LA Fitness Employee Reviews

Found 72 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worst company ever
Personal Trainer (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB13 September 2017
Management does not care about staff at all, it's purely profit driven. Everyone is replaceable, no lunch room, no caring. It's all about the money. Just plainly a bad company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Personal Trainer/Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Burlington, ON12 September 2017
theres little workalike balance, they under pay you for what you work, great facility to workout in, but not to work for, was lied to how much money i would be making hourly first i was told 21 then 14 then i saw that it was minimum wage 11.40
Pros
eat when ever you want
Cons
extremely long days
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Vaughan, ON10 September 2017
It is a great job.
It is a hard job to do, but working with different people make the job much easier for you.
It has too much responsibility to do as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Workplace
Assistant General Manager (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ON16 August 2017
Assist General Manager in establishing a fun, safe and healthy community-focused gym culture that delivers high member satisfaction and achieves maximum profitability
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Absolutely outstanding environment, with a staff that pushes you and motivates you to excel to your potential.
Master Trainer (Current Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON13 August 2017
A typical day is very high paced and training sessions require some spontaneous thinking. Great, motivating environment, that teaches you how much you have to put in order to not just be successful at what you do, but to excel at the utmost potential you have. The staff and employees are all hard working and very approachable; you really get a team friendly environment feeling here.
Pros
Great co workers
Cons
Not enough clients for full time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't do it
Janitor/Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON6 July 2017
My co-workers were great! And the members were amazing.
Other than that and a free gym membership there is nothing good about it.
Management doesn't care about their employees; they change your hours and cut them with 0 notice. The pay is minimum wage and you need to do more than in any other place I have been (I have 10+ years experience in the industry)
Pros
Free gym membership
Cons
Management doesn't care about their employees; not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Aurora, ON3 July 2017
Awesome job
Had a great time working for the company
Good pay
Good hours
You get what you put in
Tons of opportunities to grow within the company and get peomoted
Pros
Salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
soccer trainer
customer service represenative (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON6 June 2017
great people with amazing attitudes seeking to become their best. I love helping other people and seeing good results happen over time. I never bring my social life to work so that I can be all ears and clear minded to analize what's going on around me
Pros
my passion
Cons
doesnt pay enough
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Agm
AGM (Current Employee) –  Edmonton5 June 2017
good company in charge of weekend productivity, leading out side marketing and improvement of club's sales. Trained and hired a lot of the new staff and mentored while moulding them into great sales councillors.
Pros
free membership
Cons
a lot of hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
La fitness personal training sales
ASSISTANT PERSONAL TRAINING DIRECTOR (Full-Time) (Former Employee) –  Ontario16 May 2017
Been some time since i left the company and although i learned a fair bit about human psychology, i think its definitely not for most people. No matter what kind of person you are, you will get run down very quick and the thought of leaving will happen sooner or later for everyone within their first couple months.

was promoted very fast in the company and thats something thats purely based on performance. That said, its definitely not the job that promotes a healthy dosage of work life balance. They expect you to put in the hours of an entrepreneur starting their own business. Although your technical hours of something like 8-9 ( with a break in-between), its sort of frowned upon if you leave at 9 and don't stay later, or get there for 7:50 and not earlier.

Leaving the company was something that was difficult for me considering i absolutely loved the people i worked it (liked them a little less at the time given the stress of the job) and they're some of my best friends to this day. However selling LAF personal training wasn't a product i believed in. If you have nothing else going on in your life and all you'll do is work and sleep, do it for the experience.
Pros
friends
Cons
hours, pay if you don't hit bonus, annoying clients, annoying management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company, you get what you put in
Personal Training Director (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 April 2017
LA Fitness provided me with great work experience, more than an average individual fresh out of University would get. Advancement can be quick, and great money can be made. However, you get what you put in. And if things aren't going well either personally or at work, it will reflect on your paycheck. Management will be supportive, but the amount of support and what kind will be dependent on which club you make it to. As long as you have a great amount of intrinsic motivation, you will do well in LA Fitness. Anything short and you may find it difficult without the necessary support. Work life balance will also depend on your personal performance.
Pros
Great work environment, free gym
Cons
Split shifts, weekends will be required, job security not guaranteed
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good schedule and easy work
Receptionist/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ON12 April 2017
good schedule and easy work, management is very nice and lenient, not very diverse, most enjoyable part of the job is watching the kids that come in with their parents, hardest part is dealing with members who have complaints
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent company
Assistant Manager, Fitness & Personal Training (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON27 February 2017
It was challenging in the beginning. Gradually it became fine and i enjoyed my brief stint there. Overall all good. Good to begin your career if you are a fitness freek.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment with plenty of room to grow
Personal training consultant (Current Employee) –  Scarborough, ON27 February 2017
Great team to work with, management takes great pride in developing sales skills with employees like myself. Get paid to live a healthy lifestyle. Free gym membership also a great plus
Pros
free gym
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent pay structure
Personal Training Director (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON2 February 2017
9am to 11pm booking and setting appointments
Ive learned to overcome a lot of objections and how to work with peoples finances
Management was extremely professional and very helpful in all aspects of training
Hardest part is staying in first place when it comes to your quota
Pros
Room for advancement
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging but rewarding career
Assistant Sales and Marketing Manager (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ON28 January 2017
Overall great work atmosphere! I consider management my mentors that continue to push me to work hard and exceed my goals and expectations.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Student Job
Front Desk Receptionist (Current Employee) –  Vaughan, ON11 January 2017
It's a fun, clean job with main perk being a free membership. There is opportunity to earn commission, but nothing significant.
Pros
Free Membership
Cons
Short Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company
Receptionist (Current Employee) –  Newmarket, ON24 November 2016
Amazing company to work for, loved seeing members daily. Commison is a huge bonus in the company. Close to home. I come into work happy and feeling energized
Also get a free
Pros
Seeing regular members
Cons
A lot of drama
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun & productive workplace
Personal Trainer (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON23 November 2016
great workplace. well equipped to maximize clients full physical potential. great client/member-employee relationships and an overall awesome work atmosphere. Staff was great although training management was very selfish, unprofessional and very disrespectful towards lower ranked staff and treated them as if they were greatly inferior. Was very disappointed with this aspect of the workplace
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun environment
Personal Trainer (Current Employee) –  Milton, ON23 November 2016
I am a personal trainer at LA fitness and love working there. It's a very upbeat environment with coworkers that are very enjoyable to work with. The managers care about your well being and work with you to ensure that you're enjoying your time working at LA fitness.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at LA Fitness. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 2,653 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Salary/Benefits
2.7
Job Security/Advancement
2.8
Management
3.0
Culture
3.3