Find companies:
Lawson Products
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
36 reviews

Lawson Products Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The absolute place to work
Regional Manager (Former Employee), Columbia, SCJune 12, 2014
Cons: everything
Terrible District Managers! Lawson as a whole has no idea of how to go to market. There are still in the 1960's using the "smoke and mirror" demonstrations and overselling the customer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work!
Compliance Specialist (Former Employee), Chicago, ILMay 16, 2014
Pros: great management and work hours 7:30 am - 3:30 pm monday-friday
Cons: legal not always available...
3 to 5 new Compliances some just basic not need for legal to review. Basic questionnaires contact the department for information. Filed completed questionnaires for future reference. Updated information tracked to complete compliances. Researched updates to response. Improved questionnaire response method, including tracking and standardization of responses.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Account Manager Sales Division (Former Employee), Sarasota, FLApril 26, 2014
Fantastic, unparalleled experience. Management and employees are advancing their career and the company. Work life balance is great. Work hard and you will earned a lot of money.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work
OUTSIDE SALES (Former Employee), San Diego, CAApril 14, 2014
to many chiefs not enough Indians,management problems.Some mgmt. not haveing any idea of probuct.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my day
Clerical Analyst (Former Employee), Des Plaines, ILFebruary 17, 2014
a typical day starts with promissory notes or updating a system. Im a clerical analyst so there is always plenty of work to do. Payroll updates or helping other departments
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Account Manager (Current Employee), CaliforniaFebruary 17, 2014
Great Co-Workers
Very enjoyable work
Great Learning Experience
Excellent Training
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High School all over again. Poor management.
Quality Control Inspector (Current Employee), McCook, ILFebruary 6, 2014
Pros: health care benifts are great
Cons: work ethic, poor management
Management is unprofessional to the point that romantic relationships have been formed between management and their employees. Not only is this unprofessional, but to make matters worse, due to the said relationships, there are jealousy issues that have caused the work environment to be stressful. Co-workers of the opposite sex cannot communicate to – more... employee that is involved with the supervisor, all work related matters, without later getting recriminated for petty things such as the amounts of times gone to the washroom, speaking to other employees for too long. Lawson is always holding safety meetings and it’s a huge concern, however when safety issues are brought up to management, it’s shrugged off and nothing changes. Working around safety hazards is a bit frustrating, especially when easy non costly solutions have been presented to management along with the original concern. Employees are forced to work 10-12 hours weekdays and 8-10 wekeends. no concern for employees whatsoever. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good but bad
Material Handler (Former Employee), fairfield, njDecember 18, 2013
My typical day at work is getting costumer orders picking and packing them. If it was slow then I would do whatever the supervisor needed to be done I would do that assignment. Management was already set with their favorite workers. Co-workers were very polite and courteous.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opportunity
Facility Manager, maintenance and secuirty (Former Employee), Chicago, ILDecember 4, 2013
Pros: pay and benefits
Cons: unstable company
Offered great opportunity to advance and schooling was stressed. Company is a bit shaky right know with an imminent sale in the future.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Distribution Center Environment with right Business Strategies
Sr. Business Systems Analyst - SAP (SD/MM) (Current Employee), Chicago, ILDecember 1, 2013
Pros: leadership
Cons: pending streaminling and automation.
A very well planned and determined leader-ship with right plan in place to sustain and prosper.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company to work for. Very family orientated. Promoted employees within. Great benefits. Always holding lunches or party's for employees
Manager (Former Employee), Des Plaines, ILOctober 11, 2013
Pros: great people to work with. great benefits. treated employees very well
Cons: company moved
Always busy and challenging.
Learned all aspects of shipping,receiving,packaging,induction,order processing,returns,budgets,maintenance,.
Always had incredible bosses, they were always willing to help out and answer any questions they could to help.
Enjoyed every day with my co-workers. Made some incredible friends.
Budgets. Dealing with the union.
Learning – more... something different all the time. Always challenges. Great communication between management. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Many great years of working with wonderful people!
Commission Compensation Specialist (Former Employee), Des Plaines, ILSeptember 17, 2013
Pros: company picnics.
Cons: relocating
I had started this company soon after high school. This was a new adventure to the beginning of my career. Throughout my years working for Lawson, it has given me years of office experience working with internal and external people. I was given the opportunity to advance myself while working at Lawson. Each and every day, I would give all and help to – more... assist and assure that the duties were achieved and accomplished. It was a pleasure to work, handle and manage accounts and sales agents throughout my years of service. There was no job too big or small. Every day was an opportunity to strive to my fullest and looked forward to each and every day at Lawson! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people in the company
Independent Sales Agent (Former Employee), Kansas City, MOSeptember 5, 2013
Sell tools and accessories to businesses and companies within a region.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Territory Sales Representative (Current Employee), Visalia, CAJune 19, 2013
Pros: freedom
Cons: operations
Fun place to work.
Operations needs sharpening. Company going through a good change but alot of hiccups along the way.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lawson, has gone through big changes not good for people who have been there any length of time.
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Des Plaines, ILJune 13, 2013
Pros: meeting friends
Cons: management personalities. personallity conflicts.
Through the years I left early in the morning 5-5:30 to reach my first customer when they open for work do my routine throughout the day and be home between 4or5. Management changes have made people with longevity to leave the company. most of the people who were in the same position worked well together. The most enjoyable part of the job through my – more... contacts I have made new friends. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive enviroment with nice coworkers
Warehouse Clerk (Former Employee), Suwanee, GAJune 10, 2013
Pros: lunch provided on fridays
Cons: short lunch break
Well it was a production job so it was nonstop daily receiving supplies stocking supplies loading and unloading trailers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A company with a high standard of work ethics that was dedicated to both their employees and customers.
Administration Manager (Former Employee), Dallas, TexasMay 28, 2013
Pros: outstanding benefits: health, dental, life insurance, profit sharing and 401k. they usually advance from within the company.
I worked for Lawson for 30 years. I started as a file clerk and the management team help guide and train me over the course of my time into a strong leader of people. When they closed the Dallas facility, I was Administration Manager over Customer Service, Order Entry, Inventory Control, and Purchasing. The skills that I learned not only included how – more... to achieved our daily goals with excellence but how to create a team that worked well together, enjoyed working as a team, and who took pride in their work. My manager helped me to develop excellent people skills and how to use them. The Dallas distribution center was always achieving recognition in the industry. Our turnover in people was very low. Most of the Dallas team had longevity of 20+ years. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporate management was constantly changing.
Independent Sales Representative (Former Employee), Chicago, ILMarch 8, 2013
Pros: self reliant
Cons: sales expectations far exceeded the economic environment
In the early 2000's the company was solid. The mid 2000's brought change that was not for the good. The company relied on the philosophy that great customer service provided great sales - no matter the price. Upper management never understood that even the 'mom and pop' competitors knew how to provide great service - but the huge difference was that – more... the competition offered better prices.

In the years of 2010 through 2012 upper management changed the sales force from an independent agent (that was successful model) to a company employed sales force. Sales suffered dramatically. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
caring the employes
Material Handler (Former Employee), Des Plaines, ILMarch 5, 2013
Pros: employee's pinics
Distributing materials to packagers when requested. Ensures breakdown labels are correct. Make sure packager has enough packaging materials; such as packaging tapes, envelope, boxes, plastic bags etc.

To be able to bring palettes to packaging area. Loading and unloading materials from delivery truck.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging Public Company
Manager of Financial Planning and Analysis (Former Employee), Des Plaines, ILFebruary 27, 2013
I was able to sharpen my project mamanger skills by implementing a new budgeting/reporting software package. This allowed for LP to start data mining, ad hoc reports, and various analysis options that were not available before with their DOS based accounting system. Creating a finance department from scratch was a once in a lifetime experience.

About Lawson Products

Lawson employees are focused on our vision to be our customers’ first choice for solutions that improve their operating – Read more