LCBO Employee Reviews

Found 230 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service Representative
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON19 March 2017
A typical day is spent with giving Outstanding Customer Service,
whether on the sales floor or on cash. I have learned about wines, beer and alcohol. I have learned to run a cash and challenge underage or intoxicated individuals and do it professionally. The management is great and it is a good culture. The hardest part of the job is dealing with intoxicated individuals. The most enjoyable part of the the job is dealing with the customers and building relationships with them.
Pros
great customers and environment
Cons
intoxicated individuals
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
LCBO - Awesome expeirence working in public sector
Quality Assurance Analyst (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON14 March 2017
I worked at LCBO for more than a year and I learned a lot here. I really appreciate my team members for such a great work culture and good place to work in,
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ON14 March 2017
Great customer service provided to every customer, and giving them great information on products that they are not familiar with. I get to grow as an employee learning new things and i take the initiative to learn more things.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
interpersonal environment
Quality Assurance Worker (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON2 March 2017
hands on. learned to label. manager was friendly. had a good time felt comfortable with fellow employees. downtown area was nice, by the lake at lunch time
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Representative
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON1 March 2017
My responsibilities included helping customers with their products, being informative of the product, opening and closing the cash tills and being a cashier.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great schedule flexibility for students.
Service à la clientèle (Current Employee) –  Ottawa East, ON26 February 2017
LCBO has been a great opportunity to learn about wine, beer and spirits as well improve social interactive skills. The overall workplace culture can be taxing in the sense that full time employees do not seemed fulfilled by there life choices. The salary is exceptional for any student and the added flexibility to work around the school schedule was crucial when deciding to accept the job offer.
Was this review helpful?YesNo4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Providing socially responsible service to Ontario
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON22 February 2017
Provincially run business generating billions of dollars in revenue for the province of Ontario through the responsible sale of alcohol. A typical day working at an LCBO in downtown Toronto is working as a cashier. I have learned to provide consistency in good customer service by inspiring customers to discover more about wines, spirits, and premium beers. Management is interested in boosting sales of alcohol at their location and is always competing against other locations. The hardest part of the job is commuting to work, store locations are not evenly distributed through Toronto. The most enjoyable part of the job is supervised sampling of alcoholic beverages.
Pros
Long vacation periods
Cons
Commuting long distances
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job- but will take years to gain seniority (10+) and over 30 hours week
Part-time Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Thornbury, ON18 February 2017
As a Casual employee, it is not a terribly challenging job, it is physical and it is retail, overall it is a good place to work. The Union is a good and bad thing, and while wages are above the average for retail type work being solely seniority based has its issues and challenges. You should expect short 4-5 hour shifts until your seniority is established which can take 8 years+. Some of the fun things are tastings - you learn a lot about products and how they are made.
Pros
People are wonderful, pay is good for retail.
Cons
Short shifts and can take 8 + years to advance no benefits for 4+ years.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic Place to work all around
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  London, ON16 February 2017
I worked for the LCBO for several years and found it to be a progressive, innovative organization. The LCBO provided external educational opportunities and financing.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Casual Part time (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON15 February 2017
I had the experience to work alongside some really fun people. The LCBO tam is awesome & very polite, friendly & outgoing. I would always be thrill to go back & work there.
Pros
Sampling the alcohol
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace and people
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON14 February 2017
stayed at cash for majority of the time, the coworkers were fun and made you feel comfotable quick. the managemnet was really nice and understanding and switching shifts was really weasy as well.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Midland, ON14 February 2017
It's a great place to work, with lots of friendly co-workers. The pay is in my opinion perfect for the amount of work and customers you deal with on a daily basis.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cashier
Casual Salesperson (Former Employee) –  Brantford, ON13 February 2017
Come in do your float for the day , ring in customers purchases or refunds and ask for id. locate products for customers , make sure the store front is clean and presentable.
Pros
busy
Cons
drama
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great company!
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Stoney Creek, ON13 February 2017
A great place to work if you are FULL TIME. this comes with higher pay, full benefits, and paid vacation.
Unionized.
always learning the brand. customer service is a must working for the LCBO.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not the best
Customer Service Representative and Cashier (Former Employee) –  Dwight, ON11 February 2017
Can you spell MICRO MANAGE...You have to have aa second opinion on anything and everything you do. The company is the most wasteful I have ever seen.
Pros
few and far between
Cons
Micro managed
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON10 February 2017
The LCBO is a good place to work, most employees are decent and hard working. Upper Management for the most part were fair and organized. The salary is very fair for the work you are expected to do. The hardest part of the job is putting up with many obnoxious customers. For the most part the customers are friendly but unfortunately there are many who are not,
Pros
good atmosphere
Cons
demanding customers
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team
Customer Service Representative/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON6 February 2017
Great place for temporary work. Learned a lot about dealing with and knowing the signs of impairment. Also learned a lot about wines, spirits, and international beers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work.
Line Operator (Former Employee) –  London, ON3 February 2017
The time I spent with the company, was valuable and educational. It was hard work, with great colleagues. I'm appreciative that they gave me the opportunity.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and encouraging environment to work at.
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Nobleton, ON31 January 2017
Great place to work, loving environment, would defiantly recommend to an individual wanting to get in the retail or customer service industry. My team at Nobleton was amazing.
Pros
Communication, flexibility, good hours
Cons
some physical labour
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful work environment and coworkers
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ON30 January 2017
A job that was always a surprise but never disappointing. Can be difficult to keep up with but allowed me to gain confidence in my ability to socially interact with customers and co workers in a professional manner
Pros
Government Job
Cons
Not guaranteed hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at LCBO. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 235 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.7
Culture
3.8