Find companies:
Ladbrokes
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
95 reviews

Ladbrokes Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok to work for
trainee manageress c s m (Former Employee), Coventry, ENGMarch 28, 2014
Cons: very long hours
daily we would put bets through the system and capture them so the system would recognise which horses or dogs or lotto was being put on. We all worked together as a team , I am an easy going person and get on with most people if I have got a job to do I like to get on with it and complete it, I am quite a fast worker for my age and am open to try new – more... tasks can usually put my hands to any job and am willing to try out new jobs. I like a challenge and like busy periods as quite periods I get bored.I don't mind getting my hands dirty. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Joke company run by clowns
Csm (Former Employee), MidlandsMarch 17, 2014
Cons: where do i start?
Absolute joke of a company. In the clique? If not your life will be a misery. Single man constantly, people are miserable and hate their job, no freedom of speech, dinner breaks?! What's a dinner break? Badly run company by joke management who expect you to give up your life for them. Need the toilet? We'll let's hope you don't have any customers then – more... or I suggest a commode or a catheter. No one cares about anyone unless you are in the clique. No work/life balance, very very long weekends, open at 8am, close at 10pm. Get ready for 15 hour shifts with no break, people who prepare rota's do so at their own advantage while others struggle. No respect for age or experience. Cash before staff every single time. Greedy, greedy disrespectful company. Wish I had never worked there. Work alone for 10+ hours a day. No life ever. It will consume your very being. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours, Ok pay
Customer Service Manager (Current Employee), BirminghamMarch 15, 2014
Cons: long hours, nights.
you can work a 12 hour shift very easily as most shops open at 9:30 and close at 9:30, i feel personally this effects socializing with any friends and even family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Customer Service Manager (Former Employee), Barnoldswick, ENGMarch 7, 2014
Pros: good customers and staff
Cons: long weekends
Was a good place to work, with fun staff, and great regular customers. Everyone in the store was easy to get on with, which made my time working there allot better.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great incentive
Technical support engineer, (Former Employee), London, ENGMarch 6, 2014
Pros: good people to work for and with
Cons: non
Working for Ladbrokes was probably one of the best jobs l have had regarding fair management who gave good incentive to better your self and moral over the whole work place was high. Just a shame they out sourced the engineering
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely poor company, poor work/life balance
Customer service manager (Former Employee), Weston super mareMarch 4, 2014
Pros: reliable income
Cons: low wage, poor work/life balance, boring, long hours
Very bad company to work for. Never known a workplace where every single employee is miserable with the job and resents the company so much. Very results driven company where customers are overwhelmed with offers and encouragement to bet on machines and other markets.

Extremely boring job with little to no prospects of career development. Although – more... some are nice customers are generally quite agressive and it gets depressing being around gambling addicts day in day out. It can be an okay job if you are planning to only do it for a couple of years as hours can be flexible if you are willing to do evening and weekend work. It suited me whilst at university but as soon as i was back doing full-time hours the lack of work/life balance starts to get you down.

Bad industry to work for in my opinion due to the pure greed of all of the top four high street bookmakers. The fun has been driven out and it is all about results and squeezing margins for shareholders profits. Single manning is also ridiculous, unless you like the idea of being sat in a shop alone for hours on end until 10pm this is not the job for you. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Badly run, can't move up the ladder
Csm (Current Employee), ENGMarch 3, 2014
Cons: long hours, lone working, no prospects
Shocking! Most of the staff are two faced and live in managements pocket. People's good nature is abused to breaking point. If you like sitting alone for 10+ hours per day with rushed toilet breaks when you are not serving customers then this is the job for you! If you have no life or don't ever want one then this job will be perfect! Vampires are less – more... likely to bleed your soul dry. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Results driven
Manager (Former Employee), LondonFebruary 18, 2014
Pros: watch sports
Cons: long hours
Duties including leading and managing a team, Setting and Planning Targets, Promotions, Cash Procedures, Staff Schedules and Business performance. Also responsible for Health and Safety, Compliance Practices, Communications, Staff Development, Recruitment and Disciplinary Issues. Overseeing profit and loss and setting/targeting KPI's to the company's – more... standards to grow and develop the business. Compilation and presentation of detailed financial management reporting. Accountable for sales targets. Driving the business. Training and Development of Staff. In addition, I assumed the role of Area Training Manager. ‘Manager of the Year’ award in 2011 & Four consecutive 100% Mystery Shopper reports – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There is always a friendly relaxed atmosphere. Flexible working hours. You meet a wide variety of people from all walks of life.
Customer Service Manager (Current Employee), London, ENGFebruary 17, 2014
Pros: free tickets to events and compitions you can enter. discounts off a vast amount of retail stores.
Cons: single manning.
Everyday you will meet and greet your regular customers which you have built relationships with throughout the time you work there. It's definitely a fun environment to work in with a bit of banter here and there. Also the people you work with start to become like a family who are always willing to help you out when needed as much as they can. To be – more... completely honest I can't say i found any element of the job to be hard, maybe challenging here and there when having to deal with think 21 customers when they are not willing to co-operate but always do in the end, – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Sportsbook Customer Development Executive (Current Employee), Rayners LaneFebruary 15, 2014
It is a fun work place and it is great that your work can be involved in sport however the company has been through some troubled times in the digital space in the last 18 months which has made it, at times, a treacherous place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace, no job security.
Customer Service Manager (Current Employee), TelfordFebruary 14, 2014
Unfortunately i currently have a 20 hour contract, and despite the fact that i have worked between 30-40 hours on a regular basis, the company has no plans to increase my contract.
Also there is absolutely no prospect of promotion.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and demanding
customer service manager (Current Employee), walthamstowFebruary 11, 2014
Pros: free travel
Cons: long hours. single manning
On a day to day basis work is pretty enjoyable although the working hours are extremely long. During my time at Ladbrokes I have learned how to deal with many different types of customers and customer queries in the most professional and beneficial manor as possible. Furthermore I have also learned how to open and close the shop which is part of my – more... management duties. My co-workers are a joy to work with as they always come to work with a smile on there face and they make the day much more entertaining and enjoyable. The hardest part of working this job is handling unhappy customers complaints in relation to there bets, however once there complaint is resolved and customer is happy it gives me a great feeling of knowing that I am able to help others with there queries. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor workpalace
Betting Shop Manager (Current Employee), Cardiff, WLSFebruary 11, 2014
Pros: stable income
Cons: too many to mention
Poor management and poor life work balance
A lot sickness which is not covered, most of time working alone.
Abusive and aggressive customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awful
customer service manager (Former Employee), Weston super mareFebruary 8, 2014
Cons: everything
Worst company I've ever worked for. Single man constantly management are rubbish
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging Job
Customer Service Advisor (Retail) (Current Employee), londonFebruary 6, 2014
Pros: free travel expenss
Cons: long hours
Enjoyable job, always a challenge and you meet plenty of interesting people along the way
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good atmosphere and customer relations
Customer Service Manager/Cashier (Current Employee), TelfordJanuary 27, 2014
Pros: co-workers and regular customer relations
Cons: long hours working alone
I love my job in regards to the customer relation side. I also love the small team i work with.
Management and the company as a whole are not good.
No career progression available.
Long hours, unsocial and almost dangerous working conditions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy my work, but can be long hours
Customer Service Manager (Current Employee), ManchesterJanuary 25, 2014
Pros: meeting people
Cons: shifts and work live balance
I mainly work on relief and my duties and hours vary from day to day.
My working day can vary from a 4 hour shift to a 12 hour shift between the hours of 8am and 9.30pm. The shops have teams of 4 to 7 staff with 1 or 2 people on duty at any one time. I enjoy the banter with the customers and we all have a good laugh. The hardest part of my job can be – more... the hours Closing one day and opening the next. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly Environment
Customer Service Manager (Former Employee), LondonJanuary 22, 2014
A great way to expose customer service skills, customer care. Great team work within the establishment, friendly staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good people that are easy to get on with
Cashier and management (Current Employee), Edinburgh, SCTJanuary 20, 2014
i worked well in a team environment, opened up and closed shop, took in bets, paid out bets, settled bets manually, handled cash, emptied machines, took money to the bank, customer service aspect of job, worked well with management to make better decisions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not for everyone
Customer Service Manager (Former Employee), Edinburgh, SCTJanuary 18, 2014
Pros: flexibility (works both ways) and benefits schemes, excellent and fun work environment with many laughs with colleagues and customers.
Cons: poor middle management who tend to use familiarity with staff to 'bend' or 'ignore' rules/procedures, unsociable working hours, single-manning.
Whilst Ladbrokes was a fantastic company to work for years ago the recession has taken its' toll and targets are harder to meet and there is more pressure on shop based staff, especially with compliance issues. Do not apply for this job if you only want to earn easy money as that attitude will earn you a punt out the door as there are so many with a – more... poor work ethic working for the company that they are now taking measures to remove them from their employ. In short, 'deadwood' need not apply. You must also take measures to learn the trade, the products, the procedures and the rules and be prepared to work as a team and not as an individual. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Ladbrokes

Ladbrokes plc is a British based gambling company. It is based in Rayners Lane in Harrow, London. The company was founded by Messrs – Read more