Find companies:
Johnson Controls
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
953 reviews

Johnson Controls Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Floor Supervisor (Former Employee), Shelburne, ONApril 10, 2014
Pros: rsp match, quarterly bonuses, positive environment
Cons: closed down.
A typical day at work would start at 6am, or 3pm. There would be a pre shift meeting where the supervisor would communicate to the team what was on the daily build schedule for the day and how the performance of the team has been for the past days. I learned how to adapt to different peoples personalities, how to increase the morale of a team when things – more... looked grim, and how to become a part of a family away from home. My co-workers were great and our job seemed to be something we all enjoyed. My upper management were nothing else but helping, understanding, patient, and last but not least a part of our family. The hardest part of my job was knowing that our customer was giving our contracts to another supplier in the states, and knowing we were losing our jobs. The most enjoyable part of my job, was my job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace
Sewing Machine Operator (Former Employee), Stratford, ONMarch 10, 2014
operated sewing machine
learned how to sew seat covers;
worked together in a team, from start to finish
and produced seat cover.
hardest part was saying goodbye to that job,and having it go to Mexico.
most enjoyable part was able to go to work daily
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place
Payroll clerk (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONFebruary 23, 2014
Friendly Boss , Nice place to work, warm environment,
challenges my knowledge and skills, Good work atmosphere.
professional work environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Multicultural enviroment
ACCOUNTS PAYABLE CLERK (Former Employee), MarkhamFebruary 19, 2014
Too many people, i was rotating from desk to another, coworkers were nice, but management were involved in their own issues
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fair
Contract/Temp Positions (Former Employee), Makham, On.January 17, 2014
A company one would love to work with. The management is awesome but somehow far away from employee.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great exposure to a variety of equipment.
Refrigeration Mechanic/Gas Fitter 1 (Current Employee), London, ONNovember 27, 2013
A typical day involves being dispatched to different sites for service calls or planned maintenance. I work independently however other mechanics are available via phone for support. I work with the best in the business. I enjoy the constant changes and unpredictable nature of this business as well as the physical challenge.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Facility Management services
Drafting/Design and Facility Management Services (Former Employee), Markham, ONNovember 7, 2013
Facility Management company working throughout North America.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work lots of fun
PROJECT MANAGER, COMMISSIONING (Former Employee), Ottawa,ONOctober 1, 2013
Pros: basebakk, curling and golf
Cons: some weekend work
good working environment shared experience with team. co-workers were great learned a great deal on the job
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long hours
Supervisor (Current Employee), Milton, ONSeptember 27, 2013
Pros: bunos is very small almost nothing
Cons: long hours
do not think we get paid fairly for the type of the job we do. We had $4 pay cut couple years back never got them back till today even though that the company is making a profit
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional atmosphere and colleague
PROJECT ENGINEER (Former Employee), Dubai, United Arab EmiratesSeptember 16, 2013
Pros: continuous improvement and training
Cons: working on site away from the head office and only pm communicated with headoffice
Our team managed to deliver two district cooling plants and I was involved in the all the projects phases (design, contracting strategy, execution, commissioning and start-up)
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Internship
Junior Engineer (Former Employee), Abu Dhabi, AZAugust 16, 2013
the day began at 9 and finished at 6 , the internship was involved with the commissioning of Building management system.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great enviroment for growth and gerat o workers
Machine Operator / Production Worker (Former Employee), Milton, ONAugust 1, 2013
Pros: awesome paycheck and benefits
Cons: heavy conseguences on body, muscle injurees, all over the body.
I was working at this place for 3 years and i made a lot of friends, still keep in touch with them, i just hope the management was more serious and professional. Infact they treat people not like human beens more like animals, and anyone who worked there will confirm it. i learned a lot about assembly car seat for Acura, too bad i am still recovering – more... from injuries all over my bod y due to overworking . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good oppertunity
Lead Systems Specialist, PM (Current Employee), Toronto, ONJuly 21, 2013
Pros: w
Cons: e
Good opportunities provided by indeed for the people to find employment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dynamic, interesting, safe work environment
General Laborer (Former Employee), fort mc murray abJuly 17, 2013
Pros: camp life, shift work, pay
the camp that I stayed at was amazingly kept. the job scope included shoveling and sanding during winter seasons, garbage pick up, general camp maintenance, attended both daily tool box meetings. weekly safety meetings. worked with various tools, and in different environments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressfull and Disorganized
Manager (Former Employee), CanadaJune 16, 2013
Cons: lots, stress, political, management
Upper management is not caring people. Very political and constant changes. Lots of stress and unrewarding.

Wasanemployee – July 15, 2013

Could not agree more.. Always do band-aid solutions instead of analyzing fails points and strategize long term solutions that work.

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Warranty Administrator
Warranty Administrator (temp) (Former Employee), Oakville, ONJune 14, 2013
Pros: the people really made the day go by
Cons: they where on a hiring freeze
entering customer applications in to the system daily
I learned more about how to deal with my own home furnace and air conditioning system
I absolutely loved my co workers lunch time was the best time of the day for an hour you get away from work even though your still sitting in the kitchen with everyone
hardest part was the commute
most enjoyable – more... was my lunch hour – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical warehouse
Machine Operator (Former Employee), MississaugaJune 6, 2013
Pros: coffee break
Cons: doing the same thing everyday
Everyday worked at different position, and tried to reach the target.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
handling FAS, Access control, HVAC, Water Leakage System, Intruder Alarm etc
BMS Lead (Former Employee), Chennai, TNMay 14, 2013
Pros: .
Cons: .
handling FAS, Access control, HVAC, Water Leakage System, Intruder Alarm etc
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can be a rewarding place.... But be prepared to be mislead and preached at.
Service Foreman (Former Employee), Saskatoon, SKApril 3, 2013
Pros: good union wages, uniforms, safety boots, commission paid on profitable work
Cons: disorganization of leadership, inconsistent hours, false front for safety
I worked for JCI Saskatoon for about 5 years. I originally accepted a position as a foreman and was given a good wage through the union agreement. Presented with many challenges which I enjoyed, I was rewarded for good achievements financially. A majority of your coworkers will be very pleasant to work with. The company itself is very profit and growth – more... driven, as to be expected for any public traded company. They will do whatever it takes to generate revenue for their shareholders, a good front is put up for ethics and safety, but not perhaps overly truthful when reviewed from within. The greater focus on profit will come over ethics. If you are willing to look the other way a little or wear rose colored glasses... you certainly have an opportunity to advance.
Things to beware; safety is preached by leadership, but not followed by the same leadership (false sense of safety). You will be provided with more than ample safety equipment, but no one to instruct or guide you in the safe use of it (local all the way to the regional safety managers). You will be given a DVD to watch, that will be your safety orientation and you will sign a document/release form of you being oriented.
Leadership will "read" what they are to say to you, coming from the corporate head office during annual events (Vision Week), which perhaps shows that leadership doesn't buy what they are trying to sell???
Overall, they simply lack on being organized. From new hire training/orientation all the way to the execution of work. That lack of organization leads to lack of profit on jobs, and that can lead to a lack of work/hours for you as a hourly employee. There can be division between employees and work, two employees of equal capability, one will get overtime while the other may only get 20-30 hours. Management will play this game with you until you either receive a lay off or quit to go elsewhere, I witnessed this on several occassions. Like a fool; I was fore warned by previous employees, and in disbelief thought the several instances to be isolated.... I too am living proof!!!!
The longest lasting employees are the ones that have worked for a company before JCI has bought it... that's how they claim to have long-term employees... the rest are managers!!! Have you got what it takes???? – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very demanding
line worker (Former Employee), Milton, ONApril 2, 2013
overall Johnson controls is a good work environment. however, they just had half of the buisness move south and it is a bit chaotic right now. its very hard on the body and fast paced but i didnt personally mind that

1 2 3 4 5

About Johnson Controls

BLJC is the Canadian leader in the provision of workplace management services for real estate portfolios. Their team of over 1,200 – Read more

Johnson Controls Photos