customers, forgets to call waiting customers back and preaches' integrity' unless you threaten to complain. Then you will get what you want. That's integrity??

This all stemming from store management that has no idea how to manage.
Pros
fun people (most)
Cons
being employed by leon's
Was this review helpful?Yes20No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, ABFebruary 29, 2016
I worked for leons for 5 years. very flexible on hours. it was a very physically demanding job. good people. i only left because i was in school and couldn't commit to the part time hours and college hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful and underpaid
sales associate (Former Employee) –  Whitby, ONDecember 1, 2015
It looks nice at first, but then you understand that you'll get blamed for any mistake that the management will do. You can sit for 12 hours with only 5 customers coming in, basically wasting 12 hours of your day and not getting paid for. There's constant rivalry between you and other sales associates, and the management encourages you to fight for every customer, making those endless hours to be even worse.
Pros
Learn how to engage with customers
Cons
Underpaid, Long working day including every weekend, management.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environement with awesome People
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Dartmouth, NSJune 6, 2016
Beds, Bedrooms, Mattresses, Living Rooms, Dining Rooms, Chairs, Sectionals, Couches and Sofas great qualities with good hours
Pros
Food Truck + Barbeques
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Medicine Hat, ABMarch 24, 2016
this place was poorly run and barely managed, the fellow employees where hyper competitive and stole sales. the product we sold was good but the establishment was not.
Pros
none
Cons
working there
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great time working there
Warehouse associate (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONMay 2, 2016
Enjoy working with all the employees at leon's furnitue. management is awesome and overall provide best services to customers. Also gained more experience in serving customers and working in a team.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 77 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.3
Culture
3.4