Find companies:
Lafarge
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
67 reviews

Lafarge Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Process Cintroller (Current Employee), Randfontein, GPJuly 22, 2014
I've learned that any idea will take you places, all you need is to work as a team.

I had the most defficulty in controlling mill quality in my first month of running the mill but with time i manage to become one of the best'

I enjoyed artervia concrete project in durban and my first mill shut down project. i got a chance to go inside a cyclone

management – more... is the best, they value all employees

pressure is always a key to keep us working together as a team – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Accountant (Former Employee), Bucuresti, IFJune 25, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Module General Accounting (GL)
- Module Receivables
- Module Payables
- Module Stock and Services
- balance sheet
- audit reports
- fiscal statements
- daily accounting records
- reconciliations (accounts)
- sales journals , purchase journals
- inventories procedures
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lafarge
Application BI Manager (Current Employee), Johannesburg, GPMay 15, 2014
Pros: canteen
Lafarge has a lot of challenging work, and the BI environment is very highly used.

I really enjoyed working there, and regret leaving the company
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people policys are not conductive to futher advancement
Miner (Current Employee), Seattle, WAApril 14, 2014
Pros: more full time positions
good company great management, needs top employ mre full time people in order to maintain housekeeping tasks,to aviod further work place violATIONS
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly Stress work environment
Procurement and Logistic Director (Former Employee), IraqFebruary 20, 2014
High work load with tide schedule which give a vary huge opportunity to learn the multitasking and work under pressure with strong ability for problem solving and work's with strong exactive team
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job
Electrical Engineer (Former Employee), al fuheisFebruary 16, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: short break
training on electric drives, motors and generators operation
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, multi task, International Company
Executive Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Alpharetta, GAJanuary 27, 2014
Pros: nice people
Email and Calendar maintenance for Executive Management Team. Domestic and International Travel accommodations. Interact with all departments, plant employees and other Administrative personnel in other cities and states. Enjoyed all my co-workers, everyone worked hard but took time to be helpful and work together as a team. My position was to support – more... several Executives and everyone's needs were important, sometimes difficult working with many interruptions. I enjoyed the fast pace of my job and to be diligent in helping others. I am a team player. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very old company with a lot of resources
Quality Engineer/Supervisor (Former Employee), Harleyville, SCDecember 11, 2013
Pros: ownership of product/systems
Cons: non-stable market
The cement industry is very old so there is a lot knowledge already built into the organization.

Typical day was reviewing the data from QA and Process and determining it's potential impact on the daily product and determining the rates of raw materials to be blended to create the best product.

I learned the importance of good structured systems and – more... auditing and how to set them up.

The hardest part of the job was the volatility of the market. It dictated how we ran and the schedule.

The most enjoyable was ownership they gave to each employee over a system or piece of equipment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rigor of an old and confirmed company
Transport and purchasing assistant (Former Employee), ToulouseNovember 4, 2013
Pros: many advantages
Cons: work in offices
My position as transport and purchasing assistant for Lafarge has provided me with the opportunity to work in a high-pressure, team environment, where it is essential to be able to work closely with my colleagues in order to meet deadlines. Indeed, civil engineering is a fragile environment, and I participated to create the dispatch department with – more... an extreme rigor. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for.
Sales and Admin Officer (Former Employee), KotputliSeptember 23, 2013
. Timely delivered daily sales orders to clients with help of team
. Managed inventory, sales and purchase
. Coordinated with vendors and plant management to run plant effectively
. Prepared and maintained data of purchase, sales and consumption and reported out to zonal office
. Managed accounts and store besides sales and admin
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Eastern Regional Sales Manager (Current Employee), Central MarylandSeptember 17, 2013
Lafarge was a great company to work for and a strong company. Unfortunately they sold our division.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
RMX Training & Development Manager Lafarge (Former Employee), NationalSeptember 6, 2013
Pros: taking a lunch break!
Cons: commercial not understanding logistics of trucks.
Typical day would start about 7am ready to take calls if any truck / system issues occurred. Log onto systems to see what the next days work was looking like and estimate how many extra trucks would be required. Ring round all offices to get actual truck requirements or spare trucks for me to allocate to other plants. Travel to an office if anyone required – more... training or advice on truck movements. Afternoon spent allocating the trucks after contacting my hired trucks. The hardest part was making a decision what work would have to be moved to help reduce truck requirements and reduce haulage costs. Finish between 5 and 9pm depending on work load.
The most enjoyable part was getting feedback from Office Managers when haulage costs reduced and loads per day increased. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace to work with
Project Coordinator, Public Affairs (Current Employee), Paris, FranceSeptember 6, 2013
A great environment
An international company which operates in 64 countries
A leading construction company
Rewarding
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Process Intern (Former Employee), Joppa, ILJune 15, 2013
great place to start a career. everyone is very helpful and the people you work with make the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
 Ultimately responsible for conducting a wide-range general management operations, pertaining to personnel and stock management, housekeeping, sales
Manager (Current Employee), KZNApril 2, 2013
 Service Departments
 Cash Office Systems
 Human Relations (HR)
 General Systems
 Back Office Systems
 Management Competency
 Industrial Relations (IR)
 Receiving
 Health & Safety
 Profit & Loss (P&L)
 Customer Relations
 Management Skills
 Operational Systems & Procedures
 Stock Management and Control
 Personnel Management
 Management – more... Survival
 Customer Service Excellence – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cement production company caring for safety and cost reduction as well as quality
Safety Manager (Current Employee), IraqFebruary 21, 2013
I learned how to manage people,time,money and the tasks,and they work as team work, the enjoyable part of the job was when I was project manager for safety training center
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fly Ash Tech
Fly Ash Technician (Current Employee), KSFebruary 4, 2013
Pros: advancement, benefits
Cons: playing a key role
A work day would consist of running tests of fly ash per ASTM 618. From graduation to my first job, I learned valuable knowledge about fly ash as well as extended my knowledge of concrete.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place
PROJECT MANAGER & SYSTEM ARCHITECT (Former Employee), Issy-les-Moulineaux, A8January 26, 2013
Pros: low price lunches
Cons: healthcare
Support level 3
To apply ITIL V3
Nice management
Professionals
Take an unachieved project
Succeed after hardwork
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Typical Work Day at Lafarge North America
Dispatcher (Former Employee), Metairie, LouisianaJanuary 10, 2013
Pros: leave for dr. appts, breaks when needed, family leave when needed, attend your kid functions at shcool
Cons: we really could not leave for lunch, lunch was at your desk.
A typical work day at Lafarge begins in the early morning typical (01:00)am. From 01:00 am to 06:00, I am in the office alone. In this time frame depending on the work load, I am dispatching drivers to designated job sites, answer all phones from customers and Lafarge saleman and taking orders. Time goes by really fast, 06:00am is here. The other dispatchers – more... begin to come in for their work day. Now the day gets a little easier, I now have help. On Mondays when my co-worker gets in, he would releive me so I can get payroll completed before 09:00am. At 11:00am my work day is over.

LaFarge was a big happy family. We worked 10 hours days 6 days a week, but I enjoyed my job.

My leaving LaFarge were personal reasons. I recently remarried and relocated to Baton Rouge, La., where my husband lives. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
41/2 ****
Millwright, welder, operator (Former Employee), Morrison, COJanuary 9, 2013
Pros: the employees &safety were real good
Cons: better once the union was gone.
Very good place to work always learning something new .very good equipment,well kept,