Find companies:
Kiewit
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
168 reviews

Kiewit Canada Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Construction Millwright/Pipefitter (Former Employee), Christina Lake, AltaDecember 22, 2012
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
q Constructed and installed pumps, motors, turbines, fans and boilers in water treatment, aux boilers and steam and combustion turbine.
q Supervising lead pipefitters, welders and millwrights.
q Time keeping, conducting safety meetings, completing safe work permit applications, presenting progress reports to client, and all other related supervisory – more... tasks. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyed the gym after work. Good food and good hours
laborer on K3 Potash Mosaic Mine Site (Former Employee), Esterhazy, SKDecember 13, 2012
Pros: free breakfast, lunch, dinner, room. pay. great crew.
Cons: long hours, 300 ft up, windy, dusty.
-12 hr days.
-Learned how a 24 hr pour worked.
-Management was good to work for.
-Great team to work with, got along with everyone.
-Doing the same thing for 12 hours.
-Wages, and the crew I worked with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not too bad
Superintendant (Current Employee), Fort McMurrayDecember 7, 2012
Pros: money
Cons: long hours, no money for ot
Its ok,,,,, good for advancement
Lots of potential for moving around
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very coroperative people and good understanding of safety
Health, Safety& Environment Coordinator (Former Employee), Marystown, NLNovember 29, 2012
Pros: onsite access with vechile
Cons: night shift
great place to work ,good management communication,great safety policies and good people..i realy enjoyed working as a safety adviser at kiewit,and to them safety comes first...
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very management heavy
Electrician (Current Employee), Sherwood Park, ABNovember 21, 2012
Pros: close to home
Cons: morale
Very pushy management/supervision
Big on the buddy system
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dont care about family life
Welder (Former Employee), Edmonton AlbertaNovember 14, 2012
Pros: not a lot to do
Cons: not a lot to do
Hired me for dayshift, then put me on night shift during orientation. Nightshift all foreign workers cant speak english. They couldnt care less that I have a family and my 74 yr old mother living with us. Ended up finding a different job on dayshift somewhere else
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!!
Steam fitter /QA/QC (Current Employee), Edmonton mod yardNovember 11, 2012
Very safety oriented , great Benifits and great wages. Lots of OT steady work working night shift has its pros and cons. Fridays are optional. People are saying that management is no good but those are the people that are screwing up and losing there jobs. If your a hard worker and work smart and properly then you have nothing to worry about. If you – more... are looking for a company with lots of room for advancement and safe steady work then Kiewit is the place to be – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
K2 Mining was the best company I have ever worked for.
Heavy Duty Equipment Mechanic (Former Employee), Fort McMurray, ABNovember 11, 2012
Pros: we were given all materials and shop equipment to perform every task safely and efficiently.
Cons: the work slowed down for my division, k2 mining.
Kiewit for me was a very good experience indeed. I was given the opportunity to work on some of the largest equipment with the best of mitigation tools, in an environment based on safety and doing the right thing at all times. I look forward to getting back with Kiewit once again. My division of Kiewit, K2 Mining, was a wonderful place to work, the – more... shop is neat, we have every shop tool necessary to perform every task without cutting corners. The comradery amongst the men was very strong, letting you know you were part of a team. As for the hardest part of my job, I would have to say knowing when I should or should not step in to stop an unsafe act when I witnessed seasoned co-workers.doing things they shouldn't. This can always be viewed two different ways. Our motto was "never walk past an unsafe act" , however, the seasoned technician will be quick to tell you to mind your own business, or not to be a proverbial "rat". There is uncertainty in how this is viewed by your co-workers, even when diplomacy in your intervention is used to the utmost extent. However when I witness a green hat performing an unsafe act, there is no aprehension in my intervening at all, using diplomacy of course. I always appreciate any constructive criticism that comes my way, especially when I am new to a site and under new management.
The most enjoyable part of my job has always been working on the largest and best equipment, being allowed to repair equipment the right way the first time, with the proper parts, instead of patching the job here and there to save expenses, knowing that it is the wrong decision, but it is what your employer tells you to do. I enjoy repairing my equipment the right way every time. And in time, this is where the real savings show themselves. A stitch in time saves nine, so to speak. Kiewit and I share these same beliefs and ethics, and this is why Kiewit is where I wish to work the rest of my years, no matter where the jobs may take me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working with the crew I worked with as they were safe and fun to be around
Pipefitter (Former Employee), Kearl lakeNovember 2, 2012
Pros: good camp
Cons: lack of experience in the supervision
Start with stretching before work, this was good and looked forward to it after a short while. Every company does somethings a litttle different, and I thought that the preparation was not as good as i could have been. The most difficult part of the job was some days not having work to do and having to find something to do to look busy. I always enjoy – more... completing a job and it turning out really well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of different Job activities
Welder/ Fitter (Former Employee), CNRLOctober 10, 2012
Pros: free work gear
Cons: lot overtime
How to weld pipe
How to operate forklift
doing different Task
Learning new jobs
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kiewit not a good place to work
manager (Former Employee), albertaOctober 9, 2012
Pros: nothing
Cons: no support and lots of inexperence
Americans infiltrating Canada and dont have a clue with their cowboy attitudes

Stay away from this outfit they are trouble
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a good place to work. It was a very clean site.
Pipe Fitter (Former Employee), Marystown, NLSeptember 27, 2012
Safety meetings in the moning were well performed. My co-workers were great to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work enviroment
Rig Welder (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABSeptember 20, 2012
Pros: safe work enviroment
Cons: night shift
Great company that really looks out for safety. They dont push to hard and they like to have good communication with its workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no personal time
mobile crane operator (Former Employee), edmonton albertaSeptember 10, 2012
worked night shifts, never got to see the family,
but decent machines that had regular maintance
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
kiewit I must say is the best place that I have ever worked to date ,lots of help from upper management
kiewit foreman (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABAugust 27, 2012
Every day started with a safety meeting and twice a month we had a safety review about the previous two weeks . And the mentoritng that went on was just great ,not only foreman down but also from above ,the whole crew was a well oiled machine which worked for the better of everyone it was great .Again the hardest part of the job was getting new people – more... to buy into safety and the best was the friendship and the everyone watced out for everyone attitude – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job at kearl
Crane Operator (Former Employee), Kearl Lake, ABAugust 19, 2012
Pros: education(extra training)
Cons: isolation(no way out of camp) ok because was working 7 days.
early mornings building construction, was always able to get training from management, wide variety of cultures of coworkers, sometimes had a hard times understanding languages, always enjoy new challenges, it seems to make the job interesting.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place to work
Fabrication Lead Planner (Former Employee), EdmontonMay 14, 2012
Pros: comraderie, helping and leading one another
Cons: lack of communications from upper management
Very busy environment but fun at the same time.
Without team work success is slower.
Lack of communications with upper management
Co-workers are excellent! We work hard and still manage to de-stress ourselves.
Hardest part of the job is not being recognized for the hard work the team has put in. And only one person gets the credits.
Having a good team – more... and seeing that we accomplish our targets is very rewarding. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company and staff,
40 Ton Rock Trucks, 980 loader, Excavator (Former Employee), Toba Inlet, British ColumbiaMay 2, 2012
Pros: excellent equipment workers staff and first nation
Cons: weather conditions, mountain slides, accidents
Worked with Kiewit on the most hardest project on the west coast of BC - Toba/ Montrose Hydro Electric Power Project. Very tuff area due to how remote, steep mountains and changing weather conditions. We had some very hard and sad days and lost some good co-workers and friends. The staff and management were excellent and treated me like family. The – more... project was one I will never forget nor the people and friends I made on that project. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company that Does Not Care About Employee Safety
Surveyor (Former Employee), Vancouver BCJanuary 10, 2012
Pros: good pay
Cons: employee deaths, injuries
Multiple accidents occurred while I was employed there. When you try to report an incident the safety team ignores you. If you get injury compensation you will lose your job.
In addition, you are told to keep an eye out for environmental impacts but then ignored if you report them, as well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ENVIRONEMENT
QC Inspector (Former Employee), SYNCRUDESeptember 8, 2014
JOURNEE DE TRAVAIL TRES INTERESANTE

JE SUIS TRES PROFESSIONEL DANS MON POSTE DONC RIEN DE DIFFICILE

J'ADORE MON TRAVAIL

About Kiewit

Peter Kiewit Sons' is a heavyweight in the heavy construction industry. The general contractor and its subsidiaries have a breadth – Read more