Find companies:
John Deere
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
219 reviews

John Deere Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good company but doesn't keep employees busy
Welder (Former Employee), Thibodaux LaNovember 15, 2013
Pros: set schedule
Cons: not enough work
Great company to laid back and work at a very slow pace and not enough work to keep all employees busy
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast pace work
Assembler (Former Employee), Thibodaux, LANovember 13, 2013
Pros: plenty of new things to learn, was never boring.
Cons: lots of weekend work
Job is a plus for anyone looking for fast pace and great benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with great benifits
Production Welder (Former Employee), Ankeny, IANovember 11, 2013
Pros: occasional bonus incentives and complimentary meals as well as rewards for safety and accomplishment
Cons: shift work by seniority so i was stuck on second shift for the better part of two years
John Deere is, in my opinion, one of the better places that anyone could work . Not often does someone get the opportunity to work for a company that is ranked 15th on the list of top production companies in the world. I have enjoyed my time there and look forward to being called back.
The work was solid, not boring and provided a level of difficulty – more... that challenged a person, when so many jobs fall short of that mark.
the people I worked with were good people, easy to get along with and did a good job of keeping up with production... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working with all my co workers. A good place to work and advance.
Fitter/Welder (Former Employee), Thibodaux, LANovember 7, 2013
John Deere is a good place to work and advance your career and knowledge.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unhealthy environment to work.
Supplemental (Former Employee), McDonough, GANovember 6, 2013
Pros: the money was decent
Cons: they fire people left and right.
I hated working for this company. Its nothing but drama and people stepping on each other to become core. Never liked it when i first started. Very unprofessional place to work. They time how fast you pick orders. You can be moving fast as heck,but they only go off times that computer says on a ticket. I hated this job.

I worked for this horrid company – more... for 6mos and seen over 15 people get fired because they said they werent fast enough or because they made a few errors. They give you report cards every week. You have to have a super low error rate and have above average speed or you will get fired. Moving to fast will cause you to make errors. Imo making less errors is more important than speed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
over worked 60hrs / week
Warehouse Worker (Current Employee), McDonough, GANovember 4, 2013
Pros: overtime
Cons: short breaks, no benefits or job security
must be temp. hire for 24 months with perfect attendance before you will be considered for regular hire.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive, a good environment and atmosphere, an excellent team to work with. Just a great place to work!
Full Time Employee (Current Employee), Des Moines, IANovember 1, 2013
Pros: an excellent benefit package, incentive pay, bonuses, profit sharing.
Cons: lunch hour could be longer.
1. Non stop production...busy!
2. Never worked in a factory before this...aquired knowledge about farm machinery, hardware, and different processes.
3. All areas of management are very helpful and available to answer
your questions.
4. Co-workers are very helpful, patient, and again there to get you
through the process of learning different aspects – more... of the business.
5. Learning where to deliver hardware to various stations .
6. Working with a team that has great pride in their job! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Production line worker (Former Employee), Grovetown, GAOctober 24, 2013
Pros: nothing
Cons: short breaks
Its started off as an awesome job but ended up turning into a bad job. I learned a lot about building tractors though. it could have been better but the people that run it isn't running it right.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding
Order Selector (Former Employee), McDonough GAOctober 17, 2013
Pros: had good paychecks
Cons: management does not respect employees. works you like a dog
They are so focused on the job being correct that they just don't care about they employee. When you are hired and go through the orientation, we were told so many times that the odds of us making it are not good. You get in there and work your butt off and it is not appreciated. You are not hired as a perm. employee. You are basically a temp. You get – more... no time off. You are working 10, sometimes 12 hour days 6 days a week. I have no problem working overtime or 6 days a week. My problem was seeing grown men setting outside on break crying because they got one error fearing that they were going to be fired. The management at this company is ruining John Deere as far as I am concerned. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice workplace
Test Engineer (Former Employee), PuneOctober 8, 2013
Worked on agile technology.
Involved in test plan and test case creation
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I found it was a very biased discriminatory company to work for.
PM Scheduler and MRO (Former Employee), Waterloo, IAOctober 7, 2013
Cons: no benifits, no paid holidays, not allowed to work on holidays, treated horribly.
I worked as a contractor for them. As a transgender woman it was horrible. Their employees we informing other employees that I was a trans woman and they installed locks on the womens bathroom doors because of me. I was even approached by their UAW representative who informed me that because of people like me they would be installing locks on the bathroom – more... doors. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Production Line Worker (Former Employee), Waterloo, IAOctober 5, 2013
Working on the production lline here taught me how to work with others to complete one task.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice people good company to work at.
Quality Engineer (Former Employee), Moline, IllinoisOctober 1, 2013
Working at John Deere was more of a team effort to put out the best combine on the market for the customer in every way. Everyone is easy to work with and they all want the same, a good quality built machine.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best organisations to work for!
Graphic and Web Designer (Current Employee), Pune, IndiaSeptember 24, 2013
Its agreat pleasure to be a part of John Deere. The higher purpose of the organisation gets reflecte in its culture. The core values ar enot just labels here but way of life at John Deere.

I am proud to contribute to those liked to the land.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I ran a cope mold machine
Foundry Worker (Former Employee), Waterloo, IASeptember 22, 2013
Pros: pay
Cons: couldn't move around
standing in one spot for 8-10 hours
I learned how to run a cope mold machine
My manager was a push over he lost my doctors excuse and lied to corporate about it. was the nicest guy. i guess it was either him or me.
there was no enjoyable part of this job as standing on a 3 foot by 4 foot platform for 8-10 hours not being able to move was depressing – more... and made my days very long. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Electronic Design Engineer (Current Employee), Fargo, NDSeptember 12, 2013
John Deere provides an atmosphere that encourages advancement of technology. There are very bright engineers that work at John Deere. They provide all of the necessary tools for you to increase your capabilities, and they offer excellent benefits to continue your learning. Work life balance is good. You are not expected to work over 40 hours per week – more... on a regular basis, although it does happen from time to time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved people i worked with
K8 Assembler (Former Employee), Waterloo, IASeptember 11, 2013
Pros: benefits holidays off and pay
Cons: hours and being in the pool
Walked in every night ready to work. I learned alot of assembly has to do with patience and is tiring at times. But does keep you busy. My coworkers were alot of fun and team oriented which I liked. I would say the hardest part of my job was never knowing where i was going or how much i was going to be paid. The most enjoyable part about John Deere – more... was the benfits and the pay. I also liked having holidays off including holidays that normal business dont include. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Discount but always at work!
QUOTE COORDINATOR (Current Employee), Cary, NCSeptember 6, 2013
I worked here in college and spent most of my days at work. My friends benefitted from my hotel-discount more than I did. Management was not very good. It seems they keep managers for a long-time. However, they do not hire up wihtin that particular organization. They will hire another manager from another location before a supervisor who has been there – more... for 25+ years. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place
Factory Automation Engineer (Current Employee), Waterloo, IAAugust 22, 2013
Excellent company to work for. Great Benefits, a lot of manufacturing engineers work there, few electrical and mechanical work there. Management is ok.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I ENJOY WORKING WHO ARE NOT AFRIAD TO WORK AND GET DIRITY.AND ENJOY WORKING WITH OTHERS.
material (Former Employee), Fargo, NDAugust 14, 2013
Pros: i enjoy getting things ready to start the shift
Cons: i take very few breaks finishing the job is first.
A TYPICAL DAY AT WORK IS PUTTING ON AT LEAST 30-CAST AND REMOVING THEM AS WELL .I LEARN HOW TO TREAT PEOPLE OF ALL AGES FAIR., AND GET ALONG WITH THEM.THE PEOPLE I WORK WITH ARE REALLY FUN TO WORK WITH. IT MAKES A DIFFERENT WORKING WITH TEAM PLAYERS.VERY FEW TIMESIS THE JOB HARD UNLESS PEOPLE DONT SHOW UP TO WORK. THAT CAN BE HARD.THE BEST PART OF THE – more... JOB IS WHEN I AM HAPPY DOING WHAT I DO AND SMILING ALL DAY LONG THAT IS THE BEST DAY. – less

About John Deere

At John Deere, our more than 60,000 employees are committed to those linked to the land. We are a global company in size, but – Read more