Find companies:
L-3 Communications
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
852 reviews

L-3 Communications Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
International employment opportunities. High quality, professional coworkers.
A&P Mechanic /QA (Former Employee), Greenville, TX / Bagram Air Field AfghanistanAugust 30, 2014
Pros: war-zone wages, travel, multicultural environment
Cons: contracted employment
As long as you're wanting to travel, L-3 affords ample opportunities for international and domestic travel for job assignments. Travel accommodations were excellent. The various departments of coworkers were highly experienced, professional, and friendly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work. Very family oriented. Caring.
Executive Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), Huntsville, ALAugust 29, 2014
Pros: caring and fun place to work
Cons: leaving and benefits
I worked for the Senior Vice President. Had a great working relationship with him and all my co-worker. Was there for 14 years and thought I would retire there. But with cut backs and my boss retiring. I was forced to leave.
While I was there, I started off as receptionist. I quickly moved up the ladder and ended with my dream job. I loved what I did. – more... There was no hard part of my job. When things go tough for someone, we always had their back. We were very supportive of each other. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a mess
Customer Service Operations (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAAugust 28, 2014
no training. You are on your own and it is too segregated. Management is not engaged.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, limited training
Circuit Design Engineer (Former Employee), Tulsa, OKAugust 28, 2014
Pros: fun atmosphere
Cons: training, access to management
I really enjoyed working at Level3, I was told it would take anywhere from 1-3 years to "catch on" to things though. Once I started working independently, there were training needs that were never met. I was told I'd bet set up with access to systems, but received no training.
Not a bad job at all, but the stress level and balance with home life wasn't – more... what I needed. My coworkers were all in the same boat. They go through people quite a lot.
They've started hiring through an Ops Academy systems now. Seemed like a good idea, but it's just a way for them to pay people a lower wage for doing the same job.
My biggest problem was the lack of training and time to train. Benefits are wonderful! Definitely use your PTO if you get on here, because you won't take it with you when you leave. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
On Target/Mission Interpreter (Former Employee), IraqAugust 26, 2014
Was a great company to work for. Good benefits and and competitive pay. But like all defense contractors job security depends on the government awarding them contracts.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wafer and die production site
Senior Software Engineer (Current Employee), Dallas, TXAugust 23, 2014
Pros: sense of accomplishment
Cons: very poor organization and leadership
The site has a need for some strong management to be more productive. There are a number of problems that are not being addressed and consequently I am looking for another position. I am currently work with 62K lines of C software with no documentation and I can not contact the originator with any questions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
T1 COMBS Randolph AFB position is horrible!
T1A COMBS Engine mechanic (Former Employee), Randolph AFB, TXAugust 21, 2014
Cons: pay, work environment, co workers, managers
Absolutely the worst job I've had with L-3. I've worked for L-3 before at other locations, and it's been great. However, the "aircraft mechanic" position with T-1 COMBS on Randolph AFB was the worst job experience Ive had with the company. First of all once your hired you'll quickly find out that there aren't any aircraft to work on. The position is – more... basically a supply job and very little of what I did was aircraft related. On top of that, the pay the very low, in fact it's the lowest pay I've received as an experienced A&P mechanic and there is absolutely no overtime, I once got counseled for clocking in early. There also a lot of gossip there. After about a week working there I noticed that QA and the manager would often trash talk about the other employees there, very unprofessional for a manager to do that. On my very first day the COMBS manager told me that my supervisor was incompetent and "weird" and that i should try to avoid him. I personally don't like to talk about people behind their back and I chose to avoid getting into conversations with the QA and manager unless it pertained to work. As a result they made me feel unwelcome and uncomfortable at work. I began looking for another job the same week I started. Thank goodness I was able to find something else. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Government contracting
Personnel Security Leader / Detachment Leader (Former Employee), Baghdad Iraq and Camp Pendleton, CaAugust 20, 2014
Pros: great people, something new daily, recoup time after shifts
Cons: no job security, constatly changing leadership, time way from home
I worked in two different companies which were subsidiaries of L3, one of which no longer exists, and the other has changed its name. A typical day here consists of me ensuring functionality of weapons systems and ensuring those I managed were able to do whatever mission was necessary. I planned many missions according to the intelligence at hand and – more... ensured all those involved had whatever information was available for the mission. Many times I went on these missions as the convoy commander to ensure mission was complete with no issues. This was while in Iraq. The other company, was fairly normal and easily done. I did many things here to include heavy equipment rigging and crane operations, confined space evaluations and hazard safety, and mechanics. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to develop skills and knowledge base within the field.
Field Technician (Current Employee), New York, NYAugust 19, 2014
Pros: opportunity for personal growth and development, if you're a motivated individual, the opportunity for advancement is there, pay is good
A typical day at work can involve troubleshooting network issues, installing and testing new equipment, working with network engineers on designs, installing equipment at customer locations, troubleshooting/basic maintenance of critical infrastructure (HVACS, generator, back up battery power, rectifiers). I have great co-workers that are function as – more... a team; we are constantly learning from one another. The fact that there are so many different responsibilities is great because it gives you opportunity to learn so many different things, and the job is never monotonous. The hardest part though is balancing and prioritizing all of the different demands that come from different directions. There is little encouragement of work/life balance, steadily increasing pressure to produce more with less has created a very stressful environment not conducive to producing quality work – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
average
Senior Buyer / Buyer IV (Former Employee), salt lake city utahAugust 19, 2014
lots of politics-hire like crazy then lay off when times get hard instead of having the personnal they have take on more
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Landing Craft Air Cushion Hydraulic Lead Mechanic (Former Employee), OceansideAugust 15, 2014
Test Conductor performed hydraulic pressure test, hydraulic flushing, and hydraulic system function on Bow Thrusters, Cushion vanes, Prop Rudder, Scavenge Fan and Ramp Systems. Supervised the proper removal and re-installation of the entire LCAC Hydraulic & Lube Oil Systems. Remanufactured Hydraulic Lines and Hoses.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
L3 Aviation
Aircraft Electrician B (Current Employee), Greenville, TXAugust 15, 2014
Pros: cafateria on site
Cons: short breaks and lunch
The benefits and Pay are excellent.
The work environment on the aircraft is over crowded.
Our contracts people that bid on jobs with the customer constantly under or over bid, mostly under bid.
Most management has no respect for the employees.
Engineering, Planning, and Scheduling cant keep up with production so its a constant battle to find out what's – more... going on.
I enjoy most of my co-worker and Their are a few good supervisors. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love the contract work
Supply Tech/ Tool Room Attendant (Former Employee), Corpus Christi, TXAugust 15, 2014
Pros: great work
enjoy contract work, i enjoyed doing what it took to get the job done, also i enjoy learning different aspects of the contract
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Administrative Associate (Former Employee), Greenville, TXAugust 14, 2014
Pros: the benefits and time off were great
Cons: not much chance for advancement
Lots of customer service work, worked all correspondence incoming/outgoing mail, as well as, working Classified Data. Co-workers were helpful and pleasant to be around,
Management was lacking in recognition for a job well done, compensation for hard work, attendance, taking initiative, or meeting and/or surpassing expectations set out and achieved. – more... Attempted many times to advance, transfer to another department, or change jobs, to no avail, it was a frustrating situation – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and excellent workplace
Facilities Maintenance Specialist (Former Employee), Salt Lake City, UTAugust 13, 2014
Pros: cafeteria(3)
Cons: very few breaks
Management and co-workers were great. The most enjoyable part of the job was interaction with other employees and management. I learned how to motivate and help others through training.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work with
Crypto-logic Instructor (Former Employee), San Diego, CAAugust 12, 2014
Pros: flex hours and great managers
Cons: some jobs are a temporary contract
A very friendly and professional environment. Good training opportunities and complete benefit package.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Aircraft Mechanic I (Former Employee), Fort Bragg, NCAugust 10, 2014
Pros: pay
Cons: i prefer not to answer this.
I went to work and reported at 6:00 am and worked 8 hours and clocked out.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working at L-3 Communications.
Manufacturing Engineer (Former Employee), Salt Lake City, UTAugust 6, 2014
My would have preferred to continue working at L-3 but now I am excited about exploring other opportunities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a
Systems Administrator (Current Employee), Hanover, MDAugust 4, 2014
Working here was OK. Working here was OK. Working here was OK.Working here was OK.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Environment and benefits
Engineering Technician (Current Employee), Clearfield, UTAugust 1, 2014
L-3 is a great company to work for. Great people and great benefits.

About L-3 Communications

L-3 is a top ten defense company that delivers superior performance to the U.S. government, our allies and leading corporations – Read more