Find companies:
JV Driver
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
41 reviews

JV Driver Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safe work environment
Pipefitter (Current Employee), Cold lake AlbertaAugust 19, 2014
Pros: 14/7 shift rotations
Cons: poor communication between management and workers
enjoyable working with co-workers and good teamwork. Also very geared towards the health and safety of the employees
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic company to work for.
Journeyman Plumber, Pipefitter and Gas-fitter (Current Employee), ABAugust 1, 2014
Good crews, good work.
Lots of work in the oil and gas sector amongst other places.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall very good place to work
Electrician (Former Employee), Cold Lake, ABJuly 28, 2014
good place to work
good people
good pay
safe environment
good benifits
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Pipefitter (Former Employee), Leduc, ABJuly 25, 2014
JV Drivers is a great company to work for. Sometimes things aren't that well organized but with that many people I can understand. Some of the higher-ups in the company have to large of egos. They always seem to have work so your never unemployed unless you want to be. Safety is more about saving the companies butt than looking after the the working – more... men, but have learned over the years how to deal with them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
QC Inspector
QC Inspector (Former Employee), albertaJuly 23, 2014
JV Driver mod yard QC Inspector Jan 2012-June 2012. QC inspection
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gong show
Small equipment operator (Former Employee), Fort McMurray, ABJuly 19, 2014
Pros: steady work
Cons: to many greenhorns for leadership positions
Guys were fun to work with but management was to green behind the ears and safety only worried about the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pre-hiring process is frustrating
Journeyman Scaffolder (Current Employee), Kearl Lake, AlbertaFebruary 25, 2014
Pros: flights, lots of hours, good camp
Cons: hr department, management
I received an email by a JV Driver recruiter, and I responded, and received a prompt response. I followed up and tried calling them, but I kept getting an answering machine. So I emailed them, which was the best way to contact them. I then proceeded to send my tickets, and proof of hours, as well as passing an A & D test. I was then told via email, – more... that I would be contacted by somebody through the weekend, as it was a Friday. No calls. No call Monday. No call Tuesday. Ever since getting hired I have not had any support by anybody in the HR department. This is a good company with lots of work, but so far, I am very disappointed at how they handle "new hires". – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good first job in industry
Pipe Fitter apprentice (Former Employee), Logan Lake, BCFebruary 11, 2014
i had a great time learned a lot of new stuff with this copmany. had a solid crew. good foreman and night shift was awesome great company to work for
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable, Fun, Challenging
Mechanical & Hydro Foreman (Former Employee), Fort McMurray, ABFebruary 10, 2014
Each opportunity at JV Driver comes with challanges, supervvision provides assistance for employees to rise up and meet these challenges.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and friendly work environment
Plumber/pipefitter (Current Employee), Logan Lake, BCDecember 16, 2013
a typical work day at the hvmo site included the installation of pipe spools for float cells etc.. rubber lined pipe spools up to thirty eight inch in diameter including valves. As well working with welders , welding pipe and supports.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safety:Real joke
pipefitter (Former Employee), Cold Lake, ABDecember 9, 2013
Cons: long days with inadequate compensation, long commutes, poor communication, poor management, not enough materials, not enough tools, not enough work, poor moral, too much workers, not enough lunch trailer
Safety has nothing to do with employees but with protecting the company.
This site is lead by apprentice with many without ticket
The ratio is 1 journeyman for 5 to 8 apprentices
It's a dangerous job and unpleasant atmosphere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Human resources is the worst I've ever dealt with.
Crane operator (Former Employee), Cold lakeNovember 11, 2013
Cons: human resources
Before you ever get to worksite you will deal with HR department . They are terrible. If you have questions , you will be ignored. If you are a person that likes to know what is going on before hand....this is not the place for you. I've never encountered in 20 yrs of being in the trades a company that treats there "new hires" like I was treated. Do – more... not waste your time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Carpenter Industral Forming
Certifed Carpenter (Former Employee), RedwaterNovember 7, 2013
Pros: work was good wile lasted
Cons: still waiting to go back to work for them not holding breath
shift would start off with safety meeting exercise task instructions work mate allways in two persons or more depending on work task good place to work would liked to continue to work for them person said after job ended will put me on waiting list still waiting my work not as importent as management feels there,s is
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great guys to work with
Pressure Welder (Current Employee), Leduc, ABNovember 5, 2013
Lots of work, not pushed to hard to get things done. Safety first always a must,
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Seriously Unorganized! Uneducated Foreman.
Journeyman welder (Former Employee), Logan Lake, BCOctober 19, 2013
Pros: loa, can be drunk or stoned at work.
Cons: jv driver is a joke!
If you're an experienced tradesman they won't let you do your job. At JV Driver it's all about who you party and do drugs with! If you don't fit in with that, they will find a way to get rid of you! Overall JVD is the most unprofessional place I have ever worked in my 20 years of experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work place
Welder/Structural Steel Plate Fitter (Former Employee), Nisku,AbOctober 8, 2013
Pros: location
Cons: long hours
Not honest about production.We had been reassured there would be no lay offs but less than a month later most of us were.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fair Job
Steel Fabricator (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABOctober 7, 2013
If your good @ anything expect to be stuck doing it until your no longer employed here.

Great place for a apprentice to learn the basics.

The People you work with are amazing and kept me around.

Hardest part I found was Management was poorly organized.
Idea's were stolen if they were even considered and majority of the time that wouldn't even happen.

You – more... have good attendance, they'll never let you go, no matter how many times you mess up.

Daytime shift seemed to be the window dressing,
Night shift was where the work was pushed.

Nice safety incentives such as hat's jackets even a watch if your around long enough.

Odd BBQ/pizza lunch.

average 48hour work weeks

Weekend work was very rare. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work amazing people
Camp / Travel / Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), Fort McMurray, ABAugust 2, 2013
Pros: everything is taken care of
We look after all our craft, book rooms; flights submit timesheets place orders whatever they need ,we look after. I have learned a lot at this job, for me I would say the biggest thing would be if you respect your workers and treat them well they will always come through for you and put in all they have for the company.
I work with the most amazing – more... crew and have been very lucky to have met the people i have. Management has been great and it is like a family here it will be sad to see the end.
I enjoy working so closely with the craft and I enjoy helping people. It has been a great learning and growing experience and i can't wait to begin a new chapter. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work
light equipment (Current Employee), Cold Lake, ABJune 13, 2013
Pros: co workers / good guys
Cons: management
move materal around the job site for the different trades
not much to learned, may be a bit more about the equipment
management was a little weak
co workers were good guys older gentelman that had been there awhile
not knowing what was next to do, communication.
running the eqguipment
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working here is great
QC Inspector/NDE Coordinator (Current Employee), Nisku albertaJune 4, 2013
Pros: helps you balance a home life too
• Quality control inspections in the steel fabrication shop , pipe fabrication shop and module Assembly yard .
• Visual inspecting Structural welds / piping welds / dimensions / orientation based on W59 / B31.1 / B31.3/B31.11/CSA Z662/Client Specifications.
• Coordination of Non-Destructive Examination for the pipe shop and module yard with Third Party – more... NDE Contractor.
• Performing Module punching on completed systems for integrity.
• Client Walk Downs on Pre and Post Punches.
• Witness hydro testing & pneumatic testing of piping systems

Great place – less

About JV Driver

JV Driver has been providing industrial construction services to the Oil & Gas, Energy, Petrochemical, Forestry, and Mining – Read more

JV Driver Photos