Find companies:
John Hancock
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
84 reviews

John Hancock Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Project Lead (Former Employee), Chennai, TNNovember 7, 2013
A typical IT consulting company. Good team members. The company may not support much in finding the right opportunities for the right skill
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strives to be better
Manager (Former Employee), Boston, MAApril 22, 2013
John strives to be an employer of choice. Management issues surveys to better understand its employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My opinion
Desktop Support/ Intern (Current Employee), Boston, MAJuly 23, 2014
Pros: the culture is awesome
I have to say that Interning at John Hancock has been a great experience. There is a lot of work to do and even a lot more to learn, very challenging and it help you grow and become a better technician.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Accounts Specialist (Current Employee), Boston, MAJuly 9, 2014
Over all this was a great company however minimal room for advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Project Manager (Former Employee), Boston, MAJune 30, 2014
I worked at John Hancock for almost 3 years. The people I worked with were very knowledgeable and helpful. The management had an open door policy and very helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Top rated company that will spare no expense to be the best
Building Engineer (Former Employee), Chicago, ILJune 24, 2014
A high demand company that is willing to invest into its work enviroment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the opportunity to move throughout the company and learn other areas is terrific. Their benefits are also unique with access to a group legal benefit
Senior Benefits Analyst (Former Employee), Boston, MAMay 30, 2014
Pros: occassional free theater tickets or tickets to sporting events
Cons: not always having the time to take a lunch break or a walk because of being so busy.
JH has always been on the cutting edge of technology and also upcoming trends. It is a joy to work with the retirees who offer not only history of the company but product knowledge as well. After a full day of customer service calls, leaves of absence issues, insurance questions and fires to put out I always went home feeling that I made a difference – more... which is a wonderful thing. I learned so much about my field specifics being the team lead on unique benefits questions such as laws governing Worker's Comp, benefit coordination with Medicare and patience. My co-workers are hard working people who do not hesitate to stop what they are doing to lend a hand which makes life a lot easier in the fast past environment. The most challenging part of my role was having to tell someone that there was nothing I could do to help them, be it due to law or plan restrictions or company policy. And processing death claims is very hard especially if you knew the person. The most enjoyable was meeting people face to face during benefit fairs or just receiving that rare thank you...makes it all worth while! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Senior Business Analyst (Current Employee), Boston, maMay 5, 2014
I had a great manager at John Hancock, however there were many weeks where there was not a lot of work to be done.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!!
Financial Analyst -IS Business Analytics (Current Employee), Boston, MAApril 23, 2014
Great enviroment and very nice people. People are always willing to help you sucseed on your tasks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Secure job environment, great benefits,
Legal (Current Employee), Boston, MAMarch 18, 2014
Predictable daily schedule, not much of a change in pace. Independent working environment with little interaction with co-workers in and out of the office
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
produtive and fun work
Sr. Application Consultant (Current Employee), Boston, MAMarch 15, 2014
Pros: free lunches
• Involved in requirements analysis for Planogram-MOC generation module.
• Interacted with business analysts and prepared Visio Diagrams.
• Struts2.0 is the MVC framework and backbone of the application. Façade design patterns were extensively used for entity bean and session bean interaction.
• Involved in Performance tuning.
• Involved in designing – more... of replacement of Entity bean with DAO pattern.
• Involved in enhancement and bug fix of the ecommerce site.
• Used eclipse3.2 IDE for java development.
• Responsible for Development, Integration Testing, User Acceptance testing.
• Involved in JUnit testing and generate report.
• Responsible for creating SQL scripts for testing functionality. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent team of people working toward the same goal
Assistant to Office Manager (Former Employee), Cincinnati, OHMarch 12, 2014
Pros: experience and a wondeful team to work with
Responsibilities included assisting the Office Manager with calculating and entering a Bi-Weekly Payroll into ADP database for processing. Bank deposits, checkbook entries and distribution of commission checks and staff pay were additional tasks for this responsibility

New Business
Reviewed, processed and submitted all new business applications (life – more... and equity) to Home Office, tracking from entry to issue. Corresponding with medical establishments, underwriters and agents were additional tasks associated with this responsibility – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company was wonderful to work for.
Customer Service / Agency Services Dept (Former Employee), Forum III, Cordova, Tn 38018March 5, 2014
Pros: we had christmas time off, they brought in food for meetings, we had good benefits.
Cons: customer calls were sometimes difficult.
We each had our specific duties, but learned to back each other up in case of absence and learned to work as a team to make sure everything was done.
Our office manager was friendly, approachable and made us feel appreciated. She had an open door when we needed to talk about any concerns we might have.
My supervisor was very hands on, she helped us – more... find ways to accomplish each new challenge.
My co-workers gladly pitched in to get a project completed and were allowed to vent their frustrations with customer service issues and calls from disgruntled customers in private.
The hardest part of my job was learning the constant new procedures and new computer programs. . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Call Center Intern
Annuities Represenative Intern (Current Employee), Portsmouth, NHMarch 3, 2014
Professional, great training, and people are always willing to help you out.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and educational work environment
OFFICE ASSISTANT (Current Employee), Des Moines, IAFebruary 28, 2014
Learned the marketing and sales areas of the insurance industry
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Investment and Insurance Advisor
Registered Representative (Former Employee), Maitland, FLFebruary 10, 2014
You can really succeed in your business if you put your mind to creating and developing your business.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An adaptable, performance-driven team player with experience in an operations analytical role. Highly organized, efficient and energetic.
FINRA Registration and Contracting Specialist (Current Employee), Boston, MAFebruary 6, 2014
A typical work day for me would be a lot of multitasking. Time management is key to being successful in my past and current positions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team environment at the Milwaukee office
New Business Analyst - Long Term Care (Former Employee), Milwaukee, WIJanuary 29, 2014
Unfortunately the office was closed at the end of 2010. But the experience I gained in working in a positive team environment was greatly appreciated.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Place Learned A Lot
Social Media Specialist (Current Employee), Boca RatonJanuary 27, 2014
Great opportunity to work with a company and expand my social media work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place to work for
Wintel Technical Systems Engineer (Former Employee), Boston, MAJanuary 24, 2014
Pros: paid training
Nothing but good experiences at JH. I was able to learn a lot, while putting into practice what I learned in training.

1 2 3 4 5

About John Hancock

From our humble beginnings in 1862 as a four person company formed in a single room, the name John Hancock, one of our nation's – Read more