Le Chateau Inc Employee Reviews

Sort: Helpful | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people! stubborn company.
Associate Manager (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC19 September 2017
I very much enjoyed my time at Le Chateau. I had excellent opportunities to advance and take on new roles pretty quickly into my employment.

I had a very positive experience with all levels of management, it was always fun to work with different departments.

There was always a feeling of resistance to change from head office, just concerning company direction and competition in the retail space.
Pros
good managers if you're a good worker, commission and bonuses, discounts, potential store transfers on request
Cons
hours can be bad depending on location, breaks are too long, ancient register system, stubborn head office
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good and stable company
Recall center employee (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC29 August 2017
Very friendly co workers
Very friendly and respectful managers and supervisors
good work environment
clean work environment
adequate and reasonable salary
they have events which are entertaining and reasonable
overall a very good experience
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They don't care about you
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB6 July 2017
I've worked here for a few months and the management is very picky with your sales, expecting them to be the best of the best selling thousands of $$'s every day while the management makes near no sales. I was scolded for having slow sales for 1 week while the next was phenomenal. They don't seem to understand that some days you just aren't going to do that good because people just browse and there's nothing anyone can do about that. The discount is great but even with it you can barely afford their clothes at 50% off with what they pay you.
Pros
Discount
Cons
Wages are low, management is hypocritical and judgemental
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful place to work
Full Time Key Holder (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB15 May 2017
I did not enjoy working here at all unless I was the manager for the night or day because then it was a more relaxed environment. Up tight is a great word to describe the environment here. They set a very high bar for the expectations of you and treat you with no respect. This store has the "annoying way" of helping customers, people steal sales and you almost never make commission.
Pros
The 50% off discount
Cons
The people/management. The rules/contract (everything)
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable workplace
Key Holder/Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Brantford, ON8 May 2017
The staff aims to make everyone feel comfortable and appreciated. The company provides many incentives (via contests and weekly elite rewards & acknowledgement) for employees.
Pros
great morale
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Drowning Company
Brand stylist/men's specialist (Former Employee) –  Nanaimo, BC3 May 2017
This company is trying to stay afloat in a horrible customer service industry. The job is highly repetitive and there is no room for growth, they pigeon hole you and expect you to over work for minimum wage with only 4-5 hours per shift. The return policy is a major dunce cap for this dying store. Management from the top down is deplorable. Employee discount is great but the clothing quality is progressively worse so you barely use the discount, the same styles can be found on websites with better quality and deals. Its commission based for sales but the commission is unachievable or very minimal.
Pros
Some co-workers are great to work with, 50% employee discount.
Cons
bad management, over worked for little pay, no work life balance, poor quality clothes, return policy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Tech Support/Service Desk Admin (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC26 March 2017
This company has been known to really hire good/well-rounded people...People that leave the company and decide to come back are always saying 'i miss the people here' .
Management is always wiling to go the extra mile to accomodate their staff.
Pros
Fun people to work alongside with
Cons
room for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB7 January 2017
very repetitive days, folding, hanging, folding, hanging!!
customers disrespect staff when they don't get what they want. they treat product poorly, throwing and leaving clothing on the floor. staff is fun to work with.
Pros
fun place to work
Cons
almost the same everyday
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and upbeat
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB5 January 2017
i only worked for Le Chateau for a few months but i enjoyed the fast and upbeat pace here, the people are very nice and the management wasn't bad either.
Pros
fast pace
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great culture!
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON27 December 2016
It's a great job to start your career as a sales associate. You learn so many things here that can help you in your future career. What you need to have is passion and a drive to succeed, then you will be recognized and praised. Recommend!
Pros
Great work experience, development, commission, 50% discount.
Cons
Working almost every weekend.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Junior buyer (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC24 December 2016
I was a wonderful place to work! Highly recommend for anyone. Great discounts on clothing. opportunity to try new things. Fashion is fun. great cafeteria.
Pros
Advancement
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience!!
Fashion Consultant (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC2 December 2016
Wonderful experience working at le chateau. I got to learn a lot about fashion tips from well known and experienced fashion experts.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Manager/Key-holder (Current Employee) –  Kitchener-Waterloo, ON29 November 2016
This is a fun place to work if you are interested in higher end fashion. There is a lot that can be learned in terms of merchandising, sales strategies, and managerial skills. At outlet locations it is easier to get along with a work together with your coworkers as a team since there is no commission pressure. It can be difficult when it is busy such as around the holidays.
Pros
50% discount on the mershandise
Cons
The pay is not very well
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty bad
Stylist Assistant (Former Employee) –  Coquitlam, BC28 November 2016
Terrible management. No benifits. No respect for their employees or customers. The staff were constantly talked down to by management and they yell at you to push sales. Co workers overly competitive for sales. Overall negative experience but good discount
Pros
Good discount
Cons
The management and commission based wage
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement de travail soigné
STYLISTE (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC18 November 2016
Belle entreprise, belle culture et un travail d'équipe judicieux
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's ok
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  London, ON15 November 2016
It's an ok place to work the hours weren't good, management wasn't the greatest and when it comes to benefits and job security there wasn't any. They need to treat employees better.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Men's and Ladies style specialist/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Vaughan, ON10 November 2016
Each day was different no 2 days were every the same. You meet new people and learn something new which helps your character grow. Management goes over goals and updates constantly so you always know where you stand and where you need to be.
Pros
each day was different
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no guidance, no one had a clue what they were doing
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB23 October 2016
did learn anything, no one bothered to train me, I asked after my first month cause i had felt i had been there for a bit and hadn't learned anything and it was shaken off like it wasn't important
management had no sense of prioritizing or communicating affectingly with staff, and creating teamwork and a healthy work environment
Pros
nothing
Cons
long hours, customers yelling, little to no training
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible experience
Style Specialist (Former Employee) –  West Vancouver, BC22 October 2016
one of my worse experiences working for them. Management team is horrible with no qualification. pay is no good and the commission is a lie. they set the target so high.
Pros
none
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
get ready to be bullied
Stylist and sales representative (Current Employee) –  Winkler, MB15 July 2016
i started out being excited about working there, but somewhere along the line, i had a disagreement with a keyholder (who happens to be my manager's childhood friend) about why she makes me do her task and mine and takes credit for it, while she actually wastes her time talking to friends on the phone during store hours. when i reported to the manager, my hours started decreasing drastically, until it got to a point where i only worked 3 hours a week, but i was required to have 4 days completely dedicated to working there. Also the manager made it her duty to schedule me in for work on days when i specifically told her i would be unavailable . when the assistant manager noticed and decided to talk to the manager about her friend's attitude towards work and how my hours reduced out of the blue, she reduced the assistant manager's hours too. Also working here is not a walk in the park, its is very stressful, so much is expected of you with so little to gain in the process.
Pros
discount on their low quality items
Cons
bullying, Lack of transparency
Was this review helpful?Yes 28No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Le Chateau Inc. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.6
Based on 36 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.7
Salary/Benefits
2.4
Job Security/Advancement
2.4
Management
2.5
Culture
2.4