Find companies:
LensCrafters
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
185 reviews

LensCrafters Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace to work hassle free customer service and retail work
Student Optician (Former Employee), Toronto, OntarioSeptember 17, 2014
Pros: free pizza hut lunches, and greek donuts from ns
Cons: no contact lens dispensary available in the retail store. controlled by the optometrists.
I've been working at this workplace for four years and I love the people I work with. My typical day at work starts with a huddle with the manager or assistant manager. We review our work day, our goals, and our sales targets for each associate. My co-workers are all very friendly, but of course there is some friction where we fight for the commission. – more... The hardest part of the job is handling sales objections from the customers and closing the sales where our prices cannot be beat anywhere else in North America. The most enjoyable part of the job is seeing the customers walk into the store and talking to them about their eyewear and eye concerns. I am an aspiring optician of 2014. I wanna win the opticianry award of the year. Thank you everyone for supporting me and letting me be who I am now. Thanks PK, ND, AB, SA, GF, NS, SS, GC, AMP, and SH for everything. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Serious but fun workplace
Lab Technician (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABMay 27, 2014
-There was lots of on your feet work in the lab and the work was tedious but rewarding because of the lens grinding. There was lots of communication between the opticians and the lab personnel to make the lenses correctly for customers.

-I learned that work is not always serious, but fun. Working in a lab is strict because of the procedures and checklists – more... and maintenance but it can be highly rewarding, following directions and making lenses.

-Management was of a high-caliber and quite flexible because of customer inquiries and requests for eye-wear.

-Co-workers were helpful and always willing to make you feel part of a team.

-The hardest part of the job was not forgetting the repetitive lab tasks necessary to keep the lab running at a high level of efficiency.

-The most enjoyable part of the job was helping customers see again when they got their new eye-glasses and eye-wear. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Certified Technician
Certified Technician (Current Employee), Ottawa, ONApril 28, 2014
Working as laboratory technician. Key responsibilities are inventory management, manufacturing of lens, manufacturing quality inspects, quality inspection of final product, periodical maintenance of lab and machines. Customer management and after-sale service of product
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lenscrafters
Sales Consultant & Receptionist (Current Employee), OakridgeApril 5, 2014
Pros: helping people
Cons: low on hours
A typical day at work includes trying to make sales to reach our individual target goals. We do so by approaching customers, making them feel comfortable, selecting appropriate eyeglasses and sunglasses for them, and trying to close the sale. The management team is very close to all my co-workers, it feels as if we all work together rather than for – more... them. The hardest part of the job is trying to make our goals on slow days when not very many customers are coming into the store. The most enjoyable part of the job is knowing I am helping customers see better! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People are friendly and eager to help you.
Lab Technician (Current Employee), Greater Sudbury, ONSeptember 5, 2013
Pros: you get your breaks as you are supposed to.
Cons: not as many hours as i would like.
I like the people ,I'm being trained very efficiently and i enjoy the atmosphere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was fun learning to read prescription from paper and applying to lens being made for customers
Certified Technician (Former Employee), Ottawa OntarioApril 16, 2013
Pros: 50% off glasses for family/friends and free glasses once a year
Cons: the time frame was not always doable for a number of reasons
grinding lens to the prescription and fitting the lens into the frame the customer has chosen
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Informative place to work.
Assistant (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONDecember 13, 2012
I learnt many things here, not just about glasses but about the working world as well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good environment to work at!
Retail Sales Associate (Current Employee), Mississauga, ONNovember 20, 2012
Lenscrafters- home of accufit technology is a very good company to buy glasses for casual wear, work and sun wear too. I love working there!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Sales Supervisor (Former Employee), Calgary, AbApril 16, 2012
• Responsible for running payroll every week, accounts payable and accounts receivable
• Prepared weekly sales reports to present to the manager
• Improved productivity by monitoring sales of associates
• Provide accurate, quality and caring service in an efficient manner to existing and new customers
• Utilize effective listening and communication – more... skills to identify problems, needs, or opportunities
• Actively sell LensCrafters products and services to current and potential customers – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor managment
Lead Eye Care Advisor (Former Employee), Stockton, CADecember 12, 2014
good stepping stone , very poor HR department and management good experience but would never go back
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and fun with no room for advancement and poor management
Optical Lab Technician (Former Employee), Bridgewater, NJDecember 4, 2014
Pros: fast paced, fun, got to help people by making glasses.
Cons: terrible company to work for, horrible management.
I loved my job but the company itself is horrible. The corporation only cares about making a couple of extra bucks every month at the cost of it's employees. From cutting the labs hours in half to preventing anyone from being promoted, the company even goes as far as to never legitimately fire any of its employees in an effort to prevent them from collecting – more... unemployment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A productive enviornment
Licensed Optician (Former Employee), Eatontown, N.J. and Olympia, WADecember 4, 2014
Pros: we had a great staff of employees
Cons: company cut backs.
I normally either opened or closed the lab. On occasion I did both depending on scheduling. The lab was a factory enviornment, many opening proceedures prior to the start of the day, it normally took an hour to open. Job duties in opening were cleaning laps, preparing the blocker, lens hardener, inspection of slurry and cooling systems. Changing any – more... chemicals. Closing the lab involved cleaning machinery, disposing of recepticles and cleaning lens coaters. I assisted lab employees with less optical experience. I was a co-manager in the lab. The most enjoyable part of the job was a good group of co-workers we had and the ability to manufacture and dispense eye-wear to satisfied customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
high volume of jobs, very busy. Multi-tasking plays a key role in completing work.
certified lab tech (Former Employee), Menlo Park, CADecember 3, 2014
Pros: develop skills as a lab tech
Cons: short staffed, low compensation
Great work place to gain skills and experience. At times the lab was under-staffed but that's when i had time to gain more skills and develop leader ship in making sure that lenses where being processed in regards to surface and finished sides of the lab.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed the science behind the work, but unable to grant full time status
Lead Lab Technician (Current Employee), Boise, IDNovember 30, 2014
At LensCrafters, I manufactured prescription eyewear under the "glasses in about an hour" mantra. Other duties included maintenance of the machines and training. I have taken away two key attributes from working at LensCrafters: the ability to multitask, and the ability to lead. The ability to multitask came from having to make sure all our prescription – more... glasses that we manufacture are finished within an hour of the sale time, which, when you have multiple jobs, can be tricky unless you know how to manage your time appropriately and communicate with the other associates. The ability to lead came with my role as the Lead Lab Technician. Others look to me, as well as the lab manager, to run the lab, work directly with customers on optical issues, maintain machines, and keep the lab looking good and running smoothly. Although, I have had the ability and opportunity to lead through school, such as leading class discussions, this was my opportunity to prove that I can lead and manage a group of associates, rather than classmates. I am put in the managerial position when the lab manager is gone. Tasks include the lab paperwork and contacting outside labs to make sure jobs are on time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Organized company that offered many opportunities for upward mobility
General Manager (Former Employee), Salem, NCNovember 18, 2014
Pros: great opportunities for training and development.
Cons: n/a
I was fortunate to have my start in the optical industry with Lenscrafters. My time with them help me to develop a well rounded wealth of knowledge in this field. They provided a high level of training and development to every employee. I started in the lab and developed skills that resulted into becoming lab manager after three years. My goal was to – more... have my own store as general manager. That came to fruition within two years of becoming lab manger. I opened the new Lenscrafters store at Friendly Center in Greensboro.
I was fortunate to gain great training and experience from an awesome organization. I will always be thankful for what they provided with my career development in the optical industry. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Pace, High Quailty
employee (Current Employee), ohioNovember 17, 2014
Pros: experience in manufacturing
Cons: lack of hours
have went through lows and highs. Company is very solid when it comes to over all sales goals. Has a hard time keeping stable employees due to lack of hours and training. Have to maintain many machines and overall lab. A lot of work to get done in a short time frame from week to week. More production than manager because of lack of hours. On the other – more... hand if you work hard and keep your employees that you have happy then your will be ok. When you have high turn over prepare for a lot of long days and no days off. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lab Supervisor
Lab Manager/Lab Supervisor (Former Employee), Springfield, ILNovember 12, 2014
Great working with bunch of co-workers, fast paced repairing different machines and working with diverse cultures
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ups and Downs
Retail Manager (Former Employee), Hillsboro, ORNovember 12, 2014
Pros: see review
Cons: see review
Honestly, like a lot of retail jobs its all about who you know and how you know them. I worked for Luxottica for almost four years and between Sunglass hut and Lenscrafters it became abundantly clear early on that if you weren't in your supervisor's good graces that it could suffocate the possibility for you to advance, regardless of your performance. – more... Luckily for me I was able to shake off some bad juju early enough in my career to advance a fairly considerable distance within 3 years regardless of my age and lack of seniority.

Best things about Lenscrafters/Luxottica:
-Onesight, a phenominal Non-profit that allowed me to go to China in 2014 and use the optical knowledge I had accrued to help almost 3,500 kids receive vision care they would have otherwise never experience.
-If you make a good name for yourself you can go far (but not necessarily quickly)
-SOME of the people are true gems, hard workers and people you'll stay connected with for a long time
-Decent hourly wage if you have enough skills or have worked for long enough
-Generally a very positive and emotionally uplifting place to work

Worst things about Lenscrafters/Luxottica:
-INCREDIBLY clique oriented, make into the right inner-circle and you're untouchable
-Policies can be debilitating as they are very black and white with no room for exceptions
-If a new group of managers come in they will often scrub most or all of a retail staff simply to bring in their own friends/family (regardless of their ability/inability to perform any of the business's requirements)
-HR/Corporate often act very "laissez faire" about issues on a store to store level, if it isn't directly impacting the business your on your own to figure it out amongst yourselves – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Eyewear Consultant/Apprentice Optician (Current Employee), Johnson City, TNOctober 30, 2014
Already talked about the review for LensCrafters. Great place with great co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
TERRIBLE GENERAL MANAGER
Lab Tech (Former Employee), Flint MiOctober 28, 2014
Pros: its an okay company
Cons: terrible mangement and employees with no optical knowledge!!!!!!!!!
I would NEVER and I mean NEVER shop or work for Lenscrafters in Flint, Michigan store# 5590. TERRIBLE General Manager with NO optical knowledge or sense. It TRULY has me in SHOCK that a company that strives of providing high quality eyewear, hire employees with no optical knowledge. I wouldn't shop there and I actually laugh at future customers who – more... would shop at a OVERLY priced store and discuss serious eye topics and situation with employees with no clue of Optical knowledge. But with a poor management there is no surprise. Take a word of advice save money and a HEADACHE DONT apply or even shop at LENSCRAFTERS located in Flint, Michigan store#5590. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About LensCrafters

LensCrafters brings eyewear and malls together. Part of the growing retail arm ( Luxottica Retail) of Italy's Luxottica Group, – Read more