Find companies:
Kiewit
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
90 reviews

Kiewit Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experiences and challenges
Junior Civil Engineer (Former Employee), Kapuskasing, ONApril 5, 2014
Pros: continuous learning
Cons: away from home a lot, long hours
Safety is a never ending topic at Kiewit. They care about their people and invest in you. About 66% of your life is lived surrounded by people from your company, as you live at a camp for some remote work. Everyone is driven to excel in their job, enforcing a positive working environment. Management is more secluded from their people, as the opportunities – more... in Kiewit tend to be larger scale projects. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mod yard management is horrible!
Fitter (Former Employee), Sherwood Park, ABApril 1, 2014
Pros: home every night
Cons: upper management in yard
Only way to get ahead is kiss a$& in office. They didn't like when people spoke up and spoke there mind. Management would say one thing do another. Throw you under the bus any chance they got! Was a good place to work at first and went to complete sh.t past 6 months
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Heavy Construction work Fastpaced but enjoyable workers.
Rebar Ironworker (Former Employee), Bull Arm, NLMarch 22, 2014
Pros: great pay
Cons: weather
When your day got started it was very physical,you quickly learn to work as a teamwith a good bunch of workers the hardest part of the job would have to be the conditions that you had to work in to get the job done.The most enjoyable part besides the physical workout is the people you work with and around.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place To Work!
PIPEFITTER (Current Employee), Kearl Oil SandsMarch 18, 2014
Very Safety Orientated , great staff . room to move up...overall great place to work!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
review done
Superintendent (Former Employee), ONFebruary 13, 2014
Over all it was a great place to work Enjoyed working with my crew everybody had a great sense of humor Not much to do at camp but worked long hours watch tv play pool etc .We worked on emergency all the time if a door would break down you had to go now Everything was priority I learned alot from younger employees its amasing the skills you can find – more... out there The hardest thing i found here was to try to please everybody Either the food was no good or temp to cold or to hot A bunch of men in a camp is somrthing like a day care center lol A good days work starts at 5:30 and done around seven at night But your on 24 hrs on callI enjoy working in camps you meet different people make new friends and make more money then city work – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work,
Rig Welder (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABFebruary 9, 2014
start with safety talk, then job scope, any issues that may arise in the days planning, gather tools and equipment to do task.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great overall company attitude for subcontractors
Carpenter (Former Employee), Kapuskasing, OntarioFebruary 8, 2014
Pros: 10 hour days meaning great pay
Cons: cold weather
Installing formwork according to blueprints and job requirements. Installing/assembling handrail and other safety devices as required.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly envirement
Draftsperson (Former Employee), Sherwood Park, ABFebruary 5, 2014
it is fun working with co-workers and supervisor, they are friendly and helpful. i learned new software, new system, new culture.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company that keeps employees very informed on the happenings
Travel Coordinator (Former Employee), calgary, AbJanuary 30, 2014
Pros: appriciates all hard work
Cons: on call sometimes
Company does do a great job on informing empoyees on whats going on and whats new in the company
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst company I have EVER worked for
Pressure welder (Former Employee), Fort MacJanuary 24, 2014
Pros: there are none
Cons: everything about this brutal company
Never ever ever EVER!!!! Work for this hack company. The so called "foreman" and "general foreman" were brutal!! I have more knowledge in my pinky finger then these clowns had. Poor management. Poor planners the WORST quality control personal I have ever encountered. There wasn't one good thing about the job I worked. I'll give you a good piece of advice. – more... If you want to work with real professionals join a REAL union. NOT CLAC!! There a joke. I can't believe these donkeys get work? It's mind boggling. Like I said if you want to be treated with respect and work with the pros GO UNION!! And this so called "63 union". ITS NOT A FLIPPING UNION it's a highway!! They gave me a hoodie with there name splattered all over it. Needless to say it went directly into the garbage cause that's where it belonged. Would be embarrassed to walk around and admitting that I worked for them lol. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall good
Industrial Mechanic/Millwright Lead (Current Employee), fort mcmurrayJanuary 21, 2014
Great spot overall, job culture is great. Offers lots of challenges , and get to learn a great deal from other millwrights and other trades.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
•the most enjoyable part of the job
foreman (Former Employee), edmonton mod yardJanuary 20, 2014
the most enjoyable part of the job is to be part of the construction of such big project and work with very smart and pro active people
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was an adventure.
Concrete Pump Operator (Former Employee), LMRPJanuary 18, 2014
Pros: big money in camp jobs
Cons: the lack of true leadership sucks the life out if the men and therefore the moral is in the toilet.
I had the opportunity to work with some great guys at camp, and got paid large for it. But never in my life have I encountered a more two faced, inexperienced, and arrogant group of people as the staff from Quebec!! WOW!!
They talk about "Team work", "Safety", "The importance of family", and the best one of all "Communication"!!
IT'S ALL TALK! The superintendents – more... are so worried about covering their back sides that they don't have the stones to do what's right for the men, and ultimately right for the company as a whole.
And I can't even imagine how much money the company loses because of the "battles" between the different departments! You would think they were competing companies-but they are just different Kiewit departments on the same job. It really boggles the mind!
But what do I know......? – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced environement
Senior Lead Material Controller (Former Employee), Fort McMurray, ABJanuary 16, 2014
extreme challenges, fast paced environment, attention to details, long hours, procurement duties.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Apprentice Steamfitter/Pipefitter - Third Year (Former Employee), Edmonton ABJanuary 14, 2014
great place to work, not to pushy, forman are great. good location from home. will return when they have work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good wage for home every night work
Electrical Supervisor (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABDecember 31, 2013
Pros: good wage, home every night
Cons: not following through with promises from management
I worked here for over a year, the upper management would preach down rules and promises that were never backed up. They had great intentions that would be out weighed by a schedule of pushing out mods quicker. Several employees were asked to join a "core group" by John Macpherson the manager, but this wasnt backed up and 90% of those asked to join – more... were laid off with no transfers. Lots of talk of core values and what really matters but not a lot of action to back it up – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Lead Hand (Former Employee), Fort McMurray, ABDecember 5, 2013
Cons: limited growth opportunity, training
Large company with lots of work available. Great crew, not a lot of advancement opportunities
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great bunch of guys to work with
Labourer (Former Employee), Fort McMurray, ABNovember 18, 2013
There was always fun to be had at work with the crew I was on. Even after I was laid off there was continued contact with the guys on the crew. I really miss working with them. Hope one day we are all back on the same crew on another project
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fast paced and safe
Equipment Operator/Forman (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABNovember 18, 2013
Pros: safety orientated, organized
Cons: poor communication
Every morning the site services team assembled to discuss the work scope for the day followed by a team stretch and flex to avoid physical injury. Everyone would then write out a Job Hazard review for there specific tasks for the day. JHA's would then be signed off by the Forman or superintendent.
As the equipment operator/Truck driver for the site, – more... I would do pre trip inspections on all my equipment i would be operating for the day. (zoom boom, skid steer and Tractor trailer)
I would go to various areas of the mod yard taking calls on the radio for lifting pipe spools, scaffold racks or anything that needed moving with the zoom boom or skid steer. I also was responsible for bringing trailers over from our Lay down yard with pipe spools and various materials for continuing on construction of the mods.
Working at Kiewit Mod yard was very fast paced and saftey orientated. I enjoyed the challenge of keeping up with the pace and doing it without incident. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
General Labourer (Former Employee), Montréal, QCOctober 23, 2013
I had to leave the company for lack of work. Apart from that it was a good company

1 2 3 4 5

About Kiewit

Peter Kiewit Sons' is a heavyweight in the heavy construction industry. The general contractor and its subsidiaries have a breadth – Read more