Lafarge Employee Reviews

Found 33 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard Work, Good Pay
HEAVY EQUIPMENT OPERATOR (Current Employee) –  Edmonton28 August 2014
Hard Work, Good Pay. Union Company, fast paced environment and seasonal, no snow removal
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People were great to work with!
Ready Mix Driver (Former Employee) –  Lethbridge5 June 2014
Delivery of concrete to work sites, very many different applications of concrete, the management was fantastic, co-workers were fantastic, hardest part of job was learning about the concrete, slumps, pouring, and the applications, everybody that trained me had the patience to teach me what I learned.
Pros
the pay
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Sales/Shipping Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB28 April 2014
I only worked for the summer, but I always felt welcomed by the employees there. I was given multiple opportunities to participate, and I was always given the training necessary.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Engineer, Project Management
Project Engineer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON21 January 2014
maintaining daily operations, provide engineering designs, continuous improvements in plant processes, and provide preventative maintenance within the plant, update ISO systems, budgeting and purchasing equipments. Maintain inventory and hands-on experience with plant equipments. learn various operations components of the company business. management and co-workers are good to work with. hardest part of the job is dealing with the environment (cold and hot condition), enjoy all aspects of work.
Pros
Fun learning
Cons
weather
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great group of workers
Welder (Former Employee) –  Manitoulin, ON11 December 2013
good group of workers and easy to get the job done, fun to work
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working and rewarding experience
Product Development Technician (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON10 November 2013
This job is a very rewarding and challenging job. The benefits are great and the knowledge you learn is like no other, but it is a challenge, and requires a bright hard working individual.
Pros
Great experience and knowledge
Cons
Challenging
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
average day
Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB7 November 2013
During my day at Lafarge, I was one to work in many different area of the company. I would pick up parts and delivery them for the shop and for the gravel pit. I would do data entry from the work orders. I would even do the bank depositing if need be. Run equipment or testing gravel or concrete
Pros
learning new things
Cons
never knowing where i would be from day to day
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Seasonal work
Powder and Water Truck Operator (Current Employee) –  Edmonton and surrounding areas24 October 2013
operate cement powder truck. Dropping powder on new road base. When done I ll work with the crew running packer water truck or shovel in hand. I have 1.5 seasons with this job so far
Pros
good hrs 12-14 hrs per day 6 -days a week
Cons
seasonal
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Informative and fun place to work
771D Quarry Truck Operator (Former Employee) –  Brookfield Nova Scotia22 April 2013
Overall it was a good place to work. They made sure the employees got the trainjng they needed to do the job and do it safely. The people I worked with took their job seriously, but also had fun doing it. Working at lafarge for 31 years allowed me to live a very comfortable life while learning some of the skills I have to offer you.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Driver/Operator (Former Employee) –  Nanaimo, BC25 March 2013
Load and deliver concrete to various job sites, batch loads and maintain aggregate silo's.
Pros
great environment
Cons
long days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
you will regret working at the saskatoon terminal
used to work at here (Former Employee) –  saskatoon30 October 2012
In the 5 years there has been 5 different managers not one of them staying longer than two years. It a lose lose situation. The last manager there relocated from Ontario and had 31 years with the company and they didn't even acknowledge him when he resigned not even a phone good luck in the future just a hang up of the phone. There is lots of issues with the equipment and limited budget to do anything your constantly having to stay late and fix the cyclonaire as rail demerge piles up. On average i would say the you would need to put in 10 to 12 hours to accomplish the office work and outside work that they expect from the manager. It is very poorly managed from the top and is currently losing all its experienced employees cause of that. This is first hand but if someone is up for challlenge this is a real challenge.
Pros
average salary, great salesman
Cons
long hours, constant reshuffling of schedule, lots of maintenance
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
anyone looking for a secure job and good place to work, stay far away from Lafarge as posible
mechanic (Current Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB4 June 2012
unless you are willing to put Lafarge ahead of all else includiing your familly stay away. I worked overtime every day no questions asked and when asked to work on schedualed day off, no problem except you have previous plans and said you would try to come in and end up not. get fired instantly no verbal or written warnings. unless you bend to their needs your toast
Pros
good as long as you do every thing they want
Cons
forced to do overtime on days off or else fired
Was this review helpful?Yes 52No 18Report

See more Lafarge reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Lafarge. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 440 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.7
Culture
3.9

CEO Approval

84%
145 ratings
Add your rating