Find companies:
Kiewit
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
187 reviews

Kiewit Canada Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kiewit not a good place to work
manager (Former Employee), albertaOctober 9, 2012
Pros: nothing
Cons: no support and lots of inexperence
Americans infiltrating Canada and dont have a clue with their cowboy attitudes

Stay away from this outfit they are trouble
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a good place to work. It was a very clean site.
Pipe Fitter (Former Employee), Marystown, NLSeptember 27, 2012
Safety meetings in the moning were well performed. My co-workers were great to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work enviroment
Rig Welder (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABSeptember 20, 2012
Pros: safe work enviroment
Cons: night shift
Great company that really looks out for safety. They dont push to hard and they like to have good communication with its workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no personal time
mobile crane operator (Former Employee), edmonton albertaSeptember 10, 2012
worked night shifts, never got to see the family,
but decent machines that had regular maintance
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
kiewit I must say is the best place that I have ever worked to date ,lots of help from upper management
kiewit foreman (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABAugust 27, 2012
Every day started with a safety meeting and twice a month we had a safety review about the previous two weeks . And the mentoritng that went on was just great ,not only foreman down but also from above ,the whole crew was a well oiled machine which worked for the better of everyone it was great .Again the hardest part of the job was getting new people to buy into safety and the best was the friendship and the everyone watced out for everyone attitude
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job at kearl
Crane Operator (Former Employee), Kearl Lake, ABAugust 19, 2012
Pros: education(extra training)
Cons: isolation(no way out of camp) ok because was working 7 days.
early mornings building construction, was always able to get training from management, wide variety of cultures of coworkers, sometimes had a hard times understanding languages, always enjoy new challenges, it seems to make the job interesting.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place to work
Fabrication Lead Planner (Former Employee), EdmontonMay 14, 2012
Pros: comraderie, helping and leading one another
Cons: lack of communications from upper management
Very busy environment but fun at the same time.
Without team work success is slower.
Lack of communications with upper management
Co-workers are excellent! We work hard and still manage to de-stress ourselves.
Hardest part of the job is not being recognized for the hard work the team has put in. And only one person gets the credits.
Having a good team and seeing that we accomplish our targets is very rewarding.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company and staff,
40 Ton Rock Trucks, 980 loader, Excavator (Former Employee), Toba Inlet, British ColumbiaMay 2, 2012
Pros: excellent equipment workers staff and first nation
Cons: weather conditions, mountain slides, accidents
Worked with Kiewit on the most hardest project on the west coast of BC - Toba/ Montrose Hydro Electric Power Project. Very tuff area due to how remote, steep mountains and changing weather conditions. We had some very hard and sad days and lost some good co-workers and friends. The staff and management were excellent and treated me like family. The project was one I will never forget nor the people and friends I made on that project.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company that Does Not Care About Employee Safety
Surveyor (Former Employee), Vancouver BCJanuary 10, 2012
Pros: good pay
Cons: employee deaths, injuries
Multiple accidents occurred while I was employed there. When you try to report an incident the safety team ignores you. If you get injury compensation you will lose your job.
In addition, you are told to keep an eye out for environmental impacts but then ignored if you report them, as well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ENVIRONEMENT
QC Inspector (Former Employee), SYNCRUDESeptember 8, 2014
JOURNEE DE TRAVAIL TRES INTERESANTE

JE SUIS TRES PROFESSIONEL DANS MON POSTE DONC RIEN DE DIFFICILE

J'ADORE MON TRAVAIL

About Kiewit

Peter Kiewit Sons' is a heavyweight in the heavy construction industry. The general contractor and its subsidiaries have a breadth – Read more