JOHNSTON EQUIPMENT Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment, friendly staff, & opportunity to grow
Human Resources (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, Ontario11 August 2017
- Able to grow in my role and take on additional responsibilities to learn more
- Great managers and employees that work here, family-like environment, very friendly, encouraging, and approachable
- Workload can get heavy
- Enjoyable part of my job is being able to help internal customers and build relationships
- Tuition reimbursement program allows me to take courses to advance in my career
- Employee benefits are great including a pension plan
Pros
Growth opportunities
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away GN Johnston Equipment
Helpdesk Specialist (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON2 August 2017
I will talk only about the IT department
Very big culture of personality where management is rise like GOD and employee are nothing.
The management is always on the back of the employees. He wants to control everything. The opinion of employee does not matter. There are very few resources and the employee is forced to deal with it.
The rule is clear:"work hard and shut your mouth"
My advise is to stay away from this company
Pros
Users are friendly
Cons
Very cheap IT department and Dictatormanagement
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team work atmosphere
Rental Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON13 June 2017
Working at Johnston Equipment is like working with family. Everyone works in a team environment and we all have the same end goal and that is customer come first. The workplace culture was great they always tried to show their emplyees how appreciated they were by organizing a lunch provided or with a simple email. I have to say my experience with both my manager were fantastic. I always knew their door was open and they always had my best interest at heart and willing to help me succeed.
Pros
Respect
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional environment
Invoice Adjustor (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON6 April 2017
Routine day, Accomplish the tasks given by the boss as fast as possible

1 hour lunch break, sometimes several people would go out for lunch together

Hardest part was the 2 hours before the end of the day seemed longer.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy working everyday
ROAD SERVICE TECHNICIAN (Current Employee) –  Delta, BC24 January 2017
Day starts straight going to the customer site and once required services are completed at one location then move on to the next.find your parts and order through the parts department.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High stress, low staff support or help just more weights and tasks added on with out time being alloted for it.
Service Technician (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB5 January 2017
High stress, no leeway, charge customer for every possible minute or suffer the loss individually and efficiency score suffers. Original management was excellent, replacement crew was incompetent and little to no help at best. Mostly good co-workers but favoritism and uneven job loads. Often forced to sacrifice personal time without compensation for it..Learning and making customers happy was the most enjoyable part of the job.
Pros
Free coffee
Cons
long hours, unpaid often for many on a unfairly weighted salary structure
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard to Advance
Sales (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON30 September 2016
Great people but individual department goals make it difficult to collaborate and get things done. Hard to advance. Too much political presence can be frustrating at times.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyed everyday working
Lead hand door mechanic (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK18 July 2016
My day consist of repairing overhead doors.dock levelers and truck restraints.
I learned alot more trouble shooting electrical problems.
Great people to work with.
Pros
Enjoyed going to work every day
Cons
Promises were broken all the time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Management, Unfair treatment
Road Technician (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK5 April 2016
Worst company I have worked for. For a national company they are very unorganized and incompetent. The western Canada service management team is disrespectful, unfair and unorganized. Terrible work morale.
Pros
Decent Benefit plans
Cons
Favoritism, bad morale, terrible management
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional work environment and continuously learning
Construction Worker/Laborer (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB10 December 2015
Exciting work environment with supportive management. I learned step by step how to Installed, disassembled, replaced, repaired and assembled pallet racking. The most enjoyable part of my job was working along side my colleagues and showing them what I had learned working for the company. Everyday was a new job/project as well as a new learning experience which I took advantage of.
Pros
Free coffee
Cons
Not enough work year around
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very unorganized company and condensending management
Technician (Former Employee) –  Calgary22 September 2015
Worst company I have ever encountered. Management was very disrespectful and treated employees unfairly. I regret the time I've spent with this company.
Pros
Lots of promotional items
Cons
No guidance, poor management, overwhelming work load, and unfair pay scale
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
SALES CONSULTANT / PROJECT MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Calgary14 May 2015
very difficult and busy job but was a great learning experience should be one of the leaders in their industry soon.

could not have askjed for a better work envirpoment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shame, what was once a great company..., now...????
Driver Trainer (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON11 December 2012
Well, the person who trained me was quick and impatient and was the type who likes to Lord over people.

After 3 months; I couldn't take much more of this and asked that he simply keeps his distance as the situation had become borderline harrassement.

But was still willing to work with him and continued to do my job.

The hours of which were all over the map. Days, evenings, nights and weekends in the busy time.

I had every day in November booked except for a 2 day Skyjack training near TO.

However, the work itself I enjoyed.

Then 3 days before my probation was up; I was asked to leave with no preamble or questions about the situation.

And to top it off, an extremely disorganized company as it took them 6 weeks to finally figure out my commissions owed me as I had to re-send them my billing at least 3 times.

The only good thing I have to say was that the branch manager was sympathetic to the situation but really had no power to do anything.

I actually pity him!

Good luck!
Pros
good pay and great commissions plus company vehicle.
Cons
dark mood, poor management and clearly employees are just things.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly place to work
DATA ENTRY CLERK (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON24 October 2012
A service oriented company. Sales and service mixed together to form a good balance.
Pros
close to home
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 10Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at JOHNSTON EQUIPMENT. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 15 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.0
Salary/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
2.7
Culture
2.9

JOHNSTON EQUIPMENT Reviews by Location