Johnson Controls Employee Reviews

Found 115 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not what i thought
Account Executive (Current Employee) –  Vancouver BC5 January 2015
Although the company is very large and offers a lot of great opportunities, there is not much in the way of personal training and you are left to figure things out on your own. not really at all what I was expecting, as well they sell to contractors as well as bid against them and I don't feel that is what I truly want to be part of
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love my job
Assembly Line Operator (Current Employee) –  Whitby, ON22 October 2014
A typical day at work runs really well. There are usually some challenges, but overall we have a good time.
Pros
great people
Cons
union conflcts
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
corrupt
Production Team Member (Former Employee) –  Milton18 October 2014
corruption and drugs everywhere, racism and favouritism rampant
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lots to choose from
PRODUCTION SUPERVISOR (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON29 September 2014
very fast pace environment. learn how to use limited resources to benefit the company . Management is very lean. co workers great team to work with, Solving personal issues among operators.
to see great accomplishments
Pros
lots to learn with few resources
Cons
limited to resources to use
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Calm environment to work at even when things are not going so well.
Production Manager (Current Employee) –  Tillsonburg, ON8 September 2014
Review KIP's first thing in the morning. I follow-up on any start-up issues first thing in the morning. Verify my manning to ensure we have the right team members in the right places to cover customer demand.

Assist my team in the proper manor, to conduct scrap reduction meetings, and how to engage their support groups.

Encourage my team to continuously look for improvement opportunities.

Daily production meetings, where I would update the management team on issue around production. I would sit with the appropriate manager to talk about production improvements whenever needed.

Excellent team to work with, we have fun doing what we all love doing.

When you feel that you did all of the right things to reduce scrap or increase OEE and the results are not what you had expected. So you take a moment regroup and put together another plan to achieve the goals.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not an enjoyable place to work. Alot of unhappy people.
Production Technician (Former Employee) –  Tillsonburg, ON26 August 2014
Scrub hot moulds, pulling foam seats out of moulds ande spraying wax. Inspected seat for no deform effects. How to use different air tools for the job. Dealing with the heat was the hardest part.
Pros
Good pay.
Cons
Too much weekend work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provided many challeging opportunities for all employees
BSOS (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC21 August 2014
Skills required: prioritizing, multitasking, review and preview,
Typical day: check emails, check phone messages, put paperwork into order and work through depending on the days requirement, do A/R and A/P follow-ups, review daily numbers and react accordingly
Management: Many opportunities for personal and career growth were available and encouraged to be acted upon.
Hardest part; No task is to hard if you enjoy and benefit from it.
Most enjoyable: Satisfaction of a job well done.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Had fun with great people
Production Operator (Former Employee) –  Whitby, ON27 July 2014
quality control for a Automotive company.

Co-worker were great.

Hardest part was working late hours

Enjoyed days and meeting new people
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard Work and strict
Forklift operator (Former Employee) –  Milton, ON23 July 2014
The environment is your typical factory work job. If you do the job you'll go relatively unnoticed. Go above and beyond and you'll be expected to go above and beyond all the time. Under preform and you'll have to answer to uper management.
Pros
Free Breakfast once per year, free christmas dinner, free company trips (ex. Wonderland)
Cons
Long Hours, Stressful conditions if not used to them
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ottawa Operations needs to be reorganized @ the management level
Building Systems Technician (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON15 May 2014
I think Johnson Controls overall is a good organization overall. Ottawa is a very small part of the company as a whole. I for one could fix the issues @ the management level, but the company would have to discharge some people.
Pros
Overall a good company
Cons
No further comment. Thank you this oppurtunity
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport

Want to know more about Johnson Controls?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i like to ride motorcycles
Production Technician (Former Employee) –  Tillsonburg, ON1 May 2014
I inspect foam pads for defects and trim flash of foam pads then hang on belt for packaging and i liked working there it was a fast pacing job
Pros
It was a great place to work
Cons
I work straight midnight shift
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Floor Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Shelburne, ON10 April 2014
A typical day at work would start at 6am, or 3pm. There would be a pre shift meeting where the supervisor would communicate to the team what was on the daily build schedule for the day and how the performance of the team has been for the past days. I learned how to adapt to different peoples personalities, how to increase the morale of a team when things looked grim, and how to become a part of a family away from home. My co-workers were great and our job seemed to be something we all enjoyed. My upper management were nothing else but helping, understanding, patient, and last but not least a part of our family. The hardest part of my job was knowing that our customer was giving our contracts to another supplier in the states, and knowing we were losing our jobs. The most enjoyable part of my job, was my job.
Pros
RSP match, quarterly bonuses, positive environment
Cons
Closed down.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was some fun over their specially with the coworker
Assembly Production/ Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON23 March 2014
The time that i have worked in JCI mississauga it was a good time .The management,the work place the salary and benefits.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace
Sewing Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Stratford, ON10 March 2014
operated sewing machine
learned how to sew seat covers;
worked together in a team, from start to finish
and produced seat cover.
hardest part was saying goodbye to that job,and having it go to Mexico.
most enjoyable part was able to go to work daily
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place
Payroll clerk (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON23 February 2014
Friendly Boss , Nice place to work, warm environment,
challenges my knowledge and skills, Good work atmosphere.
professional work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Multicultural enviroment
ACCOUNTS PAYABLE CLERK (Former Employee) –  Markham19 February 2014
Too many people, i was rotating from desk to another, coworkers were nice, but management were involved in their own issues
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fair
Contract/Temp Positions (Former Employee) –  Makham, On.17 January 2014
A company one would love to work with. The management is awesome but somehow far away from employee.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great exposure to a variety of equipment.
Refrigeration Mechanic/Gas Fitter 1 (Current Employee) –  London, ON27 November 2013
A typical day involves being dispatched to different sites for service calls or planned maintenance. I work independently however other mechanics are available via phone for support. I work with the best in the business. I enjoy the constant changes and unpredictable nature of this business as well as the physical challenge.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Facility Management services
Drafting/Design and Facility Management Services (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON7 November 2013
Facility Management company working throughout North America.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work lots of fun
PROJECT MANAGER, COMMISSIONING (Former Employee) –  Ottawa,ON1 October 2013
good working environment shared experience with team. co-workers were great learned a great deal on the job
Pros
basebakk, curling and golf
Cons
some weekend work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 7Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Johnson Controls. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 3,333 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.4
Culture
3.7