Johnson Controls Employee Reviews

Found 111 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not an enjoyable place to work. Alot of unhappy people.
Production Technician (Former Employee) –  Tillsonburg, ON26 August 2014
Scrub hot moulds, pulling foam seats out of moulds ande spraying wax. Inspected seat for no deform effects. How to use different air tools for the job. Dealing with the heat was the hardest part.
Pros
Good pay.
Cons
Too much weekend work.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provided many challeging opportunities for all employees
BSOS (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC21 August 2014
Skills required: prioritizing, multitasking, review and preview,
Typical day: check emails, check phone messages, put paperwork into order and work through depending on the days requirement, do A/R and A/P follow-ups, review daily numbers and react accordingly
Management: Many opportunities for personal and career growth were available and encouraged to be acted upon.
Hardest part; No task is to hard if you enjoy and benefit from it.
Most enjoyable: Satisfaction of a job well done.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Had fun with great people
Production Operator (Former Employee) –  Whitby, ON27 July 2014
quality control for a Automotive company.

Co-worker were great.

Hardest part was working late hours

Enjoyed days and meeting new people
Was this review helpful?Yes2No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard Work and strict
Forklift operator (Former Employee) –  Milton, ON23 July 2014
The environment is your typical factory work job. If you do the job you'll go relatively unnoticed. Go above and beyond and you'll be expected to go above and beyond all the time. Under preform and you'll have to answer to uper management.
Pros
Free Breakfast once per year, free christmas dinner, free company trips (ex. Wonderland)
Cons
Long Hours, Stressful conditions if not used to them
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ottawa Operations needs to be reorganized @ the management level
Building Systems Technician (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON15 May 2014
I think Johnson Controls overall is a good organization overall. Ottawa is a very small part of the company as a whole. I for one could fix the issues @ the management level, but the company would have to discharge some people.
Pros
Overall a good company
Cons
No further comment. Thank you this oppurtunity
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i like to ride motorcycles
Production Technician (Former Employee) –  Tillsonburg, ON1 May 2014
I inspect foam pads for defects and trim flash of foam pads then hang on belt for packaging and i liked working there it was a fast pacing job
Pros
It was a great place to work
Cons
I work straight midnight shift
Was this review helpful?YesNo3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Floor Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Shelburne, ON10 April 2014
A typical day at work would start at 6am, or 3pm. There would be a pre shift meeting where the supervisor would communicate to the team what was on the daily build schedule for the day and how the performance of the team has been for the past days. I learned how to adapt to different peoples personalities, how to increase the morale of a team when things looked grim, and how to become a part of a family away from home. My co-workers were great and our job seemed to be something we all enjoyed. My upper management were nothing else but helping, understanding, patient, and last but not least a part of our family. The hardest part of my job was knowing that our customer was giving our contracts to another supplier in the states, and knowing we were losing our jobs. The most enjoyable part of my job, was my job.
Pros
RSP match, quarterly bonuses, positive environment
Cons
Closed down.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was some fun over their specially with the coworker
Assembly Production/ Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON23 March 2014
The time that i have worked in JCI mississauga it was a good time .The management,the work place the salary and benefits.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace
Sewing Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Stratford, ON10 March 2014
operated sewing machine
learned how to sew seat covers;
worked together in a team, from start to finish
and produced seat cover.
hardest part was saying goodbye to that job,and having it go to Mexico.
most enjoyable part was able to go to work daily
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place
Payroll clerk (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON23 February 2014
Friendly Boss , Nice place to work, warm environment,
challenges my knowledge and skills, Good work atmosphere.
professional work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Multicultural enviroment
ACCOUNTS PAYABLE CLERK (Former Employee) –  Markham19 February 2014
Too many people, i was rotating from desk to another, coworkers were nice, but management were involved in their own issues
Was this review helpful?Yes4No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fair
Contract/Temp Positions (Former Employee) –  Makham, On.17 January 2014
A company one would love to work with. The management is awesome but somehow far away from employee.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great exposure to a variety of equipment.
Refrigeration Mechanic/Gas Fitter 1 (Current Employee) –  London, ON27 November 2013
A typical day involves being dispatched to different sites for service calls or planned maintenance. I work independently however other mechanics are available via phone for support. I work with the best in the business. I enjoy the constant changes and unpredictable nature of this business as well as the physical challenge.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Facility Management services
Drafting/Design and Facility Management Services (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON7 November 2013
Facility Management company working throughout North America.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work lots of fun
PROJECT MANAGER, COMMISSIONING (Former Employee) –  Ottawa,ON1 October 2013
good working environment shared experience with team. co-workers were great learned a great deal on the job
Pros
basebakk, curling and golf
Cons
some weekend work
Was this review helpful?Yes2No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long hours
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Milton, ON27 September 2013
do not think we get paid fairly for the type of the job we do. We had $4 pay cut couple years back never got them back till today even though that the company is making a profit
Pros
bunos is very small almost nothing
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes8No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great enviroment for growth and gerat o workers
Machine Operator / Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Milton, ON1 August 2013
I was working at this place for 3 years and i made a lot of friends, still keep in touch with them, i just hope the management was more serious and professional. Infact they treat people not like human beens more like animals, and anyone who worked there will confirm it. i learned a lot about assembly car seat for Acura, too bad i am still recovering from injuries all over my bod y due to overworking .
Pros
Awesome paycheck and benefits
Cons
Heavy conseguences on body, muscle injurees, all over the body.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good oppertunity
Lead Systems Specialist, PM (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON21 July 2013
Good opportunities provided by indeed for the people to find employment.
Pros
w
Cons
e
Was this review helpful?Yes1No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dynamic, interesting, safe work environment
General Laborer (Former Employee) –  fort mc murray ab17 July 2013
the camp that I stayed at was amazingly kept. the job scope included shoveling and sanding during winter seasons, garbage pick up, general camp maintenance, attended both daily tool box meetings. weekly safety meetings. worked with various tools, and in different environments.
Pros
camp life, shift work, pay
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes1No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressfull and Disorganized
Manager (Former Employee) –  Canada16 June 2013
Upper management is not caring people. Very political and constant changes. Lots of stress and unrewarding.
Pros
none
Cons
lots, stress, political, management
Was this review helpful?Yes22No4Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Johnson Controls. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 3,024 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.5
Culture
3.7