Find companies:
L-3 Communications
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
834 reviews

L-3 Communications Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly active and engaging experience
Field Service Technician (Former Employee), Miami, FLJuly 1, 2014
Pros: excellent management, positive and highly active work environment
Cons: frequent overtime made work/life balance difficult
A typical day consisted of a routine walk-through to ensure all systems were operational and running. Routine inspections and preventive maintenance were conducted on any systems unused and on standby. Diagnostics, Troubleshooting, and repairs were performed on any downed systems with precision and diligence to ensure quick restoration of up-time.

Coworkers – more... were knowledgeable and professional.

Management was professional, flexible and confident of technicians' capability to perform their duties with minimal supervision. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Location and work environment
Desk Side Support (Former Employee), Chantilly, VAJuly 1, 2014
Pros: employee's, supervisors, and ceo was super nice!
Cons: can't think of any
I left this fine company because at the time they were going to merge with 3 other companies and I was told I was going to lose my job. I wonder what would have happened if I tried to stay on?
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Consistant working environment
Stock Clerk (Former Employee), Camp Pendleton, CAJune 27, 2014
Manage employees.
Consistency pays
Management was very responsible.
My co-workers were very hard working.
The hardest part was the travel distance.
Accomplishing our goals by the deadline.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunities to advance
HR Manager (Current Employee), Crestview, FLJune 27, 2014
L-3 typically promotes from within. If someone is diligent in advancing their career, this is the place to look.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Defense contractor with opportunity to participate in various aspects of a program.
Program Manager (Current Employee), San Diego, CAJune 27, 2014
Pros: 9-80 work week.
Primarily Government and Military contracts. Dedicated, lean, cohesive work force, providing ample opportunity to have hands on experience in multiple aspects of a program, i.e. proposals, management, technical, test, production, quality, contracts, export, pricing, One of the greatest challenges is juggling multiple tasks for different contracts in – more... any given day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
PC/Desktop Support Specialist (Current Employee), Alexandria, VAJune 26, 2014
As you are looking for an IT expert who has outstanding people and problem solving skills, having ability to provide best support to your IT Help Desk, I can be your right choice
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice people, great facilities, nice place
Lead Vendor Project Manager (Former Employee), Broomfield, COJune 24, 2014
Pros: gym on site, plenty of activities
Cons: far away from anywhere in the general metro area, if you dont live in broomfield or westminster, it's a minimum of 1.5 hours commute
Company allows you to work from home when needed, plenty of company activities, and a bonus structure that is fair. My co-workers were wonderful, my management team was outstanding.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large Corporate culture.
Manager/Acting Director, Inventory Control (Current Employee), Salt Lake City, UTJune 23, 2014
I have worked for L-3 for 20 years, and have had a wonderful career. Defense contractors in general are on the downswing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment
AH-64D Aircraft Mechanic (Former Employee), Talill, IraqJune 18, 2014
Pros: pay was very rewarding
Cons: overseas for 12 months
Worked 13 hour days 7 days a week. You knew what had to be done and the work was fulfilling.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Started out good, ended horribly, WORST HR dept ever!
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), KEO in Northampton, MAJune 17, 2014
Cons: no support from hr, no annual bonuses, extreme favortism
I used to work at the location in Northampton, MA. When I started working there, I loved it. It was the type of job I had always wanted at a company that I "thought" was a good place to work. I was told by HR that it was a good place to move up and that if you worked hard it was easy to do within a few years. Long story short, after a year I applied – more... for a job that I was already doing the work for(the girl had left and I was given all of her duties), never got interviewed and was turned down(I was the only person that had applied for the job inside the company). The job was given to another person outside of the company with less experience than I had. The ONLY enjoyable part of that job was I had some co-workers that I became friends with. The HR dept is useless, they don't help you at all. If you ask them for help 90% of the time you are given an 800# to call and they don't offer to help with anything. People never go to them for help or to report anything like harrassment because they know nothing will be done. Favortism is also extremely common. Also they took away yearly bonuses, so now the only way you get a bonus is if another person "nominates" you for doing a good job. If you want to actually enjoy your job and where you work, DON'T WORK HERE. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job, benefits are not good
Material Coordinator/Supply (Current Employee), Fort Bragg, NCJune 17, 2014
This is not a hard job at all, I ve learned a lot from being on this project. I've been on this project for 6 years, I've seen management come and go. It's a good place to work if you can get around the nagging, gossiping, and complaining.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good employer
Confiiguration Management (Former Employee), Annapolis Junction, MDJune 13, 2014
A good employer/employees.
A nice workplace.
Good benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Going downhill fast
FLIGHT LINE MECHANIC (Current Employee), Waco, TXJune 13, 2014
Pros: 120 hours of pto
Cons: you hate life at l3, you use all of your pto in 6 months or less.
When I first got to L3 in Waco Texas back in 2012, business was booming. There was so much work to get done and there was always overtime if needed. At the beginning of 2014, they had a major layoff, and people are continuing to quit L3 now. The morale is low, the pay is not very good, the yearly raises are between 8-40 cents, and most of the management – more... needs to be fired. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stability issues a lot of turnover
System Administrator (Former Employee), San Diego, CAJune 12, 2014
Liked working for the mom and pop companies that were absorbed into the L-3 umbrella. Changes that went into place were not about the employees but successes of the company as a whole.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service is key
Video Teleconference Specialist (Current Employee), Pentagon Washington, DCJune 12, 2014
Pros: somewhat flexible schedules
Cons: no room for advancement
I do not have a complete review at this time, however L3 is a good company. There just does not seem to be alot of funding for salary in my specific department. There is also no room for growth at this level, and I am looking to further my career.
The hardest part of this job, is sometimes having to use equipment that is not working properly and trying – more... to satisfy all customers with limited resources. The most enjoyable part of this job would be, the job itself, and who dosen't love a satisfied customer! The extra mile from the customer to tell me or email me to express gratitude, is a bonus. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
diverse
Manufacturing Process Engineer (Current Employee), Salt Lake City, UTJune 11, 2014
Opportunities to work on several very different projects a day. Interesting projects
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People, Smart Co-Workers
Systems Engineer (Former Employee), Salt Lake City, UTJune 11, 2014
L-3 was a great place to work. Fell on very hard times. Perhaps not well prepared for this. Overall reduction in force of over 25% in one year. Lots of good people looking for work.

Too bad. The work there was very interesting, fun and dynamic.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience
Welder First Class (Current Employee), Jacksonville, FLJune 9, 2014
Was a foot in the door to the shipyard industry. I welded foundations for navy ships.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Inside Sales Account Manager (Former Employee), Tulsa, OKJune 8, 2014
Level 3 offers it's employee a great benefit package and provides you all the tools you need to do your job well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Floor Supervisor (Current Employee), Mayport, FLJune 4, 2014
Hate to see the government contract be terminated. Excellent company and great people

About L-3 Communications

L-3 GCS believes a satellite communications system is more than the sum of its parts. The systems integrator resells satellite – Read more

L-3 Communications Photos