Johns Hopkins University Employee Reviews

Showing all 404 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cutting edge research
Graduate Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Baltimore , Maryland USA24 May 2017
Has the latest in technology and research, learnt from the variety of graduate courses offered.
Did not like the work culture - complete lack of social life outside of work.
Enjoyed learning and pushing boundaries of my knowledge and experience.
Pros
Good learning environment
Cons
Isolating work culture
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There were perks and incentives that made you want to work for JHHC.
Grievance Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Glen Burnie, MD18 May 2017
I received my start at JHH/JHHC into the medical field. The medical environment at the time was encouraging and intriguing. I learned so much that I was able to advance within three months/90 days. I enhanced and developed a criteria that the position. I am told the criteria is still being followed. The pay scale didn't fit the job.
Pros
Advancement Opportunity & Benefits
Cons
Pay should increase to fit the posistion
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Growing Place
Administrator Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MD12 May 2017
A typical day consists of many things. This job is ever changing from day to day. There is so much to do that every day is different and exciting. The countless times that you get to help someone is amazing. Work culture is wonderful but the best part about this job is that I get to help make somebody day great! That is the beauty of this wonderful place called work.
Pros
Countless coordination of lunch meetings
Cons
Grant season can be very stressful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well Known Employer
Administrative Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MD10 May 2017
This employer is well-known but needs to require more management training. Many people are in management positions but don't know how to manage people.
Pros
Paycheck, office equipment, shuttles, locations
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great, cohesive work place
General Assistant (Former Employee) –  Alexandria, VA3 May 2017
I had a great summer working with Johns Hopkins. For my first job everyone in the program was very open to helping me get adjusted and our staff worked very well together to run our summer program
Pros
Provided meals everyday
Cons
Only work for a short period of time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Budget Specialist (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MD1 May 2017
A great place to work and solid employer. Great place to start your career. Enjoyed my time there. Education is stressed here at this institution. Lots of networking opportunity
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good University for employee
Sr.Research Specialist/Data Analyst (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MD 2120523 April 2017
I have been working in JHU for eight years,it is overall a good place to work,it is a big University have a lot of departments and labs,the people there are friendly
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Self Pay Collections Specialist (Current Employee) –  Maryland20 April 2017
Ive learned so much in such a short time. I can honestly say this is where I will be for a very long time. The pay is okay but where it lacks the environment makes up for it. I still get excited about going just like my first day.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits
Occupational Health Nurse (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MD20 April 2017
Good benefits, good people to work with. Crime around campus but security is good. Congenial staff but not always flexible with management. Caring co-workers.
Pros
co-workers
Cons
co-workers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Rewarding
Sr. Professional Staff (Former Employee) –  Laurel, MD19 April 2017
I loved working here. The atmosphere was very respectful and everyone focused on learning, doing a good job and making a difference. I would recommend it to anyone.
Pros
Great atmosphere
Cons
long commute
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A company that teaches teamwork and working with various other departments
Associate Director (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MD17 April 2017
Over the years I worked there, I learned to enhance my customer service skills on the phone and through email on a daily basis. I helped individuals learn how to procure goods and services per federal regulations. I answered a lot of emails and phone calls. Overall, the culture was good. The hardest part of the job was getting departments to provide all of the information required for purchases. The most enjoyable part of the job was the skills I learned and the people I met that helped me grow as a person and a better employee
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work with Many Advancement Opportunities
HVACR/Plumbing Technician (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MD13 April 2017
John Hopkins is a great place to work with many great benefits including tuition remission and/or reimbursement for employees who have passed their probationary period. Almost all positions require candidates to work a term as a temporary employee prior to onboarding as a regular employee.
Pros
Great Work Culture, Early Release
Cons
Upward Mobility
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy workplace
Patient Access Specialist (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MD13 April 2017
The Wilmer Call Center was high demanding, stressful, unprofessional at times, busy. The benefits were great as well as the healthcare that we received.
Pros
Good healthcare/benefits
Cons
Short breaks, agents had to pay for luncheons
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
one of the best research universities
Graduate Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MD12 April 2017
Life-work balance is pretty non-existent if you are a graduate student, and also varies greatly on the lab and PI you join.
Staff are supportive, cutting edge research and equipment available.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Thumbs up
Sr. Administrative Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MD10 April 2017
Great place to get your foot in the door. There are endless possibilities between the hospital and university that anyone can apply for. Down side - - it's important to have some kind of degree when working for the university.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great organization but poor leadership in some areas
Talent Acquisition Specialist (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MD8 April 2017
Johns Hopkins University is an outstanding organization to have on your CV. However, some departments and teams are very disorganized and dysfunctional.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Some nice people to work with
Patient Access Specialist (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MD4 April 2017
It is a very relaxed dress code and I like it but some take it to the extreme. A typical day at work would be answering hundreds of calls and scheduling appointments. A lot of which is to do the job of the operator/information operators.
Pros
Johns Hopkins Perks
Cons
No room for growth
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stimulating; supportive
Senior Clinical Research Nurse (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MD2 April 2017
Always learning something new
Supportive Management
Latest medical care
Very busy place to work
potential for professional growth
Stimulating
Excellent research application
Pros
Tuition reimbursement; vacation and sick time accrual
Cons
Cost of parking; rising health benefit costs; small merit raises; campus security
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Jhu
Employee (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MD30 March 2017
JHU offers amazing benefits like PTO time, sick time, insurance benefits and tuition benefits for dependents. Work life balance can be challenging at times.
Pros
benefits
Cons
location, compensation is low, have to pay for parking
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Postdoctoral Fellow (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MD24 March 2017
Great place to work among eminent scientists and experts in Biomedical Sciences. Great facilities for research in diverse fields. Wonderful environment to develop as independent researcher. Very flexible and friendly work culture.
Pros
Work ethics
Cons
Location, Salary
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Johns Hopkins University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 404 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Salary/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.6
Culture
3.9