Find companies:
Lafarge North America
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
53 reviews

Lafarge North America Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everyday work at Lafarge
Shop and Fleet Supervisor (Former Employee), Winnipeg, ManitobaJune 23, 2014
Pros: understanding of everyday issues (good or bad)
Cons: some cases can be to ridged
Exciting place to work, Could be very busy or very slow due to weather.
Very nice place to work, like anywhere there are changes to meet each day.
Management is pretty understanding with any personal commitments (family, appointments and sports activities)
Transportation (trucks) break downs. Especially when were very busy. The increased stress of truck – more... demand and the inability to supply more trucks, makes for a long day
Family feel, You feel like part of the family and everyone will pitch in to help in any way – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast paced
Machine Operator (Former Employee), Abbotsford BCDecember 19, 2013
Pros: excellent wages and lots of overtime
Cons: no coffeee or lunch breaks
Loading trucks, dealing with customers, excavating, driving trucks, guiding trucks at the dumpsite with dozer, road building, teaching others.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place, Great people
Concrete Mixer Operator (Former Employee), Saskatoon, SKDecember 13, 2013
Lafarge is an excellent place to work. Great benefits, great pay, but long hours(all worth it in the long run $$$)
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Asphalt Sales Coordinator (Current Employee), Calgary, ABJune 18, 2013
My typical day is a busy day which i love, my co workers are good people to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The working environment is very friendly.
CAS Specialist (Cash Application) (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONMay 31, 2013
Pros: social committee's program
This is fast phased company that you need to finish your application in a timely manner.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good working environment with my peers who had the highest integrity
District Sales Manager (Former Employee), Franklin, TNMarch 19, 2013
Pros: autonomy in day to day management
Cons: very bureaucratic at times
Working at Lafarge was most enjoyable when I was able to interact with customers and my sales staff. With the downturn in the US economy that part of my job was significantly reduced with a more internal focus.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a good company to work for
Production Intern (Former Employee), Bath, ONJanuary 8, 2013
Pros: friendly work environment
Cons: long hours
Enjoyed my time there interning for different departments. Anyone who enjoys industrial settings will like it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Admin (Current Employee), Calgary, ABOctober 23, 2012
Lafarge is great for taking care of their people, the only downfall is that you usually get laid off for the winter due to the nature of the business.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, growing company
Purchasing (Former Employee), Woodstock/Mississauga, ONAugust 27, 2012
I thoroughly enjoyed my time with Lafarge, and continue to look back on great times and good people. I worked for a Cement plant and at the head office during my time with the company. Both locations had gereat, intelligent people and a good team culture. I regret leaving the company, but I had a lengthy commute and that drove my decision.

The company – more... takes care of it's employees. When the plant I worked at closed, nearly every staff member was offered a job at other plants within the organization, myself included. Even some of the hourly employees were offered jobs, the company paying moving expenses to bring people to the other side of the country. I felt safe the entire time I worked with Lafarge.

The company takes training and coaching very seriously. I didn't ever feel like i wasn't properly informed of my duties, or that I didn't have good istruction on any task I was given. There were a number of opportunities to go outside my standard job description and increase my visability with the organization. Looking back, I really wish I could get back into the organization, and would jump at the opportunity. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very results focused company
Maintenance Planner (Current Employee), Exshaw, ABJune 29, 2012
Pros: advancement opportunities
Cons: became impersonal
Began as a labourer straight out of high school and through their career advancement opportunities, have learned all aspects of mining manufacturing industry. For the most part, co-workers are like family. Hardest part of the job is seeing what was a small Canadian company become a huge multi national conglomerate and all of the necessary "corporate" – more... decisions over "employee" needs that results from massive expansion. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing company
IT Co-Ordinator (Current Employee), Mississauga, ONApril 22, 2012
Pros: wonderful environment
Cons: no cons
My many years with Lafarge have been and happy and enjoyable one, the people are wonderful and the work has always been challenging.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manager is Great,as well as the plant supervisor, Great environment
Dispatcher/Batcher/Office Administrator (Former Employee), Kingston, ONApril 4, 2012
Pros: lots of work hours
Cons: only seasonal work
I would open and close the plant when needed,I dispatch/batched concrete booked deliveries,took orders,customer questions and concerns.Work environment is great ,co-workers are awesome.BBQ's in the summer,Great Hams at christmas.I really cant say enough about working at Lafarge
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Day
Diesel Technician (Former Employee), Newnan, GANovember 4, 2014
Pros: learned new skills
Cons: not much chance for advancement
I did preventive maintenance daily. I did a lot of trouble shooting on electrical, air and hydraulic systems. I learned a lot of trouble shooting skills on equipment that had never worked on before.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Driver/Dispatcher (Current Employee), New Orleans, LAOctober 6, 2014
I thought the entrepreneur experience was a great one. It gave my
perspective on how hard it is start and run a business without
good people to move your business along.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Instrumentation Electrician (Former Employee), Tulsa, OKAugust 4, 2014
Pros: good benefits
Cons: dirty enviroment
I did electrical maintenance in entire plant. I operated all sorts of equipment and kept inventory.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
barge loading
barge loader (Former Employee), Ravena, NYJune 25, 2014
well it was fun working on the river.we worked in groups of 4....when it came to barge loading we had a big responsibility...I would load...I had two guys that would walk around and made sure everything was safe and good...the third guy was my system man...he would make sure I had good feed on my belts and took samples of cement every hr,..
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company. Bad Management. H.R. disorganized. plenty of room for improvement.
Production Associate (Former Employee), Silver Grove, KYJune 11, 2014
Pros: good benefits, good co-workers.
Cons: management`s indifferent attitude.
Good job. Dirty place. Co-workers concerned about others and their work. Lower management overworked. Upper management unconcerned. I enjoyed working with most people there, especially plant maintenance personnel. The point-sytem employed by staff was extremely unfair and they could care less.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Face paced manufacturing environment
Bundler Operator (Current Employee), Buchanan, NYJune 2, 2014
Pros: good pay, co-workers
Cons: long days, travel, no set schedule
Typical day starts with a pre-shift/safety meeting discussing the production for the day ahead of us, then onto the work floor where any quality or maintenance issues are also discussed with the shift being relieved. Each day is something different with the production of various types of drywall. It is a fast paced environment where any hiccup can cause – more... upsets in the production. When upsets do arise, each employee is cross-trained on various jobs limiting the amount off lost product. The hardest part of the day is remaining focused on all issues, most importantly your own safety and the safety of the person next to you. Safety takes priority over anything else. The most enjoyable part of the day is everyone going home the same way they came in. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice coworkers
Fork Lift Operator (Former Employee), Silver Grove, KYMarch 25, 2014
Pros: staying busy
Cons: to many bosses
I liked to drive a forklift and the hours I worked. The coworkers were real nice to work with and very cooperative with others.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved my job at Lafarge
Dispatcher (Current Employee), Carbondale COMarch 1, 2014
Pros: daily new challenges
Cons: lafarge sold out to another company
I would dispatch RMX trucks every other day. On the opposite days I would take the orders and do the scheduling for the next business day's orders. Everyday was a new day. Always challenging. I worked well with my fellow team-mates. The hardest part of my job was scheduling the trucks for the times that the customers would want especially during the – more... busy season. – less

1 2 3

About Lafarge North America

Lafarge North America works to be the foundation of buildings, roads, and bridges across US and Canada. As North America's largest – Read more