Find companies:
LensCrafters
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
135 reviews

LensCrafters Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent
Eyewear Consultant (Former Employee), Fort Worth, TXSeptember 24, 2013
excellent, great co workers, make sure you know your information about different glasses and lenses
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was able to utilize my knowledge & skills in Optometric Industry.
Lic. Optician (Current Employee), San Francisco, CASeptember 18, 2013
Pros: eyeglass benefits.
Cons: can't meet corresponding pay rate based on my over-all qualifications.
It's a fun and convenient environment to work. Day to day interaction with patients & customers is personally pleasing to extend services to. My co-workers are easy to get along with. Troubleshooting difficult customers is one of the most challenging part but I've never given up on.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work. alot of experience gained
Eyewear Consultant (Current Employee), Mount Kisco, NYSeptember 10, 2013
Pros: experience
Cons: short breaks
IT can go from being slow to a rush of people coming out of no where. majority of the customers are friendly and patient but some are pretty demanding. i have to say a short prayer before starting my day to deal with some of them. the management are usually people who have little to no optical experience that eventually you will have to train yourselves. – more... most enjoyable part of the job is bonding with the customers who only wanting to work with you and sending friends to come see you. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hostile workplace in the sense of continuous harassment in regards to sales.
Optician (Former Employee), Austin, TXSeptember 4, 2013
I did not enjoy working there at all. The management was always harassing its employees as to why a potential customer walked out the door.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Making Eyeglasses
Lab Technician (Former Employee), Carmel, INAugust 28, 2013
Pros: good company to work for.
Cons: a second generator or 2 sets of finer and polisher would have helped at times.
Opened lab if was opener that day, got everything ready to go. I learned how to run a lot of different machines to make the eyewear. My manager was very nice. My co-workers were nice and as hard working as myself. The hardest part was if we got to many jobs at 1 time. Had 2 get them all done in an hour regardless of how many came in at a time. I enjoyed – more... all of the job mostly. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production learn environment with amazing co-workers.
Receptionist (Current Employee), Independence, MOAugust 22, 2013
Pros: the perfect job for me as for what i am looking for in a job.
Cons: hour for store got cut after our busy season was over.
I would come in and pull charts for the days patients. Set up all machines for the day. Check patients in with the use of Tab appointment book. Pre-smited insurance.Then intered in co-payments an insurance threw the use of Peachtree Accounting. Then took patients back and did performed pre-testing. Loved everyone that I worked with. Learning how to – more... use the pre-testing machines was one of the hardest part of the job but only took me 2 weeks to catch on. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
high pace & interesting work environment
Eye Care Advisor (Current Employee), Orlando, FLAugust 20, 2013
Pros: always stood busy most of the time
Cons: not enough hours
•Maintain patient schedules
•Instruct patients in the care and use of contact lenses
•Assist patients to insert or remove contact lenses
•Educate and counsel patients on contact lens care, visual hygiene, lighting arrangements and safety factors
•Conduct pre-eye exam using observation, instruments and pharmaceutical agents, to determine visual acuity – more... and perception, focus and coordination

I would usually work in the doctors side with just my supervisor, we would usually rotate from front office to back office. Didn't really ave a hard part to my job, but I would say some times insurance claims would get a little challenging, but nothing that wouldn't get done. Overall I love my job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lot of Hours
Lab Manager (Former Employee), Pensacola, FLAugust 18, 2013
Was a great company to work for and be a part of its growth. Required a lot of hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great location by my school
OPTICIAN (Former Employee), Ogden utahAugust 6, 2013
Pros: hour lunch
Cons: commission
Helping patients find glasses to fit them. Adjusting frames. Cleaning mirrors. There was a monthly goal for each employee to get the higher Lens material. Commission. I did get a few certificates for most sold a few months. Great people to work with. Hardest part of the job was keeping my quota up each month. A very competitive environment. Id end up – more... standing by the entrance to accost the first person who walked in – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to Work
Sales Supervisor (Former Employee), Meriden, CTJuly 30, 2013
This was a very enjoyable place to work. I enjoyed the collaboration with the doctors office.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provide information and training for advancement
Optician (Current Employee), Bozeman, MTJuly 26, 2013
Pros: discounts on eyewear, cell phone plans, and travel
Cons: hard to get 30+ hours a week
Fun to help customers find the perfect pair of glasses. Downside is it is retail based more than medical. Not much flexibility to spend time with family or have a life outside of work. It is a privelege to work for them not a right and they stand by it. They supply materials to learn and advance in the job but offer limited opportunities for advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work
Lab Technician (Former Employee), Oklahoma City, OKJuly 22, 2013
delivered bottled drinks and collected payments. Large route and some difficult clients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment to learn how to be a better sales associate
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Fayetteville, NCJuly 19, 2013
Pros: pot lucks, partys, meetings
Cons: hours go down during slow periods
We suggested to our customers lenses and frames to fit there needs. I learned how to adjust, fix, and sale glasses. Learned which types of lenses goes best with each situation. Management was awesome always ready to teach us something new keeping us pumped and motivated. Co- workers were awesome made the day fly by. The hardest part of the job learning – more... how to adjust and fix glasses. The most enjoyable part of my job getting to know customers and providing excellent customer service. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay and benefits! But sloppy management!
Connection Specialist (Current Employee), El Cajon, CAJuly 19, 2013
Pros: part-time benefits, free glasses on anniversary, good discount program, lots of promos
Cons: managers are poor, insurance not great, hours are not guaranteed
I was hired very intrigued about the job! Pay was great, benefits were offered and the people were nice. But after a year working, they decided to cut hors, mine went to 0!!! Its been currently 7 weeks that I have no hours, still employed, just no hours!! This is the first time I've ever heard about something like this, and it disappoints me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and state of the art company
Retail Sales Manager (Current Employee), Lynnwood, WAJuly 16, 2013
Pros: lots of new technology to learn, working closely with the dr. and staff to make sure we meet every customers needs
Cons: always changing schedule, slow company advancement after a certain point
I've loved growing with this company. I've learned new ways to develop my team and grow with them. I've gone through motivational speeches and management courses through the company. They have even paid for multiple trips for me to go on to help develop other stores in different cities and states. The people that work there are a good mix of part time – more... and full time associates who care about their job and are fun to work with. The most enjoyable part about this job though is being able to give the gift of sight to someone who has yet to experience true 20/20 vision. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always great customers
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Colorado Springs, COJuly 10, 2013
Cons: scheduling issues, management problems
The customers I have always come in, whether have a smile on their face in the beginning or not, they will always walk out knowing that they weren't fooled or have buyers remorse, since I only care about what they need and what they can do in terms of finances. My main goal is to always listen to my customers needs and wants, and meeting those needs – more... in the best way possible. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helping people
Frame Stylist (Former Employee), Chesapeake, VAJune 30, 2013
Pros: free glasses every year
Cons: lots of measuring
I loved this job. I got to meet lots of new people. I used the computer to find benefits and enter customer information.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rigid, Frugal, Narcissistic Management System
Optical Technician (Former Employee), Eugene, ORJune 26, 2013
Pros: good pay, great teachers
Cons: work through lunch or get in trouble
I was a Lab Technician and my job duties were great. By far one of the most fun jobs I've had. I learned a great amount about a new subject. We helped many people reclaim their vision through normal purchasing customer, free eye wear voucher from Lyons Club members as well as the donations made by OneSight participants. I would have loved to go on a – more... trip and disburse eye wear to people in need, but was unable to. However, I must say that the management was poor. Not in the sense that people could run around doing whatever they pleased but rather the awful penny pinching attitudes. This corporation is the worlds leader in eye wear, owning many brands Ray-Ban included. I cant say many bad things about Luxottica as they are trying to rule the world, I wont stop them. I do think if they treated their employees a little better, they would do better and possibly might rule the world. Until then they will continue to have thousands of employees say the same sort of thing I'm saying here. Overall it's a fine company to work for. They taught me so much besides a new skilled trade. I appreciate the opportunities they gave me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lenscrafters pros and cons from a long time lab tech
Optical Laboratory Technician (Current Employee), ConnecticutJune 25, 2013
Pros: already listed
Cons: already listed
What I do like:

*This job has taught me everything I know about optics through hands on experience. I was very lucky to work with good skilled opticians who mentored me in the lab (this is not the case in every store). I now feel very confident that I can work in any store or practice requiring someone with my specific skill set.

* I've made some – more... great and interesting people and relationships with both employees and customers.

* The company is accommodating to transferring to different stores so long as there is a need in the remote area.

*I have received steady raises and bonuses for my hard work based on regular work reviews.

What I don't like:

*Constant pressure/stress on store management teams to make high profits on top of last years sales and that trickling down to the rest of the store.

*An ever changing job description open to interpretation. Which translates to me doing the job I was hired for, plus many duties of the management, opticians, or sales associates (all of which I am none of).

*A feeling of instability, working unpredictable flexible hours. Despite multi-billion dollar reported profits, the company decides to cut labor hours. Thus forcing the few employees that are working a shift to work alone, overwhelmed in busy stores, while customers walk out in frustration. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Vision for the Future in One Hour- Assoicate/Frame Stylist
Frame Stylist (Former Employee), Chesterfield, MOJune 24, 2013
Properly fitting by measuring for the perfect fit of eyeglasses.
Recording the precise prescription data for the lens chosen by the customers in a timely and proficient manner daily. This company is known for maintaining the guarantee of one hour service for glasses.
associates are responsible for the totaling and keeping record of daily receipts in – more... their cash register drawers. Friendly and reliable service required to perform effectively to meet the request of the customer's needs. – less

About LensCrafters

LensCrafters brings eyewear and malls together. Part of the growing retail arm ( Luxottica Retail) of Italy's Luxottica Group, – Read more