Johnson Controls Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 87 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very demanding
line worker (Former Employee) –  Milton, ONApril 2, 2013
overall Johnson controls is a good work environment. however, they just had half of the buisness move south and it is a bit chaotic right now. its very hard on the body and fast paced but i didnt personally mind that
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a good please to work at
BLJC Inc. (Former Employee) –  Markham, ONMarch 26, 2013
working there are nice,

the co-working there all are so sweet and nice,
also the department of (CPC & CIBC) account assistance
they are awesome workers
Pros
time of work is flaxable
Cons
people are all very nice
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work at accounting deparment are free like an angle,
BLJC Inc. (Former Employee) –  Markham, ONMarch 26, 2013
this work hours there are very flexible, as long you finish your job and finish 7.5 hurts then off you go.
and the co-workers they are all so nice and so easy to get along
you dont have to take lunch time (30mins) you can off work early
Pros
you dont have to take lunch hours (30mins)
Cons
office too cold
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
quality assurance (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ONMarch 25, 2013
Fun work place, great management and co-workers, I have developed managing skills there.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BLJC
CAFM Analyst (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BCFebruary 25, 2013
Good company, career advancement opportunities in CAFM limited if away from headquarters in Markham, ON.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very good employer.
Operations Director - General Commercial Division (Current Employee) –  Montreal, QcFebruary 12, 2013
Great working environment and the co-workewrs are wonderful. Overall, it's a fanatastic place to work!
Pros
flexible work schedule
Cons
subcontrator environment
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and demanding job
Assembler (Former Employee) –  Ajax, ONFebruary 4, 2013
Begins with a morning meeting explaining the needs of the shift (what orders need to be done, how many need to be packed for the day) We then look at the parts and write a list of any parts needed for the shift. After giving the list to the team leader, we proceed to work. I have learned various jobs, anything from being a team leader, running a machine to wiring any furnace in there. My co-workers are all very nice, we work as a team to get our job done and everyone is willing to help each other to achieve this. The hardest part of the day is if we run out of parts or have defective material. The best part of the day is when we achieve our goal and meet the customer demands, it gives me a feeling of satisfaction of having done a good job.
Pros
the pros are having a town hall meeting once a month, getting to voice what is on our minds and, free coffee and doughnuts.
Cons
the job usually requires a lot of overtime.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and challenging environment
Systems Operations Specialist (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ONJanuary 29, 2013
Every day is exciting and challenging because no 2 days are the same. Multi-tasking is a necessity. The managers trust the employees to get their work done. There is no time for micro-managing. The hardest part of the job is when you want something put through, there are so many levels of Delegation of Authority that everything takes longer than you hope for at the Head Office level. The most enjoyable part of the company is the fact that even though everyone is so busy, we always find time for a laugh and really must work together as a team to make things happen. Co-workers become family.
Pros
every new project presents new challenges
Cons
so much 'red tape'
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent place to work great work environment
Team Member (Current Employee) –  Milton, ONJanuary 23, 2013
fast pace can be challanging great team members great rewards through out year enjoy providing defect free parts and a clean work station
Pros
many rewards
Cons
nothing can think off
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work for
Licensed Electrician (Former Employee) –  Oraangeville, ONJanuary 6, 2013
learned alot,variety in the work (not repetitive).
Management would work with employees
Pros
work with employees
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assembly line worker
Assembly line Crew (Former Employee) –  milton, ONDecember 11, 2012
I was working for johnson controls which had a contract with honda and toyota. I was constructing the captain chairs for the acura mdx. different air tools were used, drills and hog guns for the leather. It was fast paced and hard work but i enjoyed it. The client was honda and toyota so everything shipped out had to be perfect. So my attention to detail is above average. The shifts alternated every week from days to nights.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employees and easy to work with
Production Worker (Current Employee) –  Milton, ONDecember 6, 2012
friendly and cooperative employess. hardest part of my job is balancing my personal and work life.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FUN PLACE TO WORK
SECURITY AND FIRE TECH (Current Employee) –  CALGARY ALBERTA CANADANovember 29, 2012
TROUBLE SHOOT AND RESOLVE ACCESS AND CCTV ISSUES
AND ALSO INSTALL ALL $5000 PROJECTS THAT COME IN OUR SERVICE DEPARTMENT
I FEEL GOOD WHEN AN ISSUE IS RESOLVED
Pros
go working place
Cons
too cold in winter-
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good company but to corporate
Apprentice Refrigeration Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BCNovember 7, 2012
Johnson Controls is on paper an excellent company, a typical day consisted of building maintenance, quality control and attempting to meet the needs of the clients. I learned a great deal about building operations and client management. I found a majority of the staff helpful committed to the job and enjoyable. My experience with management was poor they had no problem requiring you to work 6-7 days a week and often put off the hope of an apprenticeship. The relationship between staff and management was often toxic and un truthful, it was unfortunate that so many good staff were treated un fairly in order to make bonuses for those who clearly did not deserve it. The job itself was enjoyable and often challenging, but overall challenging due to the corporate ideology
Pros
staff and co workers, working at different locations
Cons
management, too corporate
Was this review helpful?Yes6No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked afternoon,learned how to built parts for cars,Jobs are easy.
Assembly Line Worker (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ONOctober 24, 2012
Workplace are good.The environment are okay.People are nice and friendly.
Pros
free snacks
Cons
sometimes long hours and sometimes short.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Revolving door syndrome
Assembly Line Worker (Former Employee) –  Milton, ONOctober 16, 2012
This company is a joke to work for. They use bill 168 as an excuse to fire people who actually do their jobs. Team leaders back stab you and management has a system in place 90 % temp workers 10 % fulltime . . this should indicate something to future prospects.
Pros
listen to music while working
Cons
don't even pass gas, someone might get offended and you'll get fired.
Was this review helpful?Yes11No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
free breakfast during week end overtime
Labour/Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ONOctober 10, 2012
challenging;learned how automotive plastic parts are manufactured.;co -workers are kind and cooperative.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall positive experience working with a highly managed and co-operative HVAC systems control team
System Designer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Markham, ONSeptember 25, 2012
-schedule valves, dampers, room and point controllers for major HVAC systems; such as, schools, hospitals and shopping malls
-contact suppliers for most suitable products for the project
-work with engineers on calculating fluid dynamics for HVAC systems
-design flow layouts for control schematics of individual components
Pros
great management, supportive co-workers, challenging environement
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved going to work
Production Technician (Former Employee) –  Shelburne, ONSeptember 7, 2012
This was a good job, good people and great time. It was very repetative work, but rotating through several jobs during the day made it a lot better. It was a sad day when this company decided to move locations.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace with a tennis board
installer (Current Employee) –  miltonAugust 19, 2012
this is a very good company that takes pride in production staff and team members are friendly and helpful towards each other
Was this review helpful?YesNo1

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 2,073 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.4
Culture
3.7