Johnson Controls

1.9K reviews

Johnson Controls Employee Reviews

Found 76 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Revolving door syndrome
Assembly Line Worker (Former Employee) –  Milton, ONOctober 16, 2012
This company is a joke to work for. They use bill 168 as an excuse to fire people who actually do their jobs. Team leaders back stab you and management has a system in place 90 % temp workers 10 % fulltime . . this should indicate something to future prospects.
Pros
listen to music while working
Cons
don't even pass gas, someone might get offended and you'll get fired.
Was this review helpful?Yes11No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ottawa Operations needs to be reorganized @ the management level
Building Systems Technician (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ONMay 15, 2014
I think Johnson Controls overall is a good organization overall. Ottawa is a very small part of the company as a whole. I for one could fix the issues @ the management level, but the company would have to discharge some people.
Pros
overall a good company
Cons
no further comment. thank you this oppurtunity
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my favorite job
welder/fabricator (Former Employee) –  Ajax, ONMay 11, 2012
I got tonnes of O.T. with these guys I wish I could get my job there back in fact. MIg welding galvanized steel most of the day, I learned lots about HVAC equipment and the inside components of the units. Everyone I worked with had a good energy and if I got the call to go back and work for these guys I'd be there in a second
Pros
lots of cold drinks all over warehouse
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1

Comment – September 28, 2012

There is lots of overtime due to Ajax management being incompetent. Do they care for their employees? That's the million dollar question.

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dynamic, interesting, safe work environment
General Laborer (Former Employee) –  fort mc murray abJuly 17, 2013
the camp that I stayed at was amazingly kept. the job scope included shoveling and sanding during winter seasons, garbage pick up, general camp maintenance, attended both daily tool box meetings. weekly safety meetings. worked with various tools, and in different environments.
Pros
camp life, shift work, pay
Was this review helpful?Yes1No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work, but if you get hurt following Johnson Controls Safety policies you'll get terminated
HVAC Technician (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABDecember 9, 2015
It's an ok place to work, incredibly strict on safety. They provide you with anything you could ever need, but don't get hurt, they'll let you go immediately even if you follow the policies and steps to properly report an injury.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work at accounting deparment are free like an angle,
BLJC Inc. (Former Employee) –  Markham, ONMarch 26, 2013
this work hours there are very flexible, as long you finish your job and finish 7.5 hurts then off you go.
and the co-workers they are all so nice and so easy to get along
you dont have to take lunch time (30mins) you can off work early
Pros
you dont have to take lunch hours (30mins)
Cons
office too cold
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Generally a decent place to work.
General Laborer (Former Employee) –  Whitby, ONJanuary 22, 2015
Most workers were usually in a good mood and easy to work with.
The entire factory was laid off 3 separate times in one summer which lead to some uneasiness about job security.
The job was very hard on the body, but after creating a high quality seat you were often given compliments.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lots to choose from
PRODUCTION SUPERVISOR (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ONSeptember 29, 2014
very fast pace environment. learn how to use limited resources to benefit the company . Management is very lean. co workers great team to work with, Solving personal issues among operators.
to see great accomplishments
Pros
lots to learn with few resources
Cons
limited to resources to use
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was a well run plant, where the company cared about there workers
assembly worker (Former Employee) –  Whitby, ONMay 4, 2012
i enjoyed going to work every day that i worked there, i wish the auto industry didn't take a turn for i worst because i would have been stilled enployed there
Pros
free lunches
Cons
long weeks sometimes, but the wage was worth the long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced enviroment
Automotive Seat Technician (Former Employee) –  MiltonJanuary 21, 2015
fast paced always moving to keep up with assembly line.
very long days , built seats for Toyota.
very high turnover rates always seeing ppl come and go.
management was good and benefits are good.
Pros
free lunches for meeting quotas.
Cons
every day was a long day
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not an enjoyable place to work. Alot of unhappy people.
Production Technician (Former Employee) –  Tillsonburg, ONAugust 26, 2014
Scrub hot moulds, pulling foam seats out of moulds ande spraying wax. Inspected seat for no deform effects. How to use different air tools for the job. Dealing with the heat was the hardest part.
Pros
good pay.
Cons
too much weekend work.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Assembly Line Worker (Former Employee) –  Whitby, ONFebruary 4, 2016
Good people, nice work environment, and great management. Fellow employees very helpful with training. Management takes a real interest in helping employees advance within the company. My experiences working at Johnson Controls were very positive.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace
Sewing Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Stratford, ONMarch 10, 2014
operated sewing machine
learned how to sew seat covers;
worked together in a team, from start to finish
and produced seat cover.
hardest part was saying goodbye to that job,and having it go to Mexico.
most enjoyable part was able to go to work daily
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked daily with clients for Service dealing with access controls and fire
Customer Service Agent (Former Employee) –  Markham, ONAugust 5, 2015
Friendly environment, great team members and good benefits. Company was involved in several organizations. Worked closely with City of Toronto to approve accounts
Pros
benefits
Cons
hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Automotive has it`s up and downs
former employee (Former Employee) –  Whitby, ONOctober 8, 2015
Long hours when everything was busy, downside to that was when auto industry changed so did the plant, we mirrored what the customer did - if they were busy so were we, if not the same was true
Pros
lots of communication
Cons
downsizing
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced work environment
production line technician (Former Employee) –  8205 parkhill dr milton, onMay 27, 2015
fast paced work environment with lots of attention to detail being able to multitask and perform under pressure while focusing on guality and rate
Pros
the pay and benefits
Cons
mandatory overtime including weekend
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great company to workl for which leads to gainful employment
Quality control (Former Employee) –  Orangeville, ONJanuary 29, 2015
I started as a temporary worker with this company which helped me get in to a full time position within the company I was working for through Olsten's Staffing Services.
Pros
family oriented
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Health, Safety, Environmental & Human Resources (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ONFebruary 1, 2016
Very fast paced with tons of exposure to all areas of manufacturing and stable environment with room to grow and learn. Mostly good people. Strong union presence
Pros
wide variety of exposure
Cons
spread too thin
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay
General Labourer (Former Employee) –  Whitby, ONJuly 18, 2015
Decent coworkers, was let go because factory shut down.

If it wasn't for a high rate of pay for not having experience, would not have likely stayed there if it was any lower. Only received 7 hour shifts and was sent home early very, very often.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i like to ride motorcycles
Production Technician (Former Employee) –  Tillsonburg, ONMay 1, 2014
I inspect foam pads for defects and trim flash of foam pads then hang on belt for packaging and i liked working there it was a fast pacing job
Pros
it was a great place to work
Cons
i work straight midnight shift
Was this review helpful?YesNo3

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 1,865 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture