Kelly Services Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 174 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average Tempoary Employment Service
Production Line Worker (Occasional) (Former Employee) –  Belleville, ONSeptember 5, 2012
On an average day I would work with metal or plastic filling bending machines or working on a molding machine. test, tag, and box parts. I believe I learned you need to have fast movents and keen eyes. The management is decent they were usually nice and easy going. I found the co-workers were nice at times but some were quite rude depending on the temporay placement. The hardest part of the job was keeping up with the real employees of the factories not the employees through the temp. service. The most enjoyable part of the job was getting a few good giggles with some of the good people of the factories this temp. service deals with. All around it is a decent place for people to start their working life.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job security was always there.
Admin Assist/Clerical (Former Employee) –  Various LocationsAugust 16, 2012
Recording meeting minutes; preparing schedule of client appointments for upper management; typing letters, preparing reports and spreadsheets for review; greeting clients, setting appointments, answering phone lines.

I learned to be very patient; accept the days blessings and work the days short comings to come up with a workable solution for everyone.

My co-workers had many differant personalities, but I was always able to work closely and efficiently with all of them.

Hardest part of the job was leaving at the end of the day.

Most enjoyable part of the job was working with my co workers and clients.
Pros
wonderful co worker dispostions
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place
Onsite Coordinator-TransCanada (Former Employee) –  CalgaryOctober 1, 2014
face paced environment
learnt a lot
Management was ok
great co-workers
lots of volume of work
my co workers
Pros
flexible work schedule
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes10No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job changes constantly depending whose incharge
Certified Cook (Former Employee) –  TrentonMarch 11, 2015
80% of the workers were Professional and Good to work with, The others are bad apples, feel a sense of entitlement, lots of back biting, over paid unionized government workers who have got doing as little as possible while keeping there job down to a science.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no future
General Labour (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ONJanuary 8, 2015
Remove filled containers from conveyors
Manually pack goods into bags and boxes or other containers
Clean work areas and equipment, Feed and unload processing machines
Check products and packaging for basic quality defects
Assist process control and machine operators in performing their duties
company don't hired
co-workers very helpful and friendly
hardest part: rotating 12 hour shift's
Pros
good organized company
Cons
don't hired
Was this review helpful?Yes20No10
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent for contract work
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SKOctober 15, 2013
I had the pleasure of being a temp for Kelly Services in two different Canadian cities. I found both locations to be equally friendly, knowledgeable and professional. I found the application and testing process relevant and efficient. A placement was found for me very quickly and there weren't any shortages of placements thereafter. I really liked the way pay was handled, being paid weekly was a definite perk! Temping is a great way to gain experience and skills and to find a career. I'd definitely recommend Kelly Services.
Was this review helpful?Yes12No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nissan Canada Finance/Kelly Services
Accounts Payable (Current Employee) –  MississaugaApril 28, 2014
Working for Nissan Canada Finance/Kelly Services 6 Yrs
No advancement
No Growth
No Bonus
No Paid Sick Days
No Personal days
Joined on 4 MONTHS TEMP contract and its 6 YRS still working at same position. Every day my part time job is to find a new job.

my colleagues worked 10 YRS TEMP thought they will going to be PERMANENT Finally GAVE UP and LEFT.
Good Luck working at NISSAN CANADA FINANCE HEAD QUARTERS.
Cons
no advancement no bonus no personal days no paid sick days
Was this review helpful?Yes52No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of my dream job
Production Data Administrator (Former Employee) –  Ingleside, ONMarch 12, 2015
It was my one of dream job where i was working on contract. Kelly Services is very straight forward job agency who takes care of their client very nicely.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Helpful, Caring
General Labourer (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ONMarch 19, 2015
I can work both on weekdays and week-ends. I am really helpful and caring towards my staff. According to me no job is hard or easy.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a place to start a career
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Kingston, ONApril 11, 2014
Every job was a little different and a job's duration could range from just hours to weeks and very occasionally months. Management tells you they have "Jobs, lots of jobs" and lots of permanent jobs. In all the years I've worked with them I've only met one person who got a permanent job with them.
Pros
meeting new people
Cons
low pay, not paid for lunch, short-term temp jobs, management people and policies always changing
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Got a physical disability? Well don't tell them.
General Labourer (Former Employee) –  Brantford, ONNovember 27, 2014
After about 3 months working at Ferrero I mentioned to Kelly's that I had scoliosis, something I can't really do anything about. They decided to cancel my shifts and stop calling me all together. Discriminating, disrespectful, and horrible people. Don't ever go to Kelly's. Go to Randstad, never had a problem with them yet.
Pros
paycheck
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes35No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comfortable place to work.
Labourer (Current Employee) –  Ingleside, ONJanuary 19, 2015
Comfortable place to work. Management is knowledgeable and helpful.
Pros
employment
Cons
temporary
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employment Agency that works for their employees
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Halifax, NSOctober 18, 2012
I do various contractual assignments within the HRM. My day is never the same, and I get to meet various new people and different companies.
Working in this type of environment allows me to find the type of management style I can relate best too. And I always learn something new at each and every job I go into.
Pros
working in different environments.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alternate Root
On-Site Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Brantford, OntarioMay 14, 2013
My job at Alternate Root was grading tobacco as it came down the conveyor belt.
This job was seasonal in nature. I had the opportunity to work with the same crew for 5 years. We had the opportunity to develop a really good working relationship with one another.
Our day would start between 6:30 am to 7:00 am. The hardest part of this work would be the long days when we would encounter a bad kiln filled with mold. This would involve all of us tearing off the mold off every leaf when the kiln was bad. However, because I worked with the best crew, the day was made bearable. The best part of the job would be when we had a really good kiln and be done within 3-4 hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was okay
Full-time Supervisor (Former Employee) –  boltonOctober 29, 2012
12 hour shifts, 20min breaks and lines were too fast. management and co workers were friendly. lunchroom had a cafeteria which made fresh food so that was good
Was this review helpful?Yes5No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to start off young to save for school
Temp (Current Employee) –  Brantford, ONOctober 10, 2012
A day at work is easy to do, but there is a lot of repetitive movement
I learned that factories mainly hire temps
The management is kind to employ's
Co-workers are kind most of the time
The hardest part of the job was the repetitive movement
I enjoyed knowing I was working for myself to save for the things I will need in the near future.
Pros
work when needed
Cons
plans may be interfered with
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well organized, extremely friendly employees
Internal Contractor (Current Employee) –  Calgary, ABJanuary 2, 2013
-Kelly Services is well organized
-Kelly Services' employees are extremely friendly
-A typical day at work consists of me doing any work I am asked to do
-I learned how to coordinate a variety of events (meetings and training sessions) and I gained a lot of administrative experience
-My co-workers are wonderful to work with
-The hardest part of the job is trying to keep up with all of the events that I help coordinate
-The most enjoyable part of the job is meeting lots of employees
Pros
meeting lots of employees
Cons
working under pressure all day long, every day
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place Great people
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  London, ONJanuary 23, 2015
For a temporary placement company they have been great. Could not ask for a better treatment . Enjoyed working wherever I was placed.
Was this review helpful?Yes19No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A professinal company.
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ONJuly 30, 2012
This company was very organized and professional, however there was no room for advancement within the company.
Pros
offered a large amount of overtime, friendly co-workers.
Cons
no room for advancement in terms of a career, working through a temp agency.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with flexible hours
Administrative Assistant/Clerk Typist (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONJanuary 10, 2013
Work was routine
Learnt a variety of office procedures
Management was accommodating and hours were flexible
Co-workers were always helpful
Hardest part of the job was different job locations
Learning variety of administrative procedures
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
travelling to different locations
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 6,503 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture