Find companies:
Lafarge
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
67 reviews

Lafarge Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ground guy
Grounds' person (seasonal) (Current Employee), Calgary, ABNovember 6, 2014
Pros: great pay
Cons: long hours
Work depending on the day can be easy or hard. My co-workers are good some days and bad other days.Management is good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional
Safety Advisor (contract) (Current Employee), Calgary, ABSeptember 3, 2014
Pros: lots of work
Cons: lay-offs when work runs out
Harris Rebar is a good union company with lots of work when its busy but they take on so much at one time when work runs out they can not keep all their guys
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard Work, Good Pay
HEAVY EQUIPMENT OPERATOR (Current Employee), EdmontonAugust 28, 2014
Hard Work, Good Pay. Union Company, fast paced environment and seasonal, no snow removal
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People were great to work with!
Ready Mix Driver (Former Employee), LethbridgeJune 5, 2014
Pros: the pay
Cons: long hours
Delivery of concrete to work sites, very many different applications of concrete, the management was fantastic, co-workers were fantastic, hardest part of job was learning about the concrete, slumps, pouring, and the applications, everybody that trained me had the patience to teach me what I learned.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Sales/Shipping Coordinator (Former Employee), Winnipeg, MBApril 28, 2014
I only worked for the summer, but I always felt welcomed by the employees there. I was given multiple opportunities to participate, and I was always given the training necessary.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Engineer, Project Management
Project Engineer (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJanuary 21, 2014
Pros: fun learning
Cons: weather
maintaining daily operations, provide engineering designs, continuous improvements in plant processes, and provide preventative maintenance within the plant, update ISO systems, budgeting and purchasing equipments. Maintain inventory and hands-on experience with plant equipments. learn various operations components of the company business. management – more... and co-workers are good to work with. hardest part of the job is dealing with the environment (cold and hot condition), enjoy all aspects of work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great group of workers
Welder (Former Employee), Manitoulin, ONDecember 11, 2013
good group of workers and easy to get the job done, fun to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working and rewarding experience
Product Development Technician (Current Employee), Toronto, ONNovember 10, 2013
Pros: great experience and knowledge
Cons: challenging
This job is a very rewarding and challenging job. The benefits are great and the knowledge you learn is like no other, but it is a challenge, and requires a bright hard working individual.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
average day
Equipment Operator (Former Employee), Red Deer, ABNovember 7, 2013
Pros: learning new things
Cons: never knowing where i would be from day to day
During my day at Lafarge, I was one to work in many different area of the company. I would pick up parts and delivery them for the shop and for the gravel pit. I would do data entry from the work orders. I would even do the bank depositing if need be. Run equipment or testing gravel or concrete
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Seasonal work
Powder and Water Truck Operator (Current Employee), Edmonton and surrounding areasOctober 24, 2013
Pros: good hrs 12-14 hrs per day 6 -days a week
Cons: seasonal
operate cement powder truck. Dropping powder on new road base. When done I ll work with the crew running packer water truck or shovel in hand. I have 1.5 seasons with this job so far
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job
Process Operator (Former Employee), Calgary, ABOctober 11, 2013
Pros: job security
Cons: very poor for your health
liked the job, good enviroment to work in and always full of new challenges
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
you will regret working at the saskatoon terminal
used to work at here (Former Employee), saskatoonOctober 30, 2012
Pros: average salary, great salesman
Cons: long hours, constant reshuffling of schedule, lots of maintenance
In the 5 years there has been 5 different managers not one of them staying longer than two years. It a lose lose situation. The last manager there relocated from Ontario and had 31 years with the company and they didn't even acknowledge him when he resigned not even a phone good luck in the future just a hang up of the phone. There is lots of issues – more... with the equipment and limited budget to do anything your constantly having to stay late and fix the cyclonaire as rail demerge piles up. On average i would say the you would need to put in 10 to 12 hours to accomplish the office work and outside work that they expect from the manager. It is very poorly managed from the top and is currently losing all its experienced employees cause of that. This is first hand but if someone is up for challlenge this is a real challenge. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
anyone looking for a secure job and good place to work, stay far away from Lafarge as posible
mechanic (Current Employee), Fort McMurray, ABJune 4, 2012
Pros: good as long as you do every thing they want
Cons: forced to do overtime on days off or else fired
unless you are willing to put Lafarge ahead of all else includiing your familly stay away. I worked overtime every day no questions asked and when asked to work on schedualed day off, no problem except you have previous plans and said you would try to come in and end up not. get fired instantly no verbal or written warnings. unless you bend to their – more... needs your toast – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and hard working.
Electrician (Former Employee), Randfontein, GPDecember 5, 2014
Do pre start inspections. Assist on breakdown to minimise down time. Learn to work as a team.Hardest part of job was long hours and late call outs. Enjoy doing fault finding.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
tarmac driver
Bulk tipping Rigid tipper Tarmac (Current Employee), Radlett, ENGNovember 30, 2014
Pros: early starts
Cons: people at work
busy days with fairly early finishes interesting work and you meet lots of new people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a challeging environment and surely you will learn a lot of sales strategies.
Project Lead (Current Employee), Makati, P00November 29, 2014
Pros: food and transportation allowance are fully covered.
Cons: long hours
I have learned a lot of strategies in this company which makes me more equipped in this field. I have a very supportive team and works as a whole and never left behind anybody.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive Plant
Intern (Former Employee), AmmanNovember 24, 2014
I was a trainee for two months in Lafarge. I got good hands-on experience. Safety is number one there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
already did this one
Heavy Equipment Operator and Miner (Former Employee), Cave-In-Rock, ILNovember 6, 2014
already did this one, great experience, got to learn alot about mining industry. got to run all kinds of heavy equipment and got certified threw cattepillar
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Command and Control Culture
Director, Property and Government Affairs (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAOctober 14, 2014
Buy, sweat the assets then sell mentality in my opinion. Absolutely no respect for work like balance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment to work no presure
Admin Assistance and Reception (Current Employee), Johannesburg, GPSeptember 15, 2014
Pros: training recommended if need be
Cons: average working hours
Mostly is busy in the mornings because all work must be updated and have to follow up on emails and filed work. i have learned that when ever i deal with a project i must make sure that is done and closed it must not be left pending because as human beings if you are busy yoyu turn to forget, and filling is very important , we work as a team here at – more... Lafarge in oder to skill each other, everyone learns each other's job , the hardest part is when you find that our compter serve are down its very difficult as most of our jobs have to be captured on the system. The most enjoyable part is that there is always something to learn and do within the company so its easier to grow within the company. What i have learned is that hard works pays at the end of the day – less

1 2 3 4