Find companies:
Lear Corporation
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
266 reviews

Lear Corporation Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manufacturing Job
Car Seat Assembler (Former Employee), AjaxNovember 12, 2013
A typical day is standing in front of an assembly line and make sure that you are not holding the line. I learned how to work fast with accuracy, without this skill working in an assembly line will be impossible. This was only a summer job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You must account for every second of your day. Makes you feel like you're in prison.
Assembler (Former Employee), Ajax, ONSeptember 3, 2013
A typical Tier 1 Auto Supplier. Make counts first, quality second. Employees treated like a number, not a person.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Building Seats For Dodge/Chrysler
Line Worker (Former Employee), Ajax, ONMarch 15, 2013
Pros: in house cafitera, friendly employees/ supervisors
Cons: maximum of 3 shifts a week, no set schedual
Only worked as Temporary Part Time
Fast paced environment
Standing for extended amounts of time
Lifting 30+lbs constantly
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay and fun people to work with
Production Assembler (Former Employee), St.ThomasFebruary 3, 2013
Working with Lear Corporation was exciting and a very good learning experience
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fortune 500 company
Materials/Production Supervisor - St. Thomas (Former Employee), St. Thomas, ONSeptember 6, 2012
For the better part of eighteen years I managed and directed 16 to 32 people within a JIT environment, in both production and material handling. I learned the values of respect, both giving and receiving, and the importance of keeping and maintaining a clean, safe work environment. Managers did not micro manage, but allowed you to make decisions regarding – more... your job. It is important to establish a working relationship with co-workers and to give assistance if needed. Like most jobs, motivating workers requires constant need, and the most enjoyable part was to have workers dedicated to their job and duties. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
factory setting
Factory Worker (Former Employee), St. Thomas, ONSeptember 1, 2012
I just go to work...do my job the best of my ability...be civil to others...be on time and work overtime when needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People are not all bad
Production Associate (Former Employee), St. Thomas, ONAugust 10, 2012
Pros: benifits
Cons: dirty
Having to watch what you say to whom you say it too is bad. If someone didn't like you or felt threatened by you, they would try to make your life misserable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very hard physical work in a dirty and noisy environment
Assembler (Former Employee), Whitby, ONJuly 25, 2012
Pros: excellent pay and benefits
Cons: very hot dirty and injury on the job a frequent occurance
Building seats for General Motors cars. The job was very physically demanding in a very hot dirty and noisy environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours and days,travel
Shift Supervisor (Former Employee), Ajax,ONJuly 24, 2012
Pros: high paying job
Cons: on call
Enjoyed the time while employed
Enjoyed helping people
Earned many certificates
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK place to work
Team Leader (Former Employee), Concord, ONApril 17, 2012
Pros: nothing
Cons: midnight shift
Different place to work. I learned how to lead people. The management was good. the co-workers where OK. The hardest part of the job was the work shift. the most enjoyable was the ability to train other people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life changing and oportunity to advance
Shift Union Rep and Assembler (Former Employee), Whitby, ONApril 12, 2012
Pros: excellent wages
Cons: repetative and hard on your body
Being elected as a shift union rep by my co workers was a exciting experience.I then had a chance to take many coarses to improve my skills and educate myself in the areas I need to be able to deal with.Beyond doing production work,I had a chance to negotiate a contract with Lear and the C A W union..Typical days would inclued doing overtime sheets – more... and filing paper work to managment and the union,health and safty and unemployment.I also had to defend other employees in matters at work.I work well under pressure and in hectic situations ..as per dealing with almost all men in a factory setting. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Set up CMMS
Maintenance Management Systems Contract Consultant (Former Employee), Toronto, ONApril 9, 2012
Pros: work independant
Cons: cold enviroment
Gather pertinent data and input into CMMS
Organize a stockroom and identify items for CMMS

Regimented

Skilled tradesmen

Getting information for CMMS
Identifying Parts

Seeing work orders created for PM and repair tasks
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I like working for this company
Quality Control (Current Employee), Hammond, INJuly 16, 2014
Pros: great hours
Cons: small pay
I love working here but i am looking for advancement in the workforce that i am not going to receive working for the Staff Source company i am currently employed by as a Contract Service Group Quality Control inspector at Lear. I have been working at Lear as a temp but not as a Lear employee.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours
Assembler (Former Employee), Roscommon, MIJuly 16, 2014
Pros: long hours, good people, good job to start your eduaction to beccome a production engineer.
Cons: long hours and during the summer its gets very hot
If you like to work long hours but easy work for entry level with friendly co-works, Lear is the place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ERP Software Support
Senior IT Specialist (Former Employee), Southfield, MIJuly 10, 2014
Pros: good benefits, good people.
Typical day started with review of activities from previous evening's activities, if any.
Take action on all action items whether ones I was working on previously or new ones that came up overnight.

Management and co-workers were great to work for/with.

No part of the job was hard, just challenging.

Successfully arriving at the solution to each issue.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Place to work
Electrician (Former Employee), RoscommonJuly 6, 2014
Pros: there are none
Cons: too many to list
I can not begin to describe all that is wrong here at the Roscommon plant, but lets give it a try 1) Safety is a joke, (most dangerous plant I ever worked in) 2) Upper management has no respect for the workers. 3) Supervisors doing trades or production work. 4) Lack of U.A.W leadership, (gives the U.A.W a BAD NAME) 5) No general stores 6) Filthy, filthy, – more... filthy,filthy place to work
7) Workers don't respect each other. 8) Lack of proper compensation (start at $10 per hour, three years to make $13 per hour) 8) Tradesmen pay is a joke... I wonder how this plant stays viable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced place to work
ACCOUNTING/RECEPTIONIST (Former Employee), Plymouth IndianaJune 26, 2014
It was a nice place to work. The management was very helpful. The hours were good for my life with my children. I was a temporary employee so I was not there long.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive and fun place to have worked the best!
Auto Worker/Assembly (Former Employee), Lordstown, OHJune 17, 2014
Pros: great wage, awesome benefits, loved my job and the people i worked with
Cons: there were none until plant shut down and i lost my job.
I built seats for 11 years I learned about quality cost control and my first lessons in safety regs and requirements. I loved the people I worked for and with I made some lasting friendships there. The most enjoyable part of my job was striving to build a quality product that I was proud to put my name on. The hardest part was being told our plant had – more... lost its contract and was shutting down. Saying goodbye to people who were like family to me I spent just as much time with them on a daily basis as my family. I loved going to work everyday! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good internal opportunities
Senior Finance Manager, Operation Finance (Current Employee), MichiganJune 17, 2014
Capable senior management team with good vision.
Provides employees with good opportunities and career advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
production job
Process Technician (Former Employee), Zanesville, OHJune 17, 2014
Basic factory work making automotive electrical parts. Work environment was fine, staff were great. Advancement was available if you were willing to learn.

1 2 3 4 5

About Lear Corporation

Lear doesn't take a back seat to anyone when it comes to manufacturing automotive seats. The company's Seating business, by far – Read more

Lear Corporation Photos