Find companies:
Kinder Morgan
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
143 reviews

Kinder Morgan Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, rigorous, and enjoyable work environment
Project Manager (Former Employee), Houston, TexasJanuary 20, 2014
- Excellent learning experience
- Insightful introduction into the oil and gas industry
- Learned how to manage an engineering/construction project through all phases to completion
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Coal distribution facility
Full-time Operations facility worker (Current Employee), Newport News, VAJanuary 19, 2014
Pros: multiple days off
Cons: swing shift
Advancement opportunity is next to zero. Swing shift, 12.5 hour days but with multiple days off. Actually zero work/life balance.
I have learned a variety of new positions in an industry I started with no experience. No future knowledge of where you will be or what task you will be performing. My experience is some retail, heavy B2B sale and customer – more... service. Which included order pulling, packing, and shipping. Receiving also. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
operate equipment
operator (Current Employee), Houston, TXJanuary 11, 2014
Pros: pay, benefits
Cons: management
operate equipment in the movement of material i learned different equipment ,management does not care about the employees ,the hardest part od=f the job is going there every day ,the best part of the job is going home
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Harvey, Louisiana
Operator, maint tech, dockman (Former Employee), Harvey, LAJanuary 10, 2014
Pros: what people are stick around as coworkers become great friends
Cons: management, recources, pay, unrealistic hours/deadlines, poor benefits
Very threatening and unrealistic deadlines set, always hold everything possible they can over your head due in fact management hasn't a clue whats going on and need always to provide themselves an out for their own job security. Very poor ethics promise the world to get commitment from you and never fulfill their end once ours is met!!, constantly rearranging – more... benefits so much so its cheaper to get govt. Obama care and personal IRA and fair out better in the end. Hear same for most all KM branches throughout south Louisiana. Only good point is due to serious management hostility and unprofessionalism have made some very dear friends and always looking to help one another till you get fortunate enough for a better opportunity which is from most anywhere else. Recently increased pay rate substantially and is still lowest paid liquid bulk storage through put facility up or down the river. Only pro is you can gain terminal experience to get better paying job else where with better everything! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work
Loader (Current Employee), Euless, TXDecember 29, 2013
it a good place to work everyone there is like family the hardest part of the job is been there sometime 16-17 hour a day when we work
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only if Walmart isn't hiring.
Operator II (Current Employee), Cheyenne, WYDecember 19, 2013
Pros: job security due to astronomical turn over.
Cons: everything else.
Judging from these very positive last few comments, I would say the company has people posting them to bolster its image. They are having a hard time finding people who want to work there. Here's my take:

The cheapest outfit I've ever encountered. Run equipment and employees into the ground in order to increase profits (dividends). Manage employees – more... by threatening them with disciplinary action quite often. Endless duplicate spreadsheets with ridiculously unrealistic deadlines. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Web easily accessed
Custmer Service /Inventory Rep. (Former Employee), Carteret, NJDecember 15, 2013
Easily accessed, Can offer substantial experience. Managed others. Eye for details.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Environment with Top Notch Management
Materials and Coating Inspector (Former Employee), PennsylvaniaDecember 6, 2013
Pros: variety of experiences
Cons: job ended
This is the best company and group of workers from upper management to inspectors I have ever worked with and for. It was a joy to go to work each and every day on these projects.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
general laborer
Road and Rail Loader (Current Employee), Tarrant, ALNovember 15, 2013
ran conveyers, set rail cars, general laborer working out doors in all weather nice co-workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and rewarding workplace with great opportunities for career growth
Operations Field Engineer (Current Employee), Shorewood, ILNovember 2, 2013
Pros: challenging work load and responsibilities with rewards
Cons: requires high energy and resiliancy
Kinder Morgan hired me as a college graduate and positioned me as a Project Manager with limited experience. They effectively managed to surround me with all of the resources I needed to be competent in the position within a year. Management sent me to training classes in estimating and project management, they sent me out into the field to see projects – more... in-progress and nearing completion, they regularly met with us as a group to discuss our projects and learn from others, too.

You are expected to prioritize and multitask, and eventually, you learn how to delegate lesser responsibilities and become a true leader. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Total Dump! Even Worse Management
Clerk (Former Employee), Tampa, FLOctober 30, 2013
Pros: benefits, healthcare
Cons: work ethic
My married boss hit on me and when I refused he found every reason to get rid of me. They talk about core values but as far as moral values they have none. There is no in house promotions, they hire outside guys and use their supervisory roles to step on people. I was a very hard worker never taking any unreasonable vacation days and my boss never appreciated – more... any of it. The company has no intentions of putting money into truck loading equipment that breaks down everyday and the truck drivers are there for at least 3 hours. Iv'e heard every single one of them complain. Manning is always short and when they bring in a ship over the weekend, you will work whether you like it or not. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved my job
Maintenance Specialist (Former Employee), Hungerford, TXOctober 17, 2013
Worked for many years in the gas industry. Made it thru 2 layoffs & closing of our office. 2 years later didnt make the cut.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to wok for
Procurement Clerk, BOSTCO (Current Employee), La Porte, TexasOctober 16, 2013
Pros: free lunchs
Cons: long hours but get paid overtime
Great Company to work for. I have saftey meeting every morning at 9am. My co-workers greeted me very well and was happy to see me to help them out.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very professionalism in the company
Project Engineer (Former Employee), Houston, TXOctober 11, 2013
Pros: good benefits, professional corporation.
Highly professional company. Very cooperative co-workers. Enjoyable working climate. Good place to work. Good benefits while working and also upon separation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Operator
Terminal Operator (Former Employee), Galena Park,TxOctober 8, 2013
Pros: good money
Cons: hours
Loaded and unloaded tank cars and trucks,ships,barges,lined up tanks for movements in and out,gauged and sampled tanks when required
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall an excellent organization.
Sr. Measurement Analyst - Msmt Engineering (Former Employee), Houston, TXOctober 4, 2013
Pros: a very forward thinking organization.
Cons: accomodating workloads with acquisitions.
Daily Review of Pipeline Activity with focus on new and changing activity on the pipes.
I learned how linepack is calculated and the impact on balancing the pipes.
Upper management was very knowledgeable and supportive.
Middle management not so much.
Wonderful co-workers.
Anticipating and accounting for changes in flow not communicted.
Pleasant work – more... environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Operator ll-Switchman Locomotive
Operator ll-Switchman Locomotive (Former Employee), Houston, TXOctober 1, 2013
Pros: working with different people
Cons: not being able to be trained in other stages
Safely operates forklift and associated equipment
Learn to operate locomotives
Proper positioning and packaging/crating of loaded containers
Moves or pushes buttons to Operate D-9 dozer to move coke on pad and feeder conveyor
Problem solve, trouble shoot and assist with repairs of filler equipment
Execute operating orders, work orders and other associated – more... documents – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy
crew leader (Former Employee), Old Ocean, TXSeptember 27, 2013
Pros: good insurance
Cons: no scheduled days off always on call
has a bad work schedule due to lack of employees,have learned to run and load trains, operate cranes,
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Priority is safety! People and the environment come before everything else!
Regional Manager (Former Employee), Fort Lauderdale, FLSeptember 18, 2013
Area manager for Florida Terminals. Services provided transfer of both bulk and liquid (Hazmat & Non-hazmat) products. Travel to Tampa, Jacksonville, Sanford, and Ft Lauderdale. Four direct reports with 52 subordinates. Directly involved with OPEX, minimizing overall expenses. Wrote annual evaluations/reviews; Counselled & provided training to entire – more... staff. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people to with
Heavy equipment operator and deckhand (Former Employee), 2 monsanto sauget, ilSeptember 16, 2013
Pros: bonuses
Cons: dust in the air
Getting dirty working hard. I leaned to operate heavy equipment and be a deckhand and load barges.Management was okay. My co workers were great nice people to work with. The hardest part of the job was not having a set schedule. Most enjoyable was being outside.

About Kinder Morgan

This can get Kinder complicated: Kinder Morgan Management (KMM) was created by pipeline operator¬† Kinder Morgan, Inc.¬†to be the – Read more

Kinder Morgan Photos