Lafarge Canada Employee Reviews in Canada

Showing all 41 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Building Systems Estimator / Sales Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BCMay 29, 2016
Lafarge is a very big company with many different divisions in many different cities in Canada. My experience with them was indeed great.

They prioritize safety at all work places which is a very big deal for both workers and employees, after all we all want to go home unharmed and happy to our beloved families.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company. Lousy Management
Administrative Officer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABMay 19, 2016
Good bunch of regular workers. Management sucks. Safety is talked about a lot and most time rules are followed until deadlines need to be met. Then it all reverts to Production over Safety.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment to work in.
Maintenance Worker, Heavy Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Abbotsford, BCMay 13, 2016
Great place to work, they appreciate hard work and will recognize it. Learned a lot about mining operations. Great group of co-workers, and great pay and benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fast pase and need to be able to work well in a group
heavy equipment opp (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABMay 1, 2016
warm up equipment , process concrete rubble separate rebar and other metals from concrete. push rubble to feeder how for processing
Pros
good experiance
Cons
tight deadlines
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
MECHANIC, SHOP LEAD HAND (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABApril 30, 2016
Some of the management practices are questionable. It is a large company advancement seemed more available to family and friends. I liked working there, it is to bad I could not have transferred within Edmonton.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
highly productive and ideal office environment
Geological Technologist (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABApril 15, 2016
Though, the practicum lasted for 15 days only but it turned out to be a great learning experience for me. Most of the times i was working in the field under the supervision of a regional geologist but provided time at the office, I was preliminary involved working on different software and report writing-finding summarizing tasks.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Quality Control Technician (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, ABApril 8, 2016
i love it here and its a great place to work the management is great and the works are great as well. i would tell everyone to join Lafarge if they can
Pros
Free Lunch
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes3No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
most of the guys were great
Equipment Operator (Current Employee) –  Calgary, ABFebruary 25, 2016
the guys u work with are great.the hours are ok.But the management teams never let you know what was happening,like when u where going get layed off for the season or if or when they may call u back
Pros
good benif package
Cons
never knowing what was happening next /not all year round
Was this review helpful?Yes14No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Heavy Equipment Operator (Current Employee) –  Saskatoon, SKFebruary 16, 2016
Demanding/ fulfilling work. Long hours. decent pay. good benefits. Respecful management. The only thing i would say i dislike about this company is how seasonal the work is.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely Boring
Research and Development Junior Asphalt Technician (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABFebruary 3, 2016
If your looking for a job with little work and a great title this is the one. Therre was little to no guidance for management, and corporate are a bunch of stuck up people that think they are better then everyone.
Was this review helpful?Yes14No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place - however not year round
Concrete Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  Strathroy, ONJanuary 26, 2016
I need year round work. great place to work, however there is not enough hours. No work in winter and this makes things very difficult.
Cons
not enough work
Was this review helpful?Yes9No10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable and competative
Redi Mix Operator (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, ABJanuary 23, 2016
Mix and deliver concrete to various locations in and around Fort McMurray. I enjoyed working there but had to leave because of lack of work available.
Cons
can have some extremely long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes5No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Has its ups and downs but generally a good place to work.
Systems Technician (Current Employee) –  Brookfield, NSJanuary 6, 2016
A nice small plant (less than 70 employees) to work in which gives a good level of knowing everyone including management. All good people in their own ways. Easy to work with.
Older plant (50 years) so a lot of problem areas but there has been a fair amount of upgrading and updating of equipment over the years that has included some newer technologies.
The job of Systems Technician can not be described as greatly challenging as there is still a lot of older gear and as such more often than not, the major number of problems that arise are with the older stuff. Some challenge is present just not as much as I had gotten used to with my prevous employer.
Pros
Not bad benefits and wage for the region and very close to home.
Cons
Management lacks somewhat in planning and coordination of jobs.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poorly Governed by Ineffective Management
Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Langley, BCDecember 20, 2015
The Western Canada division is riddled with poorly appointed managers who have been chosen based on their connection or by showing blind obedience for the top guys. Low morale at work is an everyday business and makes it difficult to achieve anything other than just a paycheck. For anyone with passion and pride in their work, this is not a right environment.

Putting aside what the company shills and HR have posted here as positive reviews, you can see that this is a common problem as there are many references to mismanagement in this company.

The good reputation achieved in previous years by the conscientious managers is fading, as they leave one by one; and this is fully evident by looking at the unusually high turn over in this market area and the respective business units.
Pros
Paycheck
Cons
Mismanagement, Ineffcetive HR System which only does what the top guys ask
Was this review helpful?Yes33No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people to work with
Payroll Job Costing/Accounts Payable (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MBDecember 15, 2015
Daily I would enter payroll hours upload and approve them. I would also make PO's, make and generate invoices. Check on vendor payments.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Purchasing Assistant (Current Employee) –  Richmond, BCDecember 10, 2015
I have gained a lot of new knowledge in many divisions at Lafarge Canada. Purchasing Parts to understanding them where they are used to run the Cement Plant. Receptionist gave me the opportunity to build my Customer Service at a different level from my past experience. Always eager to learn and excel at every post I was privileged to be assigned to.
Pros
Great office environment, Team Work
Was this review helpful?Yes2No10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not what you might you think
HR Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Calgary, ABNovember 14, 2015
The company has many good employees who are great to work with. Most of the workers and supervisors are hard working people and treat their coworkers and customers well.

However, the top management is not respectful to the employees and treats mid level managers, supervisors and employees as numbers. In the end of the day, depending on one of these guys' opinion, your fate can change in a matter of seconds and you could lose your job or get demoted; regardless of your length of service and good performance. This is a culture which is not likely to change and makes the work conditions increasingly difficult, as there is no appetite for change from the Presidents and CEOs side.

Also, the lack of long term planning for the business, causes unnecessary, pricey and constant reorganizations, which affect workers' jobs continuously.

If you are a knowledgeable and hard working person, there are many better companies out there that value you and your services, the way you deserve it.
Pros
Hard Working Men & Women who Run the Business
Cons
Indeffcetive, Unjust & Disrespectful Management - No Opportunity for Promotion, Unless you are Highly Connceted - No Job Security
Was this review helpful?Yes44No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment
Heath & Safety Administration (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SKOctober 26, 2015
Lafarge was supportive in providing training in all areas possible and promoted advanced learning in areas where improvement could be made.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
positive
Health & Safety Employee Rep (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ONSeptember 14, 2015
Great place to work. If you work hard and pull your weight, you will be recognized.
Fun place to work. Great people to work with. Great safety culture as well.
Pros
free lunches, bonus
Was this review helpful?Yes6No9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Coordinator
Sales Coordinator & Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABJuly 28, 2015
When I started at Lafarge we had a great team. The work life balance was average, but you felt like you were part of a team. I learned new skills and enjoyed the company events like the Employee Golf Tournament and Christmas Party.
Pros
Free Lunches
Cons
Inexperienced Managers
Was this review helpful?Yes9No7Report

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 41 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Salary/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.4
Culture
3.5