Find companies:
LA-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
43 reviews

LA-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Owners are good people
Accounts Payable Clerk (Current Employee), London, ONOctober 1, 2014
The owners are good people. I like the job I do. The people I work in direct contact with are really nice people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good environment to work in.
Visual Merchandiser/store designer (Former Employee), ottawa ontarioSeptember 9, 2014
Very high pace demanding job
receiving and brining merchandise on the floor
two buying trips a year to North Carolina
in-home consultations.
preparation for presentations to customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Technician and Warehouse worker (Current Employee), London, ONJuly 22, 2014
Pros: estability if you are a good worker
Cons: no a full time
In seven years of work I learned on this place how to do a good job and they are good employers. enjoy my work experience is the best position My co-workers are the best, I love work for this company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Greatest Learning Experience
Administrative Support (Former Employee), Kitchener, ONApril 21, 2012
My typical work day here was answering phones, writing up sales bills, taking payments via person or over the phone. Handling customer serivce inquires, balancing the monerias machine at the end of the night, and receiving trucks into the system.
I learned what a great team really is, and when we all work hard things get accomplished.

My co workers – more... were my favourite part of this job, they were always smiling, we all got along with no problems.

Management was another issue. The manager i worked for was fired, for obvious reasons that i wish to not disclose on this.

The hardest part of my job was leaving it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved every aspect about my position with La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries.
Sales and Design Consultant (Former Employee), Springfield, ILDecember 9, 2014
Pros: developing relationships with my clients, knowing i improved their comfort, excellent bonuses
Cons: i could not request time off for any special event, i had virtually no time to see my children or extended family.
I loved my co-workers and consider them all to be good friends. We always helped each other and had lots of fun doing it. The management was great and offered many incentives to top sellers plus each store and all-store bonuses for reaching collective goals, which we almost always did!
The only thing I did not like was the lack of time with my family. – more... With La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries, as well as most other direct sales positions, one must expect that it require mandatory scheduling on every holiday, every weekend, two or three nights a week until 8pm or later and working on many days off. One could not even guarantee that a request off for a special event made very well in advance could be met. I completely understand that In this type of direct sales, one must go when the client desires you to be there and all hands must be on deck, so to speak, for every event. While a great work environment in every other way, I felt I had little life balance and now desire a position where I can see my children once in awhile! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Must meet monthly sales goals
Interior Design & Sales Consultant (Former Employee), Chandler, AZDecember 3, 2014
Great training, excellent management, must have the drive to SELL. Your job is depended on whether you meet monthly sales goals. When you do, the pay is VERY rewarding. Must work weekends and holidays as a downfall
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good experience
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Long Island, NYNovember 19, 2014
Pros: no managment
Cons: no managment
Depends on who owners are since some locations are franchised. Very hard to make commission. Great health insurance. Easy work, mostly product knowledge. Sitting around a lot doing nothing. Lounging on recliners. A lot of unrealistic sales goals for dead locations. But was a nice place to work overall.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work at and very condusive to an enjoyable workspace/environment
Service Technician (Former Employee), Albuquerque, NMNovember 11, 2014
I had a great time working at la-z-boy furniture galleries as a service technician for four years. They are very understanding in any issues that might arise in your life and very flexible. Overall I had a great experience working at this company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Used to be a good place to work
Sales Consultant (Former Employee), Cincinnati, OHOctober 31, 2014
When corporation took over they eliminated full time commissioned sales employees and replaced with part time employees working 15-25 hours per week, $9.50 hour and no benefits. Multi million dollar corporation too cheap to offer benefits to front line employees that bring $$ into the company, work the nights, weekends and holidays to pay for the benefits – more... of the 9-5 employees that are a drain on the company and overpaid executives. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good starting experience
Design Assistant/Retail (Current Employee), Abington, PAOctober 22, 2014
Great atmosphere to work at and start engaging with customers and design experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Product - Bad Management
Gold Star Furnishings Consultant (Former Employee), Roseville, CAOctober 22, 2014
Pros: great products!!
Cons: poor management and sales support
LZB is a wonderful company to work for. The product is hands down one of the best in the world. Although, the management is awful. They can't make up their minds on policy and procedures. There was constant change in our commission structure. Not enough sales support. Managers are VERY young and most do not have a background in Furniture Sales.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
General Manager
General Manager (Former Employee), Huntsville, ALJune 29, 2014
Maintained employees and set goals to provide store success.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed the challeges and learning experience.
Warehouse Manager (Former Employee), Multiple Connecticut LocationJune 13, 2014
Supervised all warehouse operations including recieving, inspection, assembly, quality control, shipping and delivery.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day in my shoes
Sales Representative (Current Employee), Birmingham, ALMarch 31, 2014
Pros: i love meeting new people and learning new things
Cons: business became very slow and affordable health insurance was`nt available.
I would have to definitely say, clocking in, greeting everyone with a smile, checking on my orders , calling customers, finding different ways to make more money, resolving problems, and learning new things. I have a wonderful manager who cares about others and I get along with everyone. The hardest part of my job is not having affordable health care – more... and dealing with business being slow. The most part of my job is interacting with my customers. It makes me feel like I`ve accomplished my goal when I tend to the customers needs and wants. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to assist customers in finding a new look for their home.
Sales/Management (Former Employee), Rockford, ILMarch 26, 2014
A bit of hustle and bustle,but worth the energy to find an end result to making customers happy with their choices to improve their lifestyle.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Grateful Opportunity
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Spanish Fort, ALMarch 25, 2014
I spend the majority of a typical day assisting customers, working sales order report, assisting daily sales meetings, and following up with clientele. Working for La-Z-Boy has been a wonderful experience for me. I have learned the basic fundamentals of the selling process. I have also greatly sharpened my experience in customer service, sales, time – more... management, public speaking, and building a clientele base. Given my 1 year of experience at La-z-boy I feel I am fully qualified to be successful in any sales/management role. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Learning Experience
Design Assistant (Former Employee), Alexandria, VAMarch 11, 2014
This is a fun and fast pace job. Customers are always coming in and out of the store and wanting to know as much information as fast as possible. There is a lot to learn about each piece of furniture and customization options. It takes at least two months to get a good handle on all the product information, but everyone is very helpful and caring. The – more... hardest part of the job is juggling multiple customers at one time. Each customer deserves a great purchasing experience, but when we are short staffed or rather busy, one must be able to multi-task. Every employee in this store so kind and helpful - from fellow sales associates to the store manager. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work but pay is good
Store Manager (Current Employee), chicago,ilMarch 6, 2014
Pros: advancement in company, pay
Cons: work/life balance
Company is very structured which is nice, but there leave little room for a life outside the company. Working minimum 48 hours per week every week, often 2 plus 12 hour days.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great compensation
Sales Representative (Current Employee), Reno, NVFebruary 26, 2014
Pros: great quality furniture
I just read a review from an ex employee that I found very interesting! I am currently employed by La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries in Reno, NV and I have been with them for 9 years. I am very happy with this company and their compensation structure. La-Z-Boy is a goal based company and your compensation is determined by YOUR performance. They follow a – more... 7 step selling system called Peak Performance that assures higher sales results if followed correctly. Some people have difficulty following the steps. If you want an income of 60k plus bonuses then these steps are a piece of cake. I earned 80k in 2013.

One particular line that disturbed me was the owner sits in the office and listens to us. Haha..This is an intercom/paging system that is used for our administrative staff to reach us.

I will be the first to agree this job is not for everyone but if you have a desire to make a consistent income and you are able to work with the public and handle a little pressure now and then. This may be for you too! ;-) Have a wonderful day everyone! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I would not recommend the store in Reno.
former sales consultant (Former Employee), Reno, NVFebruary 8, 2014
Pros: good product to sell
Cons: they way over price the furniture because there's not another store close by.
Please Do Yourself A Favor And KEEP LOOKING!! You Are Worth So Much More Than These People GiveYou Credit For. Even Their Top Performer WhoHas Been With Them For 9 Years Doesn't Even Get A Yearly Bonus Of Any Kind. The Salespeople Walk Around On Eggshells Every Day, Because They Are Micro Managed And Treated so Very Poorly. I Had Heard Many Stories – more... Of The Terrible Management Spying On Employees , Before I Went To Work There. And It Was All True.We All Had To Keep Our SpeAkers Turned On At Our Desks So That Owner Could Sit in His Office And Listen To Us . You HaveTo Account For Every Minute Of Your Day, LogEverything. Basically The Reno Store Its Run LikE An ADult Daycare, But Without The Fun. They've GoNe Through 35 Sales People In About 3.5 Years. Trust Me, Miserable People And Very Bizarre!! I Hope You Have A Nice Day!!In – less

1 2 3

About LA-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries

La-Z-Boy works so that its customers can kick back and relax. A top US maker of upholstered furniture, La-Z-Boy sells its ubiquitous – Read more