JV Driver Employee Reviews

Found 86 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Longest Job Test
B Pressure Welder (Former Employee) –  Nisku17 September 2016
Job test for B-Pressure Welder was an all day event. Get there at 7:30 am for your schedualed time wait for some time for the QC to bless you with his time took around half hour. Very unprofessional.

Test booths were nice with all the tools to do a test.

Than proceed to do one weld test on 6 inch pipe. 2nd weld test on extra heavy 4 inch pipe. 3rd weld test sch 80 2 inch on a 45 degree.

Next cut all coupons with a grinder than clean and bend. Not sure why they did not cut on band saw and would not allow to cut with a torch or plasma. Had to cut with zip cuts.
Seemed like a lot of wasted time and wasted zip cuts.

After all the time of waiting, welding and grinding I was there for 7 hours.
Pros
None what so ever
Cons
To many job tests -3
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safety,productive and quality
Piping leadhand (Former Employee) –  Nisku, AB22 May 2016
Management regulate properly about safety, i'm learned a lot about planning the job, workers are respectful, the hardest time of my job if their is lack of tools to do the job, you enjoyed your job if the the whole team will be cooperate.
Pros
free coofee and tea
Cons
sometimes 12 hours a day
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company culture, Challenging workplace
General Foreman (Former Employee) –  Nisku, AB6 September 2016
In overall great place to work at
Quite challenging, adaptive to our current economy
Their family values is the greatest
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK if looking for temporary work.
Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB2 May 2016
Great operations.
Not permanent work.

Great equipment.
Not enough hours. Could have had us in a labour pool or offered other work outside our positions as bus drivers.

In 9 month period had 3 different supervisors.
Pros
Professional Attitude
Cons
Not enough hours for my position as bus driver
Was this review helpful?Yes7No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a place for fun..
Pipefitter Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Nisku, AB17 October 2016
It was a nice mode yard for hard worker's.
Good condition to work.
Safety always on high priority.
Friendly management staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Jv Driver is very goal oriented on safety and take great pride on there employees with the great work we accomplish.
Insulating, Sheet Metal (Current Employee) –  Leduc, AB6 December 2016
Every morning we fill out JHA and go through our tool box meeting with all crew members. We evaluate each job then begin to start our work routine. I have learned more then I can put into words with JVD, I hope on there future jobs ill be able to be apart of the team and keep learning from them and my fellow coworkers. Hardest part of the job would be lack of communication and diligence between forman and there crew members when small issues keep occurring. Example. (Some crew members not sorting through there garbage and metal then leaving it for other JVD staff to deal with on a continues basis. When we the workers tell the formans and not see them make a better effort into telling there crew it makes our daily tasks more tedious and time consuming when our time could be better well spent. Most enjoyable part of the work environment would be the the family you create here and the fun you have during your work and home time with new friendly people you get to meet.
Pros
Excellent rates determined on experience
Cons
Not knowing how long the job will last
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Watch your back
Millwright (Former Employee) –  Kearl Lake, AB26 February 2016
This is a site where safety will shut down any job because they don't understand what's going on. Superintendents that preach safety as an absolute and than do what ever they want. And they allow the client to put people scared to say no and inexperienced labours in to harmful situations.

Stay away if you have options.
Was this review helpful?Yes16No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Systems Architect (Former Employee) –  Leduc, AB16 March 2016
fast paced work place.
required to wear multiple hats.
No work life balance.
Get er done attitude.
Team driven. safety and attention to safety is well looked upon
Pros
hockey tickets
Cons
no life work balance
Was this review helpful?Yes11No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decent
Structural welder (by hand) (Current Employee) –  Nisku, AB26 February 2016
things are slow mass layoffs happening all over scary times for sure
dealt with employees pretty good benefits are good and the work we had while we had work was alright
little better planning would go a long way
Was this review helpful?Yes11No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Company, Incompetent Managment, Disgusting Owner
Manager (Former Employee) –  Nisku26 January 2016
Flat out deceitful. Review the tons of union complaints. Never worked for the same client twice. Treat employees like garbage. Short pay laid off workers. SEEK EMPLOYMENT ELSEWHERE, STAY AWAY FROM THESE GUYS.

GO BACK TO BC DRIVERS!!!!
Was this review helpful?Yes17No13Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Been working for them since December
Apprentice Steamfitter/Pipefitter (Current Employee) –  Leduc, AB8 March 2016
Like everything about he company and people in the Nisku mod yard... Lots of work to keep guys going through the summer Is a big plus right now
Was this review helpful?Yes9No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is the worst place ever!!!!
Steamfitter/Pipefitter Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB16 February 2016
No tools, junk equipment lights on fire pay is so poor. Moron runs the company. Treats people like slaves. Will hire anybody!!!! Watch your back so much backstabbing.
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes29No10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
steady work
Hydro test tech (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB9 February 2016
Prefer to work in an English speaking environment. unorganized kaotic at times.
work direction given in East Indian
Materials were cluttered and left in a heap covered in snow and iced up.
Pros
busy
Cons
very unorganmized
Was this review helpful?Yes11No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unstable company. Layoffs start right after date of hire
B-Pressure Welder (Former Employee) –  Nisku, AB26 November 2015
Ridiculous management. Top heavy administration probably due to incompetence. No idea of workers needs or abilities. No recognition of how payroll is made in industry.
Pros
Countless useless meetings waste valuable time
Cons
Can't expect any security for people with integrity
Was this review helpful?Yes31No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great workplace
Welding Apprentice (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB4 March 2016
loved working for this company, just wrong time for me to be living away from Calgary. Would highly recommend working here for anyone looking
Was this review helpful?Yes11No11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to work for!
Site Project Administrator (Current Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB28 January 2016
I worked on two projects and enjoyed and have had the ability to learn more than I could have ever imagined from my time in construction in a site environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Structural Welder (Former Employee) –  Nisku, AB8 December 2015
Oil-related companies, as was done in the modyard welding.

Meet the partners enjoyed, a good job.

Have no intention of move on. However, the economy is not good that nobody was forced to do rayoff.

Canada came in impressive company.
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work. Clean camps, good food, friendly people
Electrical QA/QC inspector (Former Employee) –  Ft. McKay26 August 2015
I enjoyed working with JV Driver. A typical day would be up early for breakfast with co-workers. After which we would load the buses for the trip to the job site. Days were usually busy with lots of new learning opportunities. Management and Co-workers were good. After a long shift it was back to camp for dinner and some free time. Lights out early.
Pros
Excellent Wages, Advancement potential
Cons
Job security in the oil/gas industry is currently not great
Was this review helpful?Yes11No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB1 February 2016
Loved my short time working for JV Driver. Worked with great people and my foremans and bosses were amazing people. To bad the oil field went bunk.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work enviroment
Welder/Fitter (Former Employee) –  Nisku, AB3 February 2016
great place to work everyone is treated fairly and givin fantasic oppertunitys to advance safety program is excellent
Was this review helpful?Yes5No3Report

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 90 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.2
Culture
3.4