Find companies:
Kiewit
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
149 reviews

Kiewit Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kiewit not a good place to work
manager (Former Employee), albertaOctober 9, 2012
Pros: nothing
Cons: no support and lots of inexperence
Americans infiltrating Canada and dont have a clue with their cowboy attitudes

Stay away from this outfit they are trouble
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a good place to work. It was a very clean site.
Pipe Fitter (Former Employee), Marystown, NLSeptember 27, 2012
Safety meetings in the moning were well performed. My co-workers were great to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work enviroment
Rig Welder (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABSeptember 20, 2012
Pros: safe work enviroment
Cons: night shift
Great company that really looks out for safety. They dont push to hard and they like to have good communication with its workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no personal time
mobile crane operator (Former Employee), edmonton albertaSeptember 10, 2012
worked night shifts, never got to see the family,
but decent machines that had regular maintance
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
kiewit I must say is the best place that I have ever worked to date ,lots of help from upper management
kiewit foreman (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABAugust 27, 2012
Every day started with a safety meeting and twice a month we had a safety review about the previous two weeks . And the mentoritng that went on was just great ,not only foreman down but also from above ,the whole crew was a well oiled machine which worked for the better of everyone it was great .Again the hardest part of the job was getting new people – more... to buy into safety and the best was the friendship and the everyone watced out for everyone attitude – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job at kearl
Crane Operator (Former Employee), Kearl Lake, ABAugust 19, 2012
Pros: education(extra training)
Cons: isolation(no way out of camp) ok because was working 7 days.
early mornings building construction, was always able to get training from management, wide variety of cultures of coworkers, sometimes had a hard times understanding languages, always enjoy new challenges, it seems to make the job interesting.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place to work
Fabrication Lead Planner (Former Employee), EdmontonMay 14, 2012
Pros: comraderie, helping and leading one another
Cons: lack of communications from upper management
Very busy environment but fun at the same time.
Without team work success is slower.
Lack of communications with upper management
Co-workers are excellent! We work hard and still manage to de-stress ourselves.
Hardest part of the job is not being recognized for the hard work the team has put in. And only one person gets the credits.
Having a good team – more... and seeing that we accomplish our targets is very rewarding. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company and staff,
40 Ton Rock Trucks, 980 loader, Excavator (Former Employee), Toba Inlet, British ColumbiaMay 2, 2012
Pros: excellent equipment workers staff and first nation
Cons: weather conditions, mountain slides, accidents
Worked with Kiewit on the most hardest project on the west coast of BC - Toba/ Montrose Hydro Electric Power Project. Very tuff area due to how remote, steep mountains and changing weather conditions. We had some very hard and sad days and lost some good co-workers and friends. The staff and management were excellent and treated me like family. The – more... project was one I will never forget nor the people and friends I made on that project. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company that Does Not Care About Employee Safety
Surveyor (Former Employee), Vancouver BCJanuary 10, 2012
Pros: good pay
Cons: employee deaths, injuries
Multiple accidents occurred while I was employed there. When you try to report an incident the safety team ignores you. If you get injury compensation you will lose your job.
In addition, you are told to keep an eye out for environmental impacts but then ignored if you report them, as well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall Great Company
Discipline Superintendent (Current Employee), omahaAugust 10, 2014
Challenging work, good pay and excellent benefits, many opportunities to learn various aspects of the business. Management is good, makes noticeable effort to take care of employees, at times it can feel like a person has to many bosses. Coworkers come from all sorts of backgrounds, for the most part easy to work with, team oriented.

It is an enjoyable – more... job, provides for very interesting challenging projects. The people that work here are some of the best in the business. This work does involve working long hours a lot of times. I'd say the hardest part of the job is frequent moving. Even that has a silver lining though because you get to see various parts of the country. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a good place overall
Iron Worker (Current Employee), Annapolis, MDJuly 24, 2014
Pros: night job
Cons: no breaks
sucks that you have to depend on the weather. operations are poorly ran
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Work / Life Balance
Electrical Engineer (Former Employee), Portland, ORJuly 21, 2014
Pros: compensation
Cons: no work life balnce
Kiewit is constantly bidding work all over the US. So, working for Kiewit means a strong commitment to the company. Family second.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience, not so much work-life balance
Structures Field Engineer (Former Employee), El Segundo, CAJuly 16, 2014
Pros: free lunches thursday, great benefits and matching 401k, great for entry level engineers looking to learn about the construction world
Cons: 12 hours is a short work day, great work ethic goes unrecognized, company is more about the image than attending to employees needs
As an entry level engineer, I came into an environment with not a lot of training available, but a huge amount of responsibility. I quickly learned everything relies on planning. The most difficult part of the job was communication between different levels of on the job. Management had one schedule, while us engineers went off their schedule, then the – more... whole thing changed the next day, and what you spent hours working on doesn't mean anything until 3 weeks down the road. I did enjoy connecting with the craft, actually checking all the work, and getting to use a builder's level everyday. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to be
Driver (Former Employee), Grapevine, TXJuly 6, 2014
Pros: good pay and benefits
Cons: occasinal time off from weather
I ran liming operations and occasional safety tours. This is what really sparked my interest in safety
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of work going on in a very busy atmosphere.
Piping Tech. (Former Employee), Ingleside, TXJune 10, 2014
Pros: many jobs available to be performed.
Cons: no matter the skills, or work established to move up, there's not much incentive, and pay is very low with little or no raises.
You can achieve many skills and be in control of your training.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Cost Engineer (Former Employee), CaliforniaMay 22, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: pay, hours
I'll make it easy and simple.
HR is a joke, no one knows anything.
No Life/Work Balance
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I will never work for this company again
Founding member of employee safety council (Former Employee), Ingleside, TXMay 20, 2014
Pros: excellent benefits
Cons: terrible working environment
Kiewit is a very political company. Unless you are related to someone in upper management, you will never get promoted.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
IT department is young
IM Regional Manager (Current Employee), Denver, COMay 19, 2014
If you want to move up in the company you need to move to Omaha, NE.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced very productive days.
CAD Technician / I.T (Current Employee), Metairie, LAMay 5, 2014
Pros: good money
Cons: away from home
I like working at Kiewit. I have learned a lot here. Worked away from home for 5 1/2 years ready to get back to Florida.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Company To Work For
NDE Tech (Former Employee), Kiewit, Ingleside TxApril 28, 2014
Cons: no room for advancement
Engineers are overworked. Very high turnover ratio, engineers get burned out and don't last more than two or three years. They advertise "Be part of the Kiewit family". There is no loyalty at the Kiewit Yard in Ingleside. Poor management, favoritism and way too much office drama. No room for advancement unless you kiss up or are in "The Click". Pay – more... raises are nonexistent. It doesn't matter how much you learn or how much responsibility you take on, hourly staff personnel get a whole 25 cent raise each year and that's if your lucky to get that. – less

About Kiewit

Peter Kiewit Sons' is a heavyweight in the heavy construction industry. The general contractor and its subsidiaries have a breadth – Read more