Kiewit Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 307 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
god company !
Electrician (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, ABNovember 17, 2015
very good company. I worked with great pleasure. Always ready to
continue with this nice people. My best regard for this company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working for kiewit
Insulator Apprentice (Former Employee) –  AlbertaSeptember 17, 2015
I worked as an insulator so I used various insulation to cover pipes. I also worked in the Lay down and prepared orders for the crew's and their safety culture is great.
Pros
great pay
Cons
cold winters
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place with a strong safety culture
Warehouse Person/Tool Crib Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, ABJune 22, 2015
Good place with a strong safety culture.
Good Wage
Well stocked supply shop
Good People
Stable hours 5-10's
Technology innovative
good craft buy in for their safety culture empowering each worker to have their say.
Poor turnover
Pros
Free Breakfast occasionally
Cons
Poor Management. extremely poor turnover
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First time Foreman
Foreman (Former Employee) –  Lethbridge, ABSeptember 5, 2015
Foreman. Raymond Canal system.
Responsible for time sheets shift start/end.
Sub-contractor(s) time. and schedule.
Report all issues to superintendent.
Pros
I was young and the superintendent gave me a chance.
Cons
When the Job was over.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
Accounts Payable Clerk (Former Employee) –  Oakville, ONAugust 20, 2015
This company was great. People were friendly and helpful and lot of advancement could be made with in the company. Since it is a construction company a lot of movement happens with people getting switch to different projects.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Energetic, dedicated to excellence, hardworking company
Business Manager (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABSeptember 22, 2015
If you work for Kiewit, you must be somewhat willing to sacrifice personal time as the hours can be quite long. This would be one of the hardest parts of the job. You will however, learn that hardwork, dedication and your skills will be tested and honed so that you can move forward with confidence. The most enjoyable part of the job was working with some amazing people on projects. In my position, advancement was tough as it was kind of an old boys' club. Management and the corporate structure of the company changed quite a bit during this time with Kiewit and this proved to be difficult for the employees as each new arrival wanted information in a different format and therefore broke the cohesion and flow of departments and reduced communication sometimes to the detriment of a project. However I must point out that I had worked for Kiewit in the 90's for 5 years and the management was a pleasure to work for.
Pros
You will push yourself to new levels and learn tonsl
Cons
Forget personal relationships due to long hours and travel
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job I ever had
CWB Welder (Former Employee) –  Kearl Lake, AlbertaJune 30, 2015
Loved working for Kiewit in Kearl Lake. Made a huge mistake by leaving, wish i had stayed. Management, supervision, formans and engineers all top of the line people who took great pride in there work and keeping moral at its best.
Pros
the best job ever
Cons
14 days away from family across the country
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good wages and rotation schedule
class 1 driver /equipment operator (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, ABJuly 10, 2015
Very good place to work. I learned a lot working there. Good wages, good work rotation schedule. Good safety program.
I was on the project from start to finish, it was good to see the final product of all the hrs spent on site.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly, safe environment
Commissioning Tech/QAQC (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABAugust 4, 2015
Daily modular construction, safe environment, welcoming co-workers and an abundance of work. Job security and great benefits were also a bonus of working within this company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kiewit is a good compagny
journeyman scaffolder (Former Employee) –  fort macmurrayMarch 11, 2015
kiewit is a great compagny but mildred lake project was a bit messed up because the super intendent scaffolders was an iron worker and a concrete finisher , and most of the managers there was concrete workers and stuff so it was a bit miss organize and they where pushing alot and taking unsafe decision most of the time .. But except that project Kiewit is a really good compagnie and well organize , Kearl Lake Kiewit project there is one of the best compagnie to work for with great team and personal and im pretty sure the rest of the project out there must be good as kearl lake with kiewit
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safety culture second to none
Electrical Apprentice Lead hand (Former Employee) –  Kearl Lake ABApril 16, 2015
After your morning stretches, and your daily safety bulletin, you write your JHA. waiting for permits was the longest part of your day.
Foreman would allow you the space to work if you show competence.
Most appriciate hard work.
Pros
Good salary
Cons
Too much micro managing by upper management. Communication wasn't the best
Was this review helpful?Yes3No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A well Managed enjoyable place to work
Civil Designer (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NLMarch 18, 2015
Worked as a Civil Designer for the Hebron Gravity Based Structure in the St. John's office. Worked heavily with concrete reinforcement design by making reinforcement keys to show the intensity of rebar required. Worked with a large team of management and staff from all over the world that came together to complete the design phase of the project.
Pros
great management
Cons
job security
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
Heavy equipement operator (Former Employee) –  CalgaryAugust 18, 2015
Great place to work
Safety is taken very seriously
Benefits included
Great crews
Organised leadership
Fun work place with supportive management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to pursue new careers
Operator/Foreman (Former Employee) –  North Vancouver, BCMarch 30, 2015
lots of room to advance and apply your potential
good atmosphere with pretty good support from management
most enjoyable part was learning new things and growing my skill set for future employment
hardest part for me was working so much overtime and not seeing my family as much but the money more than compensated
Pros
free training
Cons
long weeks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working for Kiewit was pretty good
Electrician Journeyman (Former Employee) –  Kearl Lake, ABJune 15, 2015
Working for Kiewit was pretty good, it was a camp job witch I like a lot. 90% of the guys that I worked were easy to get along with and helpful when you needed help. Management was the same I would definitely work for them again.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company, the Best!
Heavy Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Kerl LakeMay 30, 2015
Excellent company to work for.

Excellent safety record.

Great salary.

Really care about employees.

Great education and training program.

Great camp accommodation and food.

All management fair and great people.

Would work there again anytime.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for a while
Environmental Lead (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABAugust 11, 2015
There are some definite perks to working here, including competitive compensation, annual pay increases and paid time off, but there is very poor work/life balance.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good bunch of workers for the most part
CWB Welder (Former Employee) –  Marystown, NLJune 30, 2015
Management is unorganized, left hand doesn`t know what the right hand is doing. If better organized and managed better would be the best place i have ever worked.
Pros
Great co-workers
Cons
14 days away from family
Was this review helpful?Yes7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
millwright
Millwright Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, ABAugust 6, 2015
was there for short job it was good and I would work there again. Flights where paid for and safety was good.bus ride to site was long and came was ok.
Pros
flights
Cons
buddy system
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing learning opportunity but no life worklife balance
Human Resources Generalist (Former Employee) –  EdmontonMarch 5, 2015
is a company with great opportunity for growth you will get a job that is worth it and they give you lots of responsibility however the lack of respect and the long hours make this company hard to work for
Pros
free trips and compensation and if you get shares
Cons
loooooong hours and they dont treat people with respect
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 716 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Salary/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.4
Culture
3.7