L'Oréal Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 57 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn
Demo Coordinator, Luxe Division (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QCOctober 10, 2015
* Highly attention to detail is required.
* I improved my organizational skills, time management, prioritize tasks and more.
* I enhanced my ability to work in different projects at the same time.
* A lot of diversity (different cultures).
* The hardest part of the job is multitasking yet delivering all results on timely manner.
Pros
Networking
Cons
Poor work/life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dynamic workplace environment.
Intern in engineering department (Current Employee) –  Saint-Laurent, QCApril 20, 2016
Learned several management skills. Change in priorities are common and redirect workforce to attend to most urgent matters. Dynamic workplace with friendly and hardworking personnel. Supportive management and all around great place to work at.
Pros
Very cheap lunches
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company is not "worth it"
sales (Former Employee) –  CanadaJune 4, 2013
a typical day at work
--Is not 9-5, people work extremely long hours with no work life balance

what you learned
--They expect you to perform and encourage to show-up colleagues to "standout" from the rest

management
--Some great managers in the company, but unfortunately not in my department.

your co-workers
--Can be both amazing and at the same time back-stabbing.
--Co-workers will not hesitate to screw you over if it means they will be getting a promotion

the hardest part of the job
--Remaining in a professional mind-set when everything individuals do within the company is in their own interest as opposed to company longterm benefit

the most enjoyable part of the job
--Benefits, salary, discount on products
Pros
alot of politics, high turnover, people with little to no experience in positions
Cons
long hours, poor management, little appreciation for intelligence
Was this review helpful?Yes25No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun working environment with excellent employees
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONOctober 27, 2015
it was a great experience even if it was for a month, the employees where very supportive and so were my co workers and i had fun handling the credit card transactions and that was the best part of the job for me. the hardest part was the long hours and also it was scary because you had to be efficient and error free when recording the transactions and even though i made some mistakes i was able to learn from them and improve in ways i didn't know i could thanks to my supervisors and co workers.
Pros
paid breaks
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good pay
Opérateur de ligne (Former Employee) –  Saint-Laurent, QCMarch 8, 2016
good pay, bad benefit, bad management, schedul from overnight to day and night from one week to another, no respect, no formation
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Survival of the fittest
Product Manager (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QCFebruary 17, 2016
Great environment to learn and the company really encourages an entrepreneurial spirit. However be prepared to work a lot. It's really a sink or swim environment so some really thrive because there is the freedom to try and fail but it requires effort and commitment and a lot of passion.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great School - however one must eventually graduate
Group Product Manager (Former Employee) –  Montreal, QuebecAugust 13, 2013
L'Oreal provides employees with superb training and coaching. The challenge is that eventually the excessive demands on your personal life begin to outweigh the professional benefits. Reluctance to challenge status quo is another challenge they currently face and as a result many key players resign or go on burn out leave. As a manager who works hard to retain and motivate employees these are red flags that are a major concern. I appreciate my time at L'Oreal and credit them with helping me to excel and become the astute business woman I am today. Like all experiences in life, it was time to leave and try new opportunities.
Pros
training, coaching, national campaigns, benefits, free product, learning and development, commeraderie, passionate peers, international mandate
Cons
excessively long hours, lack of upper management accountability, passive agressive and non-transparent management styles, bullying from vps and directors, 75% of time ppt presentations instead of marketing work, environment based largely on fear.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic place to work with young and talented people!
Senior National Account Manager - Wal-Mart (Current Employee) –  Toronto ontarioOctober 16, 2015
Young co-workers that are driven, passionate and eager to succeed! The saying "work hard, play hard" resonates well with life at L'Oreal. Working in a continuously changing industry is fun and exciting and who better to work for then the leader in the beauty industry!
Pros
Work/Life balance
Cons
Head office in Montreal
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
INNOVATIVE PRODUCTS
REGIONAL SALES MANAGER - MINDANAO (Former Employee) –  MindanaoOctober 18, 2015
The company never cease to come up with new products and innovations in cosmetics. Aggressive marketing stance, supportive management and innovative.
Pros
Free monthly samples
Cons
slow career growth
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
really good place to work
Forklift Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Montreal,Quebec,CanadaSeptember 3, 2014
Good salary, good management, the best technology for productivity, one of the biggest companies in the world. The only bad thing is that there it's no fixed schedule, it could be day, evening or night !they change your schedule as they desire which really disturbs your social , family life and your sleeping patterns.
Pros
good salary, good management, international company
Cons
the schedules
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
On the road with L'Oréal Canada
Sales Account Executive (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QCAugust 19, 2015
Hired as a sales account executive in the consumer goods department of l'Oréal Canada, the majority of your time is spend planning your road visits to partner retailers and executing them.

As a rep, you inherit a sales territory and must be able to develop it during your time on the road.

Ergo, strategic planning at home allows you to better perform once on the field.

Visits comprise essentially of spotting new sales opportunities in store, ensure proper merchandising of new and existing products, sell new product launches, as well as create influential sales strategies in store.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
safe and fun to work
Warehouse clerk (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QCNovember 27, 2015
Opportunities to work with different types of forklift
Opportunities to work overtime
Great management
Safe is their priority
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun and active work place
Order Picker (Current Employee) –  Saint-Laurent, QCJuly 13, 2013
Great place to work, salary is great but as a temporary worker you have no benefits and hours are not flexible if you have children. But after 2 years...so far so good.
Was this review helpful?Yes19No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONMay 16, 2015
Every worker worked as a team. Had good culture and worked as a family. Had a learning environment that was beneficial to everyone. Management was very efficient. Hardest part was ensuring that each guest left happy.
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging yet rewarding
Product Manager (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QCJanuary 10, 2015
A dynamic, vibrant and exciting company.
A work day at L'Oreal is never typical: it is constantly changing and filled with new challenges. It ranges from solving various issues (strategic and logistic), product forecast analysis, business analysis and creating successful launch executions in store. The objective of every day was to seek new ways to grow the business and implement these programs nationally.

I have learned many skills at this role that are viable for my future career success. The most important skill is being able to adapt in a constantly changing environment and make strategic decisions under pressure of tight deadlines. Another valuable skill which I have learned is conducting detailed, sku-specific analysis to understand all aspects of the business and emerging market trends.

The management is quite supportive and is dedicated to the success of their team. They are demanding, yet motivating and rigorously work on developing their employees, both personally and professionally.

The co-workers at L'Oreal are very friendly and enthusiastic. Everyone is very helpful and will always prioritize the needs of the team over their own. The people at L'Oreal are the most innovative and intelligent minds that I have had the pleasure of meeting.

The most difficult part of the job is managing tight deadlines when required elements do not arrive on time.

The most enjoyable part of the job is the ownership and creative freedom that you are given of your business. You have autonomous control of all your projects and all ideas to grow the business are welcome.
Pros
amazing brands, products and people.
Cons
no work life balance.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun workplace with great perks
REGIONAL TRAINER (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONOctober 7, 2014
Responsible for training Ontario sales teams in product knowledge and sales skills. Assisted the teams at important store events. This role helped me improve my public speaking and leadership skills. A great environment to work in. The hardest part of the job was to train in different parts of Canada on a very short notice. However, everything else was very enjoyable. Great team and supportive management.
Pros
freee lunches, travel outside your territory
Cons
short notice for events and training sessions
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment with dedicated, goal oriented employees who put customer satisfaction above all else
Stock and general maintenance (Former Employee) –  Montreal QCJanuary 11, 2013
Stocking shelves, taking inventory and occasionally providing help on the floor. I learned to listen to what customers want to give them the best experience possible as well as keep them wanting more.
Great management, dedicated employees who love what they do. The best part was the employees. Nothing seemed hard because everyone wanted to be their and made everything enjoyable.
Pros
working with dedicated people
Was this review helpful?Yes11No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Making a lot of sales and making customers happy
Promoter (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ONApril 21, 2015
The main requirement that is important for this job is personality and knowledge of the industry. I am very friendly, good with people, and I have a general interest and passion for the beauty industry.It was up to me to ensure that a high level of beauty products is provided and that clients leave happy.
Pros
Bonuses
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace with beauty products!!
Product Expert Team Supervisor (Former Employee) –  ConcordFebruary 25, 2015
I loved working for Loreal besides the great perks of free cosmetics and skin care, it was amazing event to work for and awesome management team. Employee empowerment and trusts your judgement.
Pros
free products
Cons
happens twice a year
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lively atmoshphere to work
Fragrance Demonstrator since 1995 - casual (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, ABApril 18, 2013
sign in as a visitor to department store, hand out fragrance cards to customers promoting the product. I learn a lot about dealing with different types of people and thier personalities. Co-workers in the beauty department are a lively bunch to work with, keep things fun. There is no hard part in the job, it is quite the same every time. I enjoy selling and talking with people about the products I believe in and promote. Always trying to find different techniques to sell the product to keep things interesting.
Pros
great wages, free product at times
Cons
no cons that's why i have been doing this for 18 years:)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 1,158 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.7
Culture
3.9