Lear Corporation

Lear Corporation Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 28 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Whitby, ONJanuary 26, 2016
There is too many in management. Poor communication with all employees. Constant fear of losing your job or wages being cut. No pay raises in 12+ years.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Pace Manufacturing Enviroment
Manufacturing Supervisor (Former Employee) –  PhilippinesSeptember 15, 2015
Good manufacturing experience for aspiring Engineers. High quality standard and stable operation processes. Provide soft skills and technical training opportunities. Competent management team.
Pros
Employee of choice. Good working environment. Free meals.
Cons
Long working hours including weekend. Less career progression
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My job at Lear was fun and I learned every job on the line.
Assembler (Former Employee) –  Ajax, ONOctober 21, 2015
I worked on an assembly line at Lear and I loved all of the people there. We would help each other get the job done. The supervisors were very fair and appreciated a good worker. I never let them down. I came in early or stayed late because I liked my job so much. There was really no hard job there once you learned it.
Pros
Very fun place to work. Supervisors respected all hard workers
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very hard physical work in a dirty and noisy environment
Assembler (Former Employee) –  Whitby, ONJuly 25, 2012
Building seats for General Motors cars. The job was very physically demanding in a very hot dirty and noisy environment.
Pros
excellent pay and benefits
Cons
very hot dirty and injury on the job a frequent occurance
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People are not all bad
Production Associate (Former Employee) –  St. Thomas, ONAugust 10, 2012
Having to watch what you say to whom you say it too is bad. If someone didn't like you or felt threatened by you, they would try to make your life misserable.
Pros
benifits
Cons
dirty
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clean
fast paced production worker (Current Employee) –  Whitby, ONNovember 3, 2015
Clean work place. Friendly co workers. Friendly supervisors. Very laid back. I would recommend someone to Lear Corp. Not much room for moving up.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Thrived in a factory environment
Ran Automatic Welder (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ONTJuly 21, 2015
At Lear i learned so much about working in a factory and ive never experienced a job like that, i wish to continue working in a factory environment and see where it can and will take me.
Pros
breaks every 2 hours
Cons
over time every single day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Assembler (Former Employee) –  St.Thomas, OnJuly 6, 2015
No Issues with this job. Great, happy fun place. Co-workers were great to be around.
Sad that the plant had to close.
This is one job I miss. Great place to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life changing and oportunity to advance
Shift Union Rep and Assembler (Former Employee) –  Whitby, ONApril 12, 2012
Being elected as a shift union rep by my co workers was a exciting experience.I then had a chance to take many coarses to improve my skills and educate myself in the areas I need to be able to deal with.Beyond doing production work,I had a chance to negotiate a contract with Lear and the C A W union..Typical days would inclued doing overtime sheets and filing paper work to managment and the union,health and safty and unemployment.I also had to defend other employees in matters at work.I work well under pressure and in hectic situations ..as per dealing with almost all men in a factory setting.
Pros
excellent wages
Cons
repetative and hard on your body
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great wages
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Whitby, ONMarch 23, 2015
No work, unable to retain job because of seniority. I learned many skills with regards to time management. Also I had to travel 45mins to and from work everyday.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fortune 500 company
Materials/Production Supervisor - St. Thomas (Former Employee) –  St. Thomas, ONSeptember 6, 2012
For the better part of eighteen years I managed and directed 16 to 32 people within a JIT environment, in both production and material handling. I learned the values of respect, both giving and receiving, and the importance of keeping and maintaining a clean, safe work environment. Managers did not micro manage, but allowed you to make decisions regarding your job. It is important to establish a working relationship with co-workers and to give assistance if needed. Like most jobs, motivating workers requires constant need, and the most enjoyable part was to have workers dedicated to their job and duties.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
TPT work
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ONMarch 28, 2015
I worked there for a year before they closed. Great for students wasn't secure work for full timers. The hardest part of the job was the repetition but the pay was great.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for.
Customer Liaison / Quality Team Leader (Former Employee) –  St. Thomas, ONMay 1, 2014
Great Company to be employed for. Enjoyed the day to day challenges of the just in time environment.
Pros
ongoing training
Cons
long hours during launches
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced,always something to do
Assembler (F/T) (Current Employee) –  Oshawa, ONOctober 31, 2014
co workers were great good management I liked getting trained in any different positions it helped keep the job more interesting
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK place to work
Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Concord, ONApril 17, 2012
Different place to work. I learned how to lead people. The management was good. the co-workers where OK. The hardest part of the job was the work shift. the most enjoyable was the ability to train other people.
Pros
nothing
Cons
midnight shift
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Set up CMMS
Maintenance Management Systems Contract Consultant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONApril 9, 2012
Gather pertinent data and input into CMMS
Organize a stockroom and identify items for CMMS

Regimented

Skilled tradesmen

Getting information for CMMS
Identifying Parts

Seeing work orders created for PM and repair tasks
Pros
work independant
Cons
cold enviroment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manufacturing Job
Car Seat Assembler (Former Employee) –  AjaxNovember 12, 2013
A typical day is standing in front of an assembly line and make sure that you are not holding the line. I learned how to work fast with accuracy, without this skill working in an assembly line will be impossible. This was only a summer job.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Building Seats For Dodge/Chrysler
Line Worker (Former Employee) –  Ajax, ONMarch 15, 2013
Only worked as Temporary Part Time
Fast paced environment
Standing for extended amounts of time
Lifting 30+lbs constantly
Pros
in house cafitera, friendly employees/ supervisors
Cons
maximum of 3 shifts a week, no set schedual
Was this review helpful?YesNo3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad
Assembler (Former Employee) –  Whitby, ONNovember 7, 2014
not good, training bad . Not worth the money. Some people were nice, some supervisors were ignorant ,some nice.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was a pleasant working experience
Quality auditor (Former Employee) –  St. Thomas, OntarioFebruary 27, 2012
just had to follow Fords schedule and somethimes was a pain but Lear made it it up to us with early outs and free lunches
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 505 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.6
Culture
3.7

Lear Corporation Reviews by Location