Find companies:
Ladbrokes
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
127 reviews

Ladbrokes Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and educational
Customer Service Manager (Current Employee), Perth, SCTDecember 13, 2014
Pros: overtime when needed
Cons: long shifts and single manning
Working with Ladbrokes has been very educational but its not always an easy job as translating handwriting can be very difficult and when managing single manning can make the job very difficult as you can not give the best customer service and keep the marketing up to date along with keeping regular checks on the tills to maintain good cash control. – more... Working on the busiest of days are usually the best though as you can have a great laugh with colleagues and customers. In my time with Ladbrokes I have learnt a lot between the running of the company, to how to translate and settle bets, the working of the systems, working out the best way to explain the different bets to customers for the best bet for each customer. Ladbrokes has been a good company to work for as while working for them I have learnt a lot about myself. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable
Customer Service Manager (Current Employee), Dynbych y Pysgod, WLSDecember 4, 2014
Pros: flexiable hours
Cons: no career progression / direction from line managers
a really easy fun job if you have a head for numbers , sports and people , company seems to lack direction and with no real targets set ,( or so it seems ) so your just left to do as you please, which if you enjoy your job like i did is great ,there is lots of moaning within the company about middle management , and my experience of these is very mixed – more... , no chance of progression within the company so not a place to work if its a career you want but valuable experience non theless – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place to work
Customer Service Advisor (Current Employee), Nottingham, ENGNovember 19, 2014
A typical day at work will involve talking to customers, seeing how things generally are with them, and looking at todays betting markets and discussing potential winners etc. You'll always learn something new whether there's a new game on our gambling machines, a new customer to get to know, a new offer available for our customers to take advantage – more... off. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
general cleaning
cleaner (Former Employee), Newcastle upon Tyne, ENGNovember 15, 2014
empty the bins hoover clean toilets.have control of ordering cleaning products
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Customer Service Manager (Current Employee), Tamworth and surrounding areasNovember 4, 2014
I have been taught a lot being with this company and enjoy working with my co workers. I really enjoy being here as it is a great atmosphere along with building relationships with the customers. As I am a manager at Ladbrokes I have to lead the team and make sure all day to days jobs have been done. Due to a recent incident I have found that working – more... till 10 at night on my own is not something I wish to continue. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
constantly having to deal with unprofessional staff and irate customers
Trainee Deputy Manager (Former Employee), London, ENGOctober 28, 2014
Pros: position of responsibity and handling large sums of cash
Cons: dealing with crazy gamblers and unprofessional staff
a typical day included, opening up, log on to the computers, display posters and marketing stuff on the windows, then start taking bets
I learned how to use the Ladbrokes BS2000 software
I wouldn't say the management was anything special, just the usual betting shop
The co workers were all appalling to be honest
the hardest part was dealing crazy and – more... irate clients
the most enjoyable was when we close for the day – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Customer Service Manager (Former Employee), Edgware, ENGOctober 22, 2014
Cons: liable to robberies
A typical day at Ladbrokes was taking bets and exchanging money over the counter, everyday there would be at least one customer who won a large amount of money on the machines. The day would start with me opening the shop and putting out correct marketing and newspapers to supply the customers with the sufficient information needed for that particular – more... day. Every week i'd order new stock ie pens and betting slips plus vending stock. The hardest part of the job is dealing with an upset customer if they have lost all their money in the shop, as they start throwing abusive words and throwing chairs around the shop. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work, staff are great.
Customer Service Manager (Current Employee), Sheffield, ENGOctober 21, 2014
I enjoy working for Ladbrokes. each day is different as you are always meeting new people (customer and staff) you get thorough training before you are given your set of keys for the shop you are allocated to. The hours that you work can be flexible if you work together as a team with the rest of the shop team that you work in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An absolutely disgraceful company to work for
CSM (Current Employee), ukOctober 20, 2014
Pros: acceptable pay
Cons: long hours, minimal breaks, no life outside of work, nasty upper management
I took the job at Ladbrokes for the sole reason that I was desperate for a new job. When I first started as a cashier I enjoyed the job to an extent, minus the mind numbing boredom that comes with it. After training as a csm (in essence a manager on an hourly rate just about a cashier) I realised that working for Ladbrokes was the worst decision I ever – more... made. Long 14 hour days with little or no breaks, not even to go to the toilet. My average day consists of; making around 100 cups of tea, being verbally abused and threatened by customers and having to put up with it as security at Ladbrokes is next to none, having upper management breathing down my neck because a magnet that holds the papers up is slightly at the wrong angle, and having to floor walk in the shop surrounded by gambling addicts that have no respect for the shop and staff alike. The pay is reasonable but what's the point in having good pay If you have no time to spend it? My home life suffers because I have no time to spend with my partner and when I do, I'm too tired to do anything with our day together.
If you have no life, an everlasting amount of energy, you never get hungry, you like upper management treating you like dirt and bladder that can withstand not going to the toilet for over 8 hours at a time then Ladbrokes is the perfect place to work for you.

I cannot wait to find a new job, even if I have to take a cut in pay it'll be worth it to get back a quality of life you lose when signing your contract with Ladbrokes.

I have honestly never known a company where the majority of employees hate their job so much.

My advice if you are desperate for a is job is to wait, something else will come up. Don't become another Ladbrokes puppet. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting workplace, flexible hours.
Waitressing position at Monmore Green Stadium (Current Employee), Wolverhampton, ENGOctober 14, 2014
Every day/shift is different, everyday there is something else to learn. I have really enjoyed my last 2 years working there. There is a lot of work, but in the end you really do enjoy it, and you leave satisfied. Co-workers are very friendly and helpful, you're getting a lot of support from each person.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
service desk analsyst
Service desk analyst (Former Employee), Harrow, ENGOctober 13, 2014
Pros: only allow to stand up from desk for toilet
worst work place. worked as service desk analyst for 4 years. No career development. Management is the worst. Work like prisoners.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun but difficult at times
customer support manager (Current Employee), South WalesOctober 13, 2014
Pros: not too bad on pay, customers, staff and able to advance quickly
Cons: lomg hours, unsociable hours, customers, management
I have to say working here for the last 6 years has been a blast! Loved every minute of it, customers can drive you insane but majority of the time you can easily have fun in a relaxed sporting environment. Working your way from a cashier to a management role is easy when it's available. The hardest part is working full weekends, it's unsociable but – more... not too bad when your a student. I cannot fault Ladbrokes for their flexible working patterns, could easily swap a shift if needed for exams, essays and presentations for uni work. Staff are helpful and friendly and as they face the same difficulties as you... It's fantastic :) – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job where a lot is learnt
Customer Service Manager (Current Employee), Kings Heath, BirminghamOctober 8, 2014
A typical day at work consisted of taking bets from customers, paying them out, settling bets and building rapports with the customers. In the job i learnt a lot about the sporting industry and also how betting worked which has broadened by knowledge. The hardest part of the job was definitely the long houred days as it meant i didn't get much of a – more... social life out of work. The most enjoyable part of the job was definitely the customers and getting to know them as my regulars. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a nice place to work at all
Cashier (Current Employee), Newport, ENGOctober 6, 2014
Pros: can be relaxing
Cons: higher managment
not a nice place to work for different reasons, Ladborkes have so many rules which you have to remember otherwise you going to be in trouble, the customer can be complete idiots anf not treat you like a human being and with the amount of people that come in drunk or just looking to be idiots. Sometimes it can really be a not so nice
place to work.

The – more... staff at ladbrokes are some of the best staff to get along with because they know what ladbrokes are like and just a nice place to be and you have a laugh, but once you get over the rank of market place manager then the higher managment, dont seem to give a rats *** about you. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SHOCKING!
Cashier (Former Employee), SouthamptonOctober 6, 2014
Cons: travelling at short notice, bad pay, long hours, extreme pressure to perform
Do not work for this company!
Only given half of my training, ridiculous pressure every day, impossible levels of expectation, terrible hours & holiday schemes, poor management & horrible customers!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Enjoyable Work Place
Customer Service Manager (Current Employee), Glasgow, SCTSeptember 30, 2014
Pros: full time job
Cons: long hours 15 hour shifts and no lunches
Each and every day at work would always be different but that;s what I enjoyed about work that not everyday would be the same I liked the challenge of having something new each day. I learned loads of new skills such as my management skills managing my team aiming for targets and doing staff rotas. Learned to work well as part of a team to ensure all – more... tasks where complete before end of day. The hardest part of the job was having to deal with difficult customers but I always just remained calm and composed to ensure the situation was dealt with best as possible. The most enjoyable part about the job was getting to manage my own team and aim towards my targets and push the shop forward to be the best. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
team based enviroment
Customer Service/Sales Assistant (Current Employee), londonJuly 31, 2014
its a gaming company. in London hornsey and its called Ladbrokes
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and easy atmosphere
Shop Manager (Current Employee), londonJuly 30, 2014
Pros: meeting new people daily
Cons: long hours
A typical day would including balancing cash , dealing with various customer queries as well as some staff members at times. I have learnt that customers will always remember the way you dealt with their concerns, hence the importance of delivering excellent customer services at all times.The hardest part of the job is maintaining professionalism when – more... a customer is being rude or unreasonable at times. however there is always a sense of satisfaction when you manage to deliver good customer services and the customer walks away happy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great fun if you like your sports
Deputy Manager (Former Employee), Ipswich,Felixstowe,HadlieghJuly 20, 2014
Pros: great tips
Cons: some very poor tips
The most enjoyable part of the job is the customers great bunch of characters.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse & Fast moving
Shop Manager/Trainer (Current Employee), StaffordshireJuly 16, 2014
Pros: sociable industry, sporting access and skills gained
Cons: long hours, unsocial hours and promotional blockers
A current day would see me Overseeing the day to day running of the shops, responsible for ensuring the shops are opened on time and that all procedures are followed in accordance with the company’s policies and also meet current gambling commission guidelines. Ensuring the shop teams are aware and comply with up to date policies, promotions and customer – more... care through the current ABB practices. The responsibility of staff scheduling, training, support and performance reviews. Lease with all relevant departments through the company structure implementing new products, promotions and best practises through to the shop level.

Or my other role within the company may see me,

Calling all the Market Place Managers and arrange a shop visit for upto 130 shops within my demographic area and train the shop teams within. Training all colleagues giving them the knowledge of EasiBet machines and give them the tools required to talk to our customers about the key benefits and features. Ensuring that colleagues engage with customers around the features and benefits and give them a reason to want to use our machines. In particular empower customers to build their pre-event and in-play accumulator bets on EasiBet. The aim is to have all shop teams promoting EasiBet as part of the “fabric” of the shop proposition and drive customer awareness and performance.

Management is diverse and you can meet all kinds of varied levels of good and not so good people within the roles. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Ladbrokes

Ladbrokes plc is a British based gambling company. It is based in Rayners Lane in Harrow, London. The company was founded by Messrs – Read more