Find companies:
Kindred Healthcare
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
627 reviews

Kindred Healthcare Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I look after old people
Care giver for Old people (Current Employee), Blacks Harbour, NBMarch 10, 2013
Pros: no
Cons: sometimes 12 hour days
I love what I do..The old people are so nice and they need alot of help with there lives and I try to help them the best way I know how...
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nightmare
Registered Nurse (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAApril 18, 2014
Pros: very nice people - new lifelong friends
Cons: management
Staff - wonderful for the most part. Great personalities to work with. Management - awful and unprofessional. Doctors- one in particular - awful - pompous and condescending. Very overwhelming and staff not treated equally. I can prove that. Doctors basically in charge. No support for the staff. Very disappointing first job. I do not know a single staff – more... member that is happy there. Other than enjoying each other's company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i had lots of fun working at kindred,they did special thing for us sometimes
Environmental Services (Former Employee), Saint Petersburg, FLApril 16, 2014
Pros: we had no free lunch we had to pay for our lunches.
Cons: my breaks wasnt long enough, we got no help when needed
kindred were a pleasant place to work,i got along with my coworkers in all department,a typical were to clean patients rooms,stock rooms,help with when they ask for something.i learn how to work well with other.there was nohard part of my job.i love myjob wish I were still there.its a nice plce to work at.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nurses are taken for granted and not appreciated by management.
staff member (Former Employee), San Rafael CAApril 16, 2014
Pros: beautiful area.
Cons: nurses overloaded.
Kindred Smith Ranch San Rafael CA.
The management here has no respect to the employees. The administrator intimidates, emotionally abuses staff, yells at the staff members. This facility is brutally understaffed. Nurses are great and carrying, but they don't stay here due to non-humane work load, inability to care for patients properly, increased risk – more... to make mistakes, poor and not carrying administrative practices. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable work environment. Excellent executive team.
Executive Assistant/Administrative Secretary (Former Employee), Louisville, KYApril 16, 2014
Pros: employees incentives
Cons: too many meetings
Working at Kindred allowed me to learn about hospital administration. The executive team were great to work with. They were very fair and strived to offer incentives to employees. The job had stability and great team work on an every day basis.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
CNA/ PCT (Former Employee), Arlington, TXApril 14, 2014
I have always loved working in a hospital invornment. you meet some many people and see so many different techniques. I learned alot by working for kindred hospital. how to become a monitor tech, scrub tech, and patient care tech
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co-workers
Patient Care Technician (Current Employee), Fort Worth, TXApril 14, 2014
Very busy hospital every day is a new experience with different patients. Management could be better my co-workers are great and believe in team work the hardest part of my job is trying to please the patients the enjoyable part is taking good care of patients knowing that i have helped someone to the best of my ability.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very nice place to work.
Mental Health Counselor (Former Employee), Springfield, MAApril 13, 2014
Pros: day shift
Cons: not much overtime available
The best part of this job was the day shift. At my other two jobs I had worked 2nd shift. I enjoyed the work and the environment, and the people i worked with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company but true office setting
ac (Former Employee), indianapolisApril 12, 2014
great company that provides excellent care but not a great position for a true sales professional.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tight knit group of strong patient care advocates
Nurse for ICU/telemetry unit (Current Employee), Kindred DenverApril 12, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: inferior insurance
Work is long and hard, but rewarding.

Teamwork is strong.

Management is supportive.

The hardest part of the job is unending pace.

Helping people is the most enjoyable part of the position.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a fun place to work but not productive
Registered Nurse (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOApril 12, 2014
This place has been a great place for a learning experience as a nurse with complex patients on ventilators, large wounds and care, long term antibiotics and a variety of patient cases.
However in my opinion this setup needs a stronger influence in managing the nursing staff, in order to improve situations of slackness on the floor as well as preventing – more... very frequent call ins which affects patient care. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good learning experience
LPN (Current Employee), Louisville, KYApril 10, 2014
It was a good place to learn right after school. On a typical day, I would have anywhere from 5 to 8 patients to myself with a CNA. I did my own assessments and passed my own medications. I also did my own treatments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GOOD PLACE TO WORK FOR
Patient Care Specialist Cna/HUC unit coordinator (Former Employee), Amarillo, TXApril 9, 2014
ALL THE STAFF IS FRIENDLY AND KIND. GREAT PLACE TO WORK FOR . ENJOYED WORKING HERE VERY MUCH .
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caring patient centered work environment
CNA (Former Employee), Muncie, INApril 9, 2014
A typical day work consisted of dressing, feeding, bathing, grooming, and transitioning elderly patients. I learned how to communicate with the elderly population and connect with and better care for others. My co-workers were very dedicated to the job and hard workers because of the work load and few employees per patient. The hardest part of the job – more... was learning to think on your feet while making the best choice for the better of the patients. The most enjoyable part of the job was being able to impact someones life and work with extended family. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible
Certified Nursing Assistant (Former Employee), New London, CTApril 9, 2014
horrible, staff helps no one going home was the bast part of the day
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kindred was a good company to work for. At times very demanding. Over all good place to work.
Admission/Marketing Coordinator (Former Employee), Harrodsburg, KYApril 8, 2014
Getting census numbers and referrals together for morning stand up. Reporting to all discharge planners and case managers in the area hospitals the open beds that were available. I have learned so much being at Kindred. I do not have a college degree of any type, Kindred introduced me to so many opportunities. I have worked in Accounts Payable, Payroll, – more... I did start out in healthcare as a nurse aide. My co-workers were good to work with. We would plan meeting up after work. Teamwork. The hardest part of my day was when I did not get any referrals for the beds. Seeing the residents and helping the families with placement. Explaining how Medicare and Medicaid woks with the elderly. Throughout my years at Kindred I also worked as Area Liaison for 5 of our facilities, marketing in the Lexington area. It has only bee3n the last 1 1/2 that I was at Harrodsburg. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work place
Certified nurse assistant (Current Employee), walnut creek californiaApril 7, 2014
Great work place! I love it gained alot of experience and motivated me to attend nursing school.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working with the patients
Certified Occupational Therapist Assistant (Former Employee), Norwich, CTApril 7, 2014
I enjoyed working the patients , however the practices of the company I did not care for .
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
LTACH nurse (Former Employee), TucsonApril 7, 2014
Pros: great work place
Fun work place great staff great management very enjoyable
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Registered Clinical Dietitian (Former Employee), Clear Lake, TXApril 6, 2014
Hours are 8 to 5 with 30 mins lunch break. I had my own desk in the dietitian office. Must participate in DRE meeting every Tuesday with the doctors and report each patient's nutrition status.

1 2 3 4 5

About Kindred Healthcare

The word "kindred" has many meanings, including allied, similar and family. We believe the name reflects our business – Read more

Kindred Healthcare Photos