Find companies:
L-3 Communications
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
873 reviews

L-3 Communications Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lacks Communication within the different departments
Desktop/Network Technician (Former Employee), San Diego, CAJuly 18, 2014
This company lacks resources and interest in its IT Department
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace
SUBCONTRACT ADMINISTRATOR (Current Employee), Greenville, TXJuly 16, 2014
Pros: pto, insurance
Cons: advancement opportunities
A typical day at work is fast pace, high volume and this is a self managing position for the most part so you divide your time between your responsibilities
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
co-workers
Program Manager (Current Employee), San DiegoJuly 15, 2014
Pros: great support staff
Cons: long hours
hard working, focused co-workers; makes coming to work fun and rewarding
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working relationships with staff, but Executive Management lacks employee commitment
Vice President, Business Development Operations (Former Employee), Tampa, FLJuly 14, 2014
Resourceful, innovative professional with over 20 years Strategic Marketing and Business Development managerial support within both domestic and international arenas. Held P&L responsibilities. Expertise in initiating projects and programs that boost efficiency and productivity while identifying new avenues of business for the company. A true Hands-on – more... Manager with proven skills in organization, development conceptualization, coordination, strategic planning, authoring and improvement of operations through policies that promote a team-based work atmosphere, creative thinking, process enhancement and a positive result for the corporate bottom line. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Collection Manager (Former Employee), Tampa, FLJuly 14, 2014
Pros: job security, great pay
Cons: larger company, become just a number to them.
This was my first contract out of the military I learned a ton from this company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work if you have goals
Network Technician (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZJuly 12, 2014
Pros: skills learned, freedom, chance for advancement
Cons: some angry techs there, client calls
Great place to work. I was a Network Technician in the Managed Services division. The things that the techs get to do there is basically operations engineering level. I worked on some pretty cool stuff. Network is Juniper, Cisco, and Alcatel mostly. Techs get to work on the PE devices as well as the CE Cisco and Juniper devices. I got a ton of exp there – more... in a very short time as they give you lots of freedom as long as you don't mess anything up. You are not really on call much unless you ask for it. This doesn't include emergency situations like huge floods, and earthquakes which take down major parts of the network. Benefits are outstanding, including Vaca. You can move up to design, provisioning, engineering. Some fello technicians are complainers and bicker constantly as they will always be technicians, but are sick of being technicians. Other techs want and are working to move up. The group is mixed between these two. I liked it alot. The only down site is the group is very customer facing, and the clients disrupt troubleshooting continually during the day with their many phone calls. Sometimes though you can keep them on and troubleshoot their issue on the fly, but not all the time as you have a quota.

All in all, this is a great place to work. If you are a tech, you will learn a TON here in a very short time. I started learning once I had the confidence to just go for it and grab that tech 3 ticket. Just don't mess any client networks up. Management isn't a concern as long as you do your job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Iraq no fun place for work
Contract Linguist (Former Employee), IraqJuly 11, 2014
Pros: free gares
Cons: benefits
Worked side bayside with US forces in front lines in Iraq, the hardest part of the job no breaks and no chaw for over 7 months.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
L-3 Best IT job in Sumter S.C.
Network Helpdesk Technician (Former Employee), Sumter, SCJuly 11, 2014
Pros: great people
Cons: you may be mugged or witness a murder in sumter (these happened).
Very Military environment. Advancement takes a bit and there is a good change you'll be doing shiftwork (nights). Sumter is a high crime area.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job
Field Technician (Former Employee), Fort Lewis, WAJuly 10, 2014
Positive environment. Co-workers are always willing to help and assit. The opportunity to progress is abundant.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co-workers were the most enjoyable.
Lead Stock clerk (Former Employee), Corpus Christi Naval Air station, TXJuly 10, 2014
Management never showed initiative to make the workplace a better one for tomorrow.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work at.
Data Analyst (Former Employee), Saint Petersburg, FLJuly 9, 2014
Pros: every other friday off.
Overall a good experience working at L-3 Communications. Management is good and a great job work/life balance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
they pay very well
Aircraft Mechanic B Lead (Former Employee), Greenville, TXJuly 9, 2014
Pros: good benifits
Cons: weak union
Don't be surprised if you know more then your supervisor most of them came from doing one thing for a long period of time. if you do anything very well you will be doing it until you are fired or if your lucky you will be promoted as well. L-3 doesn't do lay offs so when they need 150 more mechanics to get a contract they hire them quick, then when – more... they don't get the contract 150 people have to go and its not going to be the 150 they just hired its going to be anyone who makes a mistake. Its not going to matter if you been there one day or 30 years, you are always one step away from being fired. There have been many people that have came back and sued the company and won. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management was outstanding during my time in the middle east, tools and assignments given out in timely manner.I also would recommend l-3 to anybody.
Digital , Surveillance Camera Analyst (Former Employee), Doha, DAWJuly 7, 2014
Pros: work enviroment assume
Outstanding Company and Managers they care about the warfighter as will as the employees.I would recommend this company to anybody great leadership and team cohesion.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Assembly Line Worker (Former Employee), Ann Arbor, MIJuly 7, 2014
Pros: occassional free lunches and staff meetings aewsome cookies.
Cons: high turnovers, leaves staff feeling uneasy.
I assembled and tested weapon sights. I loved the hands on aspect of the weapon sights and getting to work side by side with some of the developers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not to pleased
Field Service Representative/Trainer and Mechanic (Former Employee), Salt Lake City, UTJuly 7, 2014
I returned from vacation to find out my whole department had been replaced with lower salary workers. No respect to us workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company continues to educate their employees
Structural 2 Engineer (Current Employee), Waco, TxJuly 5, 2014
Company offers a variety of work that broadens and enhances skill sets defined in my particular field.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding career
Network Expense Analyst (Former Employee), Coudersport, PAJuly 4, 2014
Pros: most management is very good.
Cons: extremely long hours. short deadlines for involved projects.
Typical work week exceeds 50 hours for salaried employee. Great management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productived
Assembler (Former Employee), Sylmar, CAJuly 3, 2014
Pros: free lunches christmas dance, vacation paid, 8 day paid absence a year, cost of lliving, paid healthcare
I looked forward going to work love my job. I learned so much for this company. Management was good understanding ready to help when needed. As for my co-workers I can't say enough since I retired we still keep in touch often go out to lunch. I think the hardest part of my job was having to leave had to retire when my Dad got sick and I had to care – more... for him, I know that I would still be working if I didn't have to take care of my Dad. Working with co-workers for so many years is like family always enjoyable we all cared for each other ready to help when needed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive company
Aircraft Trades Helper (Current Employee), Corpus Christi Naval Air station, TXJuly 2, 2014
Pros: aircraft repair esperience
Cons: no sick leave
L-3 meets the Army's needs by overhauling UH-60 and AH-64 helicopters. Production moves smoothly and effectively. While working with L-3, meeting employees has been easy as well very useful knowledge of how to effectively perform my job well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly active and engaging experience
Field Service Technician (Former Employee), Miami, FLJuly 1, 2014
Pros: excellent management, positive and highly active work environment
Cons: frequent overtime made work/life balance difficult
A typical day consisted of a routine walk-through to ensure all systems were operational and running. Routine inspections and preventive maintenance were conducted on any systems unused and on standby. Diagnostics, Troubleshooting, and repairs were performed on any downed systems with precision and diligence to ensure quick restoration of up-time.

Coworkers – more... were knowledgeable and professional.

Management was professional, flexible and confident of technicians' capability to perform their duties with minimal supervision. – less

About L-3 Communications

L-3 is a top ten defense company that delivers superior performance to the U.S. government, our allies and leading corporations – Read more

L-3 Communications Photos