Find companies:
Kindred Healthcare
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
708 reviews

Kindred Healthcare Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy, productive & fun workplace
Social Worker (Current Employee), Hawaiian Gardens, CAJune 28, 2014
Pros: in-house cafeteria, free lunch when no injury every 60-90 days
Cons: short breaks, working area is too small
My typical day @ work is always busy & I learned how to manage my time. Management & co-workers are supportive and the hardest part of the job is placement when no facility will accept patients due to no medicare days & no secondary insurance. However the most enjoyable part of the job is in spite of the difficulties employees always have a positive – more... attitude. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The bonus package for admissions and revenue increases the liaisons annual income plus the respect we get in our field is rewarding.
Clinical Nurse Liaison (Current Employee), Sugar Land, TXJune 21, 2014
Every morning (Monday-Friday) we have a conference call with all disciplines in the hospital to review our pending admissions for the day. On Monday mornings after the conference call, the liaison team meets (with our director and CEO) to go over the past weeks' meetings: who we saw plus any business pertinent to LTAC (long term acute care) hospitals – more... in our area including census of competitors along with what we have on our agenda for the upcoming week. We strategize about any new physicians, directors, changes in our STAC (short term acute care) hospital administration departments or any possible clients we might be able to market and start the process to bring them on board. While we answer directly to our Area Marketing Director, we also work very closely with our CEO, CCO, and the Director of Case Management who has an open door policy to the liaison team and are open to suggestions and problem solving. Other than our meetings, we are in our hospitals doing evaluations, meeting with physicians, case managers and nursing directors daily. We also market MD offices, clinics, skilled nursing facilities, assisted livings and promote appropriate Direct Admissions to our hospital.

This job has an ongoing training operation and I have learned to use 'Sales Force' to track my daily patient evaluations, who I met with and where I went each day. This is a good way to assist in time management. I learned to go into all area hospitals to meet the attending physicians and learn the case management teams and how each hospital runs their referral department.

For four and a half years we have had a team of four clinical nurse liaisons who worked at our assigned hospitals, but went into each of the other team members hospitals to "cover" when one of us needed to be out. We worked continually together to get multiple evaluations done daily. (Kindred has 2200 locations across the US and the Houston, Tx market has been the front runner in admissions to our hospitals since we were acquired two and a half years ago). I have been very proud to be a part of this team and company.

If I had to choose the hardest part of the job, it would be having to tell a patient or family that there is/was no criteria for LTAC admission to my hospital. (I always do explain the level of care they do meet and discuss with their case manager and physician what I found). The best part of working at Kindred is seeing something in print about the wonderful success of a hospital stay and the positive outcome. Another "biggie" for me has been my personal relationships with so many physicians who have believed in me and my hospital, entrusting us to attend their patients. The fact that I can pick up the phone and reach the Regional Director for CEO's if needed, proves that the ladder is not an issue for an employee to feel safe or find a resolution to an issue. I also must say that we are known in the industry as a hospital with excellent integrity taking only patients with true criteria for admission.

If I were not relocating, I would not consider a change in my career. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Organizational Restructuring
Night shift staff nurse (Current Employee), Louisville, KYJune 21, 2014
Company has brought in the third CEO since the three year tenure that I have been there with multiple upper management layoffs. Not recommended.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
high nurse patient ratio
LPN (Former Employee), RVAJune 20, 2014
Pros: some good coworkers
Cons: unrealistic expectations from management
high acuity, high nurse patient ratio. Non-stop 12+ hr shift on your feet. some days, lucky to get lunch.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Certified Nursing Assistant (Former Employee), Tucson, AZJune 17, 2014
fun and good shifts. excellent people to work with............
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
WAY TO DEMANDING
Manager, Commercial Collections (Former Employee), LAMIRADA, CAJune 17, 2014
Pros: free breakfast
I was only employed with with this company for a short time, 7 months, they currently has 31 hospitals in which they do billing and collections for with only 40 employees and 3 managers, 1 director. There is too much work for the staff to handle and the hours are demanding, most of the time working 10 to 13 hours per day for 5/6 days a week. The director – more... is a tyrant. I have never worked for anyone like this. I am much happier not being their. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Colorful
Administrative Secretary (Former Employee), Cleveland, OHJune 17, 2014
Pros: excellent team work on the floor
Cons: long hours.........
Kindred is the kind of hospital that is very much like another home.
We have kept the same base staff for over 10yrs and we can tell you who will last and who won't. Kindred isn't for the stylish nurse but for the jump in Now kind of nurse. It's a place where Nothing is every routine, nor stable. We've had days that crashed before we could start them, – more... one can miss lunch easy, and have up to 3 codes at one time. With this being know for the vent hospital, extreme wounds and special heart issue spot...... Well, one would have to come ready to deal with just about anything because anything could just about happen at Kindred. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
True patient care and great pay/hours
X-ray tech (Shift Leader) (Former Employee), Scottsdale/Phoenix AZJune 17, 2014
I truly enjoyed working here and felt my job actually had a direct impact on patient care. Management and co-workers are awesome and easy to work with. Was easily able to have a life outside of work due to a very reasonable schedule.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co-workers are family
Health Unit Coordinator (Former Employee), Detroit, MIJune 16, 2014
Pros: working 12hours a day three days a week.
Cons: the short lunch break.
My Night started by punchibg in @ 1900; then checking to see how the day went; which meant getting report on what needs to been done and also handling the task that I'massign at night.

what I learned is that my co-workers were like my second family I loved coming to work.

myjob was great never that hard;plus if it was I thought of it as a game and – more... that I had to win.

making folks laugh; theirs so much sadness and sickness in a hospital, but i could make the patience smile and co-workers smile then it was a bonus for me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dedicated physicians and senior management with open door policie. Its a small hospital and you get to know people in all departments well.
LPN (Current Employee), Albuquerque, NMJune 16, 2014
Pros: knowing everyone from all departments on first name basis, payroll deducted meal tickets
Cons: losing half your hours because of low census up to 3 months, not a fan of insurance plan even before o'bama care, elimination of my job based on lpn title
Always starts with a good morning and then a plan of what the day involves. I am able to organize order of patient assessments. Communicating with patient and their bedside nurse to work with their pain control, and other therapies so there is no conflict and I can complete all my tasks in a timely manner. The hardest part of the job is when different – more... options conflict and the communication does not occur at the best times. The best part is when the communication has a solution with all people involved having a good experience. I am happy to say that is most of the time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible terrible terrible
CNA (Former Employee), Virginia Beach, VAJune 13, 2014
Pros: you can always sign up for shift to get overtime
Cons: no team work, short staffed, pay is terrible even with many years of experience
This place is always short staffed. Nurses and CNAs. Theres no team work. Also the person doing the stock for the building wasnt doing their job. There was never any wipes to clean people with so employees hid the ones they found so they would have some for their shift. On the linen cart they only give us 13 wash clothes and towels and theres 2 carts – more... on each floor and theres about 50 people on the floor. Also employees had to hide the bags that go in the garbage tins in the patient rooms because the housekeeping manager was stingy with the bags and their was never any available when we needed them – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy but Productive
Medical Records Coordinator (Former Employee), Boston MAJune 12, 2014
Being organized is an necessary trait, the rest falls into place.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to grow in health care
Patient Care Technician (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOJune 12, 2014
Pros: 12 hour shift 3 days a week
Cons: low census
Kindred Saint Anthony was awesome! Great incentives and fun place to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Daily changes
Unit Secretary (Current Employee), St Louis Mo.63128June 11, 2014
Pros: the pros are flexible hours.
Cons: the cons are better lunch area
A typical day at work is very busy constantly learning. I've learned new program's.My management team is great. My co-workers are great people.The hardest part about the job is some people never get well.The most enjoyable part of the job,is the smiles of the patient at the end of their visit.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Staff Development Coordinator (Former Employee), Webster, MAJune 11, 2014
Sorry they sold off the facility I worked for, I learned a great deal and had lots of good experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great CI, great co-workers
Student Physical Therapist (Former Employee), Tulsa, OKJune 8, 2014
This was an amazing first clinical experience for me. My CI was extremely knowledgeable and helpful. She assisted me when needed but also pushed me when appropriate. I worked side-by-side with OTs and learned how to co-treat effectively and efficiently.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very easy office to work in. Loved my coworkers.
Medical Transcriptionist (Former Employee), Louisville, KYJune 8, 2014
Pros: my coworkers, my bosses.
Cons: i didn't really want to go home to work, but after a few months i adapted so that turned out alright as well.
I thoroughly enjoyed working for Kindred Healthcare. I loved being in an office setting. After a few years, I needed to work from home as we were losing our "office" and again I learned to love working from home.

I really missed the office setting though.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
C.N.A.(PRN) / Unit Secretary(FT) (Former Employee), Dallas, TXJune 4, 2014
Pros: job stability
Cons: breaks, and healthcare
I LEARNED ALOT OF JOBS AND I LOVED MY CO WORKERS, MANAGEMENT WAS GREAT
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
kindred = bad Karma. I wish it could be no stars.
Patient Advocate (Former Employee), Louisville, KYJune 3, 2014
Pros: there are a few hard-working, competent employees.
Cons: many. i'll keep it brief. profit driven. under-staffing of clinicians in the norm, so manager/supervisors can get bonuses. you get the picture.
There should be no such entitiy as a for-profit hospital, like kindred.
The arrogant top executives just pretend kindred's very, very bad reputation does not exist. Everything bad you can possibly imagine in a corporation happens with kindred. They shoud not even include
"heathcare" in their name because they don't care about anyone's health (patients – more... or employees.) They only care about money and profit. Any positive reviews, anywhere, about kindred, are by people who are aspiring management/executives, aren't high on the food chain, or are just clueless. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very stressful and demanding work place
floor nurse (Former Employee), detroit michiganJune 2, 2014
Pros: only work 3 days a week
Cons: patient demands and needs and lack of support from managers.
Most of the patients needs are IV fluids,you will be administering them the entire shift,also giving IV push med the entire shift. the documentation requirement is horrendous!!! its just too much and not worth the pay.

About Kindred Healthcare

The word "kindred" has many meanings, including allied, similar and family. We believe the name reflects our business – Read more

Kindred Healthcare Photos