Find companies:
Ladbrokes
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
117 reviews

Ladbrokes Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
service desk analsyst
Service desk analyst (Former Employee), Harrow, ENGOctober 13, 2014
Pros: only allow to stand up from desk for toilet
worst work place. worked as service desk analyst for 4 years. No career development. Management is the worst. Work like prisoners.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun but difficult at times
customer support manager (Current Employee), South WalesOctober 13, 2014
Pros: not too bad on pay, customers, staff and able to advance quickly
Cons: lomg hours, unsociable hours, customers, management
I have to say working here for the last 6 years has been a blast! Loved every minute of it, customers can drive you insane but majority of the time you can easily have fun in a relaxed sporting environment. Working your way from a cashier to a management role is easy when it's available. The hardest part is working full weekends, it's unsociable but – more... not too bad when your a student. I cannot fault Ladbrokes for their flexible working patterns, could easily swap a shift if needed for exams, essays and presentations for uni work. Staff are helpful and friendly and as they face the same difficulties as you... It's fantastic :) – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job where a lot is learnt
Customer Service Manager (Current Employee), Kings Heath, BirminghamOctober 8, 2014
A typical day at work consisted of taking bets from customers, paying them out, settling bets and building rapports with the customers. In the job i learnt a lot about the sporting industry and also how betting worked which has broadened by knowledge. The hardest part of the job was definitely the long houred days as it meant i didn't get much of a – more... social life out of work. The most enjoyable part of the job was definitely the customers and getting to know them as my regulars. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a nice place to work at all
Cashier (Current Employee), Newport, ENGOctober 6, 2014
Pros: can be relaxing
Cons: higher managment
not a nice place to work for different reasons, Ladborkes have so many rules which you have to remember otherwise you going to be in trouble, the customer can be complete idiots anf not treat you like a human being and with the amount of people that come in drunk or just looking to be idiots. Sometimes it can really be a not so nice
place to work.

The – more... staff at ladbrokes are some of the best staff to get along with because they know what ladbrokes are like and just a nice place to be and you have a laugh, but once you get over the rank of market place manager then the higher managment, dont seem to give a rats *** about you. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SHOCKING!
Cashier (Former Employee), SouthamptonOctober 6, 2014
Cons: travelling at short notice, bad pay, long hours, extreme pressure to perform
Do not work for this company!
Only given half of my training, ridiculous pressure every day, impossible levels of expectation, terrible hours & holiday schemes, poor management & horrible customers!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Enjoyable Work Place
Customer Service Manager (Current Employee), Glasgow, SCTSeptember 30, 2014
Pros: full time job
Cons: long hours 15 hour shifts and no lunches
Each and every day at work would always be different but that;s what I enjoyed about work that not everyday would be the same I liked the challenge of having something new each day. I learned loads of new skills such as my management skills managing my team aiming for targets and doing staff rotas. Learned to work well as part of a team to ensure all – more... tasks where complete before end of day. The hardest part of the job was having to deal with difficult customers but I always just remained calm and composed to ensure the situation was dealt with best as possible. The most enjoyable part about the job was getting to manage my own team and aim towards my targets and push the shop forward to be the best. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
team based enviroment
Customer Service/Sales Assistant (Current Employee), londonJuly 31, 2014
its a gaming company. in London hornsey and its called Ladbrokes
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and easy atmosphere
Shop Manager (Current Employee), londonJuly 30, 2014
Pros: meeting new people daily
Cons: long hours
A typical day would including balancing cash , dealing with various customer queries as well as some staff members at times. I have learnt that customers will always remember the way you dealt with their concerns, hence the importance of delivering excellent customer services at all times.The hardest part of the job is maintaining professionalism when – more... a customer is being rude or unreasonable at times. however there is always a sense of satisfaction when you manage to deliver good customer services and the customer walks away happy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great fun if you like your sports
Deputy Manager (Former Employee), Ipswich,Felixstowe,HadlieghJuly 20, 2014
Pros: great tips
Cons: some very poor tips
The most enjoyable part of the job is the customers great bunch of characters.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse & Fast moving
Shop Manager/Trainer (Current Employee), StaffordshireJuly 16, 2014
Pros: sociable industry, sporting access and skills gained
Cons: long hours, unsocial hours and promotional blockers
A current day would see me Overseeing the day to day running of the shops, responsible for ensuring the shops are opened on time and that all procedures are followed in accordance with the company’s policies and also meet current gambling commission guidelines. Ensuring the shop teams are aware and comply with up to date policies, promotions and customer – more... care through the current ABB practices. The responsibility of staff scheduling, training, support and performance reviews. Lease with all relevant departments through the company structure implementing new products, promotions and best practises through to the shop level.

Or my other role within the company may see me,

Calling all the Market Place Managers and arrange a shop visit for upto 130 shops within my demographic area and train the shop teams within. Training all colleagues giving them the knowledge of EasiBet machines and give them the tools required to talk to our customers about the key benefits and features. Ensuring that colleagues engage with customers around the features and benefits and give them a reason to want to use our machines. In particular empower customers to build their pre-event and in-play accumulator bets on EasiBet. The aim is to have all shop teams promoting EasiBet as part of the “fabric” of the shop proposition and drive customer awareness and performance.

Management is diverse and you can meet all kinds of varied levels of good and not so good people within the roles. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work colleges where good people to work with
Telebetting Agent (Former Employee), Liverpool, ENGJuly 1, 2014
Pros: made some good friends
Cons: long hours and short turn round time between shifts
The company was great to begin with the atmosphere was relax but then management changed things and the atmosphere changed for the worse
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I have gained lots of exprerience
Customer Service Manager (Current Employee), YeovilJuly 1, 2014
Pros: good pay for cashiers
Cons: don't know our weekly rota until a week before, long hours, lone working for 10 hours a day
As a Duty Manager without shop management role within the company, I have a lot of responsibilities including:

* Managing staff on a daily basis
* Managing the shop on a daily basis, making sure everything is in
working order and reporting to correct services if not
* Completing daily, weekly and monthly figure reports and comparing
to targets, going – more... through records as to why targets are varied
* Occasionally going to manager meetings and briefing staff
* Opening and closing shop
* Lone working daily
* Making sure shop and staff follow company and security rules
* Call emergency services as required
* Dealing with difficult and abusive customers
* Counting and completing the daily banking
* Writing action plans for shop promotions and briefing staff – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An interesting place to work
Customer Services Manager (Former Employee), Invergordon, SCTJune 3, 2014
Pros: career advancement
Cons: working long periods on your own
A typical day involved working long shifts, sometimes on your own during busy periods. Management were always very friendly and would do their best to accommodate you if you needed anything and the customers could be argumentative but for the most part were friendly as well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
shock
Cashier (Former Employee), Peterhead, SCTJune 2, 2014
Pros: staff
Cons: staff
the staff were the best part of the working day. the customers were the worst part of the job as they were horrible the way they spoke to the cashiers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unproductive
Cashier (Former Employee), Eastbourne, ENGMay 27, 2014
Pros: easy work
Cons: safety
Working for Ladbrokes was pretty un-amusing, though work is not supposed to be fun, when it is unproductive and there is not much to do, even when using my own initiative. Safety was an issue due to the targeted customers coming into store, however the customers are the main reason I enjoyed working there because I built up a professional relationship – more... with them.
It was a great retail experience however highly un-stimulating for a retail job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Cashier (Former Employee), Slough/Windsor/BurnhamMay 23, 2014
I really enjoyed this position and would definitely recommend it. I worked there for 2 and half years and i got on really well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work
Customer Service Advisor (Current Employee), Accrington, ENGMay 20, 2014
on a typical day I will be taking bets and making sure all customers were enjoying there self's in are shop,
I learned about all the different bets and sports u can bet on.
most enjoyable part was being able to work so close to the customers to enjoy my job more
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Customer Service Advisor (Former Employee), Whitehaven, ENGMay 10, 2014
Pros: banter with colleagues
Cons: long hours
taking bets and promoting new products
time management
co-workers easy to get along with
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor workplace, no care what so ever for well being of staff
Customer Service Manager (Former Employee), LeicesterMay 8, 2014
on an average day you will be faced with all types of gamblers, opportunists, 'in the know', and those who like to think that they know what they are doing, the one thing to remember is that the bookies always win, which is why they have been around so long.
Ladbrokes, along with all of the major high street bookmakers are now starting to implement – more... 'single manning' which basically means that you will have to man the fort all by yourself with no help from anyone else irrespective of your own needs, IE lunch breaks and toilet breaks, this may not be an issue if you work in a shop for that long that you can trust the customers to go out and collect food for you or you can trust them enough not to get moody if you disappear for a couple of minutes to do your business.
The best part of the job is the excitement on the big race days, however it is only exciting if you make it that way because Ladbrokes will not help you one bit.
You will discover over time that although you are paid to do a specific job, the company will keep adding on to the things you are required to do and expect to be able to pay you the same money with no wage rises even though, given the current financial climate, the bookmakers are still making billions each year on the machines.

THE BEST RECOMMENDATION I COULD MAKE WOULD BE TO STAY WELL AWAY BECAUSE THE ONLY PEOPLE THEY ARE BOTHERED ABOUT ARE THE SHAREHOLDERS! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Shop Accounts Supervisor (Current Employee), Rayners Lane, HarrowApril 26, 2014
Pros: car park, cafe
Cons: long hours
A typical day in the office for me will be getting in the office for around 7:00 and clear through my emails, complete all the daily accounting checks before I start on the days work. The days work will be validating daily trading figures from our retail estate and reconcile the data. Management are firm and fair in when occasions occur. The most enjoyable – more... part of the job is raising to the occasion and getting the work completed before the set deadlines. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Ladbrokes

Ladbrokes plc is a British based gambling company. It is based in Rayners Lane in Harrow, London. The company was founded by Messrs – Read more