Find companies:
Kal Tire
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
39 reviews

Kal Tire Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good team.
Head Tech/Shop Foreman (Current Employee), Barrie, ONJuly 15, 2014
Good people to work with. Very encouraging to furthering each ones career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Is a good place
Tire Technician (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJune 10, 2014
You can learn lots everyday about mechanical stuff on vehicles, good benefits, low pay, good managemen, good work enviroment
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Terrible Organization
Warehouse Shipper/Receiver (Former Employee), Acheson, AlbertaApril 30, 2014
Pros: gain share (profit sharing) after working for 6 months
Cons: ridiculous management, they are all after productivity and less concerned about workers wellbeing and safety, none of what they promised during interview was fulfilled, very high turnover, terrible work-life balance, bad wages
There is nothing good to write about this company. Got employed and put on a job without any training. None of the things they promised was fulfilled. I will advise anyone not to take a job with this company because the management is ridiculous
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Shuttle driver sales and service (Former Employee), Cranbrook, BCApril 16, 2014
I like the fast pace and also it was physically demanding long hours and kept busy
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
over promised and under delivered...
Store Manager (Former Employee), Maple Ridge, BCApril 2, 2014
No matter whom you interview with or what position you interview for, your experience will be the same. “You’re going to be a store manager making upwards of $90,000/yr. inside of 2 years!” that’s the line everyone gets. What they don’t tell you is that they are hiring 20 of you in the area and in the end there may only be 2-3 openings. They say you – more... don’t ever have to transfer to another location if you don’t want to. “You always have the final say” the truth is if you ever try to say no they tell you that if you say no now you may not be asked next time. Everything is run by intimidation.
In the end you’ll end up working 12-13 hours a day for around $50,000/yr. with no real future for growth. The culture the company has is amazing; they just don’t always live by it. They have these core values they call “Aims” and at the top of that list are customers then their people and then profit. Unfortunately the Sr. management team in the Vancouver area sees it as profit first and everything else can take a back seat.
Take my review for what it is. I’m an ex-employee (who quit, not fired) but my view is based on my experience. There are some very good people who care a lot working there. However there are the other kind of people there as well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Customer Service Oriented
ASSISTANT MANAGER (Former Employee), Kingston ONMarch 25, 2014
Pros: high compensation
Cons: long hours
Providing a tire/mechanical service above all the competition and the customers expectations. Was able to work in all aspects of the industry, and had training that I may not have experienced in an educational institute.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work, management turnover is high
OTR Tire Technician (Current Employee), AlbertaMarch 24, 2014
Pros: servicing heavy equiptment
Cons: away from home no overtime
overall good place to work however the management seems to have a higher turnover rate then the employees, learned alot about mining tire management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SAFE WORK
Shipper/Receiver (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABMarch 13, 2014
I welcome the opportunity to further discuss this opportunity and how my reliability, flexible and dedication will contribute to the success of your company
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
sales and service (Former Employee), langley B.CFebruary 24, 2014
Cons: no apprenticeships offered
Great staff, work environment, and reputable company to work for. Great training techniques and the latest mechanical hardware.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Fast pace and self motivated
Sales and Service (Former Employee), Airdrie, ABJanuary 19, 2014
To Full-fill customer orders mounting, dismounting, balance and oil changes. I also was doing service calls on farm equipment as-well as construction equipment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hardworking, quick learner, honest and patient
tire service tech (Former Employee), Fort McMurray, ABJanuary 9, 2014
Perform all necessary tire repairs, dismounts, and mounts of all tires at store location &field service calls.

· Drive haul truck, dozer, grader, forklift, zoom boom to the shop.

· Operate skid steer and bobcat for snow removal and tire and wheel assembly disposal

· Operate manipulator to install and remove tire

· De-energize all the equipment before – more... any work is done

· Check in, code and tag all tire inventories.

· Help monitor the tire inventory.

· Maintain and secure the tire warehouse, as well as keep it neat and clean.

· Maintain all tire department equipment to keep in safe working order and report all problems and breakage to supervisor or management.

· responsible for starting and turning in all work-orders and tickets to supervisor ormanager.

· Report all accidents immediately to your supervisor or management.

· Able to interact effectively with co-workers.

· Able to understand and comply with posted rules and procedures.

· Able to accept constructive criticism – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place to work at
Sales and Service (Former Employee), Fort Nelson, BCJanuary 6, 2014
Pros: great team environment
Cons: limited positions available
two thumps up

great place to meet people and develop personal skills.
Great time management and customer service!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome place to work, and a place where your not afraid to get dirty.
Tire Technician (Current Employee), calgaryNovember 26, 2013
Pros: great people
Cons: long hours
Honestly, for this job, if you cant lift 50 or more pounds i wouldnt recommend it because torquing nuts on a tire requires a minimum of 80 pounds and your lightest tire is about 30-35 pounds but great opportunity to learn the basics of maintaining your vehicle.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed my working days at Kal Tire.
Automotive Technician (Current Employee), Vancouver, BCNovember 24, 2013
Pros: comfortable work environment
Cons: low quality sales and management
A typical day at work was enjoyable for me. I displayed my knowledge and applied my abilities. The management at Kal Tire is acceptable but could be improved. My co-workers change often especially when it is the "slow season". I generally enjoy working there but many workers do not display high quality of knowledge, experience and abilities on management – more... and sales. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful, semi friendly.
Tire Technician (Current Employee), Leduc, ABNovember 14, 2013
Pros: free lunches on saturdays, and customers bring in donuts or treats occasionally for the workers.
Cons: very stressful, and an unorganized work environment.
The day would start off slow most of the time, and it would be alright for the first four morning workers, once the whole team shows up and begins working, it's fast paced, people get angry and frustrated quickly, and at the end of the day I'm angry because of the stress and co-workers. The management is good, but they don't understand what goes on – more... in the shop when they aren't around. My co-workers irritate and get on my nerves by screaming orders for me to work faster and harder, while they stand around and talk. The hardest part of the job is not snapping under the pressure. The most enjoyable part is when it's slow, lunch break, and the beginning of the day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with.
Tire Sales and Service (Former Employee), Port Kells, BCOctober 23, 2013
Pros: great atmosphere
Cons: some jobs take a long time
Some days are long but very satisfying when you see the smile on someones face once you have helped them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
grand prairie was a very good place to work
mechanic technician (Former Employee), Burns Lake, BCAugust 17, 2013
Pros: free lunch or dinner if you had to work overtime
Cons: long hours some times
very busy place to work but they treated you very well
the hardest part was the tires lol
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hardworking enviroment with Long hours
Automotive apprentice (Current Employee), Kamloops, BCAugust 13, 2013
Pros: good pay, long days, great benefits
Cons: long days
Good place to work, learned how to work in teams/groups.
Long days frequently over 10 hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ridiculous.
Sales and Service (Former Employee), ONAugust 10, 2013
Pros: decent benefits.
Cons: every single aspect of this company.
Limited advancement. Terrible work life balance...I mean absolutely atrocity. Will over promise and under deliver consistently while pretending to be a viable career option for progressing in management. Terrible management dragging profits into the ground. I can't say enough horrible things about working for this company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It truly is a family
Marketing Research Coordinator (Current Employee), Vernon, BCJuly 9, 2013
Pros: people
Cons: not enough money
Loved working here. It was only a Mat Leave coverage, wish I could have stayed longer!