Find companies:
kate spade
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
24 reviews

kate spade Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Enviorment
Sales Associate/ Cashier (Current Employee), Chandler, AZJuly 1, 2014
It's a great team environment. Helping the customer find what they want.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, Low Stress Environment.
Sales associate / cashier (Current Employee), Las Vegas, NVJune 26, 2014
Pros: 1 hr lunch per 8hr shift. free clothes, great discount
Cons: 5 hour shifts, parking, new management, crowds
a typical day at work starts with a warm welcome from other sales associates. Walking to the back room toting your favorite Kate Spade bag in hand. we all get a locker and sometimes share lockers because there is not enough. Co workers are friendly and always willing to help each other out. management is well…. debatable. there is some managers who – more... go above and beyond while others just stand around and complain. the hardest part of the job is keeping everyone comfortable as the store is small and often times a line must be started out side. the most enjoyable part of the job is the freedom of dress code and the great benefits which include 1-3 free pieces of clothing up to 4 times a year and the amazing employ discount not to mention great gifts for birthdays and holidays. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
waste of time,gas & energy
kate spade (Current Employee), CabazonJune 17, 2014
Pros: pay
Cons: everything else
they hired me on at the end of march used me for about 2 weeks then they cut my hours to zero i haven't worked there since April 18th they continued to send my schedule but i had no hours and then they stopped sending the schedule, i wrote them asking for the newest one and they never got back to me its been almost a month since I've emailed them and – more... still no response they have not terminated me or laid me off nothing have not received papers in the mail saying that i was they are a bunch of crooks looking for free labor out young adults and teens like my self i have bills to pay and 2 kids to support they way they do there employees is a bunch of BULL!!!!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fun place to work. Loved all the products so selling was something I was very passionate about.
Client Specialist (Former Employee), New York, NYMarch 17, 2014
Through out the day traffic in the store would either be very heavy or very slow but there was plenty to do during down time. I learned a lot about how product knowledge was the difference between making a sale and not making a sale. My co workers were a blast and very helpful.The hardest part of the day would be the end the day putting everthing back – more... in its rightful place, but once you memorized where evrything went things went a lot smoother. The most enjoyable part of the job I'd say was definitly interacting with the clients and making sure they had a wonderful experience while they shopped at Kate Spade. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fundamentals of a job during High school
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCMarch 3, 2014
This was my very first job as at first I was eager to where the cute clothes and get a discount for the product. This job quickly turned into a thriving environment for me where I longed to wake up early to help complete a floor set, process shipment and make sure the store windows were not just the first thing people see but the best. this is where – more... I gained a passion for marketing, customer experience reports and learning about what sells and why something sells more than something else, including product placement, time of year and customer feedback reports. Even-though I was just a sales associate, I worked with all of the team whenever I was not in school and they taught me lots of great techniques that I still use today. I definitely would say the hardest part of this job was not being able to grow as much as I wanted to due to the job advancement opportunities, and the most enjoyable was learning all the aspects of retail from the front of the store to the back. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fine retail job
Private events and sales at Southpark Mall (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCFebruary 26, 2014
Pros: discounts
Cons: not enough hours
A typical day includes greeting customers, engaging them in conversation/prompting sales/explaining product attributes and benefits. Co-workers are wonderful, as are the clients/customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional and very fast pace environment
Knitwear Freelancer (Former Employee), New York, NYFebruary 25, 2014
A typical day working at Kate Spade requires to produce all flats and edits for review and then cad all flats that are approved. Some of the responsibilities are updating the line sheet, taking photos of designs and updates, updating boards for presentations and reviews, proficient in illustrator and photoshop, naming and filing all designs and fabric – more... swatches, specing samples, updating BOMs and spec sheets, creating patterns and producing color ways for each design for approval. All the co-workers are professional and nice to work with. The hardest part of the job is completing the daily assignments on time. The managing of the team can use some help. Some of the assignments are time sensitive projects that require some time to be executed and are not given the appropriate time to be completed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work enviroment
Sales specialist (Current Employee), Bellevue, WAFebruary 6, 2014
A typical day at work consists of working hard with full energy; learning new arrival merchendise's. Paying attantion to my customer needs is always a priority. As a sales Associate providing great customer service is the main focus of my job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall fun place to work, where one can meet amazing people.
Stylist (Current Employee), Niagara Falls, NYJanuary 29, 2014
A typical day would consist of greeting customers and informing them of current sales and new product. Followed by checking back not the customer to see if they have any questions. The focus is on completing the sale and making the consumer feel good about what they may have purchased. I've learned so much from this company, including just how intricate – more... the construction of luxury handbags is. Along with how to become a better seller and not being afraid to take that next step to try bigger, better, new things. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun brand
Management (Current Employee), New York, NYJanuary 27, 2014
amazing collection, fun brand
hard work required
company friendly
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, exciting, and productive work environment
Temp Licensing Coordinator (Former Employee), New York, NYJanuary 13, 2014
Pros: long break, exciting tasks, friendly/energetic environment, and the sample sale!
Cons: none comes to mind
I LOVED temping for Kate Spade. I worked in the Licensing department as a Licensing Coordinator. I worked closely with the Licensing Manager, her boss, the Merchandising department and the Public Relations department. I learned a lot in this role in just 2 months. The perk of the job was the amazing sample sale for the holidays. I bought 5 handbags, – more... a wallet, hat and a fashion necklace for under $200! It was so much fun to work there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
daily work load
Stock Associate (Former Employee), Central Valley, NYJanuary 12, 2014
Pros: steady hours
Cons: part time.
i would receive shipment monday threw friday and unload it off the dock in a an organized pattern ready to be processed sent to the store . prices changes and shift are made at the warehouse before sent to store .
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun atmosphere, where most of the employees are great to be with. Supervisor on the most part are pretty good but do not have the real power.
Sales (Current Employee), Woodbury Commons, NYJanuary 5, 2014
Pros: everyone dresses very well, great location, discounts, a people loving job
Cons: stand all day with one 15 minute break and 1/2 hour lunch in an 8 hr shift
All in all you will get mixed feelings about working in Kate Spade. It is an easy jobs, if it is just a job. Most of the sales employees are great to work with, although as always there are the 3 or 4 that do not belong. There is a very corporal type of atmosphere by some of the supervisors, which is unnecessary. It is sales driven, although there are – more... no compensation nor rewards. Very competitive with some sales associate who do not care about anything but sales while stabbing their coworkers in the back. It is clearly visible. Some employees care some don't, because nothing will happen to those that clearly don't belong. No compensation, except for supervisors' and managements' recognition, who get rewarded for work of sales associate. We are constantly told that "corporate" is coming and we need to look our best and sweep and mop, and yet when they come they are in their worst outfits and don't care that we exist. We get token donuts, once in a while and water, no coffee or tea, small refrigerator, where 20 people try to stuff their food, and there is retail stock even in the bathroom. Some of the supervisor try to make it fun and they are approachable, but they are just one step above sales associate, with power over sales associate, but get to sit when tired! Upper management and KS clearly needs to start caring about their sales employees more than the self advancement of management. Yes, one more thing, our cars get towed for parking in Woodbury Grounds. Parking is not a first come basis. We have to park far away or take the bus that never comes from offsite so you must arrive at work an hour earlier to be on time. Now, supervisors never complain, so I feel that they get special privileges for parking rather than sales associate and they are always coming from the other side. So it it a great place to work, it's up to you. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working there, but it was really high end.
Supervisor (Former Employee), Saint Augustine, FLDecember 4, 2013
Pros: people were nice
Cons: not making my annual sales goal.
Not everone has the money to buy a $400.00 handbag everyday!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
kate spade live colorfully
Sales Associate (Current Employee), City of Sunrise, FLOctober 29, 2013
At work, everyone is always bubbly and happy to be a work and for the most part works hard. The hard part is the busy times when the customers are very demanding, but we all make it work by working together and aiming for the same goal at the end of the day. It is difficult to balance work, graduate school, and being a mom, but the management team has – more... worked great with me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day at Kate Spade
Store Manager (Former Employee), Pasadena, CAOctober 7, 2013
Pros: store discount
Cons: no holidays or weekends
Managed the over all daily operations of the store by reading the daily directive emailed from corporate. Also calculated the sales goal for the day and announced the feature product that was to be highlighted that week. Assisted and managed sales specialist. Also ensured all products and displays were merchandised effectively to maximize sales and – more... profitability. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work over school
Sales Lead (Former Employee), Tampa FlOctober 5, 2013
If your life is work this is the place for you. They expect you to be on call to them 24/7. I was told I could not go back to school if I worked there
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and fast paced environment
Wholesale Assistant (Current Employee), New York, NYAugust 6, 2013
Pros: market lunches, frequent outings, half day fridays
Cons: short lunch breaks
Fashion Inudstry! Fast paced and fun! Assisting the wholesale team is very fun during market when everything is busy and keep moving.

At other times, there is never a dull moment, love the environment, co workers an overall good experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Stressful work enviroment
Public Relations Associate/Stock Support (Current Employee), New York, NYJune 26, 2013
Pros: 50% discount on all merchandise
Cons: bad management, they dont care about their employees, just the business.
Work hard, dont get paid enough, very stressful enviroment. Very racist and biased.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Sales Supervisor (Former Employee), Aurora, ILApril 15, 2013
Pros: it was hard to be mad there.
Cons: small company for growth.
You get dressed up and sell great product. Small company so movement is hard. It is a commission based but not completely.The hardest part of the job is merchandising the bags to keep it interesting. The most enjoyable is the atmosphere, it was like going to a party everyday with the customers.

About kate spade

kate spade's story is one of simplicity, like the bags it sells, and expansion. The company, begun in 1993 by designer Kate Spade – Read more