Find companies:
Kindred Healthcare
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
742 reviews

Kindred Healthcare Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
over worked and under paid.
LPN (Former Employee), Louisville, KYMay 27, 2014
Pros: ummm.....
Cons: too many patients to take care of
Not a place for an LPN to work. Very hard getting ahold of a physician when you need one. Ratio of nurse to patient is too much for the severity of illness. These patients are critically ill with infections from all over. Always work to do.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kindred was Nursing and Rehabilitation Center
Maintenance Director Laurel Ridge Nursing Home (Former Employee), Boston, MAMay 27, 2014
Pros: the patience and staff were great to work with.
Cons: i lived over an hour away from boston, many miles and lots of fuel
When I arrived at Kindred they were in a Life Safety Survey. I worked diligently to resolve all of the outstanding preventive maintenance issues and compliance issues. Due to my many hours and hard work, the facility was deficiency free Life Safety Survey.
I am conscientious in correcting problems immediatly as they arise.
I did plumbing, painting, – more... electrical repair, and carpentry.
I also worked well with the budget and the vendors, which if I could do the job myself there were no venders. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BK
RN (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAMay 27, 2014
I learned alot working there. I have learne about mechanical ventilation in Kindred, management was easy to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyed coworkers and patients
Registered Respiratory Therapist (Former Employee), Oklahoma City, OKMay 23, 2014
there was a real sense of family between staff and patients Are drs were approachable and valued the staff
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hospital Environment
Patient Account Representative (Former Employee), Dallas, TXMay 20, 2014
Pros: people great
Cons: compensation very low
Handling of admissions, of patients, insurance verifier, dischargement of patient. Improved my people skills, management was great, loved co-workers. Job was not hard at all, most enjoyable was working with the patients. Suitable for a single person to work at, without huge expectations on raises.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The company is unpredictable.
Nurse (Current Employee), IdahoMay 19, 2014
The company feels no loyalty to its employees. Meetings are full of how the company wants to build trust and respect but does not practice what it preaches. One day you have a job, the next day you don't. I would never work for this company again.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very great company to work for and excell
RN Case Manager (Former Employee), Norfolk, VAMay 19, 2014
Pros: encourage staff to continue higher education
Cons: high turnover
MDS process Nursing Rounds Teaching and training staff supervisor
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FUN JOB
Graduate Nurse (Current Employee), mansfieldMay 19, 2014
Nice surroundings, alot to learn. management pwople are nice and very helpful, i would reccomend to my friend.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job
stna (Former Employee), Cleveland, OHMay 17, 2014
Not a good atmosphere to work. The hardest part of job is getting along with the coworkers. Not very friendly. The pay is decent.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved my job
Lead Unit Desk Clerk (Former Employee), Seattle, WAMay 16, 2014
Great nursing staff great team! Wish I could have brought this job with me when I relocated!!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging population
Counseling Intern (Former Employee), Chicago, ILMay 15, 2014
Great exposure to individuals with severe chronic mental illness.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flex Pool
Flex Pool Nurse (Former Employee), New Orleans, LAMay 13, 2014
Pros: flex schedule
Enjoyed seeing people improved in a rehab facility.

Schedule was flexible.

Hardest part of the job was lifting patients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun productive
Nursing Assistant (Former Employee), Chapel Hill, NCMay 12, 2014
kindred goes above and beyond for their staff and residents. the hours and pay were really good. the staffing met the needs of the residents
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What I learned
Director of Nursing Services/Special Care Staff (Former Employee), Greenfield/Indianapolis, INMay 12, 2014
Work/Home life must balance more in positive direction for best personal health.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work.
Licensed Practical Nurse (Former Employee), Milwaukee, WIMay 12, 2014
Pros: good management.paid bonus over time.
Cons: patient ratio high
Kindred was the old mountCarmel.It was one of the best jobs i ever had.Coworkers was wonderful,management excellent.U where treated fair and with respect.It was hard work,but fun place to be! I rather have hard work and less stress on the job. I leave the company a few years after kindred took over from the Benedictine.I miss the people i work with. – more... I wish all nursing jobs was like that. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
medium environment
Account Rep (Former Employee), Kansas City, MOMay 11, 2014
Pros: learning medicaid billing for a long term care facility
Cons: upper management attempting to force office mgmt to do things that weren't ethical
filing and follow up of Medicaid accounts, posting charges
detailed Medicaid billing, followup, posting charges
upper management wasn't exactly following medical billing laws
co-workers very dedicated
dealing with management not agreeing
the employees
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company for independant worker
Radiology Technologist (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZMay 10, 2014
Has great management that takes care of their employees. Great pay with an independent environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very difficult place to work after new boss arrived.
Medical Staff Manager/Assistant to CEO (Former Employee), Tampa, FLMay 9, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: being viewed as someone who had no experience and nothing to offer.
I was hired to work for one person, who was hiring me for her replacement. Typical day was chaotic, were going through an ACHA review. The initial review was not good and we had to come up with plan, write the plan, and then implement the plan in about a 3 week period. People, including myself worked until the middle of the night.

I learned how to – more... write the "correct" meeting minutes and how to be extraordinarily organized. It was obvious my new boss wanted a different secretary. He even said so in front of me. Co-workers, as usual were great - we were all in the same boat together.

Hardest part of the job was being ordered around like gofer. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic all the way around
Havertown Admissions Coordinator (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAMay 9, 2014
I have no complaints, it is a great company to work for with the ability to move up
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked with Kindred Healthcare for 13 years
ACCOUNTS RECEIVABLE SPECIALIST (Former Employee), Needham MaMay 7, 2014
Pros: kindred was very competive amongst healthcare companies.
Developed good experience over the years with Accounts Reveivable. Had covered Medicare accounts for 10 homes at one time. Kindred has a good company culture. Worked with All types of accounts. Medicare, Private, Medicaid and Insurance.

About Kindred Healthcare

The word "kindred" has many meanings, including allied, similar and family. We believe the name reflects our business – Read more

Kindred Healthcare Photos