Find companies:
Kindred Healthcare
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
763 reviews

Kindred Healthcare Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
WAY TO DEMANDING
Manager, Commercial Collections (Former Employee), LAMIRADA, CAJune 17, 2014
Pros: free breakfast
I was only employed with with this company for a short time, 7 months, they currently has 31 hospitals in which they do billing and collections for with only 40 employees and 3 managers, 1 director. There is too much work for the staff to handle and the hours are demanding, most of the time working 10 to 13 hours per day for 5/6 days a week. The director – more... is a tyrant. I have never worked for anyone like this. I am much happier not being their. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Colorful
Administrative Secretary (Former Employee), Cleveland, OHJune 17, 2014
Pros: excellent team work on the floor
Cons: long hours.........
Kindred is the kind of hospital that is very much like another home.
We have kept the same base staff for over 10yrs and we can tell you who will last and who won't. Kindred isn't for the stylish nurse but for the jump in Now kind of nurse. It's a place where Nothing is every routine, nor stable. We've had days that crashed before we could start them, – more... one can miss lunch easy, and have up to 3 codes at one time. With this being know for the vent hospital, extreme wounds and special heart issue spot...... Well, one would have to come ready to deal with just about anything because anything could just about happen at Kindred. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
True patient care and great pay/hours
X-ray tech (Shift Leader) (Former Employee), Scottsdale/Phoenix AZJune 17, 2014
I truly enjoyed working here and felt my job actually had a direct impact on patient care. Management and co-workers are awesome and easy to work with. Was easily able to have a life outside of work due to a very reasonable schedule.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co-workers are family
Health Unit Coordinator (Former Employee), Detroit, MIJune 16, 2014
Pros: working 12hours a day three days a week.
Cons: the short lunch break.
My Night started by punchibg in @ 1900; then checking to see how the day went; which meant getting report on what needs to been done and also handling the task that I'massign at night.

what I learned is that my co-workers were like my second family I loved coming to work.

myjob was great never that hard;plus if it was I thought of it as a game and – more... that I had to win.

making folks laugh; theirs so much sadness and sickness in a hospital, but i could make the patience smile and co-workers smile then it was a bonus for me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dedicated physicians and senior management with open door policie. Its a small hospital and you get to know people in all departments well.
LPN (Current Employee), Albuquerque, NMJune 16, 2014
Pros: knowing everyone from all departments on first name basis, payroll deducted meal tickets
Cons: losing half your hours because of low census up to 3 months, not a fan of insurance plan even before o'bama care, elimination of my job based on lpn title
Always starts with a good morning and then a plan of what the day involves. I am able to organize order of patient assessments. Communicating with patient and their bedside nurse to work with their pain control, and other therapies so there is no conflict and I can complete all my tasks in a timely manner. The hardest part of the job is when different – more... options conflict and the communication does not occur at the best times. The best part is when the communication has a solution with all people involved having a good experience. I am happy to say that is most of the time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible terrible terrible
CNA (Former Employee), Virginia Beach, VAJune 13, 2014
Pros: you can always sign up for shift to get overtime
Cons: no team work, short staffed, pay is terrible even with many years of experience
This place is always short staffed. Nurses and CNAs. Theres no team work. Also the person doing the stock for the building wasnt doing their job. There was never any wipes to clean people with so employees hid the ones they found so they would have some for their shift. On the linen cart they only give us 13 wash clothes and towels and theres 2 carts – more... on each floor and theres about 50 people on the floor. Also employees had to hide the bags that go in the garbage tins in the patient rooms because the housekeeping manager was stingy with the bags and their was never any available when we needed them – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy but Productive
Medical Records Coordinator (Former Employee), Boston MAJune 12, 2014
Being organized is an necessary trait, the rest falls into place.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to grow in health care
Patient Care Technician (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOJune 12, 2014
Pros: 12 hour shift 3 days a week
Cons: low census
Kindred Saint Anthony was awesome! Great incentives and fun place to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Daily changes
Unit Secretary (Current Employee), St Louis Mo.63128June 11, 2014
Pros: the pros are flexible hours.
Cons: the cons are better lunch area
A typical day at work is very busy constantly learning. I've learned new program's.My management team is great. My co-workers are great people.The hardest part about the job is some people never get well.The most enjoyable part of the job,is the smiles of the patient at the end of their visit.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Staff Development Coordinator (Former Employee), Webster, MAJune 11, 2014
Sorry they sold off the facility I worked for, I learned a great deal and had lots of good experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great CI, great co-workers
Student Physical Therapist (Former Employee), Tulsa, OKJune 8, 2014
This was an amazing first clinical experience for me. My CI was extremely knowledgeable and helpful. She assisted me when needed but also pushed me when appropriate. I worked side-by-side with OTs and learned how to co-treat effectively and efficiently.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very easy office to work in. Loved my coworkers.
Medical Transcriptionist (Former Employee), Louisville, KYJune 8, 2014
Pros: my coworkers, my bosses.
Cons: i didn't really want to go home to work, but after a few months i adapted so that turned out alright as well.
I thoroughly enjoyed working for Kindred Healthcare. I loved being in an office setting. After a few years, I needed to work from home as we were losing our "office" and again I learned to love working from home.

I really missed the office setting though.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
C.N.A.(PRN) / Unit Secretary(FT) (Former Employee), Dallas, TXJune 4, 2014
Pros: job stability
Cons: breaks, and healthcare
I LEARNED ALOT OF JOBS AND I LOVED MY CO WORKERS, MANAGEMENT WAS GREAT
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
kindred = bad Karma. I wish it could be no stars.
Patient Advocate (Former Employee), Louisville, KYJune 3, 2014
Pros: there are a few hard-working, competent employees.
Cons: many. i'll keep it brief. profit driven. under-staffing of clinicians in the norm, so manager/supervisors can get bonuses. you get the picture.
There should be no such entitiy as a for-profit hospital, like kindred.
The arrogant top executives just pretend kindred's very, very bad reputation does not exist. Everything bad you can possibly imagine in a corporation happens with kindred. They shoud not even include
"heathcare" in their name because they don't care about anyone's health (patients – more... or employees.) They only care about money and profit. Any positive reviews, anywhere, about kindred, are by people who are aspiring management/executives, aren't high on the food chain, or are just clueless. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very stressful and demanding work place
floor nurse (Former Employee), detroit michiganJune 2, 2014
Pros: only work 3 days a week
Cons: patient demands and needs and lack of support from managers.
Most of the patients needs are IV fluids,you will be administering them the entire shift,also giving IV push med the entire shift. the documentation requirement is horrendous!!! its just too much and not worth the pay.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
flexibility
Assisting therapist, billing (Former Employee), Rocky Mount NCJune 2, 2014
Pros: flexibility
Cons: no holiday
Assist with quality of patient care and provide support to Physical Therapy, billing, reports, filing charts, and reviewing documentation/ICD-9 coding.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dishonest manager and unfriendly staff
cook (Former Employee), wilmington ncMay 31, 2014
Cons: to many to name
I worked as a cook in Wilmington cypress point...And was hired part-time dishonestly to take someone's place that was on fmla. The manager came up with a bunch of lies and UN truthful things to let me go the day before that employee was to come back. The manager in the dietary department is lazy...sat in his office all the time..lied to me countless – more... times and lied on paperwork in regards dismissing me. I did win my unemployment battle in spite of the efforts to keep me from getting it continued. This manager was terminated from other kitchens in healthcare...and he somehow knew I knew it and had something personal against me. I have no respect for him at all. The whole bldg was unfriendly and over bearing. The administrator would not even talk with me because I hadn't been there 90 days and people work of the clock daily in the kitchen and bldg to get their work done because they get written up if they work over on the clock and if their work isn't done. Management knows this and turns a blind eye. I've never worked in such an oppressive and nasty kitchen. And never will again. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quality vs cost containment
RN Admission Coorridnator (Current Employee), Green Cove Springs, FLMay 31, 2014
Pros: basic work out room
High paced, skill oriented, results driven company.
Acute understanding of company medical reimbursement in relation to patient diagnosis.
The most enjoyable part of my job was reporting directly to the prior C.E,O
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sub Acute Rehab nurse- Long Term floor Nurse
Nurse, Blueberry Hill (Former Employee), Beverly, MAMay 31, 2014
Pros: great work environment team atmosphere
Cons: no growth
Medications, Treatments, Documentation,Dr's orders, Able to learn time management, Great management support
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A nice place to work
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), Great Barrington, MAMay 29, 2014
Pros: good work environment
Cons: benefits, cut hours
I love the people that I work with and have been in this business since 1985. I feel that it is time indeed to make a change. I do like the daily interaction with my co-workers and friends as well as the residents that I have come to know and love.

About Kindred Healthcare

The word "kindred" has many meanings, including allied, similar and family. We believe the name reflects our business – Read more

Kindred Healthcare Photos