John Deere Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people but low pay for Engineers
Facilities Engineer (Current Employee) –  Langley, BC22 October 2017
Good people, low pay. Management is good . They try to accommodate employees' personal specifics situations. small company and difficult to grow to higher positions.
Pros
good people, opportunity to learn
Cons
lower pay than competition
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful and overloaded with work
Bilingual Service Loan Officer (Current Employee) –  Oakville, ON16 October 2017
A typical day would include about 40-50 calls from customers.

I've learned to multi-task very quickly. In order to full fill the customers on going requests through out the day, you have to be quick and efficient. A person in my department can process about 360-490 documents in one month.

Workplace culture depending what department you work in, some are more stress free than others. They have a lot of meeting and try to reach their sales goals for each quarter.

The hardest part of my job is being scored on calls.
The most enjoyable is that we have one hour for lunch.
Pros
Free pizza, coffee
Cons
Short breaks, stressful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Quality Assurance Analyst (Former Employee) –  Woodstock, ON10 October 2017
Would like to have stayed until retirement but factory was closed and products produced were move from Woodstock to factories in the US.
Overall those laid off were treated fairly and some relocated as expats on contract in the US.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
MACHINIST (Former Employee) –  Nisku, AB28 March 2017
John Deere was a great working experience for me. I learned a lot under the foreman and got to work on some great machines. The people were friendly and the working environment was good.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work ethic
Manufacturing Engineer (Former Employee) –  Langley, BC1 March 2017
Good place to work as long as you are liked.

The guys on the shop are union so you need to make friends to be helped.

team effort in the office.
Pros
Contract pays overtime
Cons
no permanent positions
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Paced and Challenging, but a Safe Work Environment.
Supervisor - Warehouse (Current Employee) –  Grimsby, ON16 August 2016
The John Deere Parts Division is very high paced environment, challenged with stringent departure times and specific metrics that must be maintained on a daily basis.

As a Supervisor of the Parts Division you juggle many balls during your work day and its pinnacle that you're in alignment with your Co-Workers for overall Team success throughout all 3 shifts of the operation.

The Senior Management has high expectations from their Supervisors and you're always called upon to do more.

My co-workers and staff are excellent to work with.

There is really no hard part about my position. From being a Supervisor for 21 years you always have to be prepared for challenges and changes in your work environment.

I really enjoy working with people and the challenges it brings to your plate daily. I'm inspired when you're successful and you meet goals that you achieve with your staff.
Pros
Clean work environment
Cons
Long hours - 24-7 availability.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work !
Advanced Bilingual Collector (Former Employee) –  Oakville, ON10 August 2016
In my almost 10 years with John Deere, I enjoyed the many challenges and diversity in the job function. Great Customer and Dealer relations that made it a pleasure to problem solve, offer support, earn trust and retain client loyalty.
Pros
Great benefits, yearly bonus based on performance, career development
Cons
Too much turn over in upper management, greatly impacted communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working hours
Shift Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB5 June 2016
My working hours are great, and are the reason for my employment. The culture at this place is a little behind the times. Change is a struggle, and ideas are difficult to implement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part-time Job
Western Sales (Former Employee) –  Biggar, SK2 May 2016
cleaned farm equipment
sometimes worked on small machinery
coworkers were pretty good to work with
worked sometimes with customers for finding parts or where equipment was placed
did lots of inventory
hardest part was usually having to spend outside on a hot day in the machines or tanks
enjoyable part was the coworkers because it was a good environment
Pros
good hours
Cons
Boss was sexist
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work for both company and employee.
Security Officer & Shift Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Welland, ON20 April 2016
In almost 50 years of work, I found John Deere the fairest and best company to work with. Wages and benefits were top notch.
Pros
Enjoyable and fair Company
Cons
They moved the plant
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Order Picker/Packer (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK4 April 2016
I was working in john deer through addeco employment agencies, its good fun working in john deer
We get lots of fun with all employees
Pros
Profit sharing
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
JDF - Oakville
Co-op Student / IT Analyst (Former Employee) –  Oakville, ON24 March 2016
This is an awesome place to work. Good environment, challenging work, as well as working for the largest agriculture equipment company in the world is pretty cool.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work and close to home also.
Support Tech Lead Hand (Current Employee) –  Nisku, AB27 February 2016
A typical day involves a lot of problem solving of minor issues and a lot of workplace organization for about 30 employees. I have learned that working in a global company is very different in the aspect of creating change. It takes a long time and requires lots of follow up. The management team here is top notch with a lot of experience. My direct supervisor is one of the best I have ever worked for. The hardest part of my job is dealing with product that comes into the system which is incorrectly identified and we have to research it to correctly identify so it goes through the process correctly.
Pros
Direct supervisor, commute to work (7 minutes)
Cons
limits on hours worked so extra work for overtime is limited.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Seasonal work with peaks and valleys.
Mechanical Technician (Former Employee) –  Provost, AB14 October 2015
Was a good experience in my life. Positive people, good work experience and good seasonal hours. Free lunches were provided once in a while. The down side to this job is there is times with no work and little pay.
Pros
Free lunches and friendly staff.
Cons
On call and busy all the time. Heavy dust and rotting product contaminating everything.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very transparent real time employee, sections, shifts evaluation system.
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  Grimsby, ON30 August 2015
A typical day at work starts with Personal Protective Equipment (PPE) peer to peer inspection, followed by supervisor to employee. After PPE inspections, all employees log in for a 15 minute update briefings which includes the previous day's summary performance, safety reports and feedbacks, the day's expected workload and an overall deployment and execution plan. This is followed by a 5 minutes stretching period before logging for various cost accounting activities.

I learned the optimal teamwork, and optimum resource utilization where all activities are neatly fishbone planned, time controlled and carefully dovetailed into the logistics and distribution schedules.

I highly rate the management to be the best I have worked under in my entire career. They are very supportive and have developed an inbuilt all inclusive continuous improvement structures with planned milestone commitments. Monthly feedback statics and performance highlights with revised targets are given on the last Thursday of the month without failure.

Co-workers have an amazing bond, willing to help and complimenting each other to improve the shift score chart.

The hardest part of the job is within the first few weeks of the job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very professional and satisfactory company to work with.
Master Scheduler (Former Employee) –  Woodstock On22 April 2015
Had many opportunities with John Deere over the years and was
always ready, willing and able to learn new skills.
Worked in Iowa for several months learning their systems and thus
bringing information back to Woodstock office in order to interface
information between both systems.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to get into Heavy Equipment Mechanics
Shop Technician (Former Employee) –  Nisku, AB2 April 2015
None of the work is overly difficult, you learn the basics on lots of John deere equipment and every day was pretty good. Easy shift with a 5 on 2 off 8 hours a day. People are all very friendly and always willing to give you a hand if needed
Pros
Easy days
Cons
Repetitive
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great team players
Administrative Asst (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB17 October 2014
I was a proud employee of John deer. They made me who I am today in career. I have recently relocated, otherwise I would still be at this job
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Machine Operator/Receiver (Former Employee) –  Regina15 September 2014
Learned many productive skills from working in that environment
Pros
Meeting Different People
Cons
Noisy Environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work place to work for, inspirational, motivating and appreciative
Mig Welder/Operator (Former Employee) –  Welland, ON18 August 2014
Typical day was 10hrs
Welding/jig up/maintain
exceptionally trained management
overall nice work force of people
manual labor job, staying fit was key
rewards were bonus's, and job improvements.
incentives were always nice to continually improve performance
Pros
bonus
Cons
working man's job, you only get what you deserve
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at John Deere. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 1,572 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.7
Culture
3.9