Kelseys Original Roadhouse Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun experience with kelseys
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Vaughan, ON8 January 2018
The best thing about kelseys was i had made so many friend's from diffrent country. And as international student it was quite amazing.

I am greatful to kelseys original.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly Enviorment
Server & Hostess (Current Employee) –  Brantford, ON7 January 2018
Kelsey's is a great place to work. Everyone is super friendly and the management is great. It is a great job to learn excellent customer service. People are very helpful and everyone is treated like family.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comfortable and Friendly Work Environment
Head Hostess (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON6 January 2018
I have had many developmental opportunities working in this establishment and was able to learn a lot about the customer service industry as well as build on my interpersonal skills.

Hardest part of the job: having to pick up the slack of certain coworkers, especially on busier nights.

Most enjoyable part of the job: developing strong relationships with all levels of staff as well as guests.

Management was always friendly and willing to accommodate employees where necessary. Managers were always available and approachable if needed. Fellow employees were also just as friendly and easy to socialize with.

Kelsey's offers a laid-back and comfortable environment for both customers and employers while still presenting a strong level of professionalism. Overall a pleasurable and fun learning experience.
Pros
Friendly managers and employees, simple job tasks on a day-to-day basis
Cons
Problems with scheduled shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace
Server (Former Employee) –  Bowmanville, ON3 January 2018
I started off at Kelseys as a hostess and worked my way up to expo and then server. It was a good experience to have a feel on different perspectives within the restaurant.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy work place
Dishwasher/Kitchen Prep (Part-time) (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON2 January 2018
Company, was a good place to work, team players.
I prep food (cut, veg;s, weigh food,)
Dishwasher (dish pit) Using a commercial dishwasher
(dishes, pot pans, hand them ready)
Pros
free lunch
Cons
short hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Server / Line Cook (Former Employee) –  London, ON20 December 2017
Very fun place to work but working in the service industry will not get you through life. It has it's challenge's sometimes but we always manage to work through them.
Pros
free food
Cons
unpredictable hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive with hospitable workers
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON7 December 2017
Working at Kelsey's was enjoyable in terms of learning new things, communicating with coworkers and customers, handling the kitchen and also the substantial amount of free food.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people and management
Dishwasher/Kitchen Helper (Former Employee) –  Lakeshore, ON27 November 2017
Great people and workers good management good food aswell but hours were hard to do with school also going. Alot of new people so had to train them at times
Pros
Staff
Cons
Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People were nice and work was fun
Co-op Student (Former Employee) –  Whitby, ON21 November 2017
It wasn’t fun working there the staff was really nice. The staff taught me a lot while I worked there. I did a lot of duties every morning like cook bacon and portion different foods. The place was very clean and I was able to find everything I needed.
Pros
Great experience
Cons
its very slow in the morning
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Host/Server (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB6 November 2017
Fantastic place to work, it gets extremely busy on the weekends. Great people and great environment, Appreciative and knowledgable staff and great management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
now closed
Line Supervisor/Prep Cook (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON4 November 2017
The location is closed. As with most restaurants, there is no way to guarantee hours. It was enjoyable and fast paced. Management was ok but did change.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Pace
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Woodstock, ON30 October 2017
This was a fantastic place to work. The management team was the best i have ever worked for. They were caring, understanding, and always willing to help you out and make things happen for you.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun coworkers
Line cook/Host (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ON28 October 2017
The people who work here are great, always happy and laughing!

they put a lot of stress on the line cooks so when the restaurant is busy it is very hard on those in the back.
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work but does not advance from within the store
Hostess (Current Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON21 October 2017
Hires from outside the company not from current employees who have worked for numerous years. Fun place to work if you are only looking for a few hours a week
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not to bad to work there
Prep Cook/Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Cornwall, ON18 October 2017
hours were scarce and management was on you all the time.. mostly a good work environment . owner was a pain in the bum at times. but over all people were good to work with
Pros
staff
Cons
hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON17 October 2017
It was a fun place to work at overall. Very fast paced environment, Hardest part of job was to please the managers to a point where they appreciated it
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Kitchen Staff (Former Employee) –  Collingwood, ON4 October 2017
it was fun to meet new people and learn new skills. it was very fast pace. working here helped me work on my team skills. this was my first job and a great learning experience
Pros
free meals
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay.
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON3 October 2017
They expect so much work from one person, did not get that much appreciation from the good job I've done. They overwork you. Fair staff. The pay is poopy, but it's a good job to start if you want to experience the culinary field.
Pros
20% discount on CARA restaurants, 50% on home restaurant
Cons
low wage, less hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
company gone
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB3 October 2017
the company was great- the atmosphere was okay
not too stressful mostly
sports bar
good recipes
not so good food
learned many skills
first worked independently
Pros
lots of experience- good tips
Cons
long nights
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Hostess, waitress, busser, and food runner (Former Employee) –  Ancaster, ON15 September 2017
Had great people, the team acted like a family, it was fun and always trying to improve. They gave hard work recognition, and even if it was a long busy day, everyone made sure we were having at least one laugh that day
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Kelseys Original Roadhouse. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 229 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Salary/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.7
Culture
3.9