Find companies:
Kiewit
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
90 reviews

Kiewit Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dont care about family life
Welder (Former Employee), Edmonton AlbertaNovember 14, 2012
Pros: not a lot to do
Cons: not a lot to do
Hired me for dayshift, then put me on night shift during orientation. Nightshift all foreign workers cant speak english. They couldnt care less that I have a family and my 74 yr old mother living with us. Ended up finding a different job on dayshift somewhere else
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!!
Steam fitter /QA/QC (Current Employee), Edmonton mod yardNovember 11, 2012
Very safety oriented , great Benifits and great wages. Lots of OT steady work working night shift has its pros and cons. Fridays are optional. People are saying that management is no good but those are the people that are screwing up and losing there jobs. If your a hard worker and work smart and properly then you have nothing to worry about. If you – more... are looking for a company with lots of room for advancement and safe steady work then Kiewit is the place to be – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
K2 Mining was the best company I have ever worked for.
Heavy Duty Equipment Mechanic (Former Employee), Fort McMurray, ABNovember 11, 2012
Pros: we were given all materials and shop equipment to perform every task safely and efficiently.
Cons: the work slowed down for my division, k2 mining.
Kiewit for me was a very good experience indeed. I was given the opportunity to work on some of the largest equipment with the best of mitigation tools, in an environment based on safety and doing the right thing at all times. I look forward to getting back with Kiewit once again. My division of Kiewit, K2 Mining, was a wonderful place to work, the – more... shop is neat, we have every shop tool necessary to perform every task without cutting corners. The comradery amongst the men was very strong, letting you know you were part of a team. As for the hardest part of my job, I would have to say knowing when I should or should not step in to stop an unsafe act when I witnessed seasoned co-workers.doing things they shouldn't. This can always be viewed two different ways. Our motto was "never walk past an unsafe act" , however, the seasoned technician will be quick to tell you to mind your own business, or not to be a proverbial "rat". There is uncertainty in how this is viewed by your co-workers, even when diplomacy in your intervention is used to the utmost extent. However when I witness a green hat performing an unsafe act, there is no aprehension in my intervening at all, using diplomacy of course. I always appreciate any constructive criticism that comes my way, especially when I am new to a site and under new management.
The most enjoyable part of my job has always been working on the largest and best equipment, being allowed to repair equipment the right way the first time, with the proper parts, instead of patching the job here and there to save expenses, knowing that it is the wrong decision, but it is what your employer tells you to do. I enjoy repairing my equipment the right way every time. And in time, this is where the real savings show themselves. A stitch in time saves nine, so to speak. Kiewit and I share these same beliefs and ethics, and this is why Kiewit is where I wish to work the rest of my years, no matter where the jobs may take me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of different Job activities
Welder/ Fitter (Former Employee), CNRLOctober 10, 2012
Pros: free work gear
Cons: lot overtime
How to weld pipe
How to operate forklift
doing different Task
Learning new jobs
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kiewit not a good place to work
manager (Former Employee), albertaOctober 9, 2012
Pros: nothing
Cons: no support and lots of inexperence
Americans infiltrating Canada and dont have a clue with their cowboy attitudes

Stay away from this outfit they are trouble
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work enviroment
Rig Welder (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABSeptember 20, 2012
Pros: safe work enviroment
Cons: night shift
Great company that really looks out for safety. They dont push to hard and they like to have good communication with its workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no personal time
mobile crane operator (Former Employee), edmonton albertaSeptember 10, 2012
worked night shifts, never got to see the family,
but decent machines that had regular maintance
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
kiewit I must say is the best place that I have ever worked to date ,lots of help from upper management
kiewit foreman (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABAugust 27, 2012
Every day started with a safety meeting and twice a month we had a safety review about the previous two weeks . And the mentoritng that went on was just great ,not only foreman down but also from above ,the whole crew was a well oiled machine which worked for the better of everyone it was great .Again the hardest part of the job was getting new people – more... to buy into safety and the best was the friendship and the everyone watced out for everyone attitude – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job at kearl
Crane Operator (Former Employee), Kearl Lake, ABAugust 19, 2012
Pros: education(extra training)
Cons: isolation(no way out of camp) ok because was working 7 days.
early mornings building construction, was always able to get training from management, wide variety of cultures of coworkers, sometimes had a hard times understanding languages, always enjoy new challenges, it seems to make the job interesting.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place to work
Fabrication Lead Planner (Former Employee), EdmontonMay 14, 2012
Pros: comraderie, helping and leading one another
Cons: lack of communications from upper management
Very busy environment but fun at the same time.
Without team work success is slower.
Lack of communications with upper management
Co-workers are excellent! We work hard and still manage to de-stress ourselves.
Hardest part of the job is not being recognized for the hard work the team has put in. And only one person gets the credits.
Having a good team – more... and seeing that we accomplish our targets is very rewarding. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, interesting and good overall
Commercial and Industrial Electrician (Former Employee), Sioux City, IAApril 14, 2014
Pros: free water all you could drink and morning and afternoon excercise
Cons: no too many
This job was mainly manned by electricians from other locals (cities) it was difficult for that alone but the guys made it fun and very interesting we learned to do things in many ways since everyone did things different where they come from but yet we all got along some better then others. Management was good they were very concerned about safety.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Drug addicts
Pipefitter (Former Employee), Gillette wyoApril 13, 2014
Pros: no rights
Cons: drugs, unsafe tic has killed several of its employees
Supervision use and sells meth.
Aliens welcome
Very evil corporation
Pays substandard wages and performs illegal hiring practices
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical political corporate BS
HR (Former Employee), Omaha, NEApril 7, 2014
If you're not a golden child you won't get very far...they definitely play the political favorites. If you're not that AGGRESSIVE person...but a person who comes to work everyday and does their job..you won't get very far. That doesn't go very far with this company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Internship
Intern (Former Employee), Brownsville, TXApril 5, 2014
I worked with Kiewit on a summer internship. I spent one to two weeks in each aspect of the company to get a well rounded education of the construction process during my time with the company. The co-workers were helpful and the management gave great guidance during the summer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Experiance
Staff Tax Accountant (Former Employee), Omaha, NEMarch 26, 2014
• Prepared Federal partnership returns.
• Computed estimated tax payments.
• Reconciled clients A/R and A/P in QuickBooks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
scaffold helper (Former Employee), ingleside, txMarch 26, 2014
Pros: free lunches sometimes
Cons: short breaks
learn different things ex. carpenter, scaffold herlper, painter helper, and many more.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid Company, but don't expect too much.
Quality Dept Drone (Current Employee), KansasFebruary 17, 2014
Pros: good benefits. steady work.
Cons: poor work life balance. expect divorce...
Loves to hire young grads with the lure of a decent salary right out of school. It does not take a degree in math to see the end result is about $25/hr. They will work you for all they can get (60-70 hours a week). Excellent place to learn the biz though... Pretty typical top heavy management. Expect office politics and drama. Top notch benefits. If – more... you are one of the chosen few you can retire a millionaire. Lots of contracts all over. Staying gainfully employed has never been a problem. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No respect for engineering degree and PE
Engineer (Current Employee), OmahaFebruary 14, 2014
Pros: looks good on your resume, they hire a ton knowning they have a large drop out rate
Cons: low pay for engineering degree, expect 7day/+70 hour weeks, no family life, no direction in your own career, expect you to be a follower, boys club, drastically behind in technology and the reason they don't support the pe
If you want your PE license I would look at a different company. Information from interview is completely different then the office you will work in. You have no direction for the job you work in or the direction your career will take. They have you fill out paperwork about your interests but every "opportunity" present was the complete opposite. If – more... you have a working spouse, they expect you to leave them or have them quit becuase you will move on average once a year, and be expected to move in one day. Health care cost affordable but in the end doesn't cover anything. You get a lot of PTO days but you are expected to not use them. I went to the ER one morning and was asked to be in the office in an hour. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work an average of 70 hours/week with average pay (Salary)
Engineer II (Former Employee), Santa Fe SpringsJanuary 31, 2014
Pros: pto, except that any sick time must be made up over the weekend.
Cons: no time for family. all company travel(flights/ driving) is expected to be done on your own time, weekends or late night.
Not much opportunity for training. If you want to be a manager and work 5 to 6 days per week and travel for business on the weekends, this might be the place for you. I was very dissatisfied with this company, you can do much better so don't settle.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family oriented work environment
Field Engineer (Current Employee), College Station, TXNovember 19, 2013
A typical day consists of being in the office 50% of the time working on design work or estimating and you typically spend the other 50% of the time in the field.

About Kiewit

Peter Kiewit Sons' is a heavyweight in the heavy construction industry. The general contractor and its subsidiaries have a breadth – Read more