Find companies:
KONECRANES
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
38 reviews

KONECRANES Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Design engineer-offer (Current Employee), Pune, MHJuly 21, 2014
Pros: team work
Cons: salary
irs Fun workplace, team work.co-workers the most enjoyable part of the DO NOT include any personally identifiable information, such as names.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not great, but not bad
Shipping (Former Employee), SpringfieldJune 23, 2014
Pros: good coworkers
Cons: lack of communication between departments
Typical corporate environment, one hand doesn't know what the other is doing. Lack of communication between departments. Coworkers are friendly and the training is done well. Pay & benefits are decent.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
USA upper management is ha ha
Supervisor (Current Employee), New Berlin, WIJune 11, 2014
Cons: too many too list wake up finland
Each branch is a different. The books are rearranged to shift parts sales around to different jobs along with expenses. Most reports are created to increase bonuses. Upper management mostly graduated from no name universities with limited business skills. They have developed a culture that will slide in the future. The parts division is actually funny..... – more... and they continue with excellent management. Anybody good will depart this company. Most upper management works from home when they should be with their people. Oh but that is the culture Ohio has developed. Rest Home managers....... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Time to move on.
Service Technician (Current Employee), Houston, TXMay 29, 2014
Pros: you stay on the move
Cons: no room to grow.
Largest crane company in the world.Learned to be a team player. Has not much room for growth.Hardest part of job will be the hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dont do it!
Crain Tech (Former Employee), Portland, ORMay 27, 2014
Pros: nothing but pay, if your lucky.
Cons: no life balance. not very secure.
Very demanding job with little to no training to do your job safely, acuratly or proffesionaly. Only care about quick turn around at bottom dollar, both at yours and the customers detrimant.

If your single it might be ok if all you want to do is work with no life. Have a family, kiss them good night late and don't expect to see them.

Might just have – more... been the branch I was apart of, but it was also feast or famine. 80 hours one week, 10 the next. No good planning at all.

Good compensatipn, but that's it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very clean and safety-orientated facility.
Site Manager (Former Employee), Tempe, AZApril 29, 2014
Pros: close to home.
Cons: lack of help.
A well-run company with excellent benefits and compensation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK place to work but keep looking.
Crane Technician (Current Employee), Kansas City, KSApril 21, 2014
Pros: decent enough work if your unemployed. company provides truck to drive home.
Cons: lots, your boss is most likely an unstable, unmedicated bipolar
First of all this is probably the cheapest company I have ever worked for. If they can figure out a way to get out of buying something they usually will. When you do have to go pick something up its always get the cheapest thing possible and never pick up extra, this is even simple truck supplies and hardware. You usually get this stuff at the customers – more... sites is their opinion. Management in general is questionable. They won't take blame for anything and always point the finger at someone else. Coworkers are for the most part alright to work with, although there is a lot of manipulation that goes on. If you talk about transferring out to a different state, life at work will be made difficult on you from your boss, but for some reason in training we were told no problem to move to other states. Also for some reason it takes us forever to receive parts to make repairs at customers sites. I could understand if it was for brands we don't own, but for brands we own which are several there should never be several weeks for simple basic parts to arrive. This is probably the biggest complaint I hear from customers. You also are not guaranteed 40 hours. Your truck is gps monitored and you are highly monitored where you stop on your way home. It's also a toss up how your boss will treat you. It varies drastically. You are on call rotation with no compensation on your week unless you are called out then its 4 hr min pay. I can't wait to find something better. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dirty, Bad, and Dishonest Company
Sales (Former Employee), New Berlin, WIFebruary 21, 2014
Pros: the top upper management are good people however they are letting the dirt bags run the company!
Cons: dirty company!, the sales mtg is a farce!, they cook the books to make sure people do not receive their bonus!
They have dirty managers that cook the books! They will eventually be caught by upper management but till that day comes they mid-management and some upper managers will lie about employees to accomplish their own agenda and personal goals. They are back stabbing!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay, high blood pressure
Crane Technician (Current Employee), Winchester, VAJanuary 5, 2014
Pros: company truck, good benefits, willingness to train new hires
Cons: long days, hectic schedule, always on call
higher paying non union contractor in my area. But it is service work and you are at any customers whim. When you get called you stay till the job is done. can never count on being home for things, ever. constantly squeezing you for time on your work. just generally stressful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company. learned a great deal from their staff.
Technician/Electrical Assistant (Former Employee), Mobile, ALDecember 29, 2013
Pros: opportunity, on the job training, experience in sales and people skills, benefits
Cons: the smell of paper mills was tolerable but not my favorite!
Working for Konecranes was a great eye-opening opportunity to show my potential and learn important skills that will help me in every career path I choose. I am pursuing a career that will lead me in a direction towards opportunity and benefits. As the youngest Konecranes had hired I had a lot to prove and loved living up to every moment of it. My goal – more... right now is to build great references and to further advance my goals. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Care about their employees
Electrician, Maintenance, Inspector (Former Employee), Dothan, ALDecember 13, 2013
Pros: paid for nice places to stay when out of town, benefits, take care of their employee
Travel up to 4 hours a day round trip to jobs that required servicing, installing or inspecting overhead cranes and hoist. I have learned a lot about overhead cranes and hoist including inspecting. Management and co-workers were fairly easy to work with. I really enjoyed working with this company it was the perfect job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging position with plenty of opportunities to interact with customers, vendors and employees.
Service / Sales Manager (Current Employee), Kenilworth, NJNovember 3, 2013
Manage all daily operations at the branch, including overseeing the scheduling of technicians, customer service, safety, and sales. As the senior manager of the branch I work closely with my direct reports to enhance their skills and ability through mentoring them and daily communication.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome supervisor
Crane Service Technician (Former Employee), Cayce, SCOctober 17, 2013
Pros: the pay was good
Cons: scandals in the plant
People there were hard to work with. They constantly tried to scandal with everyone. When I was laid off it was the best thing that happened. I loved doing my job but the people were hard to figure out. Always controversy with something. It was who you know and hung out with like a drinking buddy after work. The easy part was doing my job. the hardest – more... part was the people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
keep looking for better opportunities
service technician (Former Employee), multiple officesSeptember 24, 2013
Pros: big company
Cons: everything else
Absolutely no job security your just a number at kone. Pull someone out plug another in I saw it for 5 years before I left. Very poor branch supv. And management personell. No oversight by higher mgmt. Lots of stress, mgmt constantly looking over your shoulder. Kone looks for ways to get rid of people saw it many times. Take my adivce save yourself – more... some anguish keep looking elsewhere. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporate needs to keep local management on a tighter leash
Site Manager (Current Employee), IllinoisSeptember 5, 2013
Corporate needs to provide more local oversight and not allow local management to randomly make financially irresponsible decisions that negatively impact local employees and the overall bottom line.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job for job security
fitter welder (Current Employee), Houston, txAugust 10, 2013
Pros: every june free tickets to splash town for company picknick
Cons: 2-5 years before being a company man
Konecranes is a good place to work when it comes to job security. Its hard to become an employee there with benefits. If you looking to become hired on as a company man this is not the place. Management is horrible never can get materials in for cranes. No material, no work, equals less hours or lay offs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not organized
Electrical Inspector/Tech (Current Employee), Omaha, NEJuly 23, 2013
Very unorganized management structure. Lots of travel. not enough employee support.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Enviroment
New Business Development Manager (Current Employee), San Antonio, TXJune 11, 2013
Very demanding job in a very competitive market. good people and management
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional and fun place to work...
MRO Buyer/Planner (Current Employee), Springfield, OHJune 2, 2013
KoneCranes has a staff of great people who are professional and supportive. It is a fun and safe to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If your looking for job security don't look here
service technician (Former Employee), orange, txMay 7, 2013
Pros: made a few good friends
Cons: its a long list
I hired on through clayton, which is a temp agency konecranes uses, to do my 3 months probation. After about 4 months I asked when I would be switched to the company and I was assured the paperwork was being done because I deserved to be there. A month later I had to ask about it again. I was told I have been doing an outstanding job and been working – more... extremely hard and my paperwork is being done. In the mean time 3 other techs were hired on about 3 months after me straight to the company even though they had no crane experience. I went on every call out and worked every time I was asked to work a weekend. I worked my tail off until about 2 weeks ago when I was called in the office and fired because work was slow. Kind of funny since work is slow they just posted a job opening for a tech at that branch. If your not in the club and dont suck up to the bosses you will not make it. Its unreal how the place is run and constantly having to worry everyday if you will get fired or not. The manager's brag about how many people they have fired. I would not recommend this company to my worst enemy. – less

About KONECRANES

Konecranes wants to give customers a positively¬†uplifting experience. The Finnish company is a global manufacturer of¬†cranes, – Read more