Find companies:
Kiewit
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
149 reviews

Kiewit Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to learn
Pipe Fitter (Former Employee), Fort McMurray, ABJuly 16, 2014
Kiewit was a great start to a career. i was with them for three years and learned alot and was indenchered in the a apprenticship with in one year
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
played games by putting a pie on faces
Apprentice Electrician (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABJuly 7, 2014
Twice a year we had a safety rodeo meeting which thought us about safety at work place and also played games like at the end and BBQ.
It was fun learned different things about hazards at work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
kiewit
Pipefitter (Current Employee), Red Deer, ABJuly 6, 2014
kiewit is a great company and strives to be a safety, great team of staff including supers foremans and trade workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary
Lead Millwright (Current Employee), British ColumbiaJuly 3, 2014
I enjoyed working for Kiewit at this project in British Columbia
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
close to home was a nice benefit, decent pay
Painter/Blaster (Former Employee), Marystown, NLJune 30, 2014
Pros: good schedule, decent pay, close to home
Cons: dirty work, safety issues were not dealt with promptly
good schedule, dirty work, decent pay, very diverse group of individuals
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No loyalty to workers
Mechanic (Former Employee), Kearl lakeJune 22, 2014
Pros: free flights /camp
Cons: upper management
Had worked there since 2012 , I had opted out of going to apprenticeship training for fear of being laid off . After a discussion with the apprenticeship board I had agreed to do my training . Once I had flown back to work I showed up for an hour and was told I was not being hired back . They said there was a glitch in there system and sent me home – more... on a flight that day . Considering I'm a mechanic and have to supply my own tools you think if they had no intentions of bringing me back they would have sent my tools back with me . Overall anyone above your forman will treat as a number . I've never worked with a company what demands so much integrity from there workers but gives none in return . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Limited growth potential.
Piping (Former Employee), Kearl LakeJune 5, 2014
Long work days. Excellent people, in the field, to work with. I enjoyed the guys I directly work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
got to see the world
Pile Driving Operator (Former Employee), Fort McMurray, ABJune 3, 2014
got to travel to Canada
was the first time out of the country
hardest part of job was getting adjusted to the weather
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learned alot,enjoyed being a part of the huge project,Froth treatment.
Iron Worker (Former Employee), ABMay 15, 2014
Pros: money
Cons: weather
Kiewit is a great company to work for and site safety was excelent.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible moral
concrete finisher (Current Employee), mildred lk ab.April 24, 2014
Pros: decent pay, when they didnt mess it up
Cons: having to do things the hard way, not doing things the right way the first time. they like to play, games
We are treated like we're just a number. The management is the big problem with this place. Management has a hard time not letting the power they have go to thier heads. If youre hard up for a job than this is the place to go for a filler job. This place is no good for your mental health. Everything you ever learned any where else does not apply here. – more... This is a good place to work if you know nothing about the industry and are just starting out in your career. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very unorganized
Senior Quality Inspector - Piping and Mechanical (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABApril 11, 2014
Construction running the quality department. Travel arrangements were horrible at best.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mod yard management is horrible!
Fitter (Former Employee), Sherwood Park, ABApril 1, 2014
Pros: home every night
Cons: upper management in yard
Only way to get ahead is kiss a$& in office. They didn't like when people spoke up and spoke there mind. Management would say one thing do another. Throw you under the bus any chance they got! Was a good place to work at first and went to complete sh.t past 6 months
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Heavy Construction work Fastpaced but enjoyable workers.
Rebar Ironworker (Former Employee), Bull Arm, NLMarch 22, 2014
Pros: great pay
Cons: weather
When your day got started it was very physical,you quickly learn to work as a teamwith a good bunch of workers the hardest part of the job would have to be the conditions that you had to work in to get the job done.The most enjoyable part besides the physical workout is the people you work with and around.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
review done
Superintendent (Former Employee), ONFebruary 13, 2014
Over all it was a great place to work Enjoyed working with my crew everybody had a great sense of humor Not much to do at camp but worked long hours watch tv play pool etc .We worked on emergency all the time if a door would break down you had to go now Everything was priority I learned alot from younger employees its amasing the skills you can find – more... out there The hardest thing i found here was to try to please everybody Either the food was no good or temp to cold or to hot A bunch of men in a camp is somrthing like a day care center lol A good days work starts at 5:30 and done around seven at night But your on 24 hrs on callI enjoy working in camps you meet different people make new friends and make more money then city work – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work,
Rig Welder (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABFebruary 9, 2014
start with safety talk, then job scope, any issues that may arise in the days planning, gather tools and equipment to do task.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great overall company attitude for subcontractors
Carpenter (Former Employee), Kapuskasing, OntarioFebruary 8, 2014
Pros: 10 hour days meaning great pay
Cons: cold weather
Installing formwork according to blueprints and job requirements. Installing/assembling handrail and other safety devices as required.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly envirement
Draftsperson (Former Employee), Sherwood Park, ABFebruary 5, 2014
it is fun working with co-workers and supervisor, they are friendly and helpful. i learned new software, new system, new culture.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company that keeps employees very informed on the happenings
Travel Coordinator (Former Employee), calgary, AbJanuary 30, 2014
Pros: appriciates all hard work
Cons: on call sometimes
Company does do a great job on informing empoyees on whats going on and whats new in the company
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst company I have EVER worked for
Pressure welder (Former Employee), Fort MacJanuary 24, 2014
Pros: there are none
Cons: everything about this brutal company
Never ever ever EVER!!!! Work for this hack company. The so called "foreman" and "general foreman" were brutal!! I have more knowledge in my pinky finger then these clowns had. Poor management. Poor planners the WORST quality control personal I have ever encountered. There wasn't one good thing about the job I worked. I'll give you a good piece of advice. – more... If you want to work with real professionals join a REAL union. NOT CLAC!! There a joke. I can't believe these donkeys get work? It's mind boggling. Like I said if you want to be treated with respect and work with the pros GO UNION!! And this so called "63 union". ITS NOT A FLIPPING UNION it's a highway!! They gave me a hoodie with there name splattered all over it. Needless to say it went directly into the garbage cause that's where it belonged. Would be embarrassed to walk around and admitting that I worked for them lol. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall good
Industrial Mechanic/Millwright Lead (Current Employee), fort mcmurrayJanuary 21, 2014
Great spot overall, job culture is great. Offers lots of challenges , and get to learn a great deal from other millwrights and other trades.

1 2 3 4 5

About Kiewit

Peter Kiewit Sons' is a heavyweight in the heavy construction industry. The general contractor and its subsidiaries have a breadth – Read more