Kingston General Hospital Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Supply Assistant (Current Employee) –  Kingston, ON4 January 2018
I enjoy mu position at kgh. I make a decent wage but up to recent the shift hours were good and have dropped off substantially. Management is alright. The hardest part of my job is staffing as it is a battle sometimes to get them to follow rules in place.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay place to work
PCA (Current Employee) –  Kingston, ON31 December 2017
I have been lucky and work with a great team of staff, some of my peers unfortunately have nothad such positive experiences. The only way to get a full time job is through seniority, skills attitudes or advanced education does not factor in while seeking opportunities to advance into fulltime positions.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Way too many negative staff protected by ineffective union reps
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment
Placement Student (Former Employee) –  Kingston, ON5 November 2017
I found the staff to be incredibly kind and accommodating while I went through my training period. I found that everyone maintained a high level of professionalism.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toxic environment
Nurse (Former Employee) –  Operating Room9 July 2017
The operating room is a very toxic environment, little support, verbal abuse is very common, management is not doing anything about it, don't work there or you will risk your mental health..
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Medical imaging
Clinic Assistant (Former Employee) –  Kingston, ON11 June 2017
patient registration, answer phones, direct calls to appropriate areas,
book tests, filing, coping, scanning, cd for images, filing of medical
xrays.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid
Registered Practical Nurse (Former Employee) –  Kingston, ON28 April 2017
Issues are from the top down, nowhere to turn. HR, Unions, Managers are the issues. If I knew when I started what I know now I wouldn't have applied.
Cons
Management, Hr, Unions
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Registration Clerk (Former Employee) –  Kingston, ON25 April 2017
Loved working here - fast paced environment with lots of different things to see and learn. The staff was all very friendly and great to work with!!!!
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experince
Staff Nurse (Current Employee) –  Intensive care25 April 2017
Great environment to work in , hours as a casual nurse flexible. Challenging assignments available. Patient to nurse ratio not always safe. Friendly helpful staff. Hours not always available as a casual nurse
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic
Medical Transcriptionist (Former Employee) –  Kingston, ON11 April 2017
KGH was a great place to work. The environment and my co-workers made going to work an enjoyable experience. The only downfall was the lack of training manuals when I started; however, my co-worker was a great help.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Kingston, ON24 February 2017
I enjoy working as a Registered Nurse at KGH . There are great people who make the job enjoyable. I am treated well and I have great benefits and salary.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place to work
NOPE, NOPE (Current Employee) –  & a definite NO18 December 2016
Been working here for under a year and this place is one of the most disorganized and backwards hospital. Department/Management is very poorly run and lacks team-player mentality. Very stressful place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toxic environment
N/A (Former Employee) –  Kingston, ON16 December 2016
I can only speak for my specific area, but toxic is an understatement. Management clueless and only out to promote themselves.

It's an environment of covering-your-butt and trying to stay afloat in a sea of relentless work thrown at you (after all, not enough staff to do everything).

Oh, and then management will throw "high priority" nonsense tasks at you requiring you to drop real work that benefits patient care... a great way for them to remind you that they're still the boss.

It's a shame. It's truly beneficial to work with patients and make a difference in their lives, but the bureaucracy is enough to make you smash your head through the monitor.

If this sounds desirable, go ahead and apply. Otherwise, consider Walmart/McDonald's/Uber over this.
Was this review helpful?Yes 14NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dynamic leadership
Administrative Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Kingston, ON11 November 2016
Leadership position in a dynamic cardiovascular intensive care unit, averaging 1500 cardiac and 450 vascular surgical cases per year. Patient care coordinators are leaders in health care teams in which collaboration is the primary responsibility and is the most rewarding and satisfying aspect of the position. The opportunity to work closely with highly skilled professionals has provided me with the necessary skills to lead excellent teams within a challenging and rewarding health care environment
Was this review helpful?YesNo 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
making a difference in peoples life and perspectives
Patient Care Assistant / Healthcare Aide (Former Employee) –  Kingston, ON22 September 2016
a typical day at work you go in and start your rounds and start a regular routine if the patient needs something or help you assist them to the best of your ability. the hardest part of the job is not having the help when needed for transfers or anything that requires more than one person.they do not work well as a team I learned how to cope with a wide variety of personalities. the most enjoyable part of my job was the patients and making a difference in their lives.
Pros
Making a difference in peoples lives.
Cons
not having efficient time for the patients
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment with attention to detail
Central Processing Technician (Former Employee) –  Kingston, ON24 July 2016
I enjoy working with the people, as well as the fast paced environment at Kingston General Hospital. I was crossed trained on all aspects of the job, which allowed me to get to know the devices as well as surgeries
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Kingston, ON2 June 2016
Great opportunity to work on my medical language and to read real research papers, which gave me insight on my possible future medical career; Interesting topics.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A wonderful walk-to-work opportunity for a graduate student
Occupational Health and Safety Assistant (Former Employee) –  Kingston, ON7 March 2016
I loved the atmosphere at KGH. Its location was accessible for me, and both jobs I had at KGH (one through CCAC and the other through Occ Health) were great opportunities to work in the public sector in a non-clinical capacity.
Pros
Walk-ability, great work culture
Cons
hard to get full time employment
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting
Receptionist (Current Employee) –  Kingston, ON2 October 2015
In my position I can be doing anything from refiling and pulling over 100 charts in a day, to answering phones, inputting information into the company computer. Privacy of all information is of the utmost importance in my position. I work within a team varying between 6 and 10 depending on the day. Our manager does not micro manage but is always available if we need information or someone higher up "to have our backs" so to speak.
Pros
Varied responsibilities
Cons
Parking
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Student Placement (Former Employee) –  Kingston, ON17 August 2015
Great Employer, Learned to be a Great PCA. Great employees to work with. A very caring staff. Greatest part of job was seeing people return home.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outstanding care always
Medical Laboratory Technician (Current Employee) –  Kingston, ON30 April 2015
Patient care comes first and foremost above all else. We have a great group of team players. My manager is great! she is very fair and understanding.
Pros
continuing education is encouraged
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 14Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Kingston General Hospital. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 38 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Salary/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.2
Culture
3.4

Kingston General Hospital Reviews by Location