JOEY Restaurants Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Proper Training and Flexibility With Hours
Server (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC9 January 2018
Very intensive training but teaches you everything you need to learn and more. Flexibility with hours and availability. Friendly work environment and attentive management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome coworkers but a lot of unecessary stress
Server and Hostess (Former Employee) –  Mayfield, AB14 December 2017
Workplace culture was overall stressful and a bit overwhelming for a serving job. Not a lot of chance for advancement as there was a lot of favoritism seen in my location.
Pros
Great coworkers
Cons
Negative management environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
False Hopes
Sous Chef (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC22 November 2017
If you are a strong employee you will not go far in this company. You have to be a good bull-shiter that can walk around pretending to be a "leader" False hopes of raises for those who actually work hard. Everyone that works the hardest makes less than those who don't . You deal with non experienced cooks all the time.
Pros
The partners aka the non management staff
Cons
Can't make commitments they make or promises. Head strung "Chefs"
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and customer experience driven
Server and Guest Service Team (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB2 November 2017
Fast paced work environment, high standards with a large emphasis with multitasking. Lots of knowledge to learn about food and liquor. Customer experience is the most important value within this business.
Pros
Good tips and staff discounts
Cons
Overly demanding customers
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful work environment and long hours
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON16 October 2017
This job asked too much of its employees for little pay, management and staff were good people but when it came to balancing life and work they were not the best at accommodating this.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing company to work for!
Restaurant Manager (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB6 September 2017
Amazing company to work for. As a manager you have a great work.life balance as well as work with talented and creative people in all levels. A wonderful company to be a part of!
Pros
salary, benefits, culture
Cons
non!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Zero Incentive
Cook (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB5 September 2017
-Long hours for minimum wage
-Non accommodating
-lots to learn if you don't mind being payed minimum wage for maximum effort
- Pay for your own food there on shift
- No breaks
-McDonald's pays more starting than Joey does after working there for a year
Cons
Everything except co workers, Leaders are the worst, Labor Law breakers
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome people. Chances for promotion. Great enviroment.
Cook (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB31 August 2017
Gotta love working at Joeys for their uplifting settings. The people are nice and caring. Management is always there to help. Hours are flexible and training is loads of fun!
Pros
Cheap partner menu
Cons
Very busy
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learn a lot for Managment when on the Leader Role
Sous Chef - Purchaser (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB6 June 2017
Have learned a lot working with JOEY. Will always look at this place as my way of getting into management as they teach you all the necessary tools ad ways of running a successful business.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Prodcutive place and fun place to work.
Line Cook (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC, Burraed street.5 June 2017
Great location was, my first kitchen job out of highschool. Taught lots about cooking. Gave me the skills to move forward in this kind of career. I would recommended this place to newcomers to the culinary industrie.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report

Want to know more about JOEY Restaurants?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere with amazing growth opportunity
Server/Private Dining Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON4 June 2017
Great place to work if you are 100% committed to growing within the company. They take care of their own and recognize accomplishments. The Christmas gala's are unforgettable as well.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Trainer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON19 May 2017
great place if you want to learn, however upper management is not good at making sure you have a solid work life balance. Make sure you communicate well with all employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People
Senior Manager, Chef in Training, Purchaser (Current Employee) –  Sheway Gardens, Etobicoke24 April 2017
Great job for young chefs looking for structure to their development. Dynamic workplace with a diverse group of employees. Fair pay, work/life balance.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere
Manager (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC7 April 2017
Amazing manager. Great work enviroment. Amazing Staff. Extremely busy always fun and never hard at all. Great people. Great team. Great company to work for
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Closing Manager (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB27 March 2017
Learnt a lot about being a team while I worked at Joey Head chefs was always willing to help and would be there for any questions or concerns that I had.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible and Misleading Company
Cook (Current Employee) –  Don Mills, ON2 March 2017
Misleading Company
Mislead many times by management. I was told I would be paid a certain amount, and upon signing papers, I was told I would be paid less than minimum wage on paper plus "tip out".
No breaks, LONG days past scheduled work times. No work life balance.
Cons
Long days
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Purchaser (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB12 February 2017
I have been with the company for three and a half years. Fun place, good team work, good food quality. I enjoy my time working there.
Pros
N/a
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing
Closing coach role (Former Employee) –  All4 February 2017
Nothing bad about this company. Loved the place. Lots of cool people, good learning opportunities, hands on training and room to grow. Great for the one who want's to be a chef.
Pros
Everything
Cons
long hours sometimes
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretentious, superficial, nepotism
Guest Service Leader/ Server (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BC20 December 2016
working for Joeys was the worst experience that I have had. The women I worked with were ridiculous, and the managers even more incompetent. Putting 20 yr old girls as a manager is not a good idea. I have worked in the service industry for many years, joeys was by far the worst company i have ever had the displeasure of working for.
Pros
nothing
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Cook (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB14 December 2016
good work environment. got to work with a lot of great workers but management needs work. the employees deserve more than what they get.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 5Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at JOEY Restaurants. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 46 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.4
Culture
3.8