Find companies:
LA-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
33 reviews

LA-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Greatest Learning Experience
Administrative Support (Former Employee), Kitchener, ONApril 21, 2012
My typical work day here was answering phones, writing up sales bills, taking payments via person or over the phone. Handling customer serivce inquires, balancing the monerias machine at the end of the night, and receiving trucks into the system.
I learned what a great team really is, and when we all work hard things get accomplished.

My co workers – more... were my favourite part of this job, they were always smiling, we all got along with no problems.

Management was another issue. The manager i worked for was fired, for obvious reasons that i wish to not disclose on this.

The hardest part of my job was leaving it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
General Manager
General Manager (Former Employee), Huntsville, ALJune 29, 2014
Maintained employees and set goals to provide store success.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed the challeges and learning experience.
Warehouse Manager (Former Employee), Multiple Connecticut LocationJune 13, 2014
Supervised all warehouse operations including recieving, inspection, assembly, quality control, shipping and delivery.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day in my shoes
Sales Representative (Current Employee), Birmingham, ALMarch 31, 2014
Pros: i love meeting new people and learning new things
Cons: business became very slow and affordable health insurance was`nt available.
I would have to definitely say, clocking in, greeting everyone with a smile, checking on my orders , calling customers, finding different ways to make more money, resolving problems, and learning new things. I have a wonderful manager who cares about others and I get along with everyone. The hardest part of my job is not having affordable health care – more... and dealing with business being slow. The most part of my job is interacting with my customers. It makes me feel like I`ve accomplished my goal when I tend to the customers needs and wants. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to assist customers in finding a new look for their home.
Sales/Management (Former Employee), Rockford, ILMarch 26, 2014
A bit of hustle and bustle,but worth the energy to find an end result to making customers happy with their choices to improve their lifestyle.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Grateful Opportunity
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Spanish Fort, ALMarch 25, 2014
I spend the majority of a typical day assisting customers, working sales order report, assisting daily sales meetings, and following up with clientele. Working for La-Z-Boy has been a wonderful experience for me. I have learned the basic fundamentals of the selling process. I have also greatly sharpened my experience in customer service, sales, time – more... management, public speaking, and building a clientele base. Given my 1 year of experience at La-z-boy I feel I am fully qualified to be successful in any sales/management role. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Learning Experience
Design Assistant (Former Employee), Alexandria, VAMarch 11, 2014
This is a fun and fast pace job. Customers are always coming in and out of the store and wanting to know as much information as fast as possible. There is a lot to learn about each piece of furniture and customization options. It takes at least two months to get a good handle on all the product information, but everyone is very helpful and caring. The – more... hardest part of the job is juggling multiple customers at one time. Each customer deserves a great purchasing experience, but when we are short staffed or rather busy, one must be able to multi-task. Every employee in this store so kind and helpful - from fellow sales associates to the store manager. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work but pay is good
Store Manager (Current Employee), chicago,ilMarch 6, 2014
Pros: advancement in company, pay
Cons: work/life balance
Company is very structured which is nice, but there leave little room for a life outside the company. Working minimum 48 hours per week every week, often 2 plus 12 hour days.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great compensation
Sales Representative (Current Employee), Reno, NVFebruary 26, 2014
Pros: great quality furniture
I just read a review from an ex employee that I found very interesting! I am currently employed by La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries in Reno, NV and I have been with them for 9 years. I am very happy with this company and their compensation structure. La-Z-Boy is a goal based company and your compensation is determined by YOUR performance. They follow a – more... 7 step selling system called Peak Performance that assures higher sales results if followed correctly. Some people have difficulty following the steps. If you want an income of 60k plus bonuses then these steps are a piece of cake. I earned 80k in 2013.

One particular line that disturbed me was the owner sits in the office and listens to us. Haha..This is an intercom/paging system that is used for our administrative staff to reach us.

I will be the first to agree this job is not for everyone but if you have a desire to make a consistent income and you are able to work with the public and handle a little pressure now and then. This may be for you too! ;-) Have a wonderful day everyone! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I would not recommend the store in Reno.
former sales consultant (Former Employee), Reno, NVFebruary 8, 2014
Pros: good product to sell
Cons: they way over price the furniture because there's not another store close by.
Please Do Yourself A Favor And KEEP LOOKING!! You Are Worth So Much More Than These People GiveYou Credit For. Even Their Top Performer WhoHas Been With Them For 9 Years Doesn't Even Get A Yearly Bonus Of Any Kind. The Salespeople Walk Around On Eggshells Every Day, Because They Are Micro Managed And Treated so Very Poorly. I Had Heard Many Stories – more... Of The Terrible Management Spying On Employees , Before I Went To Work There. And It Was All True.We All Had To Keep Our SpeAkers Turned On At Our Desks So That Owner Could Sit in His Office And Listen To Us . You HaveTo Account For Every Minute Of Your Day, LogEverything. Basically The Reno Store Its Run LikE An ADult Daycare, But Without The Fun. They've GoNe Through 35 Sales People In About 3.5 Years. Trust Me, Miserable People And Very Bizarre!! I Hope You Have A Nice Day!!In – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive management and fair sales training
Key Holder, Designer/Retail Sales (Current Employee), San Marcos, CADecember 30, 2013
Pros: excellent furniture design and craftmanship. made in america with a lifetime warranty.
Cons: sales staff restricted to part time hours only with no benefits or commissions, limited career advancement opportunities.
La-Z-Boy is a corporate driven company. Advancement with benefits and a decent pay scale is only available in management positions. Sales personnel are limited to part time hours only with no
health benefits, retirement planning, commissions, or sales incentives. Company prides itself on their quality "lifetime" frame and springs warranty on furniture – more... and Made in America status. Excellent furniture and accessories selection with good price points and custom options available.
Customer service is key to their success and La-Z-Boy provides a fair training program. There is added emphasis to support sales by having an Interior Design Program available to customers for no additional charge. The Interior Designer is supported by design assistants. Thus, La-Z-Boy lays a good foundation for new design students to learn sales and design. High pressure and high sales expectations are demanded for the store interior designer- this is in the works to be restructured - completely not competitive with other retail interior designer markets. The Interior Design program has many benefits for the customer, but not for the employee. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assisting owner with a variety of daily operations.
Executive Assistant (Former Employee), Eugene, ORNovember 29, 2013
Pros: loved the people i worked with and helping customers.
Cons: some confusion regarding locations of stock.
Supporting of scheduling of the design consultants. Overseeing daily files recorded from the sales on a daily basis. Running various reports and posting of figures for the design consultants. Recorded promotional information pricing for monthly or bi-monthly. Helped maintained inventory information and researched locations. Maintained appropriate pricing – more... for tagging furniture. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Versatile
Sales (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZOctober 11, 2013
I liked this job quite a bit. I learned how to repair and re-upholster furniture. I got to meet a lot of good customers and get my first experience in sales. Everyday there were new pieces of furniture to fix which created new challenges.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun working
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee), Tampa, FLAugust 18, 2013
Pros: company at times will give employee a bbq for graditud for good work
Cons: health insurance, 401k, 15minute break every 2 hr
good place to work for good company fast pace ,co-workers were very cool,to work with.and they did have a ping pong table in tha break room.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Job I've Ever Had
Interior Design Assistant (Former Employee), La Mesa, CAJuly 5, 2013
Pros: good coworkers
Cons: everything else
A typical day at work was a lot of pressure to sell a lot of bad quality furniture as "Design Assistants" (not sales associates) with no commission. Everyday was slow at work so we spent most of the day cleaning every thing in the store instead of design work. I didn't learn anything from this job because prior to it I knew how to use a swiffer, clean – more... toilets, and wipe with windex.
Management was the worst, except one of the sales managers. He was very understanding and helpful. All the managers would sit around and talk about other employees behind their backs thinking their whispers were soft. And with those same loud voices they would yell at us across the store or in front of customers or breathe down our necks making more than a few of my customers change their minds about buying the furniture, or feeling bad for me and verbally wishing me a better job in the future. Their selling system didn't make any sense, it was frustrating and awkward trying to sell something in a way that didn't fit the customer's needs, but would get in trouble if not followed 100 percent. I lost count of the amount of times customers literally walked away laughing because the quality of the furniture was bad. The most enjoyable part of the job was my coworkers, they were always so helpful and knowledgeable and it was a shame that working as a team was unacceptable to the managers, it was almost as if enjoying your job wasn't an option. Constructive feedback was never considered or accepted. Finally, the hours were cut from about 30 per week to 15 during the winter holidays, even 10 some weeks. In conclusion, I quit this job, and I don't know if every location is like the one I worked in, but I honestly recommend looking elsewhere. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Product
Home Furnishing Consultant (Former Employee), Fort Myers, FLJune 27, 2013
Pros: selling a good product
Cons: very negative enviroment, couldn't overcome it
I worked many years with this company and really felt confident with the product. Where this company falls short is in the way they treat their employees. I felt it had a very negative atmosphere. I consider myself very positive, but after awhile it just got to be too much.
Absolutely no communication skills. Hardly ever saw the owners.
The most enjoyable – more... part was knowing that the product was good and had confidence in the fact that my customers would be happy., – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Rewarding
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Yorba LindaJune 17, 2013
A typical day at work is always fun at La-z-boy.
Being here I have learned great social and selling skills. I'm very confident as a result, and will talk to any costumer that comes to our store.
My managers and co-workers are the best I've ever had. Everyone is very sociable and friendly. In my co-workers are the most enjoyable part of the work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Full commission determine your own success.
Sales Consultant (Current Employee), Austin, TXJune 7, 2013
Great company to start a sales career, excellent training and support
from corporate.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reviewed by category
Currently at the Waldorf, MD store (Current Employee), Waldorf, MDMarch 18, 2013
Pros: motivating associates that want to learn.
Cons: long hours, low pay
Compensation: Every store is not equal. Small volume stores get smaller paychecks even though you work harder to get more sales.
Culture: Changes constantly making things uncomfortable at store levels
Advancement: Positions are being filled by pre-selected candidates. Only recently is HR posting openings.
Management: Every store is not equal every market – more... is run differently
Work/Life Balance: Mostly work and no life!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Milford, CTJanuary 29, 2013
A very serious workplace, the people definitely make the environment.

About LA-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries

La-Z-Boy works so that its customers can kick back and relax. A top US maker of upholstered furniture, La-Z-Boy sells its ubiquitous – Read more

LA-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries Photos