Find companies:
kate spade
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
20 reviews

kate spade Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fundamentals of a job during High school
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCMarch 3, 2014
This was my very first job as at first I was eager to where the cute clothes and get a discount for the product. This job quickly turned into a thriving environment for me where I longed to wake up early to help complete a floor set, process shipment and make sure the store windows were not just the first thing people see but the best. this is where – more... I gained a passion for marketing, customer experience reports and learning about what sells and why something sells more than something else, including product placement, time of year and customer feedback reports. Even-though I was just a sales associate, I worked with all of the team whenever I was not in school and they taught me lots of great techniques that I still use today. I definitely would say the hardest part of this job was not being able to grow as much as I wanted to due to the job advancement opportunities, and the most enjoyable was learning all the aspects of retail from the front of the store to the back. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fine retail job
Private events and sales at Southpark Mall (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCFebruary 26, 2014
Pros: discounts
Cons: not enough hours
A typical day includes greeting customers, engaging them in conversation/prompting sales/explaining product attributes and benefits. Co-workers are wonderful, as are the clients/customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional and very fast pace environment
Knitwear Freelancer (Former Employee), New York, NYFebruary 25, 2014
A typical day working at Kate Spade requires to produce all flats and edits for review and then cad all flats that are approved. Some of the responsibilities are updating the line sheet, taking photos of designs and updates, updating boards for presentations and reviews, proficient in illustrator and photoshop, naming and filing all designs and fabric – more... swatches, specing samples, updating BOMs and spec sheets, creating patterns and producing color ways for each design for approval. All the co-workers are professional and nice to work with. The hardest part of the job is completing the daily assignments on time. The managing of the team can use some help. Some of the assignments are time sensitive projects that require some time to be executed and are not given the appropriate time to be completed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work enviroment
Sales specialist (Current Employee), Bellevue, WAFebruary 6, 2014
A typical day at work consists of working hard with full energy; learning new arrival merchendise's. Paying attantion to my customer needs is always a priority. As a sales Associate providing great customer service is the main focus of my job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall fun place to work, where one can meet amazing people.
Stylist (Current Employee), Niagara Falls, NYJanuary 29, 2014
A typical day would consist of greeting customers and informing them of current sales and new product. Followed by checking back not the customer to see if they have any questions. The focus is on completing the sale and making the consumer feel good about what they may have purchased. I've learned so much from this company, including just how intricate – more... the construction of luxury handbags is. Along with how to become a better seller and not being afraid to take that next step to try bigger, better, new things. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun brand
Management (Current Employee), New York, NYJanuary 27, 2014
amazing collection, fun brand
hard work required
company friendly
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, exciting, and productive work environment
Temp Licensing Coordinator (Former Employee), New York, NYJanuary 13, 2014
Pros: long break, exciting tasks, friendly/energetic environment, and the sample sale!
Cons: none comes to mind
I LOVED temping for Kate Spade. I worked in the Licensing department as a Licensing Coordinator. I worked closely with the Licensing Manager, her boss, the Merchandising department and the Public Relations department. I learned a lot in this role in just 2 months. The perk of the job was the amazing sample sale for the holidays. I bought 5 handbags, – more... a wallet, hat and a fashion necklace for under $200! It was so much fun to work there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
daily work load
Stock Associate (Former Employee), Central Valley, NYJanuary 12, 2014
Pros: steady hours
Cons: part time.
i would receive shipment monday threw friday and unload it off the dock in a an organized pattern ready to be processed sent to the store . prices changes and shift are made at the warehouse before sent to store .
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun atmosphere, where most of the employees are great to be with. Supervisor on the most part are pretty good but do not have the real power.
Sales (Current Employee), Woodbury Commons, NYJanuary 5, 2014
Pros: everyone dresses very well, great location, discounts, a people loving job
Cons: stand all day with one 15 minute break and 1/2 hour lunch in an 8 hr shift
All in all you will get mixed feelings about working in Kate Spade. It is an easy jobs, if it is just a job. Most of the sales employees are great to work with, although as always there are the 3 or 4 that do not belong. There is a very corporal type of atmosphere by some of the supervisors, which is unnecessary. It is sales driven, although there are – more... no compensation nor rewards. Very competitive with some sales associate who do not care about anything but sales while stabbing their coworkers in the back. It is clearly visible. Some employees care some don't, because nothing will happen to those that clearly don't belong. No compensation, except for supervisors' and managements' recognition, who get rewarded for work of sales associate. We are constantly told that "corporate" is coming and we need to look our best and sweep and mop, and yet when they come they are in their worst outfits and don't care that we exist. We get token donuts, once in a while and water, no coffee or tea, small refrigerator, where 20 people try to stuff their food, and there is retail stock even in the bathroom. Some of the supervisor try to make it fun and they are approachable, but they are just one step above sales associate, with power over sales associate, but get to sit when tired! Upper management and KS clearly needs to start caring about their sales employees more than the self advancement of management. Yes, one more thing, our cars get towed for parking in Woodbury Grounds. Parking is not a first come basis. We have to park far away or take the bus that never comes from offsite so you must arrive at work an hour earlier to be on time. Now, supervisors never complain, so I feel that they get special privileges for parking rather than sales associate and they are always coming from the other side. So it it a great place to work, it's up to you. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working there, but it was really high end.
Supervisor (Former Employee), Saint Augustine, FLDecember 4, 2013
Pros: people were nice
Cons: not making my annual sales goal.
Not everone has the money to buy a $400.00 handbag everyday!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
kate spade live colorfully
Sales Associate (Current Employee), City of Sunrise, FLOctober 29, 2013
At work, everyone is always bubbly and happy to be a work and for the most part works hard. The hard part is the busy times when the customers are very demanding, but we all make it work by working together and aiming for the same goal at the end of the day. It is difficult to balance work, graduate school, and being a mom, but the management team has – more... worked great with me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day at Kate Spade
Store Manager (Former Employee), Pasadena, CAOctober 7, 2013
Pros: store discount
Cons: no holidays or weekends
Managed the over all daily operations of the store by reading the daily directive emailed from corporate. Also calculated the sales goal for the day and announced the feature product that was to be highlighted that week. Assisted and managed sales specialist. Also ensured all products and displays were merchandised effectively to maximize sales and – more... profitability. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work over school
Sales Lead (Former Employee), Tampa FlOctober 5, 2013
If your life is work this is the place for you. They expect you to be on call to them 24/7. I was told I could not go back to school if I worked there
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and fast paced environment
Wholesale Assistant (Current Employee), New York, NYAugust 6, 2013
Pros: market lunches, frequent outings, half day fridays
Cons: short lunch breaks
Fashion Inudstry! Fast paced and fun! Assisting the wholesale team is very fun during market when everything is busy and keep moving.

At other times, there is never a dull moment, love the environment, co workers an overall good experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Stressful work enviroment
Public Relations Associate/Stock Support (Current Employee), New York, NYJune 26, 2013
Pros: 50% discount on all merchandise
Cons: bad management, they dont care about their employees, just the business.
Work hard, dont get paid enough, very stressful enviroment. Very racist and biased.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Sales Supervisor (Former Employee), Aurora, ILApril 15, 2013
Pros: it was hard to be mad there.
Cons: small company for growth.
You get dressed up and sell great product. Small company so movement is hard. It is a commission based but not completely.The hardest part of the job is merchandising the bags to keep it interesting. The most enjoyable is the atmosphere, it was like going to a party everyday with the customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to work
Assistant Buyer (Former Employee), New York, NYMarch 27, 2013
Kate Spade was an amazing place to work. They offered a great compensation/ benefit package. The people I worked with had to be some of the friendliest people I ever met.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, Colorful World
Sales Associate (Former Employee), CaliforniaNovember 15, 2012
Pros: discount, part-time benefits, commission, good base pay
Cons: management
Kate Spade New York is a fun, exciting place to work with plenty for a sales associate to do in order to build sales and keep busy throughout the day. Maintaining an excellent, up-to-date client sales book is essential for this job, and while challenging, is the best way to really connect with clients and build relationships.

Kate Spade's culture is – more... one of color, adventure, and individualism. The sales staff supports and encourages each girl to be the best she or he can be, and management expects nothing but the best from the associates.

Unfortunately, after devoting two years to the company, I was not allowed to go home to visit family for the holidays because of strictly enforced "blackout dates," days blacked out on the calendar around the holidays when no one can take vacation time. This is fairly common in retail, but sometimes they are flexible. Instead of receiving harsh punishment for tickets I bought back in August, I decided to resign.

This company pays sales associates well (plus commission), and after a year, part-timers can receive part-time benefits. Management and those in charge can be a little (or a lot) disorganized at times, leading to some frustration. It might have been just in my district, but upper management was pretty hands off, even when our store was unceremoniously lifted of a store manager for almost seven months.

All in all, Kate Spade New York is a good place to work. You learn a lot about how to work with people, how to sell to people, and how to create and maintain relationships beyond the workplace. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Global Experience.
Supervisor, Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Primm, NVAugust 7, 2012
Pros: all would benefit when the store exceeded their sales goal.
Cons: when short handed, we would run around each other, however, we always worked as a team.
Our business opened at 10 Am each day. The operations of opening were minimal, and rather pleasant. Working with the Kate spade brand would in itself be an adventure. Most of our guest were from Asia. In their country our product would be 4 to 5 times what we had as a MSRP. These were enormous figures, and not many would purchase. In our country, it – more... is more affordable to all. I would establish a Consultant/ Guest relationship, that would in turn be a opportunity for more movement of the product. Each Associate had their own Clientele book and would keep each guest informed on any upcoming sales/promotions. Our store also worked with send sales, (which were exciting) to accommodate each Client. We worked as a team ensuring that all received the sale/credit for his or her outreach.

Contest would be held to keep the excitement in the store and on the floor.

 

Business Analysis and Communication. Customer Experience and Client Development Standards. Product Knowledge and Training. Client Outreach. Recruiting and Interviewing. New Hire Process. Associate File Maintenance. Scheduling and Payroll. Associate On-Board Training. Benefits and HR Communications. Performance Appraisals. Store Operations and Initiatives. Inventory Control Standards. Office and Stockroom Organizations and Standards. Sales Audit and Media Standards. Technology -Communication and Follow up.Loss Prevention, Security and Banking Standards. Worked with the HR programs such as People Soft. – less

About kate spade

kate spade's story is one of simplicity, like the bags it sells, and expansion. The company, begun in 1993 by designer Kate Spade – Read more