Laura Secord Employee Reviews

Found 47 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hours ... Managment ... Coworkers
Key Holder/Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON9 September 2017
Hours are long and you will be working alone. When it's rush hour, you'll have customers wanting ice cream and then others making boxes of chocolate and others explaining products and promotions. All for one person alone. I only had one coworker who was very noisy and lazy. Always up my a**. Managment always talking low on employees and when a employee would do something wrong, they never go directly to you but always talking among others.
Pros
50% during christmas
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun atmosphere
CSR - Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Ajax, ON17 July 2017
As this location was a "combo" store which means we partnered with Hallmark, constant clean up of cards, rearranging shelves, taking inventory, setting up chocolate according to company guidelines, and assisting customers. The hardest part of the job was during special occasions....Easter, valentines etc. Crazy in store but fun at the same time. the most enjoyable part of the job was dealing with customers. Most people are very nice. Occasionally, a difficult situation would arise and most times remedied amicably.
Pros
Woring with a great bunch of people
Cons
working night shifts and weekends.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What you'd expect from a retail job
Key Holder/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Greater Sudbury, ON20 June 2017
Manager was always kind and understanding of worker needs. Tends to be slow paced until the holidays come about; things become stressful around Christmas time and Valentines.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for the flexible and keen
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Bayview Village, ON15 June 2017
great job to learn basic skills, cash handling, if you move up to management say goodbye to social life, there are minimal bonuses for maximum effort especially during the peak holiday seasons, managers can make or break you in this environment - I've had a taste of the great and the worst of managers, job culture is what you as a team make of it there are minimal efforts from corporate to improve this
Pros
fast paced, good experience
Cons
repetitive, very little room for growth
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An interesting few months
Key Holder/Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Fredericton, NB1 June 2017
The company struggles with employment. This causes a great number of hours to be deployed on one or two people in the store. All other employees receive a little to no hours. The Company cannot afford financially to fix this problem.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good First Job
CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE (Former Employee) –  London, ON17 May 2017
Good working environment
Fun and motivated
What's more fun than serving kids ice cream and seeing their wide-face happy smiles.
That extra scoop for 99 cents gets everybody.
Scrapping the ice off the freezers was like a game.
Pros
Appreciation gifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Front counter
Customer Service Clerk (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON14 May 2017
I served I've cream and sold the chocolates in the front of the store. I also wrapped chocolates for the different holidays.
The managers were very grouchy and never in a good mood so I just did my job and was happy towards everyone..
It was definitely not what I was looking for.
Pros
Free samples of ice cream
Cons
No discounts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved my job but lies from management
Keyholder/Cashier, Part-time (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON21 April 2017
It's a great second job but don't let them lie to you. Full-time is not an option.
They will tell you it is.
You will be asked not to get a second job (they may even promise you full-time to get you to not look for another job)
You will be blamed for their ancient computer systems messing up
Managers will avoid actual management at all costs
Even if you are "full time" you won't get benefits.
Pros
Job is easy, coworkers were decent
Cons
obvious favouritisim, lying/dishonest managers, no full-time, no benefits for "acting full-time" low hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Médiocres conditions
Responsable des ventes (Current Employee) –  Quebec City, QC27 February 2017
Courtes pauses. Faire des 8h seuls et devoir manger en avant et se faire dire qu'on a pas le droit d'aller aux toilettes. Salaire de 11$ de l'heure alors que je suis la temps plein et qu'il n'y a pas de gérante. Donc, je faisais le travail d'une gérante à 11$. Ridicule... Aucune reconnaissance pour le travail accompli. Bien contente de quitter cette compagnie.
Pros
Rien.
Cons
Tout.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lire plus bas...
Responsable du kiosque (Former Employee) –  Drummondville, QC9 February 2017
Travail très agréable, belle ambiance.
Étant responsable, je voyais à tout: employées, caisse, commande,
mise en marché, etc
Que de bons souvenirs, malheureusement la compagnie n'a pas renouvellé son bail et j'ai dû me trouver un autre emploi.
Pros
Toujours occupée
Cons
Aucun
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disorganized and deceptive Management
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Saint John, IN9 January 2017
Always staffed at less than bare minimum. Company does not adhere to labour laws. Staff are expected to work without breaks, not even a washroom break, until 5+ hours into shifts. Frequently working a complete 5.5 hour shift without a single break. Company uses its camera systems to watch employees, not for loss prevention. Management considers its employees as warm bodies, and not as employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
travail intéressant mais peu d'avancement.
Préposée au service à la clientèle (Former Employee) –  Ste.-Foy, QC21 November 2016
clientèle captive et fidèle engagement et assurance d'un excellent service à la clientèle.
Par contre l'avancement dans l'entreprise n'est pas facile.
Pros
service à la clientèle
Cons
stagnation dans l'entreprise
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bonne compagnie pour emploi étudiant
Vendeuse (Current Employee) –  Lévis, QC8 September 2016
Laura Secord est une très bonne compagnie pour travailler pendant ses études. Les horaires sont flexible et s'ajuste a l'horaire d'école. Les employés sont tous joviale et très gentils!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Selling chocolates
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  London, ON1 May 2016
Enjoyable fun job, lots of learning experiences. Friendly customers friendly co-workers. Reasonable hours, very busy peak seasons
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
four to five stars
Key Holder (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON15 March 2016
It was a great work environment with lots of interesting people, and loved serving ice cream and chocolate, Worked with lots of great people, Customers were wonderful,Loved to unload stock to see what great items we would recive.
Pros
staff discounts on merchandise
Cons
sometimes we would have to unload huge skids
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sous pression
Assistante gérante (Former Employee) –  Chicoutimi, QC10 November 2015
La pression sur le chiffre de vente fut de loin la pire que j'ai vu.
Pros
chocolat gratuit
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bon emploi pour débuter
Vendeuse, caissière (Former Employee) –  Brossard, QC3 November 2015
Bon esprit d'équipe, bonnes offres promotionnelles et de bonne condition de travail.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Un bon endroit où débuter
Associé aux ventes (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC9 September 2015
Travailler là-bas est plutôt agréable. J'ai été très heureuse qu'ils ont laissé rentrer quelqu'un sans grande expériences de travail comme moi. J'ai connu peu de cas difficiles ou exigeant parmi les clients. Les clients sont généralement heureux du service offert. L'ambiance de travail avec les autres employés et de l'assistant gérant est positive, agréable et encourageante. Il est rare qu'il n'ait pas une journée occupée, il y a presque toujours quelque chose à faire. Tant que tu n'es pas responsable des clefs, peu d'heures te seront données. Je n'ai jamais dépassé le 20h/semaine malgré l'été. Comme le magasin est petit, ils n'ont pas toujours besoin d'avoir plusieurs employés à la fois, ni plusieurs responsables des clefs. Le management est très bien fait, malgré que j'ai senti à plusieurs reprises qu'il y aurait avoir plus d'heures données à certains temps afin d'effectuer les tâches avec plus d'efficacités.
La seule chose néfaste, selon moi, est qu'il y a, là où j'ai travaillé, un employé important qui est trop perfectionniste, donc même une petite chose presque sans importance devient important. Le niveau de stress lorsque cette personne est présente est palpable. Il devient alors difficile, selon moi, d'accomplir les tâches avec autant d'efficacité que lorsqu'elle n'est pas présente.
Pros
rabais employés, esprit d'équipe, bonne réputation, pas d'ennuis
Cons
stress, dévalorisation, peu d'heures de travail.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace but not secure enough
Cashier and money management (Former Employee) –  Lynden park Mall, Brantford Ontario3 September 2015
I would go in, open up the show case and ice cream counter, get set up and prepared for the day. I learned a lot about working at cash and handling customer situations very well as well as doing inventory. The management was amazing but promised more hours then they could give, the hardest part of the job was Christmas rush and the most enjoyable part was working in a great environment and safe workplace.
Pros
Working as a team
Cons
Not enough hours or stabiility
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
mon travail
Service à la clientèle (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC4 August 2015
J'apprécie grandement mes journées de travail à ce poste puisque je peux aider les clients à trouver ce qu'ils désirent autant pour un cadeau magnifique que pour se gâter soi-même. Dans ce travail, il est plaisant de pouvoir faire découvrir de nouvelle chose aux clients. L'ambiance est très agréable lorsqu'on est plusieurs employés sur le plancher durant les fêtes par exemple.
Pros
Très bon rabais pour les employés
Cons
pas de grande possibilité d'évolution dans l'emploi
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Laura Secord. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 48 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
2.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.5
Culture
3.4

CEO Approval

50%
14 ratings
Add your rating