Find companies:
Kinder Morgan
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
135 reviews

Kinder Morgan Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kinder Morgan
Senior Accountant (Former Employee), Chicago, ILAugust 15, 2013
Pros: light commute to work
Cons: no room for advancement
Responsible for account payable, receivables, payroll, prepared and posted JE, accruals for month-end close. Reconciled general ledger accounts. Represented Midwest on weekly AR conference call.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unsafe operations of facilities. Management doesn't care about your well being.
Operation Specialist 4 (Former Employee), Victoria, TXAugust 15, 2013
Pros: benefits
Cons: management
Worked as an operator for 5 years. Managment doesn't care about you, and some of their supervisors don't know their way out of a paper sack (Victoria Supervisor). Your just a number with Kinder Morgan
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Effective and efficient.
Records and Information Specialist (Current Employee), Houston, TXAugust 11, 2013
Productive and a good learning environment that leads to development and growth.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A regular job
Operator (Current Employee), Blytheville, ARAugust 5, 2013
Pros: benefits
Cons: working a swing shift and minmal potential for advancement or pay increases.
Operating a plant. very repetitive work. This type of work makes me feel trapped. I have very good co workers they are probably the best group of people I've ever had the opportunity to work with.The hardest part of this job is the feeling of being "stuck". The mos enjoyable part of this job is my coworkers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
union job
Operator (Former Employee), Perth Amboy, NJAugust 5, 2013
Pros: salary
Cons: culture
will be forced to do a two man job that is required in contract by yourself !
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Senior Accountant (Former Employee), Houston, TXJuly 29, 2013
Pros: good work life balance
Kinder Morgan has a professional environment. I learned some solid financial practices. I was fortunate to be under the tutelage of their Treasury Management Team, which provided sound mentoring and support.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working with all the heavy equipment.
Heavy Equipment Operator (Former Employee), Houston, TXJuly 24, 2013
Co-workers were good to get along with. I learned how to operate an overhead bridge crane. The hardest part f my job was being away from my family due tot he shift work, but I will always do what is necessary for my family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
KM is a very good company
Terminal Operator (Current Employee), NCJuly 21, 2013
Pros: job security
Cons: under staffed
KM is a very good company over all. Some of its segments have issues.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid,avoid,avoid
Crew leader (Former Employee), Sweeney TexasJuly 11, 2013
Pros: great benefits and coworkers
Cons: management is stupid. can change policies to benefit themselves.
Stay away from the Sweeney terminal. Manager and supervisor haven't the slightest clue. Core principles and "Do The Right Thing Everyday" only works when it benefits the company. Working three schedules so not a lot of off time,which is good cause u can't survive on the chump change being paid
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kinder Morgan , small but growing
Crew Leader (Current Employee), Deer Park, TXJuly 9, 2013
Pros: great benefits, great people
Cons: high turn over rate in turn i spend alot of time at work
A typical day at Kinder Morgan consists of unloading Ethanol Rail cars to tanks then pipe lined to several refineries. My favorite part of my job is meeting new people and working as a team. The hardest part right now is learning to run the locomotive to switch Rail cars since we now have to learn that aspect of the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed atmosphere
Senior Geotech (Former Employee), Houston, TXJune 17, 2013
Pros: very relaxed environment and excellent compensation
Cons: not enough projects to keep me busy
Too many employees for the amount of work . Spent most of the time trying to find projects to work on.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just Starting
Maintenance Technician (Current Employee), TXJune 15, 2013
Pros: none noted at this time
Cons: none noted at this time
Learning a new environment of petroleum, it can be exciting at times, with safety as the utmost priority.
Not enough time to completely review the company, location, but enjoying the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DO NOT ENTER!!!!
Analyst (Former Employee), Houston, TXJune 2, 2013
Pros: paid parking or commuter bus; great location to food court in tunnel
Cons: everything i mentioned above
This company is no place to work if you are looking for advancement! They will find any excuse not to promote you, give you your raise or bonus. The bottom of the totem pole employees are severely underpaid. Their attitude is you're lucky to have a job. As someone else stated they are MILES behind in technology, so you're doing your job by hand. They – more... will praise you when you're up but one mistake and they will NEVER forget it. They don't encourage continued education to help you do your job, lots of favoritism of course. You will only get in certain departments based on who you know, but beware once you leave....don't use them as a reference! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned to run Heliem plant
Level 'C' Helium Plant Operator (Former Employee), Bushton, KSMay 28, 2013
Pros: good people
Cons: dead end job
Enjoyed working there, learned to run helium plant in a 1.2 billion cubic foot plant
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Look Elsewhere
Manager (Current Employee), USAMay 23, 2013
Pros: paycheck, decent entertainment value
Cons: no corporate leadership, silly slogans & endless "training"
One of the dumbest places on earth. Endless training on irrelevant topics prepared by glorified interns. Their slogan, Do the Right Thing Everyday, is laughable. It could only be accurate for this upper management team if the words "when financially convenient" were added as an ending. Want-to-be tough guy VPs trying to manage by fear bring needed comic – more... relief. Just a job. No loyalty either way between employee and employer. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience
Mechanical Piping engineer (Former Employee), Houston, TexasMay 21, 2013
I worked in a team which helped develop not only my skills but also my interpersonal skills.
Working on various projects with various disciplines to meet client deadlines.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall good job
Terminal Manager (Former Employee), Vicksburg, MSMay 13, 2013
management
Great crew
Things I couldn't controll was hardest part
I enjoyed it when we were wide open fast pace
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting enviroment
Lead Foreman (Former Employee), Carson, CAMay 6, 2013
Pros: pay is good
Cons: on-call
Good co-workers, Tough and dangerous job. Safety is the key to a good day at Kinder Morgan.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
team player
operator (Former Employee), south saint paulMay 3, 2013
Pros: all of are safety equipment payed for by the company
Cons: sometimes working twelve hours without a break
Start early work late.I have not learned much from km as there training is terrible.Lot of new managers that dont know what to do as they come from another feild of work.Co workers were very hard working bunch of guys.The work never bothered me management had no clue of how to run the crew .Dealing with customers meeting new people and helping them – more... when they were haveing a bad day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Secure job with established company
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), Chicago, ILApril 30, 2013
Pros: hours, benefits
Cons: high turnover
Clerical duties within a union environment which requires a high tolerance for relationship issues between a young mangement team and seasoned union employees.

About Kinder Morgan

This can get Kinder complicated: Kinder Morgan Management (KMM) was created by pipeline operator¬† Kinder Morgan, Inc.¬†to be the – Read more

Kinder Morgan Photos