Kent Building Supplies Employee Reviews

Found 23 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job security
DEPARTMENT MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Fredericton, NBNovember 12, 2015
a great place for job security, able to get tons of training and support which helps the employee reach their full potential while on the job.
has a great family feel while working, lots of support.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Shipping/Receiving Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Moncton, NBOctober 18, 2015
With increases inventory coming in monthly, this stressful job was made fun by the employees. Management was very open to any ideas or suggestions, and made you feel at ease.
I always considered this one of the best jobs I ever had. The people were great, and the company wonderful.
Pros
Excellent employees
Cons
Low salary for more work
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast paced job. Exciting atmostphere
Freight Crew (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NLOctober 15, 2015
Putting away stock was a great job. I love seeing and doing new things and this was my favorite part of the job.

Management was very different however the way they ran things was their own way of doing things. I respected that.

Co-workers were great; made a lot of new friends and learned a lot about stuff I never knew about.

Great work experience.

Hardest part of the job was learning the different machinery.
Pros
Great hours, great co-workers and good location
Cons
Wage very low for work we were doing.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Cashier, Customer Service, Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Fredericton, NBOctober 7, 2015
Management team is fantastic! Really care about their employees and work as a team to bring the best possible customer service to the public. Very knowledgeable group of people!
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very satisfying
Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Dartmouth, NSOctober 5, 2015
8 to 10 hour work day
customers are key to the success of any business
management helped me learn and gain knowledge
lot of turnover, lots of training of new staff
training new people constantly
seeing repeat customers keep coming back to our store shopping
Pros
family lifestyle
Cons
training new associates
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable place to work
Cashier/clerk. Front end trainer. Office work (Former Employee) –  Dartmouth, NSAugust 27, 2015
a typical day was 7am 3:30 pm Head Cashier
my co-workers were very helpful when needed
hardest part of the job was when asked to cover a shift when the individual didnt show up
Pros
free lunches during meetings
Cons
long hours when asked to stay longer and cover a shift
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace with some minor issues to workout
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Fredericton, NBJuly 16, 2015
Working for KBS was a great learning experience, and allowed me to learn more about myself. The job itself was fun, and working with contractors always made the day enjoyable. The turnover rate took some getting used to, as we were always having to learn who new people were.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steady, fun, and safe work atmosphere
Hardware & Project Desk (Former Employee) –  Woodstock, NBApril 27, 2015
I felt KBS did a very good job training me for particular jobs, although I did need to learn some on the go. Benefits were worth it as a career but not for short time employment.
Pros
promotions, discounts, and social
Cons
average to minimum wage pay
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive
Yard Worker (Former Employee) –  Yarmouth, NSJanuary 8, 2015
managed lumber and necessity's in the storage shed , learned how to communicate with people in a busy environment , co-workers were greatly nice and fun to work around, hardest part was driving the lift at the time , but managed after having practice, enjoyable part was communicating with others about the lumber
Pros
fresh air
Cons
slow delivery
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Busy and a Great Work Environment
Kitchen's Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NLDecember 29, 2014
The people that I work with are great, fun, dosent even feel like you're working!
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a nice place to work
Yard Supervisor (Current Employee) –  woodstock new brunswickOctober 14, 2014
its all about serving the public and to keep them coming back.
Pros
good discount
Cons
short hours
Was this review helpful?Yes2No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place and fun
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Saint John, NBOctober 1, 2014
the management team and always willing to work extra hours and the customers
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible place to work poor management.
warehouse worker (Former Employee) –  new minasJuly 28, 2014
Not a very nice place to work management would look out for their own well being andforget about the other employees to much back stabbing .
Pros
good hours payed breaks
Cons
no consideration for amount of work done.
Was this review helpful?Yes15No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer service oriented and an enjoyable place to work
Customer Service/Cash Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Moncton, NBJuly 10, 2014
A typical day at work would involve processing purchases and refunds for customers. I also help with signage for the store and order supplies for the cashes and service desk.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  halifaxMay 6, 2014
i have learned a lot of things e.g. how to deal with customers, working in a team,
Was this review helpful?Yes5No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well organized and truly cares for wellbeing of employees
Picker (Former Employee) –  Moncton, NBJanuary 6, 2014
The experience overall was a good one but only had a few weeks on the job as a job in my field of expertise came available. A very good system of checks and balances in place to look after the employees wellbeing.
Pros
employee discounts and clothing assistance as much as 85%
Cons
getting use to the 4:30 to 12:30 shift
Was this review helpful?Yes6No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work with customers on their building projects
Sales A (Former Employee) –  Dieppe, NBJuly 2, 2013
Everything from A to Z on home renovations and building projects, material needed, etc.
Pros
clients
Cons
working evenings and weekends, no benefits and low wages
Was this review helpful?Yes3No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved what I did
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  NSMarch 5, 2013
It was great, got to meet new people and talk to old friends! It was alot of fun and my employer respected me!
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not very good.
Driver/operator (Current Employee) –  Corner Brook, NLDecember 23, 2012
There is poor management and not real respect for their employies.
Pros
good co workers.
Cons
low pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes21No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
THE PLACE ALWAYS FELT LIKE YOU WEREN,T GOODENOUGH.
Contractor Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  NEW MINAS N.S.August 21, 2012
THE CUSTOMERS MADE THE DAY. CO-WORKERS WOULD OFTEN WALK AWAY AND NOT HELP. MANAGEMENT WAS MORE CONCERED ABOUT THEIE REVIW.THE HARDEST PART OF THE JOB WAS BEING UNDER SCRUTINEY ALL THE TIME.
Pros
commission
Cons
always being scrutinized.
Was this review helpful?Yes20No

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 24 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture