Kiewit Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 129 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Lead Hand (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, ABDecember 5, 2013
Large company with lots of work available. Great crew, not a lot of advancement opportunities
Cons
limited growth opportunity, training
Was this review helpful?Yes14No14
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very coroperative people and good understanding of safety
Health, Safety& Environment Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Marystown, NLNovember 29, 2012
great place to work ,good management communication,great safety policies and good people..i realy enjoyed working as a safety adviser at kiewit,and to them safety comes first...
Pros
onsite access with vechile
Cons
night shift
Was this review helpful?Yes12No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
close to home was a nice benefit, decent pay
Painter/Blaster (Former Employee) –  Marystown, NLJune 30, 2014
good schedule, dirty work, decent pay, very diverse group of individuals
Pros
good schedule, decent pay, close to home
Cons
dirty work, safety issues were not dealt with promptly
Was this review helpful?Yes6No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to learn
Pipe Fitter (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, ABJuly 16, 2014
Kiewit was a great start to a career. i was with them for three years and learned alot and was indenchered in the a apprenticship with in one year
Was this review helpful?Yes8No11
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Set in the dark ages
Materials Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABOctober 1, 2014
They try to manage with an iron fist and promote people before they are close to being ready. They have a good game plan at the beginning of the job but everything soon falls apart and the blame game begins.
Pros
training
Cons
70 work for 40 hours pay, very unethical
Was this review helpful?Yes19No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
exelent people and camp
pipefitter (Former Employee) –  mod yard and kearl lakeOctober 25, 2014
typical day was challenging and fun.
lots about rigging and hydo testing .
hardest part of job was traveling .
most enjoyable was seeing your involvment in the building .
Pros
food
Was this review helpful?Yes8No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Construction Safety Advisor/Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Bull ArmDecember 11, 2014
A good experince learned alot, Dealing with many different trades.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Heavy Construction work Fastpaced but enjoyable workers.
Rebar Ironworker (Former Employee) –  Bull Arm, NLMarch 22, 2014
When your day got started it was very physical,you quickly learn to work as a teamwith a good bunch of workers the hardest part of the job would have to be the conditions that you had to work in to get the job done.The most enjoyable part besides the physical workout is the people you work with and around.
Pros
great pay
Cons
weather
Was this review helpful?Yes6No9
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall good
Industrial Mechanic/Millwright Lead (Current Employee) –  fort mcmurrayJanuary 21, 2014
Great spot overall, job culture is great. Offers lots of challenges , and get to learn a great deal from other millwrights and other trades.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No13
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Electrical Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, ABMay 21, 2013
I went to work management was good, had stuff to do and co-workers were excellent
Pros
travel to and from workplace
Cons
got laid off
Was this review helpful?Yes1No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Electrician (Former Employee) –  Pinawa, MBOctober 16, 2014
Great crew beautiful area to work
great wages and a excellent companay
Was this review helpful?Yes7No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
played games by putting a pie on faces
Apprentice Electrician (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, ABJuly 7, 2014
Twice a year we had a safety rodeo meeting which thought us about safety at work place and also played games like at the end and BBQ.
It was fun learned different things about hazards at work.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No19
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dont care about family life
Welder (Former Employee) –  Edmonton AlbertaNovember 14, 2012
Hired me for dayshift, then put me on night shift during orientation. Nightshift all foreign workers cant speak english. They couldnt care less that I have a family and my 74 yr old mother living with us. Ended up finding a different job on dayshift somewhere else
Pros
not a lot to do
Cons
not a lot to do
Was this review helpful?Yes17No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great workplace.
Electrician (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurreySeptember 30, 2014
great place to work with good people. lots of remaining work.
Pros
good money
Cons
camp was too big.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly envirement
Draftsperson (Former Employee) –  Sherwood Park, ABFebruary 5, 2014
it is fun working with co-workers and supervisor, they are friendly and helpful. i learned new software, new system, new culture.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No16
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very management heavy
Electrician (Current Employee) –  Sherwood Park, ABNovember 21, 2012
Very pushy management/supervision
Big on the buddy system
Pros
close to home
Cons
morale
Was this review helpful?Yes20No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great bunch of guys to work with
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, ABNovember 18, 2013
There was always fun to be had at work with the crew I was on. Even after I was laid off there was continued contact with the guys on the crew. I really miss working with them. Hope one day we are all back on the same crew on another project
Was this review helpful?Yes14No10
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company that keeps employees very informed on the happenings
Travel Coordinator (Former Employee) –  calgary, AbJanuary 30, 2014
Company does do a great job on informing empoyees on whats going on and whats new in the company
Pros
appriciates all hard work
Cons
on call sometimes
Was this review helpful?Yes12No10
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable Atmosphere and Excellent leader for Safety
Electrical Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Kearl LakeJanuary 24, 2013
Starting off I worked construction on the Froth project and then moved to the Completions department after a few months. Learn lots on safety and gained lots of experience doing all kinds of work.
Was this review helpful?YesNo5
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hiway 1 East seg.
swamper on lowbed (Former Employee) –  Hiway 1 East SegmentApril 10, 2013
I was a hard working Employee with a Boom Truck cert, Superintendent hired the foremen's brother and gave him my job.
This company practices and favours nepotism. I would love to work for Kiewit again as a boom truck operator but the Superintendent
has black lists me,
Was this review helpful?Yes24No5

Comment – June 22, 2013

The same thing happened to my husband through Stantec out of Edmonton. They contacted him and gave him a great spiel and package to work out of camp up north, so good that after his 90 days were in I quit my job and we moved to Red Deer where our daughter lives, just as the moving truck arrived he was let go. It seems the boss' brother was completeing his EMR which my husband had 20 years experience and he made up some bogus reason to let him go, told HR another reason and put the brother in my husbands position. He's been actively looking for work for the last 3 months with nothing, I suspect he may have also been black listed by Stantec. These big companies should not be allowed to get away with tampering with peoples lives. It's sure true when they say it's not your experience or what you know but who you know to get the good jobs.

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 281 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture