Find companies:
Ledcor
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
98 reviews

Ledcor Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very high paying job with camp accomadations
Journeyman Welder (Former Employee), Fort McMurray, ABMarch 18, 2013
Pros: camp accomaditions, payed flights
Cons: laying in mud
a typical day at work was very interesting, alot of same work over and over but thinking about going home on your days off just made everything worth while.
i learned to master my ability to do overhead welding because we were welding on mostly pile caps.
the management were great to deal with and could bring any situation up with them all
coworkers – more... were really easy to get along with and to work with in the field
the hardest part of the job would have been lying in under piles in the mud and getting shocks from being damp but that all a part of the trade.

the most enjoyable part of the job would honestly be knowing that at the end of the cycle youd be going home to spend time with your family which i havent done in 4 years prior. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
11 Months I worked for Ledcor, then hired permanent by TELUS
Telecommunications LTS, I & R 2007-2008 (Former Employee), Interior South, British ColumbiaMarch 18, 2013
Pros: great first level mangement
Cons: poor budget to pay mangers what they are worth...they should get as much as an engineer +
The Eleven months I was employed by Ledcor in the I&R telecom side for Telus I found to be most enjoyable.
Ledcor strove for safe work standards and maintaning quality control.
Manager at that time gave technicians under his supervision good guidence and kept intouch with excellent rapore.

I left Ledcor Tel to join Telus.
I would work for Ledcor again.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the top places to lurn, grow,and work.
skilled labour (Former Employee), Fort mcmurray, ABFebruary 28, 2013
Pros: money, food, camp, good people
Cons: long hours
It's a long shift working 12 hours 14 day's strate and with a job that changes every day but with good people at your side and learning some thing new every day makes it so werth it!
In a work place with danger lerking in every corner it's a must to be safe, alert, and ready ledcor makes sure we keep safe so we can go home safe.
giving the working grate – more... pay and seven days off after your 14 day's on is a grate way to travle and vent.
The hardes part is being away from family. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Coal Industry - Willow Creek Mine - Great company to work for
Maintenance Clerk/Buyer Relief (Former Employee), Chetwynd, BCJanuary 31, 2013
Pros: good salary, and learning opportunities
Cons: this location was located up on a mountain, too far from town.
Learned lots in the Coal Industry, great company to work for - diversified interes with Ledcor, many different opportunities are available through them, including good benefits, training, etc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very safety conscious workplace with many great people
Journeyman Electrician (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABJanuary 21, 2013
Pros: close to home
Cons: layoffs
Standard 10 hour day with breaks and lunch
Safety is number one
Strict but friendly management with the workers safety in mind
Great co-workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun at workplace
Steamfitter/ Pipefitter (Former Employee), Fort McMurray, ABDecember 12, 2012
Pros: free foods
Cons: long hours
Generally,a sample indicates a goal to accomplish and a date to accomplish it.

I learned more about skills,life and goal.

Management is very good.

The best way to write a positive performance review about co.worker is by being sincere and honest.

The hardest part is trying to solve a problem with a deadline approaching.

The most enjoyable part – more... of the job are if there no nastiness, fighting, heated argument or bad feelings and always want to find a good solution. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for!
Journeyman Electrician (Former Employee), Fort McMurray, ABNovember 6, 2012
Pros: can leave wallet at home as thier is no place to spend money up there.
Cons: had a terrible camp. stayed in one better than that in the late 80's.
Typical day at work started with safety meeting, then stretches, more safety documentation, then off to work.I learned many aspects of the oilfied industry as this was my first time to work up North. Management was great as they stood up for the workers and tried thier best to keep us happy.Co-workers were friendly and knowledgeable. The hardest part – more... of the job was the amount of time it takes to get a simple task done, due to so many safety factors. The most enjoyable part of the job was learning new skills in the electrical trade. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work was great, long hours was challenging
Apprentice Electrician (Former Employee), fort nelsonNovember 2, 2012
would work in industrial environment any time, long shifts were easy to get used to
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Supportive Workplace
Apprenticeship and Training Coordinator (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABOctober 24, 2012
Very busy days generally which I enjoy (fast-paced). I loved the ability to participate in team projects yet have the opportunity to work independantly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
one of the very best companies to learn with
Pipefitter (Former Employee), nisku fab shop, albionOctober 22, 2012
Pros: good people great for training
Cons: no dsp for apprentices
It is one of the best companies to learn with their mentor program in the nisku fab shop you are 2weeks learning one job then on to the next one,but I left when I was a 2nd year for 2.5 times the money to phoenix industrial at long lake
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well managed, positive work environment, clean, safe.
Trades (Current Employee), Nisku, AlbertaOctober 20, 2012
Pros: above average work environment.
Cons: hard to think of any
Very good work environment. Management is friendly and approachable. Excellent safety culture. Quality work encouraged. Strong work ethic encouraged. Good team work. Friendly environment. A good place to work and grow.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, Educational, Profitable
Pipefitter/Steamfitter (Former Employee), Fort Nelson, B.COctober 17, 2012
Pros: horn river camp was awesome
Cons: the bus ride to and from work was aweful
Morning Meeting at 7am
Got the opportunity to learn from some of the most experienced Pipefitters out there.
Management could use improvement
Co-workers were fun and helpful
The hardest part of the job was being away from my family
The most enjoyable part of the job was learning
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for, I just need more time with my family.
Project Coordinator (Current Employee), Fort McMurray, ABOctober 16, 2012
I decided it was time for a career change as I was burnt out and stressed out as a broker. I landed a job with Ledcor due to a family member. I have moved up very quickly due to initiative, asking a lot of questions and the willingness to work with others. I moved from laborer to Project Coordinator to now being trained as a foreman in the major earth – more... works, civil area. Ledcor has given me a wealth of knowledge in varying aspects of the job. I am definately richer for the experience. It just turns out that I want to be with my family, if I can find appropriate employment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job, low job security, layoffs in foreseeable future
Apprentice Electrician (Current Employee), Fort McMurray, ABOctober 16, 2012
Ledcor Inc is a great company with terrific benefits. They currently supply flights to and from the work site and house the employees in a great camp close to site.

The reason I am looking for a new job is because layoffs are in the foreseeable future with the current phase coming to an end.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safe site,safety was always frist,organized,clean,great boss and great C.S.O i learned a lot.
Labourer (Former Employee), Vancouver, BCOctober 2, 2012
Pros: i worked inside, learned a lot about construction management.
Cons: repetative work.
Early 7am start,where and all there safety concerns are and what to watch for when working in a dangerous parts of our site,management was good C.S.O and the our boss,my C.S.O taught me a lot since I've been studying to take the course at B.C.I.T for construction management,co-workers where hard working the hardest part of my day would have to have – more... been the morning when it would rain,and the most enjoyable part of my day would be coffee time and home time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
safety culture with some hard situations due to the nature of the proyect
Pipefitter (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABSeptember 21, 2012
Pros: free lodge, transportation and food. good pay rate
Cons: long hours and extra commute to job site
this is a job that needs an extra effort due to the location,extreme weather and rotation of the personal, many situations to handle in very little time,
management doing a fine job with the rotations and accomodation ,transporttcion of personnel,
the job require 100% concentration of the perssonnel, every step of the way, at home, at the airport, at – more... the lodge, and at the jobsite.
The proyect itself is a very interesting one, I personaly enjoy working on it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company to work for
Pipefitter (Former Employee), Firebag, AlbertaSeptember 20, 2012
Pros: flights paid
Cons: sometimes travel doesn't cover flight costs, but all equals out in the end
Office staff is great, willing to work with employees

Supervision are pretty friendly and easy to talk to. Usually only have to ask for something once and it's done
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company No BS
EQUIPMENT OPERATOR (Former Employee), Fort McMurray, ABSeptember 19, 2012
Pros: lots of work, very safety concious, camp
Cons: 21 and 7 turn around
Ledcor was a great company to work for (Fort McMurray). Lots of benifits, competive wages and great management. If your hard working and easy to get along with this company will keep you for years to come.

I was never impressed with the union CLAC, and felt at times it hindered the company.

Over all great company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a good company
Skilled Labourer (Current Employee), Fort McMurray, ABSeptember 16, 2012
Pros: good
Cons: not much
Up at six. Learned a few new things, Safety is number one. Management was good.Co- workers were awesome.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learn new construction procedures, adapt to different styles of management due to the frequency of superintendent changes., 6 in 8 months.
Site Safety coordinator - only one on site (Former Employee), Fort McMurray airport expansion site, ABSeptember 13, 2012
Accomplih the daily tasks and get ahead on others.
Review, analyse old, present and future tasks.
Good communication with peers and coworkers.
satisfaction of accomplishment.

About Ledcor

The Ledcor Group of Companies is one of North America’s most diversified construction companies, serving the building, oil – Read more