Find companies:
Kinder Morgan
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
148 reviews

Kinder Morgan Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall an excellent organization.
Sr. Measurement Analyst - Msmt Engineering (Former Employee), Houston, TXOctober 4, 2013
Pros: a very forward thinking organization.
Cons: accomodating workloads with acquisitions.
Daily Review of Pipeline Activity with focus on new and changing activity on the pipes.
I learned how linepack is calculated and the impact on balancing the pipes.
Upper management was very knowledgeable and supportive.
Middle management not so much.
Wonderful co-workers.
Anticipating and accounting for changes in flow not communicted.
Pleasant work – more... environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Operator ll-Switchman Locomotive
Operator ll-Switchman Locomotive (Former Employee), Houston, TXOctober 1, 2013
Pros: working with different people
Cons: not being able to be trained in other stages
Safely operates forklift and associated equipment
Learn to operate locomotives
Proper positioning and packaging/crating of loaded containers
Moves or pushes buttons to Operate D-9 dozer to move coke on pad and feeder conveyor
Problem solve, trouble shoot and assist with repairs of filler equipment
Execute operating orders, work orders and other associated – more... documents – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy
crew leader (Former Employee), Old Ocean, TXSeptember 27, 2013
Pros: good insurance
Cons: no scheduled days off always on call
has a bad work schedule due to lack of employees,have learned to run and load trains, operate cranes,
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Priority is safety! People and the environment come before everything else!
Regional Manager (Former Employee), Fort Lauderdale, FLSeptember 18, 2013
Area manager for Florida Terminals. Services provided transfer of both bulk and liquid (Hazmat & Non-hazmat) products. Travel to Tampa, Jacksonville, Sanford, and Ft Lauderdale. Four direct reports with 52 subordinates. Directly involved with OPEX, minimizing overall expenses. Wrote annual evaluations/reviews; Counselled & provided training to entire – more... staff. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people to with
Heavy equipment operator and deckhand (Former Employee), 2 monsanto sauget, ilSeptember 16, 2013
Pros: bonuses
Cons: dust in the air
Getting dirty working hard. I leaned to operate heavy equipment and be a deckhand and load barges.Management was okay. My co workers were great nice people to work with. The hardest part of the job was not having a set schedule. Most enjoyable was being outside.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
KM is a solid, average company
Terminal Manager (Current Employee), Chicago, ILSeptember 11, 2013
The company as a whole appears solid, financially and operationally.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learned new things and obtained hazmat training in a laid back respectful environment
Transloader / Yard Foreman (Former Employee), Toledo, OHSeptember 11, 2013
Pros: was own boss, new experiences such as hazmat training and cpr training, and the friendly coworkers
Cons: the only con was that i was laid off, and i found a new job that paid better before they called me back.
Punching in five minute safety meeting and overall work load. Transferring bulk materials anything from liquid to plastics some hazardous materials were involved from rail cars to semi trucks and vice verse.Basic yard maintenance and training of new employees. The hardest part of the job in my opinion was making sure the material was heated to proper – more... temperature before moved into other locations. The part i enjoyed the most was learning new things about the stuff we were loading and unloading and meeting new people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low Pay And No Place To Grow - Lots of Condescension
HR Assistant Sr. (Former Employee), Alpharetta, GASeptember 1, 2013
Pros: fairly close to home
Cons: everything about this job
This company manages it's people through fear and intimidation. They frown on communication and an open exchange of ideas. The CEO speaks about growth in terms of millions and billions of dollars, yet annual pay rate increases are figured in pennies.

The advertised HR admin position in Alpharetta GA is an hourly office position that will require you – more... to submit your fingerprint to a wall mounted time clock to track your hours worked. It's nothing more than pushing paperwork 8 hours a day. It offers no challenge and no logical place to grow. You will be spoken to with condescension, handled like a child in elementary school and constantly reminded that you are an expendable resource. Watch your back.

I worked the HR admin job for over 5 years and hated every minute of it - only stayed for the paycheck. I was terminated because I would not give HR Director personal info on why I could not fly to Houston to attend a meet and greet/training session. No sour grapes, just very glad to be out of there and have the time to look for something else. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good pay/ excellent benefits doesn't outweigh the BS
Stevedore (Current Employee), fernandina beach, flAugust 27, 2013
Pros: pay benefits
Cons: everything else
work hours range from un expected day off to 18 hour days subject to change at a moments notice. Management preaches safety and threatens write ups but only follows policies when it is beneficial to them. good pay and great benefits. no room for growth unless your willing to relocate and good luck having local managers sign off on your transfer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
How Kinder Morgan ruined me.
Operations Specialist/Compressor station operator (Former Employee), Victoria, TXAugust 22, 2013
Kinder Morgan is a pipeline company that promised great career and advancement opportunity... but when it boiled down to it, at the compressor station i worked at, it boiled down to ONE particular employees opinion of you... if you were liked... you were helped, if not, you were not helped or trained, and allowed to fall on your face.... my past jobs – more... i have never had any issues learning and doing my job properly, but due to the lack of proper training because of one persons opinion of me, i was left without guidance and allowed to fail and eventually get terminated. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Please don't work here... save yourself
No thanks (Current Employee), At the bottomAugust 21, 2013
Pros: depending on location, some of the people are actually genuine, but most are very mean and unprofessional.
Cons: everything about this place.
Every review you read that complains about the management's lack of knowledge, micro-managing, pay are all spot on. I don't know how some of these people are in the positions that they are in with their inability to have a clue about the field that they manage. They are so top heavy, that you find yourself reporting to several people and are bombarded – more... by emails about the same thing from every manager. That bad thing, most of them don't really know or have the technical knowledge to know what they are talking about. Any advice or suggestion offered is presented with a standoff and "their way" is the right and only way. Meetings about meetings that are nothing more than a waste of time and to check in to make sure you are doing your job. Pay is horrible for what you have to put up with. People who have the skills to exceed are absolutely a thorn in their paw it would seem. Being such a large company, there is very little communication across the upper management level, which shows ignorance and wasted time. Everyone is right, you really are just a number to this company. They could care less about you, what you can do, your family, or anything for that matter because they stand by the notion that "everyone is replaceable". I'm shocked they have made it this long and are still in business. Absolutely horrible! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not hard work. fun place to work
Heavy Equipment Operator (Former Employee), Decatur, ALAugust 19, 2013
Other than low pay and swing shifts very good place to work..
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful Experience
Terminal Operator (Former Employee), Summit, ILAugust 19, 2013
Pros: lots of ot
Cons: bad management through corporate
Was let go after one incident. I had never been written up, late, called in sick yet there are tons of people that have been in trouble and are still employed.. Discrimination at its finest
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kinder Morgan
Senior Accountant (Former Employee), Chicago, ILAugust 15, 2013
Pros: light commute to work
Cons: no room for advancement
Responsible for account payable, receivables, payroll, prepared and posted JE, accruals for month-end close. Reconciled general ledger accounts. Represented Midwest on weekly AR conference call.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unsafe operations of facilities. Management doesn't care about your well being.
Operation Specialist 4 (Former Employee), Victoria, TXAugust 15, 2013
Pros: benefits
Cons: management
Worked as an operator for 5 years. Managment doesn't care about you, and some of their supervisors don't know their way out of a paper sack (Victoria Supervisor). Your just a number with Kinder Morgan
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Effective and efficient.
Records and Information Specialist (Current Employee), Houston, TXAugust 11, 2013
Productive and a good learning environment that leads to development and growth.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A regular job
Operator (Current Employee), Blytheville, ARAugust 5, 2013
Pros: benefits
Cons: working a swing shift and minmal potential for advancement or pay increases.
Operating a plant. very repetitive work. This type of work makes me feel trapped. I have very good co workers they are probably the best group of people I've ever had the opportunity to work with.The hardest part of this job is the feeling of being "stuck". The mos enjoyable part of this job is my coworkers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
union job
Operator (Former Employee), Perth Amboy, NJAugust 5, 2013
Pros: salary
Cons: culture
will be forced to do a two man job that is required in contract by yourself !
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Senior Accountant (Former Employee), Houston, TXJuly 29, 2013
Pros: good work life balance
Kinder Morgan has a professional environment. I learned some solid financial practices. I was fortunate to be under the tutelage of their Treasury Management Team, which provided sound mentoring and support.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working with all the heavy equipment.
Heavy Equipment Operator (Former Employee), Houston, TXJuly 24, 2013
Co-workers were good to get along with. I learned how to operate an overhead bridge crane. The hardest part f my job was being away from my family due tot he shift work, but I will always do what is necessary for my family.

About Kinder Morgan

This can get Kinder complicated: Kinder Morgan Management (KMM) was created by pipeline operator¬† Kinder Morgan, Inc.¬†to be the – Read more

Kinder Morgan Photos